DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 18, 21-22, 25, 31 and 35 have been amended. No Claims have been newly added. No Claims has been/remains canceled. Claims 18-35 remain pending in the application.
Applicant amendments to the Claims have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 12/12/2025. The objection has been withdrawn in view of the amended Claims.
Applicant amendments to the Claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 12/12/2025. The rejection has been withdrawn in view of the amended Claims.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on page 8-17 of the remark filed on 03/12/2026, on the limitations of independent Claims 1: “(iii) sending, to the second party, a public key, Po, wherein the second party stores the public key, Po, as a verification data item; (v) submitting to a blockchain an access blockchain transaction wherein the derived public key, Pi, serves as the blockchain address to which the access blockchain transaction is submitted; and (vii) based on an outcome at the second party of a comparison between the first token, t1i, the verification data item, Po, and the derived public key, Pi, accessing the resource for one of n permitted access events, wherein each such access consumes one token from the chain.”, arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Page 10 that the cited references fail to teach (iii) sending, to the second party, a public key, Po, wherein the second party stores the public key, Po, as a verification data item; (v) submitting to a blockchain an access blockchain transaction wherein the derived public key, Pi, serves as the blockchain address to which the access blockchain transaction is submitted; and (vii) based on an outcome at the second party of a comparison between the first token, t1i, the verification data item, Po, and the derived public key, Pi, accessing the resource for one of n permitted access events, wherein each such access consumes one token from the chain. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang teaches on Par. (0007-0008 and 0056) transmitting and receiving between nodes public keys and on Par. (0055-0059) a deriving or generating a public key pair from provisioning the token. Wang further discloses on Par. (0069, 0082 and 0088) based on an outcomes of a received trust token matching then proceeding with access and on Par. (0114-0116) a providing of a token for sensitive data when the tokens and verification data are compared with the derived public key. Chabanne further discloses on Par. (0119-0123) a submitting or receiving by blockchain database the transaction and public key.
Applicant further argues on Page 10-11 that Chabanne does not disclose a sending of a public key to a second party and wherein the second party stores it as verification data item. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Chabanne teaches a storing or submitting of blockchain transactions on Par.(0119-0123) a calculating and storing of the initial data item on Par. (0038-0043 and 0080-0083) by a datum with proof data and storing the datum and proof data in a blockchain. Chabanne supports the limitation above on Par. (0114) and (0112-0113) as well.
Applicant further argues on Page 12 that the cited references are structurally and functionally different in favor of finding of non-obviousness and that Wang does not teach a sending of a public key from the first party to the second party and Chabanne does not teach or suggest submitting a blockchain transaction to a derived public key Pi as the blockchain address and Wang taken in view of Chabanne fails to teach or suggest accessing a resource as one of n pre-authorized access events wherein each access consumes one token from the chain. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang teaches on Par. (0007-0008 and 0058) a sending of a public key from a node to another node in a blockchain. Examiner states the favor of finding obviousness and reasoning to combine is the analogous concept of blockchain technologies and exchanging of token data and cryptographic keys. Furthermore, Chabanne teaches on Par. (0119-0123) a submitting or receiving by blockchain database the transaction and public key.
Applicant further argues on pages 13-16 that dependent claims 19-20, 22-23, 26-30 and 32 are not taught by the cited references. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
However Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on page 8-17 of the remark filed on 03/12/2026, on the newly amended limitations of independent claim 18, “wherein n corresponds to a number of permitted access events to a resource authorized to a first party; wherein the derived public key, P1serves as a blockchain address to which the access blockchain transaction is submitted; accessing the resource for one of the n permitted access events, wherein each such access consumes one token from the chain, decrementing a number of remaining permitted access events by one..”, arguments are persuasive.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Wang et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210167962) further in view of Chabanne et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180122031), has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the following prior art: Thekadath et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190253258) and Kimura et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180309693) in conjunction with Wang et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210167962) and Chabanne et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180122031)). Please refer to the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below for a detailed explanation.
For the reasons stated above and the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument, see Applicant’s Remarks Page 8-17, regarding allowance of the application. Examiner asserts that claims 18-35 are rejected for the reasons stated above in conjunction with the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below.
