DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2009271317 A (KOMATSU HARUNOBU et al.)
Per claim 1, Komatsu a display device, comprising: a driving substrate [9: “the circuit board 9 has a flat base 91 provided with a circuit (not shown) including a switching element such as a TFT”]; a display medium layer [2], disposed on the driving structure [see figure 2]; and a material layer [6], disposed on a side of the display medium layer, and extending to the driving substrate [see figure 2], wherein the material layer is a material layer with conductivity properties [“The upper electrode 6 is provided so as to cover the top 4a of the wall 4 and the surface of the microcapsule 3 (curved convex surface located on the upper side in FIG. 1).”]
Per claim 2, Komatsu teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the material layer is disposed on a side of the display medium layer relatively far away from the driving substrate, and extends to a periphery of the display medium layer [see figure 5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2009271317 A (KOMATSU HARUNOBU et al.) in view of JP 2012242432 A (FUJITA AKIRA).
Per claims 3-5, Komatsu teaches the display device according to claim 2. Komatsu lacks, but Fujita teaches, a conductive paste “a conductive member 32 to be described later is provided in a gap portion between the upper and lower substrates”], disposed on the display medium layer [see figure 6 above; the paste 32 would be coupled to Komatsu’s electrode 6], wherein the material layer is a conductive material layer which is fixed on the display medium layer through conductive paste [inherent to the combination], and electrically connected with a conductive terminal on the driving substrate [see Fujita’s figure 6, electrode 11]. Simplified external control connectivity and manufacturing would have been an expected benefit. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Fujita with Komatsu.
The combination lacks a thickness of the conductive material layer being greater than 0 and less than or equal to 20 microns. However, official notice is hereby taken that it would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to form the conductive paste with a thickness between 0 and less than or equal to 20 microns in order to reduce overall cell thickness. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Komatsu lacks, Fujita teaches, a water-blocking material layer [substrate 20], the conductive material layer is fixed on the display medium layer through the conductive paste and is electrically connected with a conductive terminal on the driving substrate [see Fujita’s figures 5-6], and the water-blocking material layer is disposed on the conductive material layer [see figures 5-6] and is conformally disposed with the conductive material layer [see figures 5-6]. Improved protection from environmental elements would have been an expected benefit. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Fujita with Komatsu.
Per claim 6, Komatsu teaches the display device according to claim 2. As described above, Fujita teaches connecting via a conductive paste an upper substrate electrode to a lower substrate terminal. In view of Fujita’s conductive paste use, official notice is hereby taken that it would have been an matter of routine skill in the art to incorporate into the material layer a conductive material layer [disclosed as Komatsu’s layer 6] and a water-blocking material layer [routine skill in the art], the conductive material layer directly covers the display medium layer [see Komatsu’s figure 2] and is electrically connected to a conductive terminal on the driving substrate, and the water-blocking material layer is disposed on the conductive material layer and completely covers the conductive material layer. In view of Fujita, it would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to connect Komatsu’s conductive material 6 to a lead on Komatsu’s substrate with Fujita’s paste 32 in order to simplify manufacturing and simplify connectivity to the external control devices.
Per claim 7, Komatsu et al. teaches the display device according to claim 6, but lacks a thickness of the water-blocking material layer being greater than 0 and less than or equal to 20 microns. However, official notice is hereby taken that it would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to form the conductive paste with a thickness between 0 and less than or equal to 20 microns in order to reduce overall cell thickness. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2009271317 A (KOMATSU HARUNOBU et al.) in view of JP 2012242432 A (FUJITA AKIRA).
Per claim 9, Komatsu teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display medium layer is a substrate [9] of an electrophoretic display layer [2], and the material layer is a conductive material layer [“a conductive member 32 to be described later is provided in a gap portion between the upper and lower substrates”]. Komatsu lacks a plastic substrate. However, official notice is hereby taken that it was common knowledge to use plastic substrates in order to cell weight. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Per claim 8, the prior art teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the display medium layer is a microcup electronic ink layer [3]. In combination with the limitations above, the prior art does not teach the display device further comprises: a conductive film, disposed on the display medium layer; and a conductive paste, disposed on the display medium layer, wherein the conductive film is fixed on the display medium layer through the conductive paste; wherein the material layer comprises a conductive pillar and a water-blocking material layer, the material layer is disposed between the conductive paste and the driving substrate, and is electrically connected to the conductive paste and a conductive terminal on the driving substrate, the water-blocking material layer is disposed on the conductive film and extends to the driving substrate along a periphery of the conductive film, a periphery of the conductive paste, a periphery of the conductive pillar and a periphery of the display medium layer.
Per claim 10, the prior art teaches the display device according to claim 9. In combination with the limitations above, the prior art does not teach a protection cover, comprising a cover and a transparent conductive layer, wherein the cover is disposed on the display medium layer, and the transparent conductive layer is disposed on the cover, and a part of the transparent conductive layer is located between the cover and the display medium layer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “in KOMATSU HARUNOBU, the upper electrode 6 should be part of the electrophoretic display sheet 2, which has been interpreted as the display medium layer of the present application in the Office Action. Thus, the applicant submits that the current claim interpretation of the upper electrode 6 of KOMATSU HARUNOBU as the material layer of the present application should be reconsidered.”
In response, the claimed language merely requires “a material layer, disposed on a side of the display medium layer, and extending to the driving substrate, wherein the material layer is a material layer with conductivity properties.” As such, Komatsu’s upper electrode 6 sufficiently meets the claimed language. See the abstract: “an upper electrode (a first electrode) 6 provided on a viewing side of the microcapsule-containing layer 5”. That is, Komatsu’s electrode 6 is a conductive layer or a material layer that is conductive formed on the display medium layer 2 or “on a side of the display medium”.
Applicant further argues that “even if the upper electrode 6 of KOMATSU HARUNOBU could be interpreted as the material layer of the present application, according to FIG.2 of KOMATSU HARUNOBU, the upper electrode 6 does not extend to the circuit board 9 (which is interpreted as the driving substrate of the present application).”
In response, the phrase “extending to the driving substrate” merely requires the material layer 6 to extend in a direction from the top of the display towards the bottom of the display. As such, Komatsu’s figure 2 clearly shows electrode 6 extending from the apex of the wall 4 towards the lower substrate.
/JAMES A DUDEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871