Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the use of a physical target, mitigation of interference, and non-uniform distances) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-17, 19, 21-23, 25-28, 31-32, 34-47, 49, 51-53, 55-58, 61-62, 64-77, 79, 81-83, 85-88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fraunhofer (2022/0263240).
Regarding claim 1, FRAUNHOFER discloses a method for co-channel interference mitigation using adaptive beamforming (Devices described herein that may perform beamforming may comprise an antenna arrangement, the antenna arrangement having one or more antenna panels, wherein each antenna panel may comprise one or more antennas. The interference addressed by device 30 may comprise a co-channel interference and/or an adjacent channel interference; paragraph [0058, 0118]), comprising: receiving, via a processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), status information for a plurality of transceiver nodes (A device configured for operating in a wireless communication network is configured for forming an antenna radiation pattern for communicating with a communication partner; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0038]); determining, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), an interference profile for an area of interest (The device 30 may generate an antenna radiation pattern addressing the interference at non-communicating devices with respect to the device 30; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0112]), wherein the interference profile includes at least one interference source (The antenna pattern of the base station serving UE1. While its main lobe or "beam" is directed towards UEl, its two side lobes inadvertently point towards UE2 and UE3, thus creating interference; figure 3a; paragraph [0091]); identifying, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), at least one target (A target-based action may be performed, e.g., to reduce a power effecting the device 26-1 and/or 26-2. This may include a reschedule and/or coordinate of beams of the selected transmit antenna pattern; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]); generating, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), an interference mitigation protocol based on target data (The device 30 may be responsive to having acquired information about a request to reduce interference at the location of the device 26-1 and/or 26-2, perform, a renegotiation between devices forming a link in which the device is one part of that link, advantageously by adapting the antenna pattern for the transmitting devices and/or that of the receiving device; figure 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]), the status information (Generate the antenna radiation pattern 10 and to then adapt the sidelobes whilst maintaining the main lobe, other embodiments may avoid to first generate interference at locations of devices 26-1 and/or 26-2 by generating the antenna radiation pattern 10', 10" or 10"' right from the beginning; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0112]), and the interference profile (The device 30 may have knowledge about a location and/or requirements of the devices 26-1 and/or 26-2 and may consider those requirements already when selecting the antenna radiation pattern to be applied. That is, the device 30 may generate an antenna radiation pattern addressing the interference at non-communicating devices with respect to the device 30 already at the beginning; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0112]); and outputting, via the plurality of transceiver nodes (The device 30 is a drone flying over a base transceiver station or the device is a vehicle in a tunnel or when the device is a possibly low-earth orbiting satellite that communicates with a terrestrial device as communication partner or vice versa; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]), at least one adaptive beam directed toward the at least one target and at least one mitigation signal in accordance with the interference mitigation protocol (The device 30 may be configured for controlling a selection of an antenna port used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10, of a sub-array of an antenna array used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10 and/or of at least one antenna panel used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10. That is, the device 30 may be configured for using other antennas, antenna panels or antenna sub-arrays for generating an antenna radiation pattern that still allows to direct the main lobe to the location of the communication partner 18 whilst providing for a possibly different structure of the sidelobes which may be more suitable to avoid interference at locations of the devices 26-1 and/or 26-2; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0111]), wherein the at least one mitigation signal attenuates the at least one interference source (The device 30 may select the antenna radiation pattern from the plurality of possible antenna radiation patterns so as to lead to a minimum interference between the device 30 and the device 26-1 and/or 26-2; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0113]), and wherein the plurality of transceiver nodes forms a nonuniform array (The device 30 is a drone flying over a base transceiver station or the device is a vehicle in a tunnel or when the device is a possibly low-earth orbiting satellite that communicates with a terrestrial device as communication partner or vice versa; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]).