Conclusion: Wang- Chabanne- Thekadath- Kimura teaches the aforementioned limitations of independent claims and 18, 25 and 35 rendering the claim limitations obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 21, 24-25, 31 and 33-35, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210167962, hereinafter referred to as “Wang”), Chabanne et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180122031, hereinafter referred to as “Chabanne”) and Thekadath et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190253258, hereinafter referred to as “Thekadath”) and further in view of Kimura et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180309693, hereinafter referred to as “Kimura”)
In regards to Claim 18, Wang teaches a computer-implemented method for activating a sequence of tokens for verification performed between a first party and a second party, the method performed at the first party comprising the steps of: (Par. (0022); sequence of tokens for verification between first party and second party (multiple tokens verified between one or more nodes)) , (Par. (0075); activating a sequence of tokens (activation of tokens [..] upon activation))
(iii) sending, to the second party, a public key, Po, wherein the second party stores the public key, Po, as a verification data item; (Par. (0007-0008 and 0058); transmitting and receiving between nodes of blockchain the public key used for verification)), (Par. (0073; public key is stored)), (Par. (0114); “the first trust token, as well as the sensitive data, in some embodiments. The communication device 210 may forward the request to the token server 230. The token server 230 may be an example of a recipient computer that receives requests for account tokens. Responsive to the request, the token server 230 may extract the first digital signature from the first trust token and transmit it to one or more nodes of the blockchain 240. The one or more nodes may verify the first digital signature with the previously recorded first digital signature on the blockchain 240. For example, the one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may compare the first digital signature received from the communication device 210 to the first digital signature received from the blockchain 240 in order to authenticate the first digital signature sourced from the electronic device 805. The one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may generate a verification and transmit the verification to the token server 230.”.), (Par. (0112-0113); the following: “The one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may digitally sign the first public key with the third private key to generate a first digital signature”. [..] “ may generate a first trust token using at least the first digital signature.”; the first public key is transmitted, signed to create a first signature for the first signature to be used in a verification process)
(iv) deriving a first token tr_1 and using this to create a derived public key, P1; (Par. (0055-0059); provisioning token and public key pair is generated)), (Par. (0067); generated token that includes keys))
(vi) sending, to the second party, the first token, tr_1, wherein the second party verifies that the token has been activated based on the first token; and (Par. (0096-0098); token is provided to requesting entity to determine activating/deactivating based on expiration date/lifecycle))
(vii) based on an outcome at the second party of a comparison between the first token, tr_1, the verification data item, Po, and the derived public key, P1, (Par. (0069, 0082 and 0088); received trust token that includes public keys signed are matched, if match then proceed)) , (Par. (0114-0116); comparison between token, verification data and derived public key (comparing token with data, signature of public key and when verified device can provide token for sensitive data)), (Par. (0022); “The recipients may interpret the trust token and verify it against data written to one or more nodes of a blockchain when the user and the communication device registered for the trust token. Once the trust token is verified,”), (Par. (0122); “the token server 230 may extract the first digital signature from the first trust token. At step S937, the token server 230 may transmit the first digital signature to one or more nodes of the blockchain 240. The one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may verify the first digital signature received from the electronic device 805 against the first digital signature recorded on the blockchain 240 at step S939 and generate a verification.”.), (Par. (0123); ““the token server 230 may extract the first digital signature from the first trust token. At step S937, the token server 230 may transmit the first digital signature to one or more nodes of the blockchain 240. The one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may verify the first digital signature received from the electronic device 805 against the first digital signature recorded on the blockchain 240 at step S939 and generate a verification.”.), (Par. (0058); The authorizing entity computer 220 may further verify the signed key.”.), (Par. (0057); may sign the first public key with the first private key to form a signed key)
Wang does not explicitly teach (i) generating a first one-way function chain of data items, tn, that satisfies to = Hn(tn_1); wherein n corresponds to a number of permitted access events to a resource authorized to a first party; (ii) calculating and storing an initial data item, to; (v) submitting to a blockchain an access blockchain transaction, wherein the derived public key, P1 serves as a blockchain address to which the access blockchain transaction is submitted; accessing the resource for one of the n permitted access events, wherein each such access consumes one token from the chain, decrementing a number of remaining permitted access events by one.
Wherein Chabanne teaches (i) generating a first one-way function chain of data items, tn, that satisfies to = Hn(tn_1); (Par. (0038-0043); generating predetermined hash function with equation), (Par. (0116-0118); hash function must satisfy condition of formula))
(ii) calculating and storing an initial data item, to; (Par. (0038-0043); calculating the datum with formula and proof data)), (Par. (0080-0083); datum and proof are written into database of blockchain with plurality of storage nodes))
(v) submitting to a blockchain an access blockchain transaction, (Par. (0119-0123); transaction identified by public key and placed/received in database)), (Par. (0120); The identity-attesting device 1 then gives instruction for memorisation 108 in the database 4 of the first transaction data and of the hashed data. The first transaction data are placed in association with the public key of the user U in the database 4, so as to indicate to a third party accessing the database 4 that this user U is the recipient of the K Bitcoins transferred by the identity-attesting device 1.”.)
wherein the derived public key, P1 serves as a blockchain address to which the access blockchain transaction is submitted; (Par. (0177); All the access accounts to the database 4 are anonymous in that the true identities of the holders of the access accounts to the database 4 are not known to third parties on mere reading of the content of the database 4. A third party reading the transaction data T(K,1=>2), T(K,2=>3) and T(K,3=>1) will find that K bitcoins are successively owned by a first account, then by a second account and a third account. To read these transaction data, any third party may use the public key associated with each of these accounts. However, the third party does not know the identity of the holder of each of these three accounts. In particular, the third party absolutely does not know that the user U is one of these holders.), (Par. (0083); The database 4 is a database of “blockchain” type. Herein a database of blockchain type i”.)
accessing the resource for one of the n permitted access events, (Par. (0138); The access device 1115 may communicate with a remotely located server computer (not shown). The remotely located server computer may exchange the account token for the associated credential to determine whether access should be granted to building 1180, and may transmit a signal indicating this back to the access device 1120, The access device 1120 may then proceed to allow or deny access by the user 1106 to the building 1180, in accordance with the credential)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teaching of Chabanne to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of verification data using a blockchain network, with the motivation of implemented on-way hash functions with a blockchain network and transactions to solve the problem of confidentiality of personal data by using hash based verification and exchanging of keys as a form of comparison to ensure users true data attestation and maintain integrity of the system. (Chabanne Par. (0012-0016))
Wang and Chabanne do not explicitly teach wherein n corresponds to a number of permitted access events to a resource authorized to a first party; wherein each such access consumes one token from the chain, decrementing a number of remaining permitted access events by one.
