DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged (US Provisional Applications 63/438,198; 63/438,417; and 63/439,456 the earliest of which is 63/438,198 filed on January 10th, 2023).
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended claims 1 – 20 beyond formalities and 112 Rejections.
The pending claims are 1 – 20 [Page 11 lines 1 – 11].
Applicant amended the Drawings to address some of the Examiner’s Drawing Objections [Section I: Page 11 line 12 – Page 12 line 13]. The Examiner reconsiders the Objections in view of the amendments made. However, there is no specific rule limiting reference characters to solely be numerical, thus the “no” and “Yes” reference character is maintained [Page 11 lines 14 – 16]. Also, in the sole interest to expedite prosecution the arguments regarding features not in the Drawing are considered persuasive [Page 12 lines 9 – 12].
Applicant amended the Specification to overcome Examiner’s Specification Objections [Section II: Page 12 lines 14 – 17].
Applicant amended the claims to address Examiner’s Claim Objections [Section III: Page 12 lines 18 – 21]. The Examiner reconsiders the Objections in view of the amended claims.
Applicant amended the claims to address Examiner’s 112(b) Rejections [Section IV: Page 13 lines 1 – 15]. The Examiner reconsiders the 112(b) Rejections in view of the amended claims.
Applicant does NOT comment on Examiner’s Functional Analysis, thus in view of the silent reply there is apparent agreement the listed terms do NOT invoke Functional Analysis as well as the amended “circuitry”. In the sole interest of brevity, the Functional Analysis section will be removed.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Note: The Examiner responds to arguments in Section V with the points numbered continuously.
First, the Applicant lists references cited against the claims [Page 13 lines 16 – 19] and lists requirements responding to an obviousness Rejection [Page 13 lines 20 – 22].
Second, the Applicant lists amened independent claim 1 [Page 14 lines 1 – 20] and cites Specification support for amendments to independent claim 1 [Page 14 lines 21 – 22].
Third, the Applicant contends Mart does not disclose features of amended independent claim 1 [Page 14 line 23 – Page 15 line 2] and concludes the claims are allowable [Page 15 lines 3 – 5]. The Examiner notes in view of the scope change while the references cited may be argued back, to expedite prosecution a new reference will be cited against the claims. Additionally regarding claim 2, while not argued, the previous references in view of the arguments made [e.g. Page 12 lines 9 – 12] as the wavelet transform is applied to displacement data.
While the Applicant’s points may be understood, to which the Examiner may respectfully disagrees; the Examiner in the sole interest to expedite prosecution cites a new reference against the amended claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 28th, 2023, July 17th, 2024, and March 21st, 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (mailed December 23rd, 2025). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “No” and “Yes” [Figure 6].
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tourapis, et al. (US PG PUB 2024/0022765 A1 referred to as “Tourapis” throughout in which the Examiner cites from the US PG PUB instead of all enabling US Provisional Application), and further in view of Martemianov, et al. (WO2024/084326 A1 referred to as “Mart” throughout) [First cited in the Office Action mailed on December 23rd, 2025], Oh, et al. (US Patent #12,010,341 B2 referred to as “Oh” throughout), and Nguyen Canh, et al. (US PG PUB 2024/0040148 A1 referred to as “Nguyen” throughout).