Regarding claim 31, Fraunhofer discloses a system for co-channel interreference mitigation using adaptive beamforming (Devices described herein that may perform beamforming may comprise an antenna arrangement, the antenna arrangement having one or more antenna panels, wherein each antenna panel may comprise one or more antennas. The interference addressed by device 30 may comprise a co-channel interference and/or an adjacent channel interference; paragraph [0058, 0118]) comprising a processor (para 386) configured to: receive status information for a plurality of transceiver nodes (A device configured for operating in a wireless communication network is configured for forming an antenna radiation pattern for communicating with a communication partner; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0038]); determine an interference profile for an area of interest (The device 30 may generate an antenna radiation pattern addressing the interference at non-communicating devices with respect to the device 30; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0112]), wherein the interference profile includes at least one interference source (The antenna pattern of the base station serving UE1. While its main lobe or "beam" is directed towards UEl, its two side lobes inadvertently point towards UE2 and UE3, thus creating interference; figure 3a; paragraph [0091]); identify at least one target (A target-based action may be performed, e.g., to reduce a power effecting the device 26-1 and/or 26-2. This may include a reschedule and/or coordinate of beams of the selected transmit antenna pattern; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]); generate an interference mitigation protocol based on target data (The device 30 may be responsive to having acquired information about a request to reduce interference at the location of the device 26-1 and/or 26-2, output a renegotiation between devices forming a link in which the device is one part of that link, advantageously by adapting the antenna pattern for the transmitting devices and/or that of the receiving device; figure 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]), the status information (Generate the antenna radiation pattern 10 and to then adapt the sidelobes whilst maintaining the main lobe, other embodiments may avoid to first generate interference at locations of devices 26-1 and/or 26-2 by generating the antenna radiation pattern 10', 10" or 10"' right from the beginning; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0112]), and the interference profile (The device 30 may have knowledge about a location and/or requirements of the devices 26-1 and/or 26-2 and may consider those requirements already when selecting the antenna radiation pattern to be applied. That is, the device 30 may generate an antenna radiation pattern addressing the interference at non-communicating devices with respect to the device 30 already at the beginning; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0112]); and outputting, via the plurality of transceiver nodes (The device 30 is a drone flying over a base transceiver station or the device is a vehicle in a tunnel or when the device is a possibly low-earth orbiting satellite that communicates with a terrestrial device as communication partner or vice versa; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]), at least one adaptive beam directed toward the at least one target and at least one mitigation signal in accordance with the interference mitigation protocol (The device 30 may be configured for controlling a selection of an antenna port used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10, of a sub-array of an antenna array used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10 and/or of at least one antenna panel used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10. That is, the device 30 may be configured for using other antennas, antenna panels or antenna sub-arrays for generating an antenna radiation pattern that still allows to direct the main lobe to the location of the communication partner 18 whilst providing for a possibly different structure of the sidelobes which may be more suitable to avoid interference at locations of the devices 26-1 and/or 26-2; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0111]), wherein the at least one mitigation signal attenuates the at least one interference source (The device 30 may select the antenna radiation pattern from the plurality of possible antenna radiation patterns so as to lead to a minimum interference between the device 30 and the device 26-1 and/or 26-2; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0113]), and wherein the plurality of transceiver nodes forms a nonuniform array (The device 30 is a drone flying over a base transceiver station or the device is a vehicle in a tunnel or when the device is a possibly low-earth orbiting satellite that communicates with a terrestrial device as communication partner or vice versa; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]).
Regarding claim 61, Fraunhofer discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium for co-channel interreference mitigation using adaptive beamforming, the non-transitory CRM storing instructions that when executed by one or processors (para 380-384 - discussion of storage medium that contain instructions which can be operated by processors in para 388), program the one or more processors to: receive status information for a plurality of transceiver nodes (A device configured for operating in a wireless communication network is configured for forming an antenna radiation pattern for communicating with a communication partner; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0038]); determine an interference profile for an area of interest (The device 30 may generate an antenna radiation pattern addressing the interference at non-communicating devices with respect to the device 30; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0112]), wherein the interference profile includes at least one interference source (The antenna pattern of the base station serving UE1. While its main lobe or "beam" is directed towards UEl, its two side lobes inadvertently point towards UE2 and UE3, thus creating interference; figure 3a; paragraph [0091]); identify at least one target (A target-based action may be performed, e.g., to reduce a power effecting the device 26-1 and/or 26-2. This may include a reschedule and/or coordinate of beams of the selected transmit antenna pattern; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]); generate an interference mitigation protocol based on target data (The device 30 may be responsive to having acquired information about a request to reduce interference at the location of the device 26-1 and/or 26-2, output a renegotiation between devices forming a link in which the device is one part of that link, advantageously by adapting the antenna pattern for the transmitting devices and/or that of the receiving