DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first lens barrel" and “the second lens barrel” in lines 12-13 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the recitation of “the first lens barrel” and “the second lens barrel” will be interpreted as “the first lens group” and “the second lens group,” respectively. Claims 2-7 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first lens barrel" and “the second lens barrel” in lines 14-15 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the recitation of “the first lens barrel” and “the second lens barrel” will be interpreted as “the first lens group” and “the second lens group,” respectively. Claim 10 is rejected as being dependent on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 216083219) in view of Kimura (U.S. 2017/0123194). Reference to Zhang et al. (CN 216083219) will be made to Chang et al. (U.S. 2023/0045993), which is an equivalent English translation of Zhang et al. (CN 216083219).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a lens device (1, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0057]), comprising:
a first lens group (12, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0057]);
a second lens group (15, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0057]); and
a prism (13, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0057]; page 2, para [0038]),
wherein an optical axis (121, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0058]) of the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) is arranged at an angle with respect to an optical axis (151, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0062]) of the second lens group (15, Fig. 4), an optical path of the first lens group (such as optical path 121 of 12, Fig. 4) is arranged closer to an object side (such as side of D1, Fig. 4) than an optical path of the second lens group (such as optical path 151 of 15, Fig. 4), and the prism (13, Fig. 4) is arranged between the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) and the second lens group (15, Fig. 4) and configured to change an optical path (13 changes and optical path from 151 to 121, Fig. 4); and
wherein an edge of at least one lens (such as lens 122, Figs. 3-4; page 4, para [0061]) in the first lens group (12, Figs. 3-4) and the second lens group (such as lens 152 of 15, Figs. 3-4; page 4, para [0062]) comprises a cut edge (such as flat edge of 122 and flat edge of upper 152, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0061-0062]),
wherein the prism (13, Fig. 4) includes a first optical surface (surface of 13 facing 12, Fig. 4) coaxially arranged with the optical axis (121, Fig. 4) of the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) and a second optical surface (surface of 13 facing 15, Fig. 4) coaxially arranged with the optical axis (151, Fig. 4) of the second lens group (15, Fig. 4).
Chang does not expressly disclose wherein at least one of the first optical surface (surface of 13 facing 12, Fig. 4) and the second optical surface (surface of 13 facing 15, Fig. 4) is provided with an aspherical surface. However, Kimura discloses a lens device (Fig. 11; page 2, para [0032]) comprising a prism (PR, Fig. 11; page 2, para [0040]) having a first optical surface (surface of PR facing L5b, Fig. 11; page 8, para [0104]) and a second optical surface (surface of PR facing L5a, Fig. 11; page 8, para [0104]) that can be provided with aspherical surfaces in order to improve aberration correction (page 8, para [0104]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first optical surface (Chang: surface of 13 facing 12, Fig. 4) and the second optical surface (Chang: surface of 13 facing 15, Fig. 4) of the prism (Chang: 13, Fig. 4) of Chang with the aspherical surfaces (Kimura: aspherical surfaces of PR facing L5b and L5a, Fig. 11; page 8, para [0104]) of Kimura in order to obtain the benefits of improving aberration correction as taught by Kimura (Kimura: page 8, para [0104]).
Regarding claim 2, Chang as modified by Kimura discloses a lens device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the optical axis (Chang: 121, Fig. 4) of the first lens group (Chang: 12, Fig. 4) is perpendicular to the optical axis (Chang: 151, Fig. 4) of the second lens group (Chang: 15, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Chang as modified by Kimura discloses a lens device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the first lens group (Chang: 12, Fig. 4) comprises a first lens barrel (Chang: 11, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0061]) and first lenses (Chang: 122, Figs. 3-4; page 4, para [0061]) arranged in the first lens barrel (Chang: 11, Fig. 4), the second lens group (Chang: 15, Fig. 4) comprises a second lens barrel (Chang: 14, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0062]) and second lenses (Chang: 152, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0062]) arranged in the second lens barrel (Chang: 14, Fig. 4), the prism (Chang: 13, Fig. 4) is arranged in the second lens barrel (Chang: 14, Fig. 4), and the first lens barrel (Chang: 11, Fig. 4) is adhered to the second lens barrel (Chang: 14, Fig. 4) through an adhesive, such that the optical axis (Chang: 121, Fig. 4) of the first lens group (Chang: 12, Fig. 4) is arranged at a preset angle with respect to the optical axis (Chang: 151, Fig. 4) of the second lens group (Chang: 15, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Chang as modified by Kimura discloses a lens device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein at least one of the first lenses (Chang: 122, Fig. 3) comprises a first cut edge (Chang: first flat edge of 122, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0061]) and a second cut edge (Chang: second flat edge of 122, Fig. 3) opposite to each other, and at least one of the second lenses (Chang: such as upper 152, Fig. 3) comprises a third edge (Chang: upper flat edge of upper 152, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0062]) and fourth edge (Chang: bottom flat edge of upper 152, Fig. 3) opposite to each other.