Regarding claim 9, see claim 1 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 10, see claim 2 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 11, see claim 3 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 12, see claim 4 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 13, see claim 5 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 14, see claim 6 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 15, see claim 7 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 16, see claim 8 which is the apparatus performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 1, Tourapis teaches a system for point cloud coding / decoding in which sub-meshes are partially and independently decodable with some associated syntax elements for processing the sub-meshes. Mart teaches additional syntax elements for partial decoding of meshes using sub-meshes to be partially and independently decodable where the syntax elements are signaled in SEI messages. Oh renders obvious coding point cloud information with minimal / smallest bounding boxes and additional considerations for partial decoding of sub-meshes and independent mesh / sub-mesh encoding / decoding. Nguyen teaches signaling flags for independent reconstruction of meshes or submeshes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tourapis to incorporate the additional syntax elements of Mart with smallest box and partial decoding and independent decoding / encoding considerations as taught by Oh; and additionally with Nguyen’s signaling of independent processing in conforming bitstreams. The combination teaches
communication circuitry [Tourapis Figure 17 (see at least reference character 1740) as well as Paragraphs 29 and 167 – 172 (network interface for communication between devices / processors) and 173 – 176 (generic implementations such as computer or hardware based embodiments – to combine with Paragraph 29 or Oh Column 55 line 64 – Column 56 line 13)] configured to receive a compressed bitstream having sub-bitstreams including a base mesh sub-bitstream, a displacement sub-bitstream, and an attributes sub-bitstream [Tourapis Figures 5, 7, and 10 – 12 (see bitstream inputs to the decoder which is compressed from encoders)) as well as Paragraphs 62 – 68 (base mesh sub stream / sub bitstream with similar attribute and displacement sub-components / bitstreams), 87 – 92 (attribute and displacement sub-streams as obvious variants of the claims sub-bitstream to one of ordinary skill in the art), and 109 – 110 (base mesh sub bitstream compressed in Figures 4 (see output of reference character 406 and 438), 6, 8, and 10 as well as Paragraphs 95 – 101 (see heading describing compressed base mesh bitstream))]; and
a processor operably coupled to the communication circuitry [Tourapis Figure 17 (see at least reference characters 1710, 1710a, 1710b, 1710n) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 172 (processors coupled to a communication interface)], the processor configured to:
decode the compressed bitstream, wherein the processor is configured to decode a plurality of submeshes from the base mesh sub-bitstream, decode geometry data from the displacement sub-bitstream, and decode attributes data from the attributes sub-bitstream [Tourapis Figures 5, 7, and 10 – 12 (see bitstream inputs to the decoder which is compressed from encoders)) as well as Paragraphs 48 – 50, 59, and 64 – 73 (displacement is part of the geometry information / data and part of prediction information to supplement attribute information (Paragraphs 63 and 73 at least) to combine with Mart Figure 24 Paragraphs 280 – 282 (displacements part of geometry information / data / frames)), 62 – 68 (base mesh sub stream / sub bitstream with similar attribute and displacement sub-components / bitstreams), 87 – 92 (attribute and displacement sub-streams as obvious variants of the claims sub-bitstream to one of ordinary skill in the art), and 109 – 110 (base mesh sub bitstream compressed in Figures 4 (see output of reference character 406 and 438), 6, 8, and 10 as well as Paragraphs 95 – 101 (see heading describing compressed base mesh bitstream))];
subdivide a submesh of the plurality of submeshes to generate a subdivided submesh [Tourapis Figures 1 – 2 and 14 – 16 (subdivision of sub-meshes) as well as Paragraphs 38 – 43, 50 – 56 and 73 – 76 (subdividing submeshes), combinable with Mart Figures 7 – 8 (subdivision techniques on meshes / submeshes) and 29 as well as Paragraphs 154 and 272 – 282 (subdivision process for submeshes / iterative process rendering obvious the “plurality” claimed)];
reconstruct vertex positions [In combination with next limitation – see Mart Figures 5 – 6 (see at least reference characters 506, 512 and 614)), 24 and 29 as well as Paragraphs 89 and 118 – 125 (reconstruction of vertex positions / coordinates which require displacement and attribute information), 239 (independently decodable submeshes), and 280 – 282 (displacements part of geometry information / data / frames)], using the decoded geometry data, and attributes, using the decoded attributes data, of the subdivided submesh independently of decoded data corresponding to one or more other submeshes [See “decoded a plurality of submeshes” limitation for citations of Tourapis and Mart for the “geometry data, attributes, and attribute data” and regarding the decoding of attribute data and independence see additionally Tourapis Figures 5, 7 (attribute data decoded separately from other decoded submesh / mesh data), and 12 – 14 as well as Paragraphs 70, 91 – 95 (attribute sub-stream decoding and displacement / geometry sub-streams to decode), 106 – 112 and 138 – 140 (independently decodable sub-meshes and sub-streams) where Oh Column 11 lines 6 – 27 and Column 44 line 7 – Column 45 line 37 (independently encoding / decoding information such as attribute information from the mesh information)], wherein a conformance requirement is imposed on the compressed bitstream indicated by one or more flags indicating independent reconstruction of submeshes [See previous limitation regarding processing submeshes independently and additionally Nguyen Figures 22 – 23 (see at least reference characters S2701, S2702, S2803, S2804, and S2805) as well as Paragraphs 60, 80 and 96 – 99 (conformant bitstream formed / generated) and 114 – 116 (independently processing partitions / meshes and analogies to 2D video coding), 145, and 167 – 169 and 176 (flags signaled in the bitstream to independently code / decode submeshes)]; and