device; figure 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]), the status information (Generate the antenna radiation pattern 10 and to then adapt the sidelobes whilst maintaining the main lobe, other embodiments may avoid to first generate interference at locations of devices 26-1 and/or 26-2 by generating the antenna radiation pattern 10', 10" or 10"' right from the beginning; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0112]), and the interference profile (The device 30 may have knowledge about a location and/or requirements of the devices 26-1 and/or 26-2 and may consider those requirements already when selecting the antenna radiation pattern to be applied. That is, the device 30 may generate an antenna radiation pattern addressing the interference at non-communicating devices with respect to the device 30 already at the beginning; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0112]); and outputting, via the plurality of transceiver nodes (The device 30 is a drone flying over a base transceiver station or the device is a vehicle in a tunnel or when the device is a possibly low-earth orbiting satellite that communicates with a terrestrial device as communication partner or vice versa; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]), at least one adaptive beam directed toward the at least one target and at least one mitigation signal in accordance with the interference mitigation protocol (The device 30 may be configured for controlling a selection of an antenna port used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10, of a sub-array of an antenna array used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10 and/or of at least one antenna panel used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10. That is, the device 30 may be configured for using other antennas, antenna panels or antenna sub-arrays for generating an antenna radiation pattern that still allows to direct the main lobe to the location of the communication partner 18 whilst providing for a possibly different structure of the sidelobes which may be more suitable to avoid interference at locations of the devices 26-1 and/or 26-2; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0111]), wherein the at least one mitigation signal attenuates the at least one interference source (The device 30 may select the antenna radiation pattern from the plurality of possible antenna radiation patterns so as to lead to a minimum interference between the device 30 and the device 26-1 and/or 26-2; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0113]), and wherein the plurality of transceiver nodes forms a nonuniform array (The device 30 is a drone flying over a base transceiver station or the device is a vehicle in a tunnel or when the device is a possibly low-earth orbiting satellite that communicates with a terrestrial device as communication partner or vice versa; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]).
Regarding claim 2, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 1, wherein generating the interference mitigation protocol (The device 30 may have knowledge about a location and/or requirements of the devices 26-1 and/or 26-2 and may consider those requirements already when selecting the antenna radiation pattern to be applied. That is, the device 30 may generate an antenna radiation pattern addressing the interference at non-communicating devices with respect to the device 30 already at the beginning; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0112]) includes: plotting, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), a path of travel for the at least one target (In addition, an array has the ability to control its response based on changing conditions of the signal environment, such as direction of arrival, polarization, power level and frequency; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0063]); comparing, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), the status information and the interference profile to determine appropriate output characteristics for the at least one adaptive beam and the at least one mitigation signal along the path of travel (In addition, an array has the ability to control its response based on changing conditions of the signal environment, such as direction of arrival, polarization, power level and frequency. The device 30 may be configured for controlling a selection of an antenna port used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10 of a sub-array of an antenna array used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10 and/or of at least one antenna panel used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10. That is, the device 30 may be configured for using another antennas, antenna panels or antenna sub-arrays for generating an antenna radiation pattern that still allows to direct the main lobe to the location of the communication partner 18 whilst providing for a possibly different structure of the sidelobes which may be more suitable to avoid interference at locations of the devices 26-1 and/or 26-2; figures 3a-3d; paragraphs [0063, 0111]); directing, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), the plurality of transceiver nodes to output the at least one adaptive beam along the path of travel (In addition, an array has the ability to control its response based on changing conditions of the signal environment, such as direction of arrival, polarization, power level and frequency. The device 30 may be configured for controlling a selection of an antenna port used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10, of a sub-array of an antenna array used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10 and/or of at least one antenna panel used for forming the antenna radiation pattern 10. That is, the device 30 may be configured for using another antennas, antenna panels or antenna sub-arrays for generating an antenna radiation pattern that still allows to direct the main lobe to the location of the communication partner 18 whilst providing for a possibly different structure of the sidelobes which may be more suitable to avoid interference at locations of the devices 26-1 and/or 26-2; figures 3a-3d; paragraphs [0063, 0111]); and directing, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), the plurality of transceiver nodes to output the at least one mitigation signal as at least one spatial null coincident with a direction of the at least one interference source along the path of travel (In addition, an array has the ability to control its response based on changing conditions of the signal environment, such as direction of arrival, polarization, power level and frequency. The device 30 may control a satellite 16-2 and/or 16-3 in view of its direction which causes also to an indirect control of the sidelobes. According to an example, device 30 may direct a null 16-2 and/or 16-3 along a path towards device 26-1, 26-2 respectively; figures 3a-3d; paragraphs [0063,0094]).
