DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received 11/28/2025 for 18399570. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the Office Action filed on 08/27/2025.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's arguments, the objections of the drawings have been withdrawn.
In view of Applicant's amendments, the objections of claims 3, 7, and 19 have been withdrawn.
In view of Applicant's amendments, the 112 rejections of claims 4 and 9 have been withdrawn.
In view of Applicant's amendments, the 101 rejections of claims 16-20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 102 rejection of claim 16 have been considered but are not persuasive in view of the new and/or updated citations used in the current rejection of record by Jia in response to the newly amended limitations. Examiner responds to each argument below below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive in view of the new and/or updated citations used in the current rejection of record under Jia in view of Benedetto in response to the newly amended limitations, including at least displaying respective arrangements of a user interface of a communication session including generating graphical items representing newly formed subgroups based on user movements with the communication session user interface as disclosed in Jia [Figs. 1A, 3B-3D, para 0037-0038, 0047-0048].
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of Applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., wherein "a viewport that is configured to display a group of content objects", a reference location is "used to identify an area that a particular user is engaged with or has contributed to", causing video conferences to be initiated and/or updated "[u]sing the grouping of content objects and/or the reference locations", allowing users "to discuss the content items that they are collaborating on" [pg. 12:2]; or a control region including "a tool for adding a sticky note to the virtual canvas", "associat[ing] the sticky note with the first user", allowing "users to add to or otherwise edit the sticky note object" [pg. 13:3]) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In this case, the claim recites the newly amended limitation where "a location of a respective viewport configured to display one or more user-generated whiteboard objects of a respective portion of the virtual canvas". Applicant's specification does not disclose a special definition of "viewport", merely an example of how one is created, "viewport may have a unique location, level of zoom, and boundary depending on input provided by the user and/or a size and configuration of the display of the client device" [Specification, para 0050]. Thus, Applicant appears to where a "viewport" is displays different elements for each user. This definition of "viewport" is not recited in the claim.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of "viewport" includes an area being viewed, thus "a respective viewport comprising a respective portion of the virtual canvas" only requires that a respective user at their client device be able to view the virtual canvas for the virtual whiteboarding session and does not preclude a scenario where each client device display an entirety of the virtual whiteboarding session to each respective user. Jia teaches generating a user interface arrangement, interpreted as a viewport, of a user interface for a communication session to each user at computer system [Figs. 3A-3B, para 0036-0037, 0046-0047]. Therefore, when a user interface arrangement displays a graphical element reflecting a newly formed subgroup in response to moving a user representation within the communication session user interface [Figs. 3B-3D, para 0047-0048], Jia teaches "a location of a respective viewport configured to display one or more user-generated whiteboard objects of a respective portion of the virtual canvas". Claim 1 remains rejected under Jia in view of Benedetto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jia et al. (US 20240223625 A1).
As to claim 16, Jia discloses a server system comprising: memory; and a processor operably coupled to the memory and storing instructions that, when executed by the processor cause the server system [Fig. 8, para 0083-0086, server computer includes media storing instructions executed by processing unit] to:
cause display of a set of virtual whiteboard graphical user interfaces on multiple client devices, each participating in a virtual whiteboard session, each virtual whiteboard graphical user interface of the set of virtual whiteboard user interfaces displaying a virtual canvas for the virtual whiteboard session, the virtual whiteboarding session configured to receive contemporaneous object creation inputs within the virtual canvas, each client device associated with a respective user participating in the virtual whiteboarding session and displaying a respective viewport comprising a respective portion of the virtual canvas [Figs. 1, 3C-3D, 8, para 0037-0039, 0047, 0090-0091, display communication session user interfaces via client computing devices associated with individual users participating in communication session (read: virtual whiteboarding session, note communication session modified by client input falls under broadest reasonable interpretation of virtual whiteboard as consistent with Applicant's specification allowing for shared editing capabilities [0050]), where session user interfaces display individual arrangement (read: viewport comprising portion) of session user interface (read: virtual canvas, note session user interface displaying content falls under broadest reasonable interpretation of virtual canvas as consistent with Applicant's specification allowing placement of graphical objects [0020]) display graphical element generated when forming new subgroup (read: contemporaneous object creation inputs) with user movement input during live communication session];
determine a set of reference locations, the set of reference locations comprising a respective reference location for each client device of the multiple client devices, each respective reference location determined from a location of a respective viewport configured to display one or more user-generated whiteboard objects of the virtual canvas [Figs. 1, 2A-2E, 9, para 0036-0038, 0040, 0043-0045, 0047, 0065, determine rendering positions of individual user positions (read: reference locations) in session user interface, where user views arrangement (read: respective viewport) of session user interface displayed via client device including new subgroup graphical element based on user movement input]; and