Wherein Thekadath teaches wherein n corresponds to a number of permitted access events to a resource authorized to a first party; (Par. (0030); number of permitted access events (number of authorized usages) to a resource (digital asset and data)), (Par. (0027, 0091); node and participants are authorized corresponding to data)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang and Chabanne to incorporate the teaching of Thekadath to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of verification data using a blockchain network, with the motivation of creating secure records and preventing high chances of tampering with the access to resources. (Thekadath Par. (0002))
Wang, Chabanne and Thekadath do not explicitly teach wherein each such access consumes one token from the chain, decrementing a number of remaining permitted access events by one.
Wherein Kimura teaches wherein each such access consumes one token from the chain, decrementing a number of remaining permitted access events by one. (Par. (0029 and 0042-0042); each such access consumes one token (access corresponding to access token of blockchain)) (Par. (0053-0055); decrementing a number (decreasing a number) of remaining permitted access events by one (decreasing the number of access tokens by “1”), (Par. (0043); The access device 1115 may communicate with a remotely located server computer (not shown). The remotely located server computer may exchange the account token for the associated credential to determine whether access should be granted to building 1180, and may transmit a signal indicating this back to the access device 1120, The access device 1120 may then proceed to allow or deny access by the user 1106 to the building 1180, in accordance with the credential)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang, Chabanne and Thekadath to incorporate the teaching of Kimura to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of verification data using a blockchain network, with the motivation of protecting the privacy data and verifying token holders by implementing high safety without over sharing. (Kimura Par. (0005))
In regards to Claim 21, the combination of Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura teach the method of claim 18, Wang further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 18, further comprising sending, to the second party, another verification data item, tn, of the first one-way function chain of data items. (Par. (0059); verification data item (public key with signature) of first-one way function (transaction identifier with hash is assigned to signature and first public key that is transmitted to nodes in blockchain))
In regards to Claim 24, the combination of Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura teach the method of claim 18, Wang further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon executable instructions that, as a result of being executed by a processor of a computer system, cause the computer system to at least perform the computer-implemented method of claim 18. (Par. (0080); processor with computer readable storage medium))
In regards to Claim 25, Wang teaches a computer-implemented method for activating a sequence of tokens for verification performed between a first party and a second party, the method at the second party comprising steps of: (Par. (0022); sequence of tokens for verification between first party and second party (multiple tokens verified between one or more nodes)), (Par. (0075); activating a sequence of tokens (activation of tokens [..] upon activation))
(i) receiving, from the first party, a public key, Po, and storing as a verification data item; (Par. (0007-0008 and 0058); transmitting and receiving between nodes of blockchain the public key used for verification)), (Par. (0073; public key is stored)), (Par. (0114); “the first trust token, as well as the sensitive data, in some embodiments. The communication device 210 may forward the request to the token server 230. The token server 230 may be an example of a recipient computer that receives requests for account tokens. Responsive to the request, the token server 230 may extract the first digital signature from the first trust token and transmit it to one or more nodes of the blockchain 240. The one or more nodes may verify the first digital signature with the previously recorded first digital signature on the blockchain 240. For example, the one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may compare the first digital signature received from the communication device 210 to the first digital signature received from the blockchain 240 in order to authenticate the first digital signature sourced from the electronic device 805. The one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may generate a verification and transmit the verification to the token server 230.”.), (Par. (0112-0113); the following: “The one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may digitally sign the first public key with the third private key to generate a first digital signature”. [..] “ may generate a first trust token using at least the first digital signature.”; the first public key is transmitted, signed to create a first signature for the first signature to be used in a verification process)
(iii) receiving a first token, tr_1, from the first party; (Par. (0096-0098); token is provided to requesting entity to determine activating/deactivating based on expiration date/lifecycle))
wherein the public key, Po, is a verification key corresponding to a sequence of n tokens, and (Par. (0036 and 0048); tokens corresponding to public keys))
wherein the revealed public key, P1 is derived by the first party; (Par. (0036 and 0048); deriving public key from token with user))
(iv) calculating an output using the verification data item, Po, and the first token, tr_1; (Par. (0036 and 0048); token with identity data that is calculated and verification data item (public key))
(v) comparing the output of step (iv) to the revealed public key, P1; and (Par. (0069, 0082 and 0088); received trust token that includes public keys signed are matched, if match then proceed))
(vi) based on the comparison of step (v): (a) allocating the revealed public key, P1, as a further verification data item for verifying a further revealed public key, Pn; and (Par. (0069-0070); after comparing and matching of public key and signature, trust token with public key is provided and sensitive data is communicated to device)), (Par. (0069, 0082 and 0088); received trust token that includes public keys signed are matched, if match then proceed)) , (Par. (0114-0116); comparison between token, verification data and derived public key (comparing token with data, signature of public key and when verified device can provide token for sensitive data)), (Par. (0022); “The recipients may interpret the trust token and verify it against data written to one or more nodes of a blockchain when the user and the communication device registered for the trust token. Once the trust token is verified,”), (Par. (0122); “the token server 230 may extract the first digital signature from the first trust token. At step S937, the token server 230 may transmit the first digital signature to one or more nodes of the blockchain 240. The one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may verify the first digital signature received from the electronic device 805 against the first digital signature recorded on the blockchain 240 at step S939 and generate a verification.”.), (Par. (0123); ““the token server 230 may extract the first digital signature from the first trust token. At step S937, the token server 230 may transmit the first digital signature to one or more nodes of the blockchain 240. The one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may verify the first digital signature received from the electronic device 805 against the first digital signature recorded on the blockchain 240 at step S939 and generate a verification.”.), (Par. (0058); The authorizing entity computer 220 may further verify the signed key.”.), (Par. (0057); may sign the first public key with the first private key to form a signed key)
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein n corresponds to a number of permitted access events to a resource authorized to the first party; (ii) retrieving an access blockchain transaction comprising a revealed public key, P1, the access blockchain transaction submitted to a blockchain network by the first party; wherein the revealed public key, P1 is derived by the first party; (b) granting the first party access to the resource for one of the n permitted access events, wherein each such access consumes one token from a chain of data items t,, decrementing a number of remaining permitted access events by one.