Regarding claim 4, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 2, wherein a position of the at least one target is tracked within a field of regard via the plurality of transceiver nodes (An array of sensor elements may offer a means of overcoming the directivity limitations associated with a single sensor, thus offering higher gain and narrower beamwidth than that experienced with a single element. In addition, an array has the ability to control its response based on changing conditions of the signal environment, such as direction of arrival (field of regard is an array of sensors tracking a direction), polarization, power level and frequency; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claims 5-6, FRAUNHOFER discloses that the transceiver includes a plurality of active/inactive nodes (active and null) in which the processor directs a successive series of inactive nodes to become active nodes when the path of travel enters a field of regard (para 144-145, movement of devices 40,45 can be tracked by the system and the interference mitigation is performed based on that movement). FRAUNHOFER discloses modifying the interreference protocol based on sensor information form the active nodes (para 165-190) and deactivating the active nodes when the path of travel exits the field of regard (Figures 4a-4b, para 240-265). FRAUNHOFER also discloses the active nodes are spatially separated and actively combined (para 188-189 and para 263-265).
Regarding claim 7, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: determining, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), a target profile for the area of interest (A target-based action may be performed, e.g., to reduce a power effecting the device 26-1 and/or 26-2. This may include a reschedule and/or coordinate of beams of the selected transmit antenna pattern; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]), wherein the target profile includes a plurality of targets (A target-based action may be performed, e.g., to reduce a power effecting the device 26-1 and/or 26-2. This may include a reschedule and/or
coordinate of beams of the selected transmit antenna pattern; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]), and wherein each of the plurality of targets is associated with a corresponding travel path from a plurality of travel paths (The device may perform, for example, a renegotiation between devices forming a link in which the device is one part of that link, advantageously by adapting the antenna pattern for the transmitting devices and/or that of the receiving device. Alternatively, or in addition, the device 30 may perform a pattern restriction of the antenna radiation characteristic in view of a direction/coverage/ illumination. For example, when the device 30 is a drone flying over a base transceiver station or when the device is a vehicle in a tunnel or when the device is a possibly an orbiting satellite that communicates with a terrestrial device as communication partner or vice versa; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]); and directing, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform
one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), the plurality of transceiver nodes to output a first adaptive beam pattern (Alternatively or in addition, a goal-based or target-based action may be performed, e.g., to reduce a power effecting the device 26-1 and/or 26-2. This may include a reschedule and/or coordinate of beams of the selected transmit antenna pattern figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]), wherein the first adaptive beam pattern includes a plurality of high directionality beams (Alternatively or in addition, a goal-based or target-based action may be performed, e.g., to reduce power effecting the device 26-1 and/ or 26-2 . This may include a reschedule and/or coordinate of beams of the selected transmit antenna pattern figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]), and wherein each of the plurality of high directionality beams is directed toward a corresponding target along the corresponding travel path (Alternatively or in addition, a goal-based or target-based action may be performed, e.g., to reduce a power effecting the device 26-1 and/or 26-2 . This may include a reschedule and/or coordinate of beams of the selected transmit antenna pattern figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]), and wherein the corresponding target is from the plurality of targets (Alternatively or in addition, a goal-based or target-based action may be performed, e.g., to reduce a power effecting the device 26-1 and/or 26-2. This may include a reschedule and/or coordinate of beams of the selected transmit antenna pattern figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]).
Regarding claim 8, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the first adaptive beam pattern includes a plurality of null beams (The device 30 may control a null 16-2 and/or 16-3 in view of its direction which causes also to an indirect control of the sidelobes. For example, creating a null at a varied orientation leads to a changed property of the respective sidelobe and/or other lobes. According to an example, device 30 may direct a null 16-2 and/or 16-3 along a path towards device 26-1, 26-2 respectively; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0094]), the method further comprising: determining, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), an appropriate configuration of null beams to direct toward a corresponding interference source from a plurality of interference sources whenever any of the plurality of targets is within the area of interest (The device 30 may control a null 16-2 and/or 16-3 in view of its direction which causes also to an indirect control of the sidelobes. For example, creating a null at a varied orientation leads to a changed property of the respective sidelobe and/or other lobes. According to an example, device 30 may direct a null 16-2 and/or 16-3 along a path towards device 26-1, 26-2 respectively. By controlling the sidelobe 14-1 and/or 14-2, device 30 may address interference at the location of the device 26-1, 26-2 respectively; figures 3a-3d; paragraphs [0094, 0095]).
