DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to the argument and amendment filed January 22, 2026.
Claims 1 and 12 are amended.
Claims 2-11 and 13-20 are originals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al [2012/0293423], hereafter Dai, in view of Wooten et al [2015/0007058], hereafter Wooten.
As per Claim 1 and 12 (Similar scope and language);
Dai discloses;
A computer implemented method comprising: maintaining a plurality of object updates in a data store, each object update associated with a respective object and including at least: a respective latest object information associated with the respective object;
{[0021] The mobile device includes a processor, a memory, and a display component with an associated touch input device, the display component being configured to present a user interface. The user interface includes a candidate window that displays recognition candidates that are identified by a recognition engine executed by the processor and based on a handwriting input received via the touch interface. The candidate window also displays a plurality of prediction candidates.}
Dai discloses;
displaying a standard user interface,
{[0021] The mobile device includes a processor, a memory, and a display component with an associated touch input device, the display component being configured to present a user interface. The user interface includes a candidate window that displays recognition candidates that are identified by a recognition engine executed by the processor and based on a handwriting input received via the touch interface. The candidate window also displays a plurality of prediction candidates. The user interface also includes an edit field that displays the first recognition candidate as determined text, one or more function keys configured to cause a respective function or command to be executed, and a dynamic input panel having a first area when the user interface is in a recognition or prediction state and a second area that is larger than the first area when the user interface is in a writing state. The dynamic input panel overlies the candidate window and the one or more function keys when in the writing state and having the second area.}
Dai discloses;
detecting activation of a writing mode control;
{[0036] Upon detection of initiation of a handwriting input or a pen down event, the user interface 212 assumes the writing display state 214. The user interface 212 remains in the writing display state 214 until the handwriting input ceases (e.g. a pen up event) or an input is received outside the writing panel 218.}
Dai discloses;
in response to detecting activation of the writing mode control, replacing the standard user interface with a writing mode user interface, the writing mode user interface including display of a first object update form of a plurality of object update forms,
{[0036] The user interface 212 includes a number of display states. In an embodiment, the user interface 212 includes a writing display state 214 (FIGS. 2, 3, and 5), a recognition display state 216 (FIGS. 4, 7, and 8), and a prediction display state 218 (FIG. 9). The user interface 212 assumes a given display state based on a state of user inputs. In an embodiment, the recognition display state 216 is a default display state that is taken or assumed by the user interface 212 prior to receiving handwriting inputs. Upon detection of initiation of a handwriting input or a pen down event, the user interface 212 assumes the writing display state 214. The user interface 212 remains in the writing display state 214 until the handwriting input ceases (e.g. a pen up event) or an input is received outside the writing panel 218.}
Dai discloses;
while displaying the writing mode user interface, detecting a navigation input and in response to the navigation input, ceasing display of the first object update form and displaying, in the writing mode user interface,
{[0036] In an embodiment, the recognition display state 216 is a default display state that is taken or assumed by the user interface 212 prior to receiving handwriting inputs. Upon detection of initiation of a handwriting input or a pen down event, the user interface 212 assumes the writing display state 214. The user interface 212 remains in the writing display state 214 until the handwriting input ceases (e.g. a pen up event) or an input is received outside the writing panel 218. In an embodiment, a time out is observed following the pen up event for a predetermined amount of time.}
Dai discloses;
a second object update form of the plurality of object update forms, wherein the second object update form: corresponds to a second object update of the set of the plurality of object updates; and is configured to receive a second object update description.
{[0041] As depicted in FIGS. 4, 7, and 8, in the recognition display state 216 the user interface 212 includes the edit field 222, the conversation field 236, a second writing panel 232, a candidate window 234, and one or more function keys 236. The second writing panel 232 comprises a region of the user interface 212 having a second area that is smaller than the first area of the first writing panel 220. The second writing panel 232 does not overlie other components of the user interface 212 and is configured to receive or detect a pen down event that toggles the user interface 212 to assume the writing display state 214, as described above.
