DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1/2) as being anticipated by US 20150257022 A1 to Kohlmann; Michael et al.
Re: Claim(s) 1, 11
Kohlmann discloses a radio frequency front end system (Fig. 6)
comprising a radio frequency module (Fig. 6 – Antenna interface circuit 648),
the radio frequency module comprising: a first receive path including a first receive filter and configured to receive a first receive signal in a first band group from a first antenna (Fig. 6 – signal received via antenna 350 follows the path to switch 347 to filters 344-346. 0029 - The filters 304, 306, 344, and 346 may correspond to band-pass filters that pass certain frequencies and "block" or suppress other frequencies. The Examiner notes that this would mean that each path is tuned to a particular band (i.e. band 1 to band M);
a first additional receive path configured to receive a radio frequency signal from the first antenna unfiltered (Fig. 6 – signal received via antenna 350 follows the path to switch 347 to bypass path 604. 0064 - the receiver 642 may use the bypass path 604 to bypass the filters 344, 346. 0071 - After activating the bypass path 604, a received signal may be provided from the antenna 350 to the LNA 352. The received signal may correspond to an "unfiltered" signal having a high bandwidth);
and a first switch configured to couple the first antenna to either the first receive path or the first additional receive path to bypass the first receive filter (Fig. 6 – switch 347).
Kohlmann further discloses a device corresponding to the system of claim 1 comprising a transceiver and a radio frequency front end system (Figs. 2 and 6) as required by claim 11.
Re: Claim(s) 2-10
Kohlman discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 1 above.
Kohlmann also discloses that a wireless device may include multiple receivers (Fig. 1 and 0015). Further, Kohlmann discloses that the wireless device may support multiple band groups, multiple radio technologies, and/or multiple antennas (0021). Therefore, in light of being capable of having multiple receivers and multiple antennas, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that it is implied that multiple instances of the receiver system depicted in Fig. 6 would be included in a wireless device comprising multiple receivers and antenna. As a result, the wireless device would be capable of comprising a second, a third, and a fourth antenna and receiver, each receiver including a bypass path and switch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohlmann in view of US 20020173341 A1 to Abdelmonem, Amr et al.
Re: Claim(s) 12
Kohlmann discloses a method of performing wireless communication using a radio frequency module of a radio frequency front end system, the method comprising: receiving, via a first receive path including a first receive filter, a first receive signal in a first band group from a first antenna (Fig. 6 – signal received via antenna 350 follows the path to switch 347 to filters 344-346. 0029 - The filters 304, 306, 344, and 346 may correspond to band-pass filters that pass certain frequencies and "block" or suppress other frequencies. The Examiner notes that this would mean that each path is tuned to a particular band (i.e. band 1 to band M);
receiving, via a first additional receive path, a radio frequency signal from the first antenna unfiltered (Fig. 6 – signal received via antenna 350 follows the path to switch 347 to bypass path 604. 0064 - the receiver 642 may use the bypass path 604 to bypass the filters 344, 346. 0071 - After activating the bypass path 604, a received signal may be provided from the antenna 350 to the LNA 352. The received signal may correspond to an "unfiltered" signal having a high bandwidth).
Kohlmann does/do not appear to explicitly disclose comparing a performance for the received first receive signal and the received radio frequency signal to increase a sensitivity of the radio frequency front end based on a result of the comparing.
However, attention is directed to Abdelmonem which discloses said limitation (0003 - Several factors compromise the sensitivity of wireless communication system. These factors include, but are not limited to, interference outside the receiver's band of interest, losses associated with the cables, connectors, and other components that comprise the front-end receiver network (e.g. transmission lines, filters, etc.) and noise generated internally due to active components used in the front-end of a receiver for a wireless communication system (e.g. first stage low noise amplifier, or LNA). Additionally, factors affecting receiver sensitivity may also include in-band interference that is created either by other users of the system (either same cell or other cell, in the case of a cellular system with frequency re-use) and interference caused by the undesired mixing of other signals within the pass-band of the wireless receiver system, as in the case of a wireless system that is serving both narrow-band mobiles (e.g. TDMA or analog) and wider band CDMA signals (e.g. IS95, CDMA2000, or WCDMA). Fig. 1 – system comprising an RF front end and ANF module 22 disclosed. Fig. 9 – ANF module depicted. Bypass switch 92 bypassed filter 86. 0111 - The input signal is also coupled to a bypass switch 92 so that if no narrowband interference is detected in the input signal, the bypass switch 92 may be enabled to bypass the notch filter 86 and the mixers 82, 88, thereby passing the input signal directly to the next component in the lineup, which, as shown in FIGS. 1-4, may be the wideband receiver 26, the OEM front end 14 or the front-end 12. Alternatively, if narrowband interference is detected, the bypass switch 92 is opened and the input signal is forced to go through the notch filter 86. 0112 - To detect the presence of narrowband interference and to effectuate frequency scanning, a number of components are provided. A discriminator 94 receives the output signal from the first mixer 82 and detects signal strength at the IF using a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) that is tuned to the IF. The RSSI output of the discriminator 94 is coupled to a comparator 96, which also receives a threshold voltage on a line 98. When the RSSI signal from the discriminator 94 exceeds the threshold voltage on the line 98, the comparator 96 indicates that narrowband interference is present at the IF, which is the notch frequency of the notch filter 86. When narrowband interference is detected, the sweeping action of the VCO 84 is stopped so that the notch filter 86 can remove the interference at the IF. 0113 - As long as the comparator 96 indicates that narrowband interference is not present, the switch 92 is held closed, because there is no need to filter the input signal).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kohlmann invention by employing the teaching as taught by Abdelmonem to provide the ability to utilize a comparator to determine whether or not interference is present and selectively open and close a bypass switch based on said determination. The motivation for the combination is given by Abdelmonem (0001).