Regarding claim 9, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 7, wherein: the first adaptive beam pattern simultaneously cancels a plurality of interference sources in a plurality of spatial directions (The device may be configured for generating the selected antenna radiation pattern and to adapt the generated radiation pattern to reduce the interference between the device 30 and the device 26-1 or 26-2 when compared to the selected antenna radiation pattern; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0113]).
Regarding claim 10, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 7, wherein: the first adaptive beam pattern generates broadside tapered beam patterns capable of simultaneously nulling a plurality of spatially offset interference sources (If the physical lengths of the feeding lines are chosen such that at the centre frequency, the phased array antenna beam is directed perpendicular (broadside tapered beam) to the array or to broad-sight, changing the frequency to values lower than and greater than the centre frequency will direct the beam to, respectively, angles smaller than and angles greater than broad-sight; paragraph [0077]).
Regarding claim 11, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: directing, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), the plurality of transceiver nodes to output at least one first adaptive beam pattern (Device 30 may be configured for obtaining knowledge about a location of the device 26-1 and/or 26-2 . Alternatively, or in addition, the device 30 may obtain knowledge about at least one direction of a relevant multi path component "MPC" between the device 30 and the device
26-1 or 26-2. Based on at least one of the location and the direction of the MPC the device may control the sidelobe to comprise a low amount of power transfer between the device 30 and the location or along the at least one direction so as to address the interference; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0119]); receiving, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), an update request (Device 26-1 and/or 26-2 may transmit their reports 32-1 or 32-2 to a node of their networks as to allow for an exchange of information between the different networks such that the device 30 receives the request 28 from its own network; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0120]); and directing, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), the plurality of transceiver nodes to output at least one second adaptive beam pattern in accordance with the update request (The device 30 may perform, responsive to having acquired information about a request to reduce interference at the location of the device 26-1 and/or 26-2. device may perform, for example, a renegotiation between devices forming a link in which the device is one part of that link, advantageously by adapting the antenna pattern for the transmitting devices and/or that of the receiving device. That is, the device 30 and/or the communication partner 18 may adapt their antenna patterns. Alternatively, or in addition, the device 30 may perform a pattern restriction of the antenna radiation characteristic in view of a direction/coverage/illumination; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]).
Regarding claims 12-13, FRAUNHOFER discloses identifying a change in the interference profile, updating the mitigation protocol based on the change, directing a plurality of transceiver nodes to output an updated beam pattern, and outputting a spatial null coincident with the interreference source(Device 30 may be configured for obtaining knowledge about a location of the device 26-1 and/or 26-2 . Alternatively, or in addition, the device 30 may obtain knowledge about at least one direction of a relevant multi path component "MPC" between the device 30 and the device 26-1 or 26-2. Based on at least one of the location and the direction of the MPC the device may control the sidelobe to comprise a low amount of power transfer between the device 30 and the location or along the at least one direction so as to address the interference; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0119]); receiving, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), an update request (Device 26-1 and/or 26-2 may transmit their reports 32-1 or 32-2 to a node of their networks as to allow for an exchange of information between the different networks such that the device 30 receives the request 28 from its own network; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0120]. (The device 30 may perform, responsive to having acquired information about a request to reduce interference at the location of the device 26-1 and/or 26-2. device may perform, for example, a renegotiation between devices forming a link in which the device is one part of that link, advantageously by adapting the antenna pattern for the transmitting devices and/or that of the receiving device. That is, the device 30 and/or the communication partner 18 may adapt their antenna patterns. Alternatively, or in addition, the device 30 may perform a pattern restriction of the antenna radiation characteristic in view of a direction/coverage/illumination; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]). FRAUNHOFER discloses that the mainlobe can be adaptively modified as the angle of approach is varied (If the physical lengths of the feeding lines are chosen such that at the centre frequency, the phased array antenna beam is directed perpendicular (broadside tapered beam) to the array or to broad-sight, changing the frequency to values lower than and greater than the centre frequency will direct the beam to, respectively, angles smaller than and angles greater than broad-sight; paragraph [0077]).
Regarding claim 14, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the comparing employs a machine learning algorithm to implement a software-defined adaptive filter for separating a signal of interest from the at least one interference source (Adaptive nulling (software defined adaptive filter) - Adaptive arrays automatically move nulls in the directions of signals over the sidelobe region. adapt the control of the sidelobes based on the machine-learning; figures 3a-3d; paragraphs [0068, 0372]).
