DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by an article entitled “A Novel Setup and Protocol to Measure the Range of Motion of the Wrist and Hand” by Nizamis et al. (“Nizamis”).
As to claim 1, Nizamis discloses a machine vision-based method for determining a range of motion of a joint of a hand of a subject, comprising:
facilitating the subject to perform a hand movement at a preset position;
capturing at least two prior-movement images of the hand when the hand is in a neutral posture before performing the hand movement (see Fig 2 and Section 2.3 – each movement was completed three times starting at neutral each time);
capturing at least two post-movement images of the hand when the hand is in an assessment posture after performing the hand movement (see Fig 2 and Section 2.3 – each movement was completed three times starting at neutral each time);
processing the captured prior-movement images to obtain a plurality of prior-movement key point positions (see Section 2.2 – all data is saved into a .mat file for each tested movement);
processing the captured post-movement images to obtain a plurality of post-movement key point positions (see Section 2.2 – all data is saved into a .mat file for each tested movement); and
calculating the range of motion of the joint based on the plurality of prior-movement key point positions and the plurality of post-movement key point positions (see Fig 5 and Table 1 for computed angles).
As to claim 4, Nizamis further discloses wherein the projection plane is a plane in parallel with a palm plane of the hand or a plane perpendicular to the palm plane (see Fig 1).
As to claim 5, Nizamis further discloses wherein the plurality of sampling points of the hand include: finger tips, distal interphalangeal (DIP) joints, proximal interphalangeal (PIP) joints and metacarpophalangeal (MCP) joints of the hand (see Section 2.3).
As to claim 6, Nizamis further discloses wherein the hand movement is designed by employing a kinematic model presuming a plurality of degrees of freedom of the hand (see Section 2.2 describing the Brekel Pro Hands modeling software).
As to claim 7, Nizamis further discloses wherein the plurality of presumed degrees of freedom of the hand includes: flexion and extension movements of the distal interphalangeal (DIP) joints and the proximal interphalangeal (PIP) joints; and flexion, extension, abduction, adduction, and circumduction movements of the metacarpophalangeal (MCP) joints (see Fig 2 and associated text).
As to claim 8, Nizamis discloses a machine vision-based system for determining a range of motion of a joint of a hand of a subject, the system comprising:
a supporter configured to facilitating the subject to perform a hand movement at a preset position (see Fig 1 with arm platform (5) and support (4));
at least two cameras configured to:
capture at least two prior-movement images of the hand when the hand is in a neutral posture before performing the hand movement (see Section 2.2 and Fig 2 and associated text; data of a “neutral” position is collected); and
capture at least two post-movement images of the hand when the hand is in an assessment posture after performing the hand movement (see Section 2.2 and Fig 2 and associated text; data of particular movements are collected); and
a processor configured to:
process the captured prior-movement images to obtain a plurality of prior-movement key point positions (see Section 2.2, which describes the software and sensor requirements);
process the captured post-movement images to obtain a plurality of post-movement key point positions (see Section 2.2, which describes the software and sensor requirements); and
calculate the range of motion of the joint based on the plurality of prior-movement key point positions and the plurality of post-movement key point positions (see Table 1).
As to claim 11, Nizamis further discloses wherein the projection plane is a plane in parallel with a palm plane of the hand or a plane perpendicular to the palm plane (see Fig 1).
As to claim 12, Nizamis further discloses wherein the plurality of sampling points of the hand include: finger tips, distal interphalangeal (DIP) joints, proximal interphalangeal (PIP) joints and metacarpophalangeal (MCP) joints of the hand (see Section 2.3).
As to claim 13, Nizamis further discloses wherein the hand movement is designed by employing a kinematic model presuming a plurality of degrees of freedom of the hand (see Section 2.2 describing the Brekel Pro Hands modeling software).
As to claim 14, Nizamis further discloses wherein the plurality of presumed degrees of freedom of the hand includes: flexion and extension movements of the distal interphalangeal (DIP) joints and the proximal interphalangeal (PIP) joints; and flexion, extension, abduction, adduction, and circumduction movements of the metacarpophalangeal (MCP) joints (see Fig 2 and associated text).
As to claim 15, Nizamis discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program including instructions for performing the machine vision-based method of claim 1 (see treatment of claims 1 and 8).
As to claim 18, Nizamis further discloses wherein the projection plane is a plane in parallel with a palm plane of the hand or a plane perpendicular to the palm plane (see Fig 1).
As to claim 19, Nizamis further discloses wherein the plurality of sampling points of the hand include: finger tips, distal interphalangeal (DIP) joints, proximal interphalangeal (PIP) joints and metacarpophalangeal (MCP) joints of the hand (see Section 2.3).