Wherein Chabanne teaches (ii) retrieving an access blockchain transaction comprising a revealed public key, P1, the access blockchain transaction submitted to a blockchain network by the first party; (Par. (0119-0123); transaction identified by public key and placed/received in database)), (Par. (0131-0137); client 2 detects transaction data with public key and once indicated transferring and storing transaction data associated with proof)), (Par. (0120); The identity-attesting device 1 then gives instruction for memorisation 108 in the database 4 of the first transaction data and of the hashed data. The first transaction data are placed in association with the public key of the user U in the database 4, so as to indicate to a third party accessing the database 4 that this user U is the recipient of the K Bitcoins transferred by the identity-attesting device 1.”.), (Par. (0177); All the access accounts to the database 4 are anonymous in that the true identities of the holders of the access accounts to the database 4 are not known to third parties on mere reading of the content of the database 4. A third party reading the transaction data T(K,1=>2), T(K,2=>3) and T(K,3=>1) will find that K bitcoins are successively owned by a first account, then by a second account and a third account. To read these transaction data, any third party may use the public key associated with each of these accounts. However, the third party does not know the identity of the holder of each of these three accounts. In particular, the third party absolutely does not know that the user U is one of these holders.), (Par. (0083); The database 4 is a database of “blockchain” type. Herein a database of blockchain type i”.)
(b) granting the first party access to the resource for one of the n permitted access events, (Par. (0138); The access device 1115 may communicate with a remotely located server computer (not shown). The remotely located server computer may exchange the account token for the associated credential to determine whether access should be granted to building 1180, and may transmit a signal indicating this back to the access device 1120, The access device 1120 may then proceed to allow or deny access by the user 1106 to the building 1180, in accordance with the credential)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teaching of Chabanne to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of verification data using a blockchain network, with the motivation of implemented on-way hash functions with a blockchain network and transactions to solve the problem of confidentiality of personal data by using hash based verification and exchanging of keys as a form of comparison to ensure users true data attestation and maintain integrity of the system (Chabanne Par. (0012-0016))
Wang and Chabanne do not explicitly teach wherein n corresponds to a number of permitted access events to a resource authorized to the first party; wherein the revealed public key, P1 is derived by the first party; wherein each such access consumes one token from a chain of data items t,, decrementing a number of remaining permitted access events by one.
Wherein Thekadath teaches wherein n corresponds to a number of permitted access events to a resource authorized to the first party; (Par. (0030); number of permitted access events (number of authorized usages) to a resource (digital asset and data)), (Par. (0027, 0091); node and participants are authorized corresponding to data)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang and Chabanne to incorporate the teaching of Thekadath to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of verification data using a blockchain network, with the motivation of creating secure records and preventing high chances of tampering with the access to resources. (Thekadath Par. (0002))
Wang, Chabanne and Thekadath do not explicitly teach wherein each such access consumes one token from a chain of data items t,, decrementing a number of remaining permitted access events by one.
Wherein Kimura teaches wherein each such access consumes one token from a chain of data items t,, decrementing a number of remaining permitted access events by one. (Par. (0029 and 0042-0042); each such access consumes one token (access corresponding to access token of blockchain)) (Par. (0053-0055); decrementing a number (decreasing a number) of remaining permitted access events by one (decreasing the number of access tokens by “1”), (Par. (0043); The access device 1115 may communicate with a remotely located server computer (not shown). The remotely located server computer may exchange the account token for the associated credential to determine whether access should be granted to building 1180, and may transmit a signal indicating this back to the access device 1120, The access device 1120 may then proceed to allow or deny access by the user 1106 to the building 1180, in accordance with the credential)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang, Chabanne and Thekadath to incorporate the teaching of Kimura to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of verification data using a blockchain network, with the motivation of protecting the privacy data and verifying token holders by implementing high safety without over sharing. (Kimura Par. (0005))
In regards to Claim 31, the combination of Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura teach the method of claim 18, Chabanne further teaches storing an initial data item of a one-way function chain, from which at least one data item of the one-way function chain is calculable. (Par. (0115-0116 and 0120-0124); calculating of one way hash function of hashed data and storing the hashed data in database)) (Par. (0080-0083); hash included in datum and proof are written into database of blockchain with plurality of storage nodes))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teaching of Chabanne for the reasons discussed in independent claim 18 stated above.