Regarding claim 15, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the software-defined adaptive filter first identifies a domain for interference removal prior to separating the signal of interest (The pattern may nevertheless be associated with the identity of the device 30 as at least the device 30 knows the pattern it implements. The implemented pattern may allow to assess or identify the interfering source which then allows to reduce interference levels. Whilst a known or predefined beam pattern allows to correlate and detect/identify the interference source or the interference pattern, an unknown pattern may be identified and provided to a network for a source identification figures 2, 3a-3d; paragraph [0116]), and wherein the domain is at least one of temporal (fast time, slow time), spatial, and polarization (the two-dimensional antenna radiation (spatial domain) produced by an idealized phased array antenna are shown in polar axes; figure 2; paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 16, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the software-defined adaptive filter is trained using the interference profile (Adaptive nulling - Adaptive arrays automatically move nulls in the directions of signals over the sidelobe region. Extensive multi-parameter computer simulations of a phased array antenna system may provide a plethora of simulation results. This training data may be used by the appropriate machine learning techniques. A device such as an aggressor may perform deep-learning or may implement artificial intelligence to derive or determine information relating to the effectiveness of its action. For example, information about interference it causes may be combined, correlated or associated with information about action it undertakes and with effects achieved; figure 2; paragraphs [0068, 0312]).
Regarding claim 17, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one adaptive beam includes a plurality of read beams disposed in a desired spatial configuration within an area of interest (The device 40 is configured for determining a measure of interference associated with a device not communicating with the device 40. For example, the device 40 may be the device 26-1 of the wireless communication network 300. The device 40 may be configured for reporting to the device 45 e.g., device 30, about their reception via a feedback channel or a control channel of the same network of a different network. The reporting about the past or expected reception may be based on reference signal "RS" (read beam) and/or data transmitted from interfering source; paragraphs [0143, 0147]), and wherein each read beam is associated with a corresponding weight vector (A codebook may provide a convenient method of organizing and retrieving the beamforming vectors associated with a phased array antenna; paragraph [0126]), the method further comprising: directing, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), the plurality of transceiver nodes to capture a plurality of snapshots of the at least one target (The sidelobes and/or nulls may also be controlled directly by selecting a suitable codebook-entry (snapshot) or iteratively by adapting the antenna radiation pattern by iteratively selecting codebook entries. A codebook may provide a convenient method of organizing and retrieving the beamforming vectors associated with a phased array antenna; paragraph [0126]), wherein each of the plurality of snapshots is captured when a corresponding read beam coincides with the at least one target (A complete phased array antenna system controlled by codebooks and adaptive algorithms can thus be modelled using EDA tools and its performance can be assessed under various conditions including, for example: operation scenarios; component variation; environmental circumstances; and various use cases. In simplistic terms, each input control variable of the simulation (reference signals or read beams are fundamental to codebook simulations) translates to a dimension of the result space or, alternatively, the number dimension of the result space is proportional to the number of inputs; paragraph [0311]); and cohering, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), the corresponding weight vector for each of the plurality of snapshots to form a high-gain received signal (The sidelobes and/or nulls may also be controlled directly by selecting a suitable codebook-entry or iteratively by adapting the antenna radiation pattern by iteratively selecting codebook entries. A codebook may provide a convenient method of organizing and retrieving the beamforming vectors associated with a phased array antenna. A practical beam can be generated with the phases specified in each column of the codebook; paragraph [0126]).
Regarding claim 19, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the at least one adaptive beam is in a bistatic configuration used to surveil at least one of a range and an angle extent of a transmit sector for the at least one target (A device in the network which by receiving radio signals from surrounding network devices can determine link quality impact on its own existing/repeated/to be established active radio communication link between a transmitter and its receiver (a bistatic system where transmitter sends out beam and receiver detects and processes). Pattern adaptation is likely to reduce the gain of the antenna and hence affect the range of the communication link. Antenna arrays may generate transmission radiation patterns and/or reception radiation patterns. For example, in connection with reception or sensing a signal.
An array of sensor elements may offer a means of overcoming the directivity limitations associated with a single sensor antenna, thus offering higher gain and narrower beamwidth (angle extent) than that experienced with a single element; figures 3a-3d; paragraphs [0062, 0264, 0277]).