[0042] The candidate window 234 may be blank or empty prior to receiving a handwriting input. Upon receiving a handwriting input, the candidate window 234 displays one or more recognition candidates 238 and one or more combination candidates 240. The candidate window 234 displays any number of recognition candidates 238 and combination candidates 240 as space allows. In an embodiment, the candidate window 234 displays four recognition candidates 238.}
Dai does not explicitly disclose the progress, creating and receiving of object updates, however; Wooten discloses;
a respective status of the object; and
[0064] At operation 1705 the server receives, from the client device 1501 of at least one of the Collaborators, user input indicating progress made in performance of the process. As mentioned above, this user input can be in the form of, for example, user input associating content with a step box, e.g., the dragging and dropping of an icon or hyperlink into a step box.
Wooten discloses;
the standard user interface including display of [[the]] at least a subset of a set of the plurality of object updates, the set of the plurality of object updates associated with a user;
{[0064] At operation 1701, the server system 1502 transmits information for providing a GUI to each of a plurality of users, each of whom uses a separate one of a plurality of client processing devices 1501. At operation 1702 the server system 1502 receives, via the network, user inputs, provided by use of the GUI, specifying a plurality of operations that form a process flow (also called a “progress flow” herein) in the form of a plurality of displayable objects (e.g., step boxes), each object representing a separate step……... At operation 1704 the server system 1502, enables the Collaborators to view and edit the graphical representation of the process flow collaboratively via the network. At operation 1705 the server receives, from the client device 1501 of at least one of the Collaborators, user input indicating progress made in performance of the process. As mentioned above, this user input can be in the form of, for example, user input associating content with a step box, e.g., the dragging and dropping of an icon or hyperlink into a step box.
Wooten discloses
wherein the first object update form: corresponds to a first object update of the set of the plurality of object updates; is configured to receive a first object update description; and
{[0064] At operation 1705 the server receives, from the client device 1501 of at least one of the Collaborators, user input indicating progress made in performance of the process. As mentioned above, this user input can be in the form of, for example, user input associating content with a step box, e.g., the dragging and dropping of an icon or hyperlink into a step box. At step 1706, in response to the user input, the server system 1502 modifies the graphical representation to indicate the progress visually, so that the Owner of the process flow as well as all Collaborators and Observers can see the indication of progress in the process flow displayed on their respective client devices 1501.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combined/modify/adjust Dai et al’s user interface for a project management application to include Wooten et al’s respective status of the object; and the standard user interface including display of at least a subset of a set of the plurality of object updates, the set of the plurality of object updates associated with a user; wherein the first object update form: corresponds to a first object update of the set of the plurality of object updates; is configured to receive a first object update description, since Dai teaches displaying a standard user interface, detecting activation of a writing mode control; detecting activation of the writing mode control, replacing the standard user interface with a writing mode user interface, the writing mode user interface including display of a first object update form of a plurality of object update forms, while displaying the writing mode user interface, detecting a navigation input and in response to the navigation input, ceasing display of the first object update form and displaying, in the writing mode user interface, a second object update form of the plurality of object update forms, wherein the second object update form: corresponds to a second object update of the set of the plurality of object updates; and is configured to receive a second object update description. (See Dai [0021, 0036, 0041, 0042]). The combination would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art since the system and method provide user interface for a project management application with the inclusion of creating and receiving the object status to enable better tracking of the progress of the project. See Wooten [0064].
As per claim 2 and 13 (Similar scope and language);
Dai discloses;
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the second object update form is associated with a second object, and the writing mode user interface displays a previous object update associated with the second object while displaying the second object update form.
{[0024] The candidate window also displays a plurality of combination candidates that include a first recognition candidate of the plurality of recognition candidates followed by a respective prediction candidate. One or more of the respective prediction candidates are determined base at least in part on phrases previously input to the mobile device. An edit field that displays the first recognition candidate as determined text is also included.}
As per claim 3 and 14 (Similar scope and language);
Dai discloses;
The computer implemented method of claim 1, further comprising providing modified input functionality when displaying the writing mode user interface, wherein the same input at an input device result in an alternative operation being performed in the writing mode user interface as compared to the standard user interface.