reconstruct a mesh-frame using the reconstructed vertex positions [In combination with next limitation – see Mart Figures 5 – 6 (see at least reference characters 506, 512 and 614)), 24 and 29 as well as Paragraphs 89 and 118 – 125 (reconstruction of vertex positions / coordinates which require displacement and attribute information), 239 (independently decodable submeshes), and 280 – 282 (displacements part of geometry information / data / frames)] and reconstructed attributes corresponding to the subdivided submesh [Tourapis Figures 4 – 7 (see at least the reconstructed base mesh and the decoded mesh using displacement and vertex information see at least reference characters 408, 516 (decoding / reconstructing attribute data – combinable with Mart), and 706) as well as Paragraphs 46 and 53 – 56 (reconstruction of the base mesh / mesh frame from submeshes, displacement, and attribute information), 63 – 76 and 88 – 93 (reconstruction of the mesh / decoding the mesh similar processes as in the encoder / decoder), and 101 – 104 in combination with Mart Figures 14 – 15 as well as Paragraphs 145 – 148 (reconstruction of base mesh with attribute information)].
The motivation to combine Mart with Tourapis is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of encoding / decoding image for volumetric video [Mart Paragraphs 1 – 2] in order to improve compression performance [Mart Paragraphs 137 and 280 where the Examiner observes KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
The motivation to combine Oh with Mart and Tourapis is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of processing point cloud data [Oh Column 1 lines 16 – 34] in order to improve efficiency and quality of the display / services using the point cloud data [Oh Column 2 lines 23 – 30].
The motivation to combine Nguyen with Oh, Mart, and Tourapis is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of coding meshes [Nguyen Paragraph 2] in order to improve performance in coding / decoding meshes and processing containers of data using independent processing or not [Nguyen Paragraphs 98 – 100 and 140 – 142 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Tourapis, Mart, Oh, and Nguyen which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 2, Tourapis teaches a system for point cloud coding / decoding in which sub-meshes are partially and independently decodable with some associated syntax elements for processing the sub-meshes. Mart teaches additional syntax elements for partial decoding of meshes using sub-meshes to be partially and independently decodable where the syntax elements are signaled in SEI messages. Oh renders obvious coding point cloud information with minimal / smallest bounding boxes and additional considerations for partial decoding of sub-meshes and independent mesh / sub-mesh encoding / decoding. Nguyen teaches signaling flags for independent reconstruction of meshes or submeshes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tourapis to incorporate the additional syntax elements of Mart with smallest box and partial decoding and independent decoding / encoding considerations as taught by Oh; and additionally with Nguyen’s signaling of independent processing in conforming bitstreams. The combination teaches
wherein the processor is further configured to [See claim 1 for citations of claimed “processor”] use an inverse wavelet transform on the decoded geometry data corresponding to the submesh to obtain displacements associated with the subdivided submesh independently from the decoded geometry data corresponding to the one or more other submeshes [See claim 1 for citations of Tourapis and Mart for the “geometry data” and additionally Tourapis Figures 4 – 7 (see at least reference characters 424 and 514), and 12 – 14 as well as Paragraphs 76 (inverse wavelet transform to reconstruct displacement information), 100 – 112 and 138 – 140 (independently decodable sub-meshes and sub-streams) where Oh Column 11 lines 6 – 27 and Column 44 line 7 – Column 45 line 37 (independently encoding / decoding information sub-meshes, attribute, and geometry / displacement data – combinable with Mart “geometry data” citations)], wherein the geometry data was encoded by applying a wavelet transform independently to each submesh by excluding other submeshes during the application of the wavelet transform to each submesh [Tourapis Figures 4 – 7 (see at least reference characters 412 (wavelets in encoding), 424 and 514), and 12 – 14 as well as Paragraphs 46 and 76 (wavelet transform in encoding and inverse wavelet transform to reconstruct displacement information), 100 – 112 and 130 – 140 (independently decodable sub-meshes and sub-streams rendering obvious independently using wavelet transforms on displacements / submesh differences) where Oh Column 11 lines 6 – 27 and Column 44 line 7 – Column 45 line 37 (independently encoding / decoding information sub-meshes, attribute, and geometry / displacement data including using wavelet transforms in Column 49 lines 46 – 67 or taught by Tourapis) teaches independent processing alternatively / additionally as well as Mart Figures 10 – 11 as well as Paragraphs 132 (use of “lazy” wavelet transform), 138 – 141 (wavelet transform on geometry data on submeshes), 153, 201 – 203 and 230 – 232 (independent processing of submeshes which includes transform ) and 253 – 255 (wavelet transform on displacement data which may be performed independently), 270 – 277 (choosing to use transform for independent processing or packing data) where the wavelets applied may be done independently as taught also in Nguyen Figures 20 – 23 as well as Paragraphs 114 – 116 and 123 (independently processing geometry data) and 166 – 168 (independent flags signaled)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Tourapis, Mart, Oh, and Nguyen.