In regards to Claim 33, the combination of Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura teach the method of claim 18, Wang further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 25, wherein the access blockchain transaction comprises information identifying the resource. (Par. (0114-0116); when verified device with comparison of digital signature and tokens then system can provide token for sensitive data)), (Par. (0043); access blockchain transaction comprises information identifying the resource (sensitive data with personal information and keys)), (Par. (0096); access blockchain transaction comprises ( transaction of blockchain) information identifying the resource (sensitive data associated with token))
In regards to Claim 34, the combination of Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura teach the method of claim 18, Wang further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon executable instructions that, as a result of being executed by a processor of a computer system, cause the computer system to at least perform the computer-implemented method of claim 25. (Par. (0080); processor with computer readable storage medium))
In regards to Claim 35, Wang teaches a plurality of systems, comprising: a first party system, comprising: (Par. (0047 and 0076); plurality of systems), (Par. (0007-0008); first party (one or more nodes sending data))
a first processor; and (Par. (0009); processor)
first memory including executable instructions that, as a result of execution by the first processor, (Par. (0009); processor and memory)
causes the system to perform a first computer-implemented method of activating a sequence of tokens for verification performed between a first party and a second party, the first computer-implemented method performed at the first party comprising the steps of: (Par. (0022); sequence of tokens for verification between first party and second party (multiple tokens verified between one or more nodes)) , (Par. (0075); activating a sequence of tokens (activation of tokens [..] upon activation))
iii) sending, to the second party, a public key, Po, wherein the second party stores the public key, Po, as a verification data item; (Par. (0007-0008 and 0058); transmitting and receiving between nodes of blockchain the public key used for verification)), (Par. (0073; public key is stored)), (Par. (0114); “the first trust token, as well as the sensitive data, in some embodiments. The communication device 210 may forward the request to the token server 230. The token server 230 may be an example of a recipient computer that receives requests for account tokens. Responsive to the request, the token server 230 may extract the first digital signature from the first trust token and transmit it to one or more nodes of the blockchain 240. The one or more nodes may verify the first digital signature with the previously recorded first digital signature on the blockchain 240. For example, the one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may compare the first digital signature received from the communication device 210 to the first digital signature received from the blockchain 240 in order to authenticate the first digital signature sourced from the electronic device 805. The one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may generate a verification and transmit the verification to the token server 230.”.), (Par. (0112-0113); the following: “The one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may digitally sign the first public key with the third private key to generate a first digital signature”. [..] “ may generate a first trust token using at least the first digital signature.”; the first public key is transmitted, signed to create a first signature for the first signature to be used in a verification process)
(vi) sending, to the second party, the first token, tr_1, such that the second party can verify that the token has been activated; and (Par. (0096-0098); token is provided to requesting entity to determine activating/deactivating based on expiration date/lifecycle))
(vii) based on an outcome at the second party of a comparison between the first token, tr_1, the verification data item, Po, and the derived public key, P1; and (Par. (0069, 0082 and 0088); received trust token that includes public keys signed are matched, if match then proceed)) , (Par. (0114-0116); comparison between token, verification data and derived public key (comparing token with data, signature of public key and when verified device can provide token for sensitive data)), (Par. (0022); “The recipients may interpret the trust token and verify it against data written to one or more nodes of a blockchain when the user and the communication device registered for the trust token. Once the trust token is verified,”), (Par. (0122); “the token server 230 may extract the first digital signature from the first trust token. At step S937, the token server 230 may transmit the first digital signature to one or more nodes of the blockchain 240. The one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may verify the first digital signature received from the electronic device 805 against the first digital signature recorded on the blockchain 240 at step S939 and generate a verification.”.), (Par. (0123); ““the token server 230 may extract the first digital signature from the first trust token. At step S937, the token server 230 may transmit the first digital signature to one or more nodes of the blockchain 240. The one or more nodes of the blockchain 240 may verify the first digital signature received from the electronic device 805 against the first digital signature recorded on the blockchain 240 at step S939 and generate a verification.”.), (Par. (0058); The authorizing entity computer 220 may further verify the signed key.”.), (Par. (0057); may sign the first public key with the first private key to form a signed key)