{[0039] The first writing panel 220 provides or designates a region of the user interface 212 in which a handwriting input is to be received. The first writing panel 220 has dimensions comprising a first area. In an embodiment, the first area is configured to provide a maximum area available in the user interface 212 in which handwriting inputs can be received. In another embodiment, the first area is configured to provide a maximized area of the user interface 212 that does not obscure one or more select other displayed components such as the edit field 222 and the conversation field 226.}
As per claim 4 and 15 (Similar scope and language);
Dai discloses;
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the writing mode user interface includes: an object update queue, the object update queue indicating a number of object updates associated with a user viewing the writing mode user interface; or an object update queue, the object update queue indicating a number of object updates associated with a user viewing the writing mode user interface that are to be completed in a current period.
{[0042] The candidate window 234 may be blank or empty prior to receiving a handwriting input. Upon receiving a handwriting input, the candidate window 234 displays one or more recognition candidates 238 and one or more combination candidates 240. The candidate window 234 displays any number of recognition candidates 238 and combination candidates 240 as space allows. In an embodiment, the candidate window 234 displays four recognition candidates 238. In another embodiment, a toggle 246 is provided that when selected causes an expanded-candidate-window 248 to be displayed, as depicted in FIG. 8. The expanded-candidate window 248 includes additional space in the user interface in which to display a greater number of recognition candidates 238, combination candidates 240, and prediction candidates 244, as described below.
[0043] The recognition engine may rank a number of potential recognition candidates 238 based on a correlation value calculated between the handwriting input and the recognition candidate 238. In an embodiment, the recognition engine also ranks recognition candidates 238 based on a user's input history, frequency of use of the recognition candidate 238 by the user or by a population generally, or any other data for the recognition candidate 238.}
Dai does not disclose an object update queue; however, Wooten discloses;
{[0034] FIG. 1 shows an example of a progress flow that was previously created by a user and that is in use. The tool's GUI enables a user to graphically create or modify a timeline from this display screen. The timeline 101 is divided into two parts—the past and the future. A point 109 represents the present point in time (e.g., current date, or current date and time) and is the dividing point between the past and future parts of the timeline. The past part of the timeline (i.e., the part to the left of the current date) displays steps on which progress has been made (i.e., steps that are either in-progress or have been completed). Progress can be represented by a visual. The future side of the timeline (the part to the right of the current date) displays steps on which progress has not been made (therefore their boxes are empty).}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combined/modify/adjust Dai et al’s user interface for a project management application to include Wooten et al’s object update queue, since Dai teaches displaying a standard user interface, detecting activation of a writing mode control; detecting activation of the writing mode control, replacing the standard user interface with a writing mode user interface, the writing mode user interface including display of a first object update form of a plurality of object update forms, while displaying the writing mode user interface, detecting a navigation input and in response to the navigation input, ceasing display of the first object update form and displaying, in the writing mode user interface, a second object update form of the plurality of object update forms, wherein the second object update form: corresponds to a second object update of the set of the plurality of object updates; and is configured to receive a second object update description. (See Dai [0021, 0036, 0041, 0042]). The combination would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art since the system and method provide user interface for a project management application with the inclusion of a user interface to enhance interaction between the user and others. See Wooten [0034].
As per claim 5 and 16 (Similar scope and language);
Wooten discloses;
The computer implemented method of claim 4, wherein the object update queue including a plurality of interactive elements, each interactive element corresponding to an object update associated with the user viewing the writing mode user interface, the plurality of interactive elements displayed sequentially.