Regarding claim 3, Tourapis teaches a system for point cloud coding / decoding in which sub-meshes are partially and independently decodable with some associated syntax elements for processing the sub-meshes. Mart teaches additional syntax elements for partial decoding of meshes using sub-meshes to be partially and independently decodable where the syntax elements are signaled in SEI messages. Oh renders obvious coding point cloud information with minimal / smallest bounding boxes and additional considerations for partial decoding of sub-meshes and independent mesh / sub-mesh encoding / decoding. Nguyen teaches signaling flags for independent reconstruction of meshes or submeshes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tourapis to incorporate the additional syntax elements of Mart with smallest box and partial decoding and independent decoding / encoding considerations as taught by Oh; and additionally with Nguyen’s signaling of independent processing in conforming bitstreams. The combination teaches
wherein, to decode the compressed bitstream, the processor is further configured to [See claim 1 for citations of the “decode at least a portion …” limitation and “processor” limitation] decode the geometry data [Tourapis Figures 4 – 7 and 10 – 12 (see bitstream inputs to the decoder which is compressed from encoders)) as well as Paragraphs 48 – 50, 59, and 64 – 76 (displacement is part of the geometry information / data and part of prediction information to supplement attribute information (Paragraphs 63 and 73 at least) to combine with Mart Figure 24 Paragraphs 280 – 282 (displacements part of geometry information / data / frames)), 62 – 68 (base mesh sub stream / sub bitstream with similar attribute and displacement sub-components / bitstreams), 87 – 92 (attribute and displacement sub-streams as obvious variants of the claims sub-bitstream to one of ordinary skill in the art), and 100 – 110 (base mesh sub bitstream compressed in Figures 4 (see output of reference character 406 and 438), 6, 8, and 10 as well as Paragraphs 95 – 101 (see heading describing compressed base mesh bitstream))] and attributes of the subdivided submesh independently from coded data associated with the one or more other submeshes included in the compressed bitstream [Tourapis Figures 4 – 7 (see at least reference characters 516 and 520 in which the attribute data / map is separate from the displacement / geometry data), and 12 – 14 as well as Paragraphs 63 – 76 (independently decoding attribute from displacement / geometry data), 100 – 112 and 138 – 140 (independently decodable sub-meshes and sub-streams and the attributes and displacements are independent as well) where Oh Column 11 lines 6 – 27 and Column 44 line 7 – Column 45 line 37 (independently encoding / decoding information sub-meshes, attribute, and geometry / displacement data)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Tourapis, Mart, Oh, and Nguyen.
Regarding claim 4, Tourapis teaches a system for point cloud coding / decoding in which sub-meshes are partially and independently decodable with some associated syntax elements for processing the sub-meshes. Mart teaches additional syntax elements for partial decoding of meshes using sub-meshes to be partially and independently decodable where the syntax elements are signaled in SEI messages. Oh renders obvious coding point cloud information with minimal / smallest bounding boxes and additional considerations for partial decoding of sub-meshes and independent mesh / sub-mesh encoding / decoding. Nguyen teaches signaling flags for independent reconstruction of meshes or submeshes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tourapis to incorporate the additional syntax elements of Mart with smallest box and partial decoding and independent decoding / encoding considerations as taught by Oh; and additionally with Nguyen’s signaling of independent processing in conforming bitstreams. The combination teaches
wherein the processor is further configured to [See claim 1 for citations of claimed “processor”] identify the one or more flags in the compressed bitstream indicating that each independently decodable unit of at least one of the displacement sub-bitstream and the attributes sub-bitstream includes data corresponding to (i) one and only one submesh or (ii) at most one submesh [Tourapis Figures 12 – 14 as well as Paragraphs 102 and 107 – 110 (indications of one submesh used for a frame or more with flags / syntax in Paragraphs 129 – 132 and included Tables to combine / incorporate syntax of Mart); Mart Paragraphs 180 – 187 (Tables included – see at least syntax elements afps_vmc_ext_single_submesh_in_frame_flag (Paragraph 180 and Table in Paragraph 183) and ath_num_submesh (Table top of Page 31)), 201 – 203 (coding a single or multiple submeshes), and 240 – 247 (bsmi_use_single_mesh_flag and bsmi_num_submeshes_minus1)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Tourapis, Mart, Oh, and Nguyen.