(iv) deriving a first token tr_1 and using this to create a derived public key, P1; (Par. (0055-0059); provisioning token and public key pair is generated)), (Par. (0067); generated token that includes keys))
a second party system, comprising: (Par. (0007-0008); one or more nodes receiving data))
a second processor; and (Par. (0039, 0060 0135); second processor (one or more nodes with processor and memory as device))
second memory including executable instructions that, as a result of execution by the second processor, causes the system to perform a second computer- implemented method of activating a sequence of tokens for verification performed between a first party and a second party, the second computer-implemented method at the second party comprising steps of: (Par. (0039, 0060 0135); second memory and processor (one or more nodes with processor and memory as device)), (Par. (0022); sequence of tokens for verification between first party and second party (multiple tokens verified between one or more nodes)) , (Par. (0075); activating a sequence of tokens (activation of tokens [..] upon activation))
(i) receiving, from the first party, a public key, Po, and storing as the verification data item; (Par. (0007-0008 and 0058); transmitting and receiving between nodes of blockchain the public key used for verification)), (Par. (0073; public key is stored))
(iii) receiving a first token, tr_1, from the first party; (Par. (0096-0098); token is provided to requesting entity to determine activating/deactivating based on expiration date/lifecycle))
(iv) calculating an output using the verification data item, Po, and the first token, tr_1; (Par. (0036 and 0048); token with identity data that is calculated and verification data item (public key))
(v) comparing the output of step (iv) to the revealed public key, P1; and (Par. (0069, 0082 and 0088); received trust token that includes public keys signed are matched, if match then proceed))
(vi) based on the comparison of step (v):(a) allocating the revealed public key, P1, as a further verification data item for verifying a further revealed public key, Pn; and (Par. (0069-0070); after comparing and matching of public key and signature, trust token with public key is provided and sensitive data is communicated to device))
Wang does not explicitly teach(i) generating a first one-way function chain of data items, tn, that satisfies to=Hn(tn_1); wherein n corresponds to a number of permitted access events to a resource authorized to the first party; (ii) calculating and storing an initial data item, to; (v) submitting to a blockchain an access blockchain transaction addressed to the derived public key, P1, for one of the n permitted access events, wherein each such access consumes one token from the chain, decrementing a number of remaining permitted access events by one; wherein the derived public key, P1serves as a blockchain address to which the access blockchain transaction is submitted; (ii) retrieving an access blockchain transaction comprising a revealed public key, P1, the access blockchain transaction submitted to a blockchain network by the first party; wherein the revealed public key, P is the blockchain address; b. granting the first party access to a resource, P1 for one of the n permitted access events.
Chabanne teaches (i) generating a first one-way function chain of data items, tn, that satisfies to=Hn(tn_1); (Par. (0038-0043); generating predetermined hash function with equation), (Par. (0116-0118); hash function must satisfy condition of formula)),
(ii) calculating and storing an initial data item, to; (Par. (0038-0043); calculating the datum with formula and proof data)), (Par. (0080-0083); datum and proof are written into database of blockchain with plurality of storage nodes))
(ii) retrieving an access blockchain transaction comprising a revealed public key, P1, the access blockchain transaction submitted to a blockchain network by the first party; (Par. (0119-0123); transaction identified by public key and placed/received in database )), (Par. (0131-0137); client 2 detects transaction data with public key and once indicated transferring and storing transaction data associated with proof)), (Par. (0120); The identity-attesting device 1 then gives instruction for memorisation 108 in the database 4 of the first transaction data and of the hashed data. The first transaction data are placed in association with the public key of the user U in the database 4, so as to indicate to a third party accessing the database 4 that this user U is the recipient of the K Bitcoins transferred by the identity-attesting device 1.”.)
wherein the derived public key, P1serves as a blockchain address to which the access blockchain transaction is submitted; (Par. (0177); All the access accounts to the database 4 are anonymous in that the true identities of the holders of the access accounts to the database 4 are not known to third parties on mere reading of the content of the database 4. A third party reading the transaction data T(K,1=>2), T(K,2=>3) and T(K,3=>1) will find that K bitcoins are successively owned by a first account, then by a second account and a third account. To read these transaction data, any third party may use the public key associated with each of these accounts. However, the third party does not know the identity of the holder of each of these three accounts. In particular, the third party absolutely does not know that the user U is one of these holders.), (Par. (0083); The database 4 is a database of “blockchain” type. Herein a database of blockchain type i”.)
