DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 216083219). Reference to Zhang et al. (CN 216083219) will be made to Chang et al. (U.S. 2023/0045993), which is an equivalent English translation of Zhang et al. (CN 216083219).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a lens device (1, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0057]), comprising:
a first lens group (12, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0057]);
a second lens group (15, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0057]); and
a prism (13, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0057]; page 2, para [0038]),
wherein an optical axis (121, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0058]) of the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) is arranged at an angle with respect to an optical axis (151, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0062]) of the second lens group (15, Fig. 4), an optical path of the first lens group (such as optical path 121 of 12, Fig. 4) is arranged closer to an object side (such as side of D1, Fig. 4) than an optical path of the second lens group (such as optical path 151 of 15, Fig. 4), and the prism (13, Fig. 4) is arranged between the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) and the second lens group (15, Fig. 4) and configured to change an optical path (13 changes and optical path from 151 to 121, Fig. 4); and
wherein an edge of at least one lens (such as lens 122, Figs. 3-4; page 4, para [0061]) in the first lens group (12, Figs. 3-4) and the second lens group (such as lens 152 of 15, Figs. 3-4; page 4, para [0062]) comprises a cut edge (such as flat edge of 122 and flat edge of upper 152, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0061-0062]).
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses a lens device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the optical axis (121, Fig. 4) of the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) is perpendicular to the optical axis (151, Fig. 4) of the second lens group (15, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Chang discloses a lens device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) comprises a first lens barrel (11, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0061]) and first lenses (122, Figs. 3-4; page 4, para [0061]) arranged in the first lens barrel (11, Fig. 4), the second lens group (15, Fig. 4) comprises a second lens barrel (14, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0062]) and second lenses (152, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0062]) arranged in the second lens barrel (14, Fig. 4), the prism (13, Fig. 4) is arranged in the second lens barrel (14, Fig. 4), and the first lens barrel (11, Fig. 4) is adhered to the second lens barrel (14, Fig. 4) through an adhesive, such that the optical axis (121, Fig. 4) of the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) is arranged at a preset angle with respect to the optical axis (151, Fig. 4) of the second lens group (15, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Chang discloses a lens device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein at least one of the first lenses (122, Fig. 3) comprises a first cut edge (first flat edge of 122, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0061]) and a second cut edge (second flat edge of 122, Fig. 3) opposite to each other, and at least one of the second lenses (such as upper 152, Fig. 3) comprises a third edge (upper flat edge of upper 152, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0062]) and fourth edge (bottom flat edge of upper 152, Fig. 3) opposite to each other.
Regarding claim 5, Chang discloses a lens device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the first lens barrel (11, Fig. 4) is provided therein with a first step hole (such as step portion within the first lens barrel 11, see annotated Fig. 4 below), at step walls of which the first lenses are received (first lenses 122 received within step walls on inner surface of 11, see annotated Fig. 4 below and Figs. 3 and 5); the second lens barrel (14, Fig. 4) is provided therein with a second step hole (such as step portion within the second lens barrel 14, see annotated Fig. 4 below), at step walls of which the second lenses are received (second lenses 152 received within step walls on inner surface of 14, see annotated Fig. 4 below); and wherein the second lens barrel (14, Fig. 4) is further provided with a receiving groove (142, Fig. 4; page 3, para [0045]) communicating with the second step hole (142 communicating with step portion of 14, see annotated Fig. 4 below), and the prism (13, Fig. 4) is received in the receiving groove (prism 13 received in the receiving groove 142, Fig. 4).
[AltContent: textbox (first step hole)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (step walls)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (second step hole)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (step walls)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (receiving groove communicating with the second step hole)][AltContent: arrow]Annotated Fig. 4 of Chang
Regarding claim 6, Chang discloses a lens device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the second lens barrel (14, Fig. 4) is provided with a notch (143, Fig. 2; page 3, para [0046]), and the first lens barrel (11, Fig. 2) is received at the notch (11 received at notch 143, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Chang discloses a lens device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the prism (13, Fig. 4) is a planar prism.