{[0213] In an embodiment, the task status board includes a projects board 1504 that provides a visual representation of a breakdown of a plurality of tasks into categories according to their associated projects as well as their statuses. For example, the projects board 1504 may provide a visual representation of a breakdown of tasks according to the projects (e.g., 1516, 1518 and 1520) that the tasks belong to. Within each project, the tasks may be further segmented according to their statuses (e.g., in progress, overdue, completed). For example, a bar chart may be provided for each project, wherein the bar chart may include a bar for each tasks in each status category, the bar may be associated with a number and/or a percentage of the tasks in the status category. In some embodiments, each distinct category may be distinctly represented, for example, using different colors, patterns, shapes, text and the like.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combined/modify/adjust Dai et al’s user interface for a project management application to include Wooten et al’s the object update queue including a plurality of interactive elements, each interactive element corresponding to an object update associated with the user viewing the writing mode user interface, the plurality of interactive elements displayed sequentially, since Dai teaches displaying a standard user interface, detecting activation of a writing mode control; detecting activation of the writing mode control, replacing the standard user interface with a writing mode user interface, the writing mode user interface including display of a first object update form of a plurality of object update forms, while displaying the writing mode user interface, detecting a navigation input and in response to the navigation input, ceasing display of the first object update form and displaying, in the writing mode user interface, a second object update form of the plurality of object update forms, wherein the second object update form: corresponds to a second object update of the set of the plurality of object updates; and is configured to receive a second object update description. (See Dai [0021, 0036, 0041, 0042]). The combination would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art since the system and method provide user interface for a project management application with the inclusion of a user interface to enhance interaction between the user and others. See Wooten [0213].
As per claim 7 and 17 (Similar scope and language);
Dai discloses;
The computer implemented method of claim 5, wherein while displaying the second object update form in the writing mode user interface further comprises: detecting a user input; determining whether the user input is to write an update in the second object update form; and upon determining that the user input is to write the update, generating a second object update based on the user input and storing the object update in an object updates database.
{[0036 -0037] Upon detection of initiation of a handwriting input or a pen down event, the user interface 212 assumes the writing display state 214. The user interface 212 remains in the writing display state 214 until the handwriting input ceases (e.g. a pen up event) or an input is received outside the writing panel 218. In an embodiment, a time out is observed following the pen up event for a predetermined amount of time. In an embodiment, the time out is less than one second or is 0.75 seconds. In another embodiment, an input that causes another user interface to become active such as an input to a command key 206 causes the user interface 212 to leave the writing display state 214 and enter the recognition display state 216.
{[0037] The user interface 212 remains in the recognition display state 216 until detecting a pen down event or until receiving a selection of a recognition candidate, combination candidate, or prediction candidate as described below. Upon receipt of such a selection, the user interface 212 enters the prediction display state 218. The user interface 212 remains in the prediction display state 218 until detecting an initiation of a handwriting input or receipt of an input that causes another user interface to become active.}
As per claim 8 and 18 (Similar scope and language);
Dai discloses;
The computer implemented method of claim 7, further comprising moving the interactive element associated with a second object to an end of the object update queue.
{[0059] The second prediction candidates are presented via the user interface in a prediction display state, at a step 1014. The second prediction candidates are not displayed with a recognition candidate as a prefix. Also, the second prediction candidates may be identified based on a user's input history, a lexicon of words and phrases, or any other reference. At a step 1016, a selection of a second prediction candidate is received and the second prediction candidate is appended to the end of a text string in the edit field as committed text. The method 1000 then returns to step 1012.}
As per claim 9 and 19 (Similar scope and language);
Dai discloses;
The computer implemented method of claim 7, further comprising: detecting selection of the interactive element associated with a second object after the second object update is generated, and updating the writing mode user interface to display the generated second object update, the second object update including an edit control to edit the generated second object update.