Regarding claim 5, Tourapis teaches a system for point cloud coding / decoding in which sub-meshes are partially and independently decodable with some associated syntax elements for processing the sub-meshes. Mart teaches additional syntax elements for partial decoding of meshes using sub-meshes to be partially and independently decodable where the syntax elements are signaled in SEI messages. Oh renders obvious coding point cloud information with minimal / smallest bounding boxes and additional considerations for partial decoding of sub-meshes and independent mesh / sub-mesh encoding / decoding. Nguyen teaches signaling flags for independent reconstruction of meshes or submeshes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tourapis to incorporate the additional syntax elements of Mart with smallest box and partial decoding and independent decoding / encoding considerations as taught by Oh; and additionally with Nguyen’s signaling of independent processing in conforming bitstreams. The combination teaches
wherein the one or more flags are signaled as part of Volumetric Visibility Information or as part of a Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message [Mart Paragraphs 223, 231, and 247 – 250 (sending syntax elements / flags in data unit as part of SEI messages)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Tourapis, Mart, Oh, and Nguyen.
Regarding claim 6, Tourapis teaches a system for point cloud coding / decoding in which sub-meshes are partially and independently decodable with some associated syntax elements for processing the sub-meshes. Mart teaches additional syntax elements for partial decoding of meshes using sub-meshes to be partially and independently decodable where the syntax elements are signaled in SEI messages. Oh renders obvious coding point cloud information with minimal / smallest bounding boxes and additional considerations for partial decoding of sub-meshes and independent mesh / sub-mesh encoding / decoding. Nguyen teaches signaling flags for independent reconstruction of meshes or submeshes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tourapis to incorporate the additional syntax elements of Mart with smallest box and partial decoding and independent decoding / encoding considerations as taught by Oh; and additionally with Nguyen’s signaling of independent processing in conforming bitstreams. The combination teaches
wherein the processor is further configured to [See claim 1 for citations of claimed “processor”] decode a bounding box associated with the subdivided submesh signaled by an encoder, the bounding box corresponding to two-dimensional (2D) coordinates of at least one of the displacement sub-bitstream [See next limitation and additionally Oh Figure 12 as well as Column 24 line 47 – Column 25 line 20 (bounding boxes on geometry / displacement data)] and the attributes sub-bitstream [Tourapis Paragraphs 36 – 37 (2D bounding box associated with at least an attribute patch with coordinate considerations to combine signaling from Mart or Oh Figures 4 – 6 and 22 as well as Column 13 lines 21 – 54) more fully described in Mart Figure 3 (subfigures included see at least reference character 306) as well as Paragraphs 93 – 97 (bounding boxes on patch data for geometry / attribute information with coordinate information and associated syntax)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Tourapis, Mart, Oh, and Nguyen.
Regarding claim 7, Tourapis teaches a system for point cloud coding / decoding in which sub-meshes are partially and independently decodable with some associated syntax elements for processing the sub-meshes. Mart teaches additional syntax elements for partial decoding of meshes using sub-meshes to be partially and independently decodable where the syntax elements are signaled in SEI messages. Oh renders obvious coding point cloud information with minimal / smallest bounding boxes and additional considerations for partial decoding of sub-meshes and independent mesh / sub-mesh encoding / decoding. Nguyen teaches signaling flags for independent reconstruction of meshes or submeshes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tourapis to incorporate the additional syntax elements of Mart with smallest box and partial decoding and independent decoding / encoding considerations as taught by Oh; and additionally with Nguyen’s signaling of independent processing in conforming bitstreams. The combination teaches
wherein the bounding box occupies a smallest possible area while still including all 2D positions that contain coded data corresponding to the submesh [Mart Figure 3 (subfigures included see at least reference character 306) as well as Paragraphs 93 – 97 (bounding boxes on patch data for geometry / attribute information) and 287 – 292 (optimizing the packing / bounding boxes to combine with Oh Figure 21 as well as Column 13 lines 29 – 41 suggests / teaches a smallest bounding box to be used also in Column 36 lines 45 – 61)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Tourapis, Mart, Oh, and Nguyen.