Re: Claim(s) 13
Kohlman in view of Abdelmonem discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 12 above.
Kohlman further discloses coupling the first antenna to either the first receive path or the first additional receive path to bypass the first receive filter (Fig. 6 – antenna 350 is either coupled to bypass path 604 or filters 344, 346 via switch 347).
Kohlman does/do not appear to explicitly disclose that said coupling is based on the result of the comparing.
However, further attention is directed to Abdelmonem which discloses said limitation (see as analyzed in the rejection of claim 12).
Re: Claim(s) 14
Kohlman in view of Abdelmonem discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 12 above.
Kohlman does/do not appear to explicitly disclose checking the performance intermittently.
However, further attention is directed to Abdelmonem which discloses said limitation (0112-0114 – the switch is held to bypass the filter based on a threshold voltage determined from RSSI. When the RSSI exceeds the voltage on the line, interference is detected and the switch is opened to no longer bypass the filter. The Examiner notes that the basis of the switch opening and closed is based upon measured RSSI, the value of which would not be predictable or periodic (i.e. intermittent)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kohlman invention by employing the teaching as taught by Abdelmonem to provide the ability to intermittently check the performance of the receiver in order to determine whether or not to filter an incoming received signal. The motivation for the combination is given by Abdelmonem (0001).
Re: Claim(s) 15
Kohlman in view of Abdelmonem discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 12 above.
Kohlman further discloses coupling the first antenna to either the first receive path or the first additional receive path to bypass the first receive filter (Fig. 6 – antenna 350 is either coupled to bypass path 604 or filters 344, 346 via switch 347).
Kohlman does/do not appear to explicitly disclose that said coupling is based on the result of the checking.
However, further attention is directed to Abdelmonem which discloses said limitation (see as analyzed in the rejection of claims 12 and 14).
Re: Claim(s) 16
Kohlman in view of Abdelmonem discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 12 above.
Kohlman does/do not appear to explicitly disclose comparing the performance to a performance threshold.
However, further attention is directed to Abdelmonem which discloses said limitation (see as analyzed in the rejections of claims 12 and 14).
Re: Claim(s) 17-19
Kohlman in view of Abdelmonem discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 12 above.
Kohlman further discloses that a wireless device may include multiple receivers (Fig. 1 and 0015). Further, Kohlmann discloses that the wireless device may support multiple band groups, multiple radio technologies, and/or multiple antennas (0021). Therefore, in light of being capable of having multiple receivers and multiple antennas, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that it is implied that multiple instances of the receiver system depicted in Fig. 6 would be included in a wireless device comprising multiple receivers and antenna. As a result, the wireless device would be capable of comprising a second, a third, and a fourth antenna and receiver, each receiver including a bypass path and switch. When taken in combination with Abdelmonem (as analyzed in the rejection of claim 12), each additional receiver would be capable of performing a comparison to determine whether or not to bypass the filter.
Re: Claim(s) 20
Kohlman in view of Abdelmonem discloses those limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim(s) 12 above.
Kohlman further discloses that a wireless device may include multiple receivers (Fig. 1 and 0015). Further, Kohlmann discloses that the wireless device may support multiple band groups, multiple radio technologies, and/or multiple antennas (0021). Therefore, in light of being capable of having multiple receivers and multiple antennas, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that it is implied that multiple instances of the receiver system depicted in Fig. 6 would be included in a wireless device comprising multiple receivers and antenna. As a result, the wireless device would be capable of comprising a second antenna and receiver, each receiver including a bypass path and switch.
Conclusion
/KASHIF SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415