Regarding claim 5, Chang as modified by Kimura discloses a lens device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the first lens barrel (Chang: 11, Fig. 4) is provided therein with a first step hole (Chang: such as step portion within the first lens barrel 11, see annotated Fig. 4 below), at step walls of which the first lenses are received (Chang: first lenses 122 received within step walls on inner surface of 11, see annotated Fig. 4 below and Figs. 3 and 5); the second lens barrel (Chang: 14, Fig. 4) is provided therein with a second step hole (such as step portion within the second lens barrel 14, see annotated Fig. 4 below), at step walls of which the second lenses are received (Chang: second lenses 152 received within step walls on inner surface of 14, see annotated Fig. 4 below); and wherein the second lens barrel (Chang: 14, Fig. 4) is further provided with a receiving groove (Chang: 142, Fig. 4; page 3, para [0045]) communicating with the second step hole (Chang: 142 communicating with step portion of 14, see annotated Fig. 4 below), and the prism (Chang: 13, Fig. 4) is received in the receiving groove (Chang: prism 13 received in the receiving groove 142, Fig. 4).
Annotated Fig. 4 of Chang
[AltContent: textbox (first step hole)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (step walls)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (second step hole)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (step walls)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (receiving groove communicating with the second step hole)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 6, Chang as modified by Kimura discloses a lens device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the second lens barrel (Chang: 14, Fig. 4) is provided with a notch (Chang: 143, Fig. 2; page 3, para [0046]), and the first lens barrel (Chang: 11, Fig. 2) is received at the notch (Chang: 11 received at notch 143, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Chang discloses an electronic device (6, Fig. 21; page 7, para [0103]), comprising a housing (61, Fig. 21; page 7, para [0103]), a display screen (63, Fig. 21; page 7, para [0103]) and a lens device (lens device 62 such as lens module 1, Figs. 3 and 21; page 7, para [0103]; page 4, para [0057]), wherein the lens device (such as 1, Fig. 3) comprises:
a first lens group (12, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0057]);
a second lens group (15, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0057]); and
a prism (13, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0057]; page 2, para [0038]),
wherein an optical axis (121, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0058]) of the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) is arranged at an angle with respect to an optical axis (151, Fig. 4; page 4, para [0062]) of the second lens group (15, Fig. 4), an optical path of the first lens group (such as optical path 121 of 12, Fig. 4) is arranged closer to an object side (such as side of D1, Fig. 4) than an optical path of the second lens group (such as optical path 151 of 15, Fig. 4), and the prism (13, Fig. 4) is arranged between the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) and the second lens group (15, Fig. 4) and configured to change an optical path (13 changes and optical path from 151 to 121, Fig. 4); and
wherein an edge of at least one lens (such as lens 122, Figs. 3-4; page 4, para [0061]) in the first lens group (12, Figs. 3-4) and the second lens group (such as lens 152 of 15, Figs. 3-4; page 4, para [0062]) comprises a cut edge (such as flat edge of 122 and flat edge of upper 152, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0061-0062]);
wherein the prism (13, Fig. 4) includes a first optical surface (surface of 13 facing 12, Fig. 4) coaxially arranged with the optical axis (121, Fig. 4) of the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) and a second optical surface (surface of 13 facing 15, Fig. 4) coaxially arranged with the optical axis (151, Fig. 4) of the second lens group (15, Fig. 4); and
wherein the optical axis (121, Fig. 4) of the first lens group (12, Fig. 4) is perpendicular to the display screen (121 is perpendicular to the display screen 63, Figs. 3-4 and 21-22), and is arranged closer to an inner wall of the display screen and an inner wall of the housing (optical axis 121 of lens device 62 such as lens module 1 is arranged close to an inner wall of the display screen 63 and an inner wall of the housing 61, Figs. 3-4 and 21).