Regarding claim 8, Tourapis teaches a system for point cloud coding / decoding in which sub-meshes are partially and independently decodable with some associated syntax elements for processing the sub-meshes. Mart teaches additional syntax elements for partial decoding of meshes using sub-meshes to be partially and independently decodable where the syntax elements are signaled in SEI messages. Oh renders obvious coding point cloud information with minimal / smallest bounding boxes and additional considerations for partial decoding of sub-meshes and independent mesh / sub-mesh encoding / decoding. Nguyen teaches signaling flags for independent reconstruction of meshes or submeshes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tourapis to incorporate the additional syntax elements of Mart with smallest box and partial decoding and independent decoding / encoding considerations as taught by Oh; and additionally with Nguyen’s signaling of independent processing in conforming bitstreams. The combination teaches
wherein the processor is further configured to [See claim 1 for citations of claimed “processor”] identify from a signaling element a number of independently decodable units of at least one of the displacement sub-bitstream and the attributes sub-bitstream corresponding to the subdivided submesh, and an identifier for each of the independently decodable units [See claim 1 for citations of “independently” and additionally Mart Figures 3 – 4 and 23 – 27 as well as Paragraphs 162 and 174 – 177 (e.g. asps_vmc_ext_num_attribute) and 183 (signaling attribute and displacement / subdivision information based on the number of submeshes present and the indexing with the attribute parameters (e.g. the flag for single attribute in the frame or the attribute transform flags)) and 239 – 244 and 253 – 256 (see included tables as well with signaling the number of submeshes associated attribute data), and 292 – 299 (signaling the displacement information for the submeshes / subdivisions as well as how much / many displacement vertices are present for the submesh)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Tourapis, Mart, Oh, and Nguyen.
Regarding claim 17, Tourapis teaches a system for point cloud coding / decoding in which sub-meshes are partially and independently decodable with some associated syntax elements for processing the sub-meshes. Mart teaches additional syntax elements for partial decoding of meshes using sub-meshes to be partially and independently decodable where the syntax elements are signaled in SEI messages. Oh renders obvious coding point cloud information with minimal / smallest bounding boxes and additional considerations for partial decoding of sub-meshes and independent mesh / sub-mesh encoding / decoding. Nguyen teaches signaling flags for independent reconstruction of meshes or submeshes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tourapis to incorporate the additional syntax elements of Mart with smallest box and partial decoding and independent decoding / encoding considerations as taught by Oh; and additionally with Nguyen’s signaling of independent processing in conforming bitstreams. The combination teaches
communication circuitry [Tourapis Figure 17 (see at least reference character 1740) as well as Paragraphs 29 and 167 – 172 (network interface for communication between devices / processors) and 173 – 176 (generic implementations such as computer or hardware based embodiments – to combine with Paragraph 29 or Oh Column 55 line 64 – Column 56 line 13)]; and
a processor operably coupled to the communication circuitry [Tourapis Figure 17 (see at least reference characters 1710, 1710a, 1710b, 1710n) as well as Paragraphs 167 – 172 (processors coupled to a communication interface)], the processor configured to:
encode geometry data [In combination with the next limitation / citation see Mart Figure 24 Paragraphs 280 – 282 (displacements part of geometry information / data / frames)] and attributes data associated with an individual submesh into a displacement sub-bitstream and an attributes sub-bitstream, respectively [Tourapis Figures 1 – 2 (geometry information as vertex locations part of the data to encode to generate displacement bitstreams), 4 – 7 (see the attribute map separate of the displacement bitstreams generated) as well as Paragraphs 36, 43, and 59 (geometry data part of vertex and displacement data as well as in Paragraphs 73 – 76 – to combine with Mart) where similar to claim1 regarding the “separate should independent by meant 70, 91 – 95 (attribute sub-stream decoding and displacement / geometry sub-streams to decode), 106 – 112 and 138 – 140 (independently decodable sub-meshes and sub-streams) where Oh Figures 2, 4, 10 – 12, 14 – 15, and 18 – 19 (encode / decode geometry and attribute data) as well as Column 11 lines 6 – 27 and Column 44 line 7 – Column 45 line 37 (independently encoding / decoding information such as attribute information from the mesh information) and Column 20 lines 35 – 67 (encode / decode geometry information)],