b. granting the first party access to a resource, P1 for one of the n permitted access events. (Par. (0138); The access device 1115 may communicate with a remotely located server computer (not shown). The remotely located server computer may exchange the account token for the associated credential to determine whether access should be granted to building 1180, and may transmit a signal indicating this back to the access device 1120, The access device 1120 may then proceed to allow or deny access by the user 1106 to the building 1180, in accordance with the credential)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teaching of Chabanne to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of verification data using a blockchain network, with the motivation of implemented on-way hash functions with a blockchain network and transactions to solve the problem of confidentiality of personal data by using hash based verification and exchanging of keys as a form of comparison to ensure users true data attestation and maintain integrity of the system (Chabanne Par. (0012-0016))
Wang and Chabanne do not explicitly teach wherein n corresponds to a number of permitted access events to a resource authorized to the first party; for one of the n permitted access events, wherein each such access consumes one token from the chain, decrementing a number of remaining permitted access events by one; wherein the revealed public key, P is the blockchain address;
Wherein Thekadath teaches wherein n corresponds to a number of permitted access events to a resource authorized to the first party; (Par. (0030); number of permitted access events (number of authorized usages) to a resource (digital asset and data)), (Par. (0027, 0091); node and participants are authorized corresponding to data)
wherein the revealed public key, P is the blockchain address; (Par. (0024); using the public key as participants address)), (Par. (0049,0055-0056); address with blocks and transactions that are stored and created))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang and Chabanne to incorporate the teaching of Thekadath to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of verification data using a blockchain network, with the motivation of creating secure records and preventing high chances of tampering with the access to resources. (Thekadath Par. (0002))
Wang, Chabanne and Thekadath do not explicitly teach for one of the n permitted access events, wherein each such access consumes one token from the chain, decrementing a number of remaining permitted access events by one;
Wherein Kimura teaches for one of the n permitted access events, wherein each such access consumes one token from the chain, decrementing a number of remaining permitted access events by one; (Par. (0029 and 0042-0042); each such access consumes one token (access corresponding to access token of blockchain)) (Par. (0053-0055); decrementing a number (decreasing a number) of remaining permitted access events by one (decreasing the number of access tokens by “1”), (Par. (0043); The access device 1115 may communicate with a remotely located server computer (not shown). The remotely located server computer may exchange the account token for the associated credential to determine whether access should be granted to building 1180, and may transmit a signal indicating this back to the access device 1120, The access device 1120 may then proceed to allow or deny access by the user 1106 to the building 1180, in accordance with the credential)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang, Chabanne and Thekadath to incorporate the teaching of Kimura to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of verification data using a blockchain network, with the motivation of protecting the privacy data and verifying token holders by implementing high safety without over sharing. (Kimura Par. (0005))
Claims 22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210167962, hereinafter referred to as “Wang”), Chabanne et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180122031, hereinafter referred to as “Chabanne”)
Thekadath et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190253258, hereinafter referred to as “Thekadath”) and Kimura et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180309693, hereinafter referred to as “Kimura”) further in view of Loh et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20140164251, hereinafter referred to as “Loh”)
In regards to Claim 22, the combination of Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura do not explicitly teach wherein the tokens take values in a common group as private keys.
Wherein Loh teaches wherein the tokens take values in a common group as private keys. (Par. (0132); private key data stored within token with characters encoded))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura to incorporate the teaching of Reddy to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of analogous concept of tokenization of data in a blockchain network, with the motivation of enhancing security measures by linking tokens with cryptographic keys included to identify authentic users and trace transactions more effectively. (Loh (Par. (0007-0008))
Claims 23 and 32, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210167962, hereinafter referred to as “Wang”), Chabanne et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180122031, hereinafter referred to as “Chabanne”) Thekadath et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190253258, hereinafter referred to as “Thekadath”) and Kimura et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180309693, hereinafter referred to as “Kimura”) further in view of Kaliski et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170012780, hereinafter referred to as “Kaliski”)
In regards to Claim 23, the combination of Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura do not explicitly teach sending, to the second party, a public key chain, each public key in the public key chain corresponding to a respective data item of a one-way function chain.
Wherein Kaliski teaches sending, to the second party, a public key chain, (Par. (0039-0040); a public key chain (trust chain with records of certificates and public keys)), (Par. (0070-0080); sending to the second party (Bob sends to Alice), a public key chain (trust chain records that include digital certificate and public key))
each public key in the public key chain corresponding to a respective data item of a one-way function chain. (Par. (0039 and 0045) each hash in trust chain with records corresponds to hashes of public keys))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura to incorporate the teaching of Kaliski to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of analogous concept of hash based verification and cryptographic key exchanges, with the motivation of having a chain of public keys to create trust in parties exchanging data, authenticate entities more effectively and transfer data with a hierarchy based on the chain and comparing information linked. (Kaliski Par. (0037-0038))
In regards to Claim 32, the combination of Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura do not explicitly teach receiving a public key chain from the first party, each public key in the public key chain corresponding to a respective data item of a one-way function chain.
Wherein Kaliski teaches receiving a public key chain from the first party, (Par. (0039-0040); a public key chain (trust chain with records of certificates and public keys)), (Par. (0070-0080); sending to the second party (Bob sends to Alice), a public key chain (trust chain records that include digital certificate and public key))
each public key in the public key chain corresponding to a respective data item of a one-way function chain. (Par. (0039 and 0045) each hash in trust chain with records corresponds to hashes of public keys))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura to incorporate the teaching of Kaliski for the reasons discussed in dependent claim 23 stated above.
Claims 26-27, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210167962, hereinafter referred to as “Wang”), Chabanne et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180122031, hereinafter referred to as “Chabanne”) Thekadath et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190253258, hereinafter referred to as “Thekadath”) and Kimura et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180309693, hereinafter referred to as “Kimura”) further in view of Hiwatari et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20140075199, hereinafter referred to as “Hiwatari”)
In regards to Claim 26, the combination of Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura do not explicitly teach wherein step (v) comprises an application of at least one test or criterion.
Wherein Hiwatari teaches wherein step (v) comprises an application of at least one test or criterion. (Par. (0112-0113) “”; application of at least one test (comparing of the output hash values includes a test to determine a match)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura to incorporate the teaching of Hiwatari to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of hash based verification using exchanges of cryptographic keys, with the motivation of using a test to verify personal data and prevent data leakage based on keys and hash exchanged leading to secure protection and elimination of tampering and high authenticity based on the verification. (Hiwatari Par. (0002-0004))
In regards to Claim 27, the combination of Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura do not explicitly teach wherein the test or criterion comprises an assessment as to whether the output matches, or is identical to, revealed public key, P1.