Chang does not expressly disclose wherein at least one of the first optical surface (surface of 13 facing 12, Fig. 4) and the second optical surface (surface of 13 facing 15, Fig. 4) is provided with an aspherical surface. However, Kimura discloses a lens device (Fig. 11; page 2, para [0032]) comprising a prism (PR, Fig. 11; page 2, para [0040]) having a first optical surface (surface of PR facing L5b, Fig. 11; page 8, para [0104]) and a second optical surface (surface of PR facing L5a, Fig. 11; page 8, para [0104]) that can be provided with aspherical surfaces in order to improve aberration correction (page 8, para [0104]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first optical surface (Chang: surface of 13 facing 12, Fig. 4) and the second optical surface (Chang: surface of 13 facing 15, Fig. 4) of the prism (Chang: 13, Fig. 4) of Chang with the aspherical surfaces (Kimura: aspherical surfaces of PR facing L5b and L5a, Fig. 11; page 8, para [0104]) of Kimura in order to obtain the benefits of improving aberration correction as taught by Kimura (Kimura: page 8, para [0104]).
Regarding claim 10, Chang as modified by Kimura discloses an electronic device with all the limitations of claim 9 above and further discloses wherein the electronic device (Chang: 6, Fig. 21) is a mobile phone (Chang: Fig. 21; page 7, para [0103]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 216083219) in view of Kimura (U.S. 2017/0123194) as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Yamaguchi (JP 2008-216772). Reference to Zhang et al. (CN 216083219) will be made to Chang et al. (U.S. 2023/0045993), which is an equivalent English translation of Zhang et al. (CN 216083219).
Regarding claim 7, Chang as modified by Kimura discloses a lens device with all the limitations of claim 3 above and further discloses wherein two second lenses (Chang: such as upper two lenses 152, Fig. 3) are provided but does not expressly disclose wherein three first lenses (Chang: 122, Fig. 3) are provided. However, Chang discloses that a plurality of first lenses (122, Fig. 3) can be configured in the lens device (1, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0058]). Furthermore, Yamaguchi discloses a lens device (60, Fig. 8; page 26, para [0044]) comprising a first lens group (10, Fig. 8; page 26, para [0044]) comprising three first lenses (11, 12, 13, Fig. 8; page 26, para [0044]) and a second lens group (20, Fig. 8; page 26, para [0044]) comprising a plurality of second lenses (21-26, Fig. 8; page 13, para [0023]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to try configuring the first lens group (Chang: 12, Fig. 3) of Chang to have three first lenses (Chang: 122, Fig. 3; Yamaguchi: 11, 12, 13, Fig. 8) in combination with the two second lenses (Chang: upper two lenses 152, Fig. 3) of Chang as modified by Kimura through routine experimentation and optimization to improve the imaging quality with a reasonable expectation for success as evidenced by Chang’s teaching of providing a plurality of first lenses (Chang: 122, Fig. 3; page 4, para [0058]) and Yamaguchi’s disclosure of a first lens group (Yamaguchi: 10, Fig. 8) comprising three first lenses (Yamaguchi: 11, 12, 13, Fig. 8) configured in combination with a second lens group (Yamaguchi: 20, Fig. 8) comprising a plurality of second lenses (Yamaguchi: 21-26, Fig. 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Applicant argues that Chang provides no teaching or motivation to utilize the specific geometry of an aspherical surface to achieve the aberration correction benefits of the present invention. However, Examiner notes that the newly cited prior art reference of Kimura (U.S. 2017/0123194) discloses “a lens device (Fig. 11; page 2, para [0032]) comprising a prism (PR, Fig. 11; page 2, para [0040]) having a first optical surface (surface of PR facing L5b, Fig. 11; page 8, para [0104]) and a second optical surface (surface of PR facing L5a, Fig. 11; page 8, para [0104]) that can be provided with aspherical surfaces in order to improve aberration correction (page 8, para [0104]).” Therefore, Chang in view of Kimura discloses all the recited limitations as presented in the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871