in response to determining that a first subset of the set of reference locations satisfies a cluster criteria, cause display of a first prompt on a first client device associated with a first reference location of the first subset of the set of reference locations, the first prompt including a first invitation to participate in a first videoconference having a first set of participants [Fig. 1, para 0038-0040, 0044-0045, 0051, display button (read: first prompt) via client device to user for subset of users with individual renderings positioned (read: first reference position) in cluster (read: first subset of set of reference locations) participating in discussion session (read: cluster criteria), where button includes Join text (read: first invitation) providing transition to participate in video communication discussion with subset of users].
As to claim 18, Jia discloses the server system of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the server system to determine the reference location for one or more of the multiple client devices in response to creation or modification of a virtual object within the virtual canvas, wherein the determined reference location is based on a location of the virtual object [Figs. 1, 2A, para 0036-0039, 0065, 0090, determine rendering position of individual user position corresponding to client device based on identifying state with subgroup cluster (read: virtual object) participating in discussion and user moving rendering of individual user to location of subgroup graphical element].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of Benedetto et al. (US 20210352244 A1).
As to claim 1, Jia discloses a method for initiating multiple videoconference sessions using a virtual whiteboarding application [para 0078, 0089-0090, 0093, system includes graphical user interface presentation module (read: virtual whiteboarding application) displaying video feeds of multiple clients participating in conference sessions], the method comprising:
causing display of a set of virtual whiteboard graphical user interfaces on multiple client devices, each participating in a virtual whiteboard session, each virtual whiteboard graphical user interface of the set of virtual whiteboard user interfaces displaying a virtual canvas for the virtual whiteboard session, the virtual whiteboarding session configured to receive contemporaneous object creation inputs within the virtual canvas, each client device associated with a respective user participating in the virtual whiteboarding session and displaying a respective viewport comprising a respective portion of the virtual canvas [Figs. 1, 3C-3D, 8, para 0037-0039, 0047, 0090-0091, display communication session user interfaces via client computing devices associated with individual users participating in communication session (read: virtual whiteboarding session, note communication session modified by client input falls under broadest reasonable interpretation of virtual whiteboard as consistent with Applicant's specification allowing for shared editing capabilities [0050]), where session user interfaces display individual arrangement (read: viewport comprising portion) of session user interface (read: virtual canvas, note session user interface displaying content falls under broadest reasonable interpretation of virtual canvas as consistent with Applicant's specification allowing placement of graphical objects [0020]) display graphical element generated when forming new subgroup (read: contemporaneous object creation inputs) with user movement input during live communication session];
determining a set of reference locations, the set of reference locations comprising a respective reference location for each respective viewport within the virtual canvas, each respective reference location determined from a location of a respective viewport configured to display one or more user-generated whiteboard objects of a respective portion of the virtual canvas [Figs. 1, 2A-2E, 9, para 0036-0038, 0040, 0043-0045, 0047, 0065, determine rendering positions of individual user positions (read: reference locations) in session user interface, where user views arrangement (read: respective viewport) of session user interface displayed via client device including new subgroup graphical element with user movement input];
in response to determining that a first subset of the set of reference locations satisfy a cluster criteria, causing display of a first prompt on a first client device associated with a first reference location of the first subset of the set of reference locations, the first prompt including a first invitation to participate in a first videoconference having a first set of participants [Fig. 1, para 0038-0040, 0044-0045, 0051, display button (read: first prompt) via client device to user for subset of users with individual renderings positioned (read: first reference position) in cluster (read: first subset of set of reference locations) participating in discussion session (read: cluster criteria), where button includes Join text (read: first invitation) providing transition to participate in video communication discussion with subset of users]; and
in response to determining that a second subset of the set of reference locations satisfy the cluster criteria, causing display of a second prompt on a [] client device associated with a second reference location of the second subset of the set of reference locations, the second prompt including a second invitation to participate in a second videoconference having a second set of participants different than the first set of participants [Fig. 1, para 0038-0040, 0044-0045, 0051-0052, display other button (read: second prompt) via client device to user for other subset of users with other individual renderings positioned (read: second reference position) in other cluster (read: second subset of set of reference locations) participating in other discussion session, where button includes Join text (read: second invitation) providing transition to participate in other video communication discussion with other subset of users].