Wherein Hiwatari teaches wherein the test or criterion comprises an assessment as to whether the output matches, or is identical to, revealed public key, P1. (Par. (0112-0113) ; test comprises comparing of the output hash values includes a test to determine a match)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura to incorporate the teaching of Hiwatari to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of hash based verification using exchanges of cryptographic keys, with the motivation of using a test to verify personal data and prevent data leakage based on keys and hash exchanged leading to secure protection and elimination of tampering and high authenticity based on the verification. (Hiwatari Par. (0002-0004))
Claim 28, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210167962, hereinafter referred to as “Wang”), Chabanne et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180122031, hereinafter referred to as “Chabanne”) Thekadath et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190253258, hereinafter referred to as “Thekadath”), Kimura et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180309693, hereinafter referred to as “Kimura”) and Hiwatari et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20140075199, hereinafter referred to as “Hiwatari”)further in view of Reddy et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190303623, hereinafter referred to as “Reddy”)
In regards to Claim 28, the combination of Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath, Kimura and Hiwatari do not explicitly teach wherein the test comprises a threshold-based assessment.
Wherein Reddy teaches wherein the test comprises a threshold-based assessment. (Par. (0237-0243);the test (test criteria) comprises a threshold-based assessment (threshold number of hash [..] test results satisfies the test criteria that the hash matches))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath, Kimura and Hiwatari to incorporate the teaching of Reddy to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of analogous concept of one-way functions as a means of data verification, with the motivation of determining authenticity by using a test with a set of rules, threshold or criteria based assessment the user is more aware of possible vulnerabilities/harm based on the output results of the test. This helps prevent compromise in the data verification and create a trustworthy network. (Reddy Par. (0002-0003))
Claim 29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210167962, hereinafter referred to as “Wang”) Chabanne et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180122031, hereinafter referred to as “Chabanne”) Thekadath et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190253258, hereinafter referred to as “Thekadath”) and Kimura et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180309693, hereinafter referred to as “Kimura”) further in view of Hakala et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170004168, hereinafter referred to as “Hakala”)
In regards to Claim 29, the combination of Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura do not explicitly teach wherein step (iv) comprises calculating P1=Po + tr_1-G.
Wherein Hakala teaches wherein step (iv) comprises calculating P1=Po + tr_1-G. (Par. (0042); calculating output of hash and token to reconstruct using equation If y.sub.4=X.sub.18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura to incorporate the teaching of Hakala to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of analogous concept of secure transmission of messages using hash-based techniques and key exchanges, with the motivation of preventing messages from being intercepted or altered based on verification principles and calculation of keys and proof to help enhance the integrity of the transmission of messages. (Hakala Par. (0002-0004))
Claim 30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210167962, hereinafter referred to as “Wang”), Chabanne et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180122031, hereinafter referred to as “Chabanne”) Thekadath et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190253258, hereinafter referred to as “Thekadath”) and Kimura et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180309693, hereinafter referred to as “Kimura”) further in view of Fiske et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20180144114, hereinafter referred to as “Fiske”)
In regards to Claim 30, the combination of Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura do not explicitly teach repeating steps (ii) to (vi) using the revealed public key, P1, a further token received from the first party, and a further revealed public key, Pn.
Wherein Fiske teaches repeating steps (ii) to (vi) using the revealed public key, P1, a further token received from the first party, and a further revealed public key, Pn. (Par. (0181); repeating steps ii to vi (steps 300-600 may be repeated)), (Par. (0179) ; repeated step iii (method 600)), (Par. (0153) ; repeated step iv (method 300)), (Par. (0148-0149) “.”; repeated step ii (method 300))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang, Chabanne, Thekadath and Kimura to incorporate the teaching of Fiske to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of analogous concept of because of the analogous concept of data verification using a blockchain based system, with the motivation of Fiske repeating steps constantly the system adds an additional filter and layer of protection by using the loop of repeated steps. This allows user to identify irregularities and possible risk and harm due to outputs of the one-way function that are compared. By conducting the test multiple times and effective solution for transferring important data such as digital files and documents can be thoroughly assured to users that no compromise has occurred due to multiple iterations. (Fiske Par. (0005-0011))
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DAVIES; Jack Owen (U.S Pub. No. 20220410017) “PROVABLY FAIR GAMES USING A BLOCKCHAIN”. Considered this reference because it a blockchain network with data item verification using a one-way function with a similar inventor.
MIZUNO; Eiji (U.S Pub. No. 20180204423) “AUTOMATIC TRANSACTION SYSTEM”. Considered this application because it relates to the comparison of one-way hash values as outputs and based on the comparison allowing access to the financial system.
Khan; Ahmer A. (U.S Pub. No. 20150213433) “SECURE PROVISIONING OF CREDENTIALS ON AN ELECTRONIC DEVICE USING ELLIPTIC CURVE CRYPTOGRAPHY”. Considered this application because it addressed the secure communication of data using multiple encryption keys to access a system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2497
/ELENI A SHIFERAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2497