Regarding claim 9, Chang discloses an electronic device (6, Fig. 21; page 7, para [0103]), comprising a housing (61, Fig. 21; page 7, para [0103]), a display screen (63, Fig. 21; page 7, para [0103]) and a lens device (lens device 62 such as lens module 1, Figs. 3 and 21; page 7, para [0103]; page 4, para [0057]), wherein the lens device (such as 1, Fig. 3) comprises:
a first lens group (12, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0057]);
a second lens group (15, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0057]); and
a prism (13, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0057]; page 2, para [0038]),
wherein an optical axis (121, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0058]) of the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) is arranged at an angle with respect to an optical axis (151, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0062]) of the second lens group (15, Fig. 4), an optical path of the first lens group (such as optical path 121 of 12, Fig. 4) is arranged closer to an object side (such as side of D1, Fig. 4) than an optical path of the second lens group (such as optical path 151 of 15, Fig. 4), and the prism (13, Fig. 4) is arranged between the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) and the second lens group (15, Fig. 4) and configured to change an optical path (13 changes and optical path from 151 to 121, Fig. 4); and
wherein an edge of at least one lens (such as lens 122, Figs. 3-4; page 4, para [0061]) in the first lens group (12, Figs. 3-4) and the second lens group (such as lens 152 of 15, Figs. 3-4; page 4, para [0062]) comprises a cut edge (such as flat edge of 122 and flat edge of upper 152, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0061-0062]); and
wherein the optical axis (121, Fig. 4) of the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) is perpendicular to the display screen (121 is perpendicular to the display screen 63, Figs. 3-4 and 21-22), and is arranged closer to an inner wall of the display screen and an inner wall of the housing (optical axis 121 of lens device 62 such as lens module 1 is arranged close to an inner wall of the display screen 63 and an inner wall of the housing 61, Figs. 3-4 and 21).
Regarding claim 10, Chang discloses an electronic device with all the limitations of claim 9 above and further discloses wherein the electronic device (6, Fig. 21) is a mobile phone (Fig. 21; page 7, para [0103]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 216083219) in view of Yamaguchi (JP 2008-216772). Reference to Zhang et al. (CN 216083219) will be made to Chang et al. (U.S. 2023/0045993), which is an equivalent English translation of Zhang et al. (CN 216083219).
Regarding claim 7, Chang discloses a lens device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein two second lenses (such as upper two lenses 152, Fig. 3) are provided but does not expressly disclose wherein three first lenses (122, Fig. 3) are provided. However, Chang discloses that a plurality of first lenses (122, Fig. 3) can be configured in the lens device (1, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0058]). Furthermore, Yamaguchi discloses a lens device (60, Fig. 8; page 26, para [0044]) comprising a first lens group (10, Fig. 8; page 26, para [0044]) comprising three first lenses (11, 12, 13, Fig. 8; page 26, para [0044]) and a second lens group (20, Fig. 8; page 26, para [0044]) comprising a plurality of second lenses (21-26, Fig. 8; page 13, para [0023]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to try configuring the first lens group (Chang: 12, Fig. 3) of Chang to have three first lenses (Chang: 122, Fig. 3; Yamaguchi: 11, 12, 13, Fig. 8) in combination with the two second lenses (Chang: upper two lenses 152, Fig. 3) of Chang through routine experimentation and optimization to improve the imaging quality with a reasonable expectation for success as evidenced by Chang’s teaching of providing a plurality of first lenses (Chang: 122, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0058]) and Yamaguchi’s disclosure of a first lens group (Yamaguchi: 10, Fig. 8) comprising three first lenses (Yamaguchi: 11, 12, 13, Fig. 8) configured in combination with a second lens group (Yamaguchi: 20, Fig. 8) comprising a plurality of second lenses (Yamaguchi: 21-26, Fig. 8).
Conclusion
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871