wherein the geometry data [In combination with the next limitation / citation see Mart Figure 24 Paragraphs 280 – 282 (displacements part of geometry information / data / frames)] and attributes data associated with the individual submesh are configured to be separated from data corresponding to one or more other submeshes in the displacement sub-bitstream and the attributes sub-bitstream during decoding [Tourapis Figures 1 – 2 (geometry information as vertex locations part of the data to encode to generate displacement bitstreams), 4 – 9 (see at least reference character 504 as the demultiplexer ) as well as Paragraphs 36, 43, and 53 – 59 (geometry data part of vertex and displacement data as well as in Paragraphs 73 – 76 to combine with Mart) where similar to claim1 regarding the “separate should independent by meant 70, 91 – 95 (attribute sub-stream decoding and displacement / geometry sub-streams to decode), 106 – 112 and 138 – 140 (independently decodable sub-meshes and sub-streams) where Oh Figures 2, 4, 10 – 12, 14 – 15, and 18 – 19 (encode / decode geometry and attribute data) as well as Column 11 lines 6 – 27 and Column 44 line 7 – Column 45 line 37 (independently encoding / decoding information such as attribute information from the mesh information) and Column 20 lines 35 – 67 (encode / decode geometry information)]; wherein a conformance requirement is imposed by one or more flags indicating independent reconstruction of submeshes [See previous limitation regarding processing submeshes independently and additionally Nguyen Figures 22 – 23 (see at least reference characters S2701, S2702, S2803, S2804, and S2805) as well as Paragraphs 60, 80 and 96 – 99 (conformant bitstream formed / generated) and 114 – 116 (independently processing partitions / meshes and analogies to 2D video coding), 145, and 167 – 169 and 176 (flags signaled in the bitstream to independently code / decode submeshes)]; and
combine the displacement sub-bitstream and the attributes sub-bitstream into a compressed bitstream [Tourapis Figures 4 – 7 (see the attribute map separate of the displacement bitstreams generated and combined in multiplexer in reference character 438) as well as Paragraphs 56 – 59 (combining bitstreams into one bitstream further described in Paragraphs 64 – 67 and 88 – 96)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Tourapis, Mart, Oh, and Nguyen.
Regarding claim 18, Tourapis teaches a system for point cloud coding / decoding in which sub-meshes are partially and independently decodable with some associated syntax elements for processing the sub-meshes. Mart teaches additional syntax elements for partial decoding of meshes using sub-meshes to be partially and independently decodable where the syntax elements are signaled in SEI messages. Oh renders obvious coding point cloud information with minimal / smallest bounding boxes and additional considerations for partial decoding of sub-meshes and independent mesh / sub-mesh encoding / decoding. Nguyen teaches signaling flags for independent reconstruction of meshes or submeshes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tourapis to incorporate the additional syntax elements of Mart with smallest box and partial decoding and independent decoding / encoding considerations as taught by Oh; and additionally with Nguyen’s signaling of independent processing in conforming bitstreams. The combination teaches
wherein the processor is further configured to [See claim 17 for citations of claimed “processor”] set the one or more flags in the compressed bitstream indicating that each independently decodable unit of at least one of the displacement sub-bitstream and the attributes sub-bitstream includes data corresponding to (i) one and only one submesh or (ii) at most one submesh [Tourapis Figures 4 – 7 (see encoders) and 12 – 14 as well as Paragraphs 102 and 107 – 110 (indications of one submesh used for a frame or more with flags / syntax in Paragraphs 129 – 132 and included Tables to combine / incorporate syntax of Mart); Mart Paragraphs 180 – 187 (Tables included – see at least syntax elements afps_vmc_ext_single_submesh_in_frame_flag (Paragraph 180 and Table in Paragraph 183) and ath_num_submesh (Table top of Page 31)), 201 – 203 (coding a single or multiple submeshes), and 240 – 247 (bsmi_use_single_mesh_flag and bsmi_num_submeshes_minus1)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Tourapis, Mart, Oh, and Nguyen.