Jia teaches the claimed features but not explicitly causing display of a second prompt on a second client device associated with a second reference location of the second subset of the set of reference locations.
However, Jia teaches a user interface causing display of a second prompt on a first client device associated with a second reference location of the second subset of the set of reference locations [Figs. 1, 2A, para 0038-0040, communication session user interface displays other button (read: second prompt) via client device to join other user with other individual rendering positioned (read: second reference location) in other cluster (read: second subset of the set of reference locations) of other users participating in other discussion session] and Benedetto teaches that a user interface may be displayed on multiple client devices [Figs. 2A, 2E, 5A, para 0012-0013, 0054, 0060, 0063, multiple user devices show respective conversation user interface views].
Because Jia and Benedetto are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of communication user interfaces, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia displaying a prompt on a client device to the teachings of Benedetto displaying a prompt on another client device with a reasonable expectation of success to result in causing display of a second prompt on a second client device associated with a second reference location of the second subset of the set of reference locations [see MPEP 2143].
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply this teaching to Jia to permit user engagement in a video chat environment [Benedetto, para 0012].
As to claim 2, Jia discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying a first set of virtual objects within the virtual canvas [Figs. 1, 2A, para 0038-0040, 0065, identify state including subset of users represented by individual renderings (read: first set of virtual objects) displayed in session user interface];
identifying a second set of virtual objects within the virtual canvas [Figs. 1, 2A, para 0038-0040, 0065, identify state including other subset of users represented by other individual renderings (read: second set of virtual objects) displayed in session user interface];
determining the first subset of the set of reference locations satisfy the cluster criteria in response to determining that the reference location of a viewport for a corresponding client device satisfies a proximity condition with respect to the first set of virtual objects [Figs. 1, 2A, para 0036, 0038-0040, 0090, identify state with subset of users with individual renderings positioned in cluster participating in discussion session based on arrangement of session user interface of client device moving user representation location to (read: proximity condition) subgroup graphical element]; and
determining the second subset of the set of reference locations satisfy the cluster criteria in response to determining that the reference location of a viewport for a corresponding client device satisfies the proximity condition with respect to the second set of virtual objects [Figs. 1, 2A, para 0036, 0038-0040, 0090, identify state with other subset of users with other individual renderings positioned in other cluster participating in discussion session based on arrangement of session user interface of other client device moving other user representation to (read: proximity condition) other subgroup graphical element].
As to claim 4, Jia discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising updating the respective reference location for each respective viewport within the virtual canvas in response to creation or modification of a new user-generated whiteboard object [Figs. 3C-3E, para 0037, 0047-0049, display arrangement of session user interface via each client device when user representations have moved away and remove graphical element defining previously created subgroup].
As to claim 5, Jia discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the respective viewport associated with the respective client device is configured to be translated to a different portion of the virtual canvas in response to user input to a virtual whiteboard graphical user interface of the respective client device [Figs. 3J-3M, para 0045-0046, 0050-0051, arrangement of session user interface displayed transitions to second arrangement (read: different portion) of session based on user input moving representation of individual user displayed in user interface via client device, where transition of arrangement of session user interface falls under broadest reasonable interpretation of translation includes navigation as consistent with Applicant's specification (0053)].