{[0036] The user interface 212 includes a number of display states. In an embodiment, the user interface 212 includes a writing display state 214 (FIGS. 2, 3, and 5), a recognition display state 216 (FIGS. 4, 7, and 8), and a prediction display state 218 (FIG. 9). The user interface 212 assumes a given display state based on a state of user inputs. In an embodiment, the recognition display state 216 is a default display state that is taken or assumed by the user interface 212 prior to receiving handwriting inputs. Upon detection of initiation of a handwriting input or a pen down event, the user interface 212 assumes the writing display state 214. The user interface 212 remains in the writing display state 214 until the handwriting input ceases (e.g. a pen up event) or an input is received outside the writing panel 218. In an embodiment, a time out is observed following the pen up event for a predetermined amount of time. In an embodiment, the time out is less than one second or is 0.75 seconds. In another embodiment, an input that causes another user interface to become active such as an input to a command key 206 causes the user interface 212 to leave the writing display state 214 and enter the recognition display state 216.}
As per claim 11;
Dai discloses;
The computer implemented method of claim 1, while displaying the writing mode user interface, further comprising: detecting activation of an exit input; ceasing to display the writing mode user interface; and displaying the standard user interface
{[0036] The user interface 212 includes a number of display states. In an embodiment, the user interface 212 includes a writing display state 214 (FIGS. 2, 3, and 5), a recognition display state 216 (FIGS. 4, 7, and 8), and a prediction display state 218 (FIG. 9). The user interface 212 assumes a given display state based on a state of user inputs. In an embodiment, the recognition display state 216 is a default display state that is taken or assumed by the user interface 212 prior to receiving handwriting inputs. Upon detection of initiation of a handwriting input or a pen down event, the user interface 212 assumes the writing display state 214. The user interface 212 remains in the writing display state 214 until the handwriting input ceases (e.g. a pen up event) or an input is received outside the writing panel 218. In an embodiment, a time out is observed following the pen up event for a predetermined amount of time. In an embodiment, the time out is less than one second or is 0.75 seconds. In another embodiment, an input that causes another user interface to become active such as an input to a command key 206 causes the user interface 212 to leave the writing display state 214 and enter the recognition display state 216.
[0037] The user interface 212 remains in the recognition display state 216 until detecting a pen down event or until receiving a selection of a recognition candidate, combination candidate, or prediction candidate as described below. Upon receipt of such a selection, the user interface 212 enters the prediction display state 218. The user interface 212 remains in the prediction display state 218 until detecting an initiation of a handwriting input or receipt of an input that causes another user interface to become active.}
Claim(s) 6, 10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai
et al [2012/0293423], hereafter Dai, in view of Wooten et al [2015/0007058], hereafter Wooten in further view of Mouawad et al [2022/0027830], hereafter Mouawad.
As per claim 6;
Dai discloses;
The computer implemented method of claim 5, further comprising: detecting an input in the object update queue, the input selecting an interactive element of the plurality of interactive elements that corresponds to a third object update, changing a display state of the selected interactive element, to indicate that the interactive element has been selected; and
{[0036 -0037] The user interface 212 includes a number of display states. In an embodiment, the user interface 212 includes a writing display state 214 (FIGS. 2, 3, and 5), a recognition display state 216 (FIGS. 4, 7, and 8), and a prediction display state 218 (FIG. 9). The user interface 212 assumes a given display state based on a state of user inputs. In an embodiment, the recognition display state 216 is a default display state that is taken or assumed by the user interface 212 prior to receiving handwriting inputs. Upon detection of initiation of a handwriting input or a pen down event, the user interface 212 assumes the writing display state 214. The user interface 212 remains in the writing display state 214 until the handwriting input ceases (e.g. a pen up event) or an input is received outside the writing panel 218. In an embodiment, a time out is observed following the pen up event for a predetermined amount of time. In an embodiment, the time out is less than one second or is 0.75 seconds. In another embodiment, an input that causes another user interface to become active such as an input to a command key 206 causes the user interface 212 to leave the writing display state 214 and enter the recognition display state 216.
[0037] he user interface 212 remains in the recognition display state 216 until detecting a pen down event or until receiving a selection of a recognition candidate, combination candidate, or prediction candidate as described below. Upon receipt of such a selection, the user interface 212 enters the prediction display state 218. The user interface 212 remains in the prediction display state 218 until detecting an initiation of a handwriting input or receipt of an input that causes another user interface to become active.}
Dai does not explicitly disclose the second object update, however Mouawad discloses;
ceasing display of the second object update form and displaying a third object update form in the writing mode user interface.