Regarding claim 21, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the plurality of transceiver nodes includes a plurality of transceiver nodes each outputting a corresponding adaptive beam (An adaptive array of a victim device may be controlled to adjust the radiation pattern so as to direct the main beam to the direction of the wanted signal and a null to the interferer. For example, an adaptive array of an aggressor device may be controlled to adjust the radiation pattern so as to direct the main beam to the direction of the communication partner and a null to the victim 26. While such a control may also change the sidelobes, such adaption may be very much null related to directing a null towards the interferer. Thus, controlling a sidelobe may result in a null controlled thereby and controlling a null may result in controlling a sidelobe thereby. In other words, with the side lobes pointed away from UE2 and UE3, interference may be reduced; figures 3a-3d; paragraphs [0094. 0095]), and wherein each of the plurality of transceiver nodes is disposed to surveil at least a portion of a range and/or angle extent of the at least one target (Directions that are described in connection with present embodiments do not limit the scope of the embodiments to the narrow meaning of a direction factor. The term direction is to be understood so as to also include a set of dominant angular components which contribute significantly to the received or transmitted signal at the place/location, area/zone or volume of a communication partner. This may be equivalent to a complex 3D receive antenna radiation pattern which collects and weighs different incoming multi-path components to an effective receive antenna input signal; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0057]),
and wherein each of the plurality of transceiver nodes is associated with a corresponding beam weight vector (Codebooks can be designed by choosing the elements of each constituent matrix or vector from a small binary set, for example, a four alphabet "±1, ±j" (beam weight vector) set; paragraph [0133]), the method further comprising: cohering, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), the corresponding beam weight vector for each of the plurality of snapshots to form the high-gain received signal (Codebooks can be designed by choosing the elements of each constituent matrix or vector from a small binary set, for example, a four alphabet "±1, ±j" (beam weight vector) set; paragraph [0133]).
Regarding claims 22, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the plurality of transceiver nodes forms a nonuniform array (The device 30 is a drone flying over a base transceiver station or the device is a vehicle in a tunnel or when the device is a possibly low-earth orbiting satellite that communicates with a terrestrial device as communication partner or vice versa;3a-3d; paragraph [0123]), and wherein a direction vector of the nonuniform array is cohered, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), by multiplying a direction vector for each element of the nonuniform array with a reference signal (A codebook may provide a convenient method of organizing and retrieving the beamforming vectors associated with a phased array antenna. For example, each column of a codebook matrix may specify the phase shift of each antenna element, and a practical beam can be generated (codebook vectors are used to multiply antenna signals before transmission0 with the phases specified in each column of the codebook; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0126]).
Regarding claim 23, FRAUNHOFER discloses wherein at least one adaptive beam includes a mainlobe and a plurality of sidelobes, where bandwidth decreases as a magnitude of direction vector for the sidelobes increases (The antenna pattern of the base station serving UE1. While its main lobe or "beam" is directed towards UEl, its two side lobes inadvertently point towards UE2 and UE3, thus creating interference; figure 3a; paragraph [0091]); identifying, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), at least one target (A target-based action may be performed, e.g., to reduce a power effecting the device 26-1 and/or 26-2. This may include a reschedule and/or coordinate of beams of the selected transmit antenna pattern; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]); generating, via the processor (A field programmable gate array may cooperate with a microprocessor in order to perform one of the methods described herein; paragraph [0388]), an interference mitigation protocol based on target data (The device 30 may be responsive to having acquired information about a request to reduce interference at the location of the device 26-1 and/or 26-2, perform, a renegotiation between devices forming a link in which the device is one part of that link, advantageously by adapting the antenna pattern for the transmitting devices and/or that of the receiving device; figure 3a-3d; paragraph [0123]), the status information (Generate the antenna radiation pattern 10 and to then adapt the sidelobes whilst maintaining the main lobe, other embodiments may avoid to first generate interference at locations of devices 26-1 and/or 26-2 by generating the antenna radiation pattern 10', 10" or 10"' right from the beginning; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0112].