As to claim 20, Nizamis further discloses wherein the hand movement is designed by employing a kinematic model presuming a plurality of degrees of freedom of the hand (see Section 2.2 describing the Brekel Pro Hands modeling software).
As to claim 21, Nizamis further discloses wherein the plurality of presumed degrees of freedom of the hand includes:
flexion and extension movements of the distal interphalangeal (DIP) joints and the proximal interphalangeal (PIP) joints; and flexion, extension, abduction, adduction, and circumduction movements of the metacarpophalangeal (MCP) joints (see Fig 2 and associated text).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nizamis in view of US 2015/0341618 A1 to He et al. (“He”).
As to claim 2, Nizamis fails to disclose the further step of calibrating each of at least two cameras, which are configured to capture images of the hand from at least two perspectives respectively, with respect to a 3D space to obtain a respective camera projection matrix.
However, He discloses calibration of a similar device that is configured to capture images of the hand from at least two perspectives respectively, with respect to a 3D space to obtain a respective camera projection matrix (see [0038]-[0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the range of motion method of Nizamis with the calibration shown by He in order to achieve the predictable result of ensuring that the reference coordinate system is correct.
As to claim 3, Nizamis further discloses wherein the plurality of prior-movement key point positions is obtained by:
mapping 2D positions of a plurality of sampling points of the hand in the prior-movement images into the 3D space through the camera projection matrixes to obtain a plurality of 3D prior-movement key point positions; and
projecting the plurality of 3D prior-movement key point positions on a projection plane to obtain the plurality of prior-movement key point positions; and the plurality of post-movement key point positions is obtained by:
mapping 2D positions of the plurality of sampling points of the hand in the post-movement images into the 3D space through the camera projection matrixes to obtain a plurality of 3D post-movement key point positions; and projecting the plurality of 3D post-movement key point positions on the projection plane to obtain the plurality of post-movement key point positions (see Section 2.2, which shows that the 2D images are used to reconstruct the 3D movements of the joints in the local coordinate frame).
As to claim 9, Nizamis fails to disclose wherein each of the at least two cameras are calibrated with respect to a 3D space to obtain a respective camera projection matrix and configured to capture images of the hand from a corresponding perspective.
However, He shows this (see [0038]-[0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the range of motion method of Nizamis with the calibration shown by He in order to achieve the predictable result of ensuring that the reference coordinate system is correct.
As to claim 10, Nizamis further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to obtain the plurality of prior-movement key point positions by:
mapping 2D positions of a plurality of sampling points of the hand in the prior-movement images into the 3D space through the camera projection matrixes to obtain a plurality of 3D prior-movement key point positions; and
projecting the plurality of 3D prior-movement key point positions on a projection plane to obtain the plurality of prior-movement key point positions; and
the processor is further configured to obtain the plurality of post-movement key point positions by:
mapping 2D positions of the plurality of sampling points of the hand in the post-movement images into the 3D space through the camera projection matrixes to obtain a plurality of 3D post-movement key point positions; and
projecting the plurality of 3D post-movement key point positions on the projection plane to obtain the plurality of post-movement key point positions (see Section 2.2, which shows that the 2D images are used to reconstruct the 3D movements of the joints in the local coordinate frame).
As to claim 16, Nizamis fails to disclose wherein the method further comprises:
calibrating each of at least two cameras, which are configured to capture images of the hand from at least two perspectives respectively, with respect to a 3D space to obtain a respective camera projection matrix.
However, He discloses this (see [0038]-[0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the range of motion method of Nizamis with the calibration shown by He in order to achieve the predictable result of ensuring that the reference coordinate system is correct.
As to claim 17, Nizamis further discloses wherein the plurality of prior-movement key point positions is obtained by:
mapping 2D positions of a plurality of sampling points of the hand in the prior-movement images into the 3D space through the camera projection matrixes to obtain a plurality of 3D prior-movement key point positions; and
projecting the plurality of 3D prior-movement key point positions on a projection plane to obtain the plurality of prior-movement key point positions; and
the plurality of post-movement key point positions is obtained by:
mapping 2D positions of the plurality of sampling points of the hand in the post-movement images into the 3D space through the camera projection matrixes to obtain a plurality of 3D post-movement key point positions; and
projecting the plurality of 3D post-movement key point positions on the projection plane to obtain the plurality of post-movement key point positions (see Section 2.2, which shows that the 2D images are used to reconstruct the 3D movements of the joints in the local coordinate frame).
Conclusion
/ERIC J MESSERSMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791