{[0349] FIG. 42 shows an example of quick task settings in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. One or more task note 4210 may be displayed in a pinboard 4200. The task note may have information about the task, such as task name, description, target date, and assignor/assignee information. A visual indicator 4220 may be provided which a user may access to customize the task note and/or view more information about the task note. Selecting the visual indicator (e.g., clicking on or touching the visual indicator) may result in accessing quick task settings 4230. A popup menu may be provided showing one or more options. A user may be presented with an option to change the label. A user can assign a colored label to a particular task note. The user may be presented with options to visually alter the task note in any other manner (e.g., borders, font, shape, size, etc.). Selecting the change label option may cause a second pane or popup 4240 which may provide options for changing the label. For example, an option may be presented to create a new label, or select a color/label/category for the note. In some instances, the colors may correspond to categories of tasks. Thus, the user may have the ability to change the color of each task note and create a category label.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combined/modify/adjust the combination of Dai amd Wooten et al’s user interface for a project management application to include Mouawad et al’s ceasing display of the second object update form and displaying a third object update form in the writing mode user interface, since Dai and Wooten teaches displaying a standard user interface, detecting activation of a writing mode control; detecting activation of the writing mode control, replacing the standard user interface with a writing mode user interface, the writing mode user interface including display of a first object update form of a plurality of object update forms, while displaying the writing mode user interface, detecting a navigation input and in response to the navigation input, ceasing display of the first object update form and displaying, in the writing mode user interface, a second object update form of the plurality of object update forms, wherein the second object update form: corresponds to a second object update of the set of the plurality of object updates; and is configured to receive a second object update description. (See Dai [0021, 0036, 0041, 0042] and Wooten [0064, 0213]). The combination would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art since the system and method provide user interface for a project management application with the inclusion of second object update to enhance user interaction. See Mouawad [0349].
As per claim 10 and 20 (Similar scope and language);
Dai discloses;
The computer implemented method of claim 9, further comprising: detecting selection of the edit control; ceasing to display the generated second object update, and displaying the second object update form.
{[0036] The user interface 212 includes a number of display states. In an embodiment, the user interface 212 includes a writing display state 214 (FIGS. 2, 3, and 5), a recognition display state 216 (FIGS. 4, 7, and 8), and a prediction display state 218 (FIG. 9). The user interface 212 assumes a given display state based on a state of user inputs. In an embodiment, the recognition display state 216 is a default display state that is taken or assumed by the user interface 212 prior to receiving handwriting inputs. Upon detection of initiation of a handwriting input or a pen down event, the user interface 212 assumes the writing display state 214. The user interface 212 remains in the writing display state 214 until the handwriting input ceases (e.g. a pen up event) or an input is received outside the writing panel 218. In an embodiment, a time out is observed following the pen up event for a predetermined amount of time. In an embodiment, the time out is less than one second or is 0.75 seconds. In another embodiment, an input that causes another user interface to become active such as an input to a command key 206 causes the user interface 212 to leave the writing display state 214 and enter the recognition display state 216.
Dai does not explicitly disclose the second object update, however Mouawad discloses;
{[0349] FIG. 42 shows an example of quick task settings in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. One or more task note 4210 may be displayed in a pinboard 4200. The task note may have information about the task, such as task name, description, target date, and assignor/assignee information. A visual indicator 4220 may be provided which a user may access to customize the task note and/or view more information about the task note. Selecting the visual indicator (e.g., clicking on or touching the visual indicator) may result in accessing quick task settings 4230. A popup menu may be provided showing one or more options. A user may be presented with an option to change the label. A user can assign a colored label to a particular task note. The user may be presented with options to visually alter the task note in any other manner (e.g., borders, font, shape, size, etc.). Selecting the change label option may cause a second pane or popup 4240 which may provide options for changing the label. For example, an option may be presented to create a new label, or select a color/label/category for the note. In some instances, the colors may correspond to categories of tasks. Thus, the user may have the ability to change the color of each task note and create a category label.}
Motivation: It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combined/modify/adjust the combination of Dai and Wooten et al’s user interface for a project management application to include Mouawad et al’s ceasing display of the second object update form and displaying a third object update form in the writing mode user interface, since Dai and Wooten teaches displaying a standard user interface, detecting activation of a writing mode control; detecting activation of the writing mode control, replacing the standard user interface with a writing mode user interface, the writing mode user interface including display of a first object update form of a plurality of object update forms, while displaying the writing mode user interface, detecting a navigation input and in response to the navigation input, ceasing display