As to claim 6, Jia discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to initiating the first videoconference having the first set of participants, causing a viewport for [a] client device of the first set of client devices to display a common reference location within the virtual canvas, wherein the common reference location is based on the first subset of the set of reference locations [Figs. 1, 2E, para 0039-0041, 0044-0045, display arrangement of second user interface via device corresponding to individual user of subset of users participating in discussion session with displayed graphical element positioned (read: common reference location) in arrangement user interface representing discussion cluster subgroup].
Jia teaches the claimed features but not explicitly a viewport for each client device of the first set of client devices.
However, Jia teaches a viewport for a client device of the first set of client devices [Figs. 1, 2E, para 0039-0041, 0044-0045, display arrangement of second user interface via device corresponding to individual user of subset of users participating in discussion session] and Benedetto teaches that a user interface may be displayed for each client device of a first set of client devices [Figs. 2A, 2E, 5A, para 0012-0013, 0054, 0060, 0063, multiple user devices in individual conversation show respective conversation user interface views].
Because Jia and Benedetto are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of communication user interfaces, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia displaying a viewport for a client device of a first set of client devices to the teachings of Benedetto displaying a viewport for each client device of a first set of client devices with a reasonable expectation of success to result in a viewport for each client device of the first set of client devices [see MPEP 2143].
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply this teaching to Jia to permit user engagement in a video chat environment [Benedetto, para 0012].
As to claim 7, Jia discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising causing display in the virtual whiteboard graphical user interface on [a] client device participating in the virtual whiteboarding session, a set of location indicators indicating the reference location for each respective viewport with respect to the virtual canvas [Figs. 1, 2A, para 0036-0038, 0089-0091, communication session user interface displayed via client computing device corresponding to individual user participating in communication session displays renderings (read: set of location indicators) of individual user positions positioned within arrangement of session user interface, where individual users view respective arrangements of session user interface].
Jia teaches the claimed features but not explicitly causing display in the virtual whiteboard graphical user interface on each client device participating in the virtual whiteboarding session.
However, Jia teaches causing display in the virtual whiteboard graphical user interface on a client device participating in the virtual whiteboarding session [Figs. 1, 2A, para 0036-0038, 0089-0091, display communication session user interface via client computing device] and Benedetto teaches that a user interface may be displayed on each client device participating in the virtual whiteboard session [Figs. 2A, 2E, 5A, para 0012-0013, 0054, 0060, 0063, user devices show respective user interface views].
Because Jia and Benedetto are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of communication user interfaces, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia displaying a virtual whiteboard graphical user interface on a client device participating in a virtual whiteboarding session to the teachings of Benedetto displaying a virtual whiteboard graphical interface on each client device participating in a virtual whiteboarding session with a reasonable expectation of success to result in causing display of a second prompt on a second client device associated with a second reference location of the second subset of the set of reference locations [see MPEP 2143].
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply this teaching to Jia to permit user engagement in a video chat environment [Benedetto, para 0012].
As to claim 8, Jia discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising causing display in a respective virtual whiteboard graphical user interface of a respective client device participating in the virtual whiteboarding session, a set of videoconference indicators indicating active videoconference sessions occurring within the virtual whiteboarding session [Figs. 1, 2D, para 0036, 0039, 0044, display list of topic descriptions (read: videoconference indicators) of groups discussing topic over video and audio streams in communication session user interface displayed via client device of user participating in communication session].
As to claim 9, Jia discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to determining that the first reference location no longer satisfies the cluster criteria for the first subset of the set of reference locations, causing display of a third prompt on the first client device, the third prompt comprising an option to leave the first videoconference [Figs. 2E, 3M, para 0005, 0045, 0051, determine rendering position of individual user position is moving out of cluster subgroup and display second user interface arrangement receiving user command to leave discussion, where Figure 2E shows second user interface arrangement with Leave Discussion button].