Regarding claim 19, Tourapis teaches a system for point cloud coding / decoding in which sub-meshes are partially and independently decodable with some associated syntax elements for processing the sub-meshes. Mart teaches additional syntax elements for partial decoding of meshes using sub-meshes to be partially and independently decodable where the syntax elements are signaled in SEI messages. Oh renders obvious coding point cloud information with minimal / smallest bounding boxes and additional considerations for partial decoding of sub-meshes and independent mesh / sub-mesh encoding / decoding. Nguyen teaches signaling flags for independent reconstruction of meshes or submeshes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tourapis to incorporate the additional syntax elements of Mart with smallest box and partial decoding and independent decoding / encoding considerations as taught by Oh; and additionally with Nguyen’s signaling of independent processing in conforming bitstreams. The combination teaches
wherein the processor is further configured to [See claim 17 for citations of claimed “processor”] signal a bounding box associated with the individual submesh, the bounding box corresponding to two-dimensional (2D) coordinates of at least one of the displacement sub-bitstream and the attributes sub-bitstream [Tourapis Figures 4 – 7 as well as Paragraphs 36 – 37 (2D bounding box associated with at least an attribute patch with coordinate considerations to combine signaling from Mart or Oh Figures 4 – 6 and 22 as well as Column 13 lines 21 – 54) more fully described in Mart Figure 3 (subfigures included see at least reference character 306) as well as Paragraphs 93 – 97 (bounding boxes on patch data for geometry / attribute information with coordinate information and associated syntax)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Tourapis, Mart, Oh, and Nguyen.
Regarding claim 20, Tourapis teaches a system for point cloud coding / decoding in which sub-meshes are partially and independently decodable with some associated syntax elements for processing the sub-meshes. Mart teaches additional syntax elements for partial decoding of meshes using sub-meshes to be partially and independently decodable where the syntax elements are signaled in SEI messages. Oh renders obvious coding point cloud information with minimal / smallest bounding boxes and additional considerations for partial decoding of sub-meshes and independent mesh / sub-mesh encoding / decoding. Nguyen teaches signaling flags for independent reconstruction of meshes or submeshes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tourapis to incorporate the additional syntax elements of Mart with smallest box and partial decoding and independent decoding / encoding considerations as taught by Oh; and additionally with Nguyen’s signaling of independent processing in conforming bitstreams. The combination teaches
wherein the processor is further configured to [See claim 17 for citations of claimed “processor”] form the bounding box to be at least one of:
in a smallest possible area while still including all 2D positions that contain coded data corresponding to the individual submesh [Mart Figure 3 (subfigures included see at least reference character 306) as well as Paragraphs 93 – 97 (bounding boxes on patch data for geometry / attribute information) and 287 – 292 (optimizing the packing / bounding boxes to combine with Oh Figure 21 as well as Column 13 lines 29 – 41 suggests / teaches a smallest bounding box to be used also in Column 36 lines 45 – 61)]; and
non-overlapping with one or more other bounding boxes associated with one or more other submeshes [Mart Figure 3 (subfigures included see at least reference character 306 where the patches / partitions do not overlap rendering obvious the claim limitation to one of ordinary skill in the art) as well as Paragraphs 93 – 97 (bounding boxes on patch data for geometry / attribute information), 280 – 282 (noon overlapping patches / meshes), and 287 – 292 (optimizing the packing / bounding boxes to combine with Oh Figure 21 as well as Column 13 lines 29 – 41 suggests / teaches a smallest bounding box to be used also in Column 36 lines 45 – 61)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Tourapis, Mart, Oh, and Nguyen.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mammou, et al. (US PG PUB 2021/0090301 A1 referred to as “Mammou” throughout) teaches in Paragraphs 522 and 561 – 567 the independent processing of sub meshes and associated processing with patch placement considerations related to the bounding box.
References considered that could raise ODP issues based on amendments made to the claims: Lim, et al. (US PG PUB 2024/0244232 A1 referred to as “Lim” throughout) and Lim, et al. (US PG PUB 2024/0355001 A1 referred to as “Lim 01” throughout).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER W. SULLIVAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487