Regarding claim 25, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a field of regard of the plurality of transceiver nodes is adaptively formed to encompass a plurality of targets (An array of sensor elements may offer a means of overcoming the directivity limitations associated with a single sensor, thus offering higher gain and narrower beamwidth than that experienced with a single element. In addition, an array has the ability to control its response based on changing conditions of the signal environment, such as direction of arrival (field of regard is an array of sensors tracking a direction), polarization, power level and frequency; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claims 26-27, FRAUNHOFER discloses that the target includes at least one fixed service device (para 123 – a base station which is a fixed service device). FRAUNHOFER also discloses wherein outputting includes adaptive beamforming techniques to point high gain directional antenna towards a target while simultaneously creating null beams to cancel the interference source (In addition, an array has the ability to control its response based on changing conditions of the signal environment, such as direction of arrival, polarization, power level and frequency. The device 30 may control a satellite 16-2 and/or 16-3 in view of its direction which causes also to an indirect control of the sidelobes. According to an example, device 30 may direct a null 16-2 and/or 16-3 along a path towards device 26-1, 26-2 respectively; figures 3a-3d; paragraphs [0063,0094]). Also para 248-250 and 263-264 disclose that adaptive beamforming via sidelobes/interreference mitigation is used.
Regarding claim 28, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the plurality of transceiver nodes functions as a software-defined radio (An adaptive array may comprise an algorithm which is possibly computer-based and that controls the signal levels at the elements until a measure of the quality of the array performance improves. It may adjust its pattern formed, i.e., the antenna radiation pattern, to form nulls, to modify gain, to lower sidelobes, or to do whatever it takes to improve its performance. Figures3a-3d; paragraph [0139]).
Regarding claims 32, 34-47, 51-52, 55, 56-58, the system claims correspond to the method claims above and are rejected given the same reasoning as in the rejection of claims 2, 4, 7-11, 14-18, 21-22, 25-28 above.
Regarding claims 62, 64-77, 81-82, 85, and 86-88, the non-transitory CRM claims correspond to the method claims above and are rejected given the same reasoning as in the rejection of claims 2, 4, 7-11, 14-18, 21-22, 25-28 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 33,63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraunhofer in view of Spatial (2014/0266895).
Regarding claims 3, 33, and 63, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 2. FRAUNHOFER does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one spatial null is greater than 50 decibels.
However, SPATIAL discloses wherein the at least one spatial null is greater than 50 decibels (A first null width, at a radiation power below 50 dB from said beam peak; paragraph [0039]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify FRAUNHOFER as taught by SPATIAL resulting in wherein the at least one spatial null is greater than 50 decibels. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the antenna convergence rate.
Claim(s) 18, 20, 48, 50, 78, 80 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRAUNHOFER in view of Buchheit (9419687).
Regarding claims 18, 20, 48, 50, 78, 80, FRAUNHOFER discloses adaptive beamforming that uses angle extent (para 62, 264, 277). FRAUNHOFER fails to disclose the use of monostatic configurations and isotropic configurations in antenna to surveil areas of interest.
However, Buchheit teaches in an analogous art, a wireless system in which both monostatic and isotropic antennae can be used (para 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include isotropic and bistatic antenna in order to provide multiple types of coverage in an adaptive beamforming system.
Claim(s) 29, 59, and 89 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRAUNHOFER in view of Melzer (2007/0147536).
Regarding claims 29, 59, and 89, FRAUNHOFER discloses all the particulars of the claim except wherein the interference profile includes a covariance matrix describing the interference source. However, Melzer teaches in an analogous art, the use of a covariance matrix (para 46 – interferer channel matrix) describing interference sources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a covariance matrix in order to provide an accurate picture of the interference sources in the network.
Claim(s) 30, 60, 90 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraunhofer in view of Hall (5,563,849).
Regarding claims 30, 60, and 90, FRAUNHOFER discloses the method of claim 1 and generating the interference profile for the at least one interference source (The device 30 may generate an antenna radiation pattern addressing the interference at non-communicating devices with respect to the device 30; figures 3a-3d; paragraph [0112]). FRAUNHOFER does not specifically disclose wherein the method discloses using spatial aliasing techniques to attenuate the at least one source.
However, HALL discloses wherein the method discloses using spatial aliasing techniques to attenuate the at least one source (Wherein said receiver means comprises a low pass anti-aliasing filter (a spatial aliasing technique to attenuate interference) which eliminates all incoming signals to said system which are higher than 20 kHz; column 11 claim 11). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify FRAUNHOFER as taught by HALL resulting wherein generating the interference profile includes spatial aliasing techniques to attenuate the at least one interference source. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the accuracy of the sampled signal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 24, 54, and 84 are allowable because the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest, in combination with the other claimed limitations, the following: generating a digital twin of the at least one adaptive beam and displaying with an augmented reality device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM GEORGE TROST IV
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641