As to claim 17, Jia discloses the server system of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the server system to, in response to determining that a second subset of the set of reference locations satisfies the cluster criteria, cause display of a second prompt on a [] client device, the second prompt including a second invitation to participate in a second videoconference having a second set of participants different than the first set of participants [Fig. 1, para 0038-0040, 0044-0045, 0051-0052, display other button (read: second prompt) via client device to user for other subset of users in other cluster (read: second subset of set of reference locations) participating in other discussion session, where button includes Join text (read: second invitation) providing transition to participate in other video communication discussion with other subset of users].
Jia teaches the claimed features but not explicitly cause display of a second prompt on a second client device.
However, Jia teaches a user interface causing display of a second prompt on a first client device [Figs. 1, 2A, para 0038-0040, communication session user interface displays other button via client device] and Benedetto teaches that a user interface may be displayed on multiple client devices [Figs. 2A, 2E, 5A, para 0012-0013, 0054, 0060, 0063, multiple user devices show respective conversation user interface views].
Because Jia and Benedetto are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of communication user interfaces, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Jia displaying a prompt on a device to the teachings of Benedetto displaying a prompt on another device with a reasonable expectation of success to result in display of a second prompt on a second client device [see MPEP 2143].
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply this teaching to Jia to permit user engagement in a video chat environment [Benedetto, para 0012].
As to claim 19, Jia discloses the server system of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the server system to, in response to receiving a selection of the invitation to participate in the first videoconference, cause the first client device to display a videoconference interface for the videoconference in a first area of the virtual whiteboard graphical user interface … [Figs. 2C-2E, para 0043-0045, device displays second user interface providing bidirectional video and audio communication in arrangement of user interface based on user input selecting button to join and participate in video communication discussion].
However, Jia does not specifically disclose display a videoconference interface for the videoconference in a first area of the virtual whiteboard graphical user interface and the region of the virtual canvas in a second area of the virtual whiteboard graphical user interface.
Benedetto discloses display a videoconference interface for the videoconference in a first area of the virtual whiteboard graphical user interface and the region of the virtual canvas in a second area of the virtual whiteboard graphical user interface [Figs. 1A-1B, para 0051, 0054-0056, display conversation view (read: videoconference interface) for video chat conversation in primary window (read: first area) of display screen and view (read: region) of map (read: virtual canvas, where map displays users user input falls under broadest reasonable interpretation of virtual canvas allowing placement of graphical objects as consistent with Applicant's specification (0020) in sidebar (read: second area) of screen shot].
Jia and Benedetto are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of communication user interfaces. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication user interface displaying a video conference as disclosed by Jia with a communication user interface displaying both a videoconference and another region of the communication user interface as disclosed by Benedetto with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Jia as described above to provide a user-configured primary visual focus [Benedetto, para 0054].
As to claim 20, Jia discloses the server system of claim 19, where in the processor is further configured to cause the server system to cause display, within the virtual canvas, a first graphical element indicating that an active videoconference is associated with the region [Figs. 1, 2D, para 0036, 0039, 0044, communication session user interface displays topic description (read: graphical element) of group discussing topic over video and audio streams in communication session user interface displayed via client device of user participating in communication session].
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia and Benedetto as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Young (US 20220070232 A1).
As to claim 3, Jia discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising determining that the first subset of the set of reference locations satisfy the cluster criteria based on each corresponding client device satisfying the proximity condition … [Figs. 1, 2A, para 0036, 0038-0040, 0090, identify state with subset of users with individual renderings positioned in cluster participating in discussion session based on arrangement of session user interface of client device moving user representation location to subgroup graphical element].
However, Jia and Benedetto do not specifically disclose satisfying the proximity condition for a predetermined time duration.
Young discloses satisfying the proximity condition for a predetermined time duration [para 0107-0109, 0188-0190, start call when user avatars overlap for duration of countdown].
Jia, Benedetto, and Young are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of communication user interfaces. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proximity condition as disclosed by Jia and Benedetto with a proximity condition including a predetermined time duration as disclosed by Young with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Jia and Benedetto as described above to facilitate subdivision of calls based on proximity [Young, para 0107].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pitts et al. (US 20230044865 A1) generally discloses a video conferencing platform displaying respective user virtual locations in a meeting space, joining video conference spaces, and sharing assets in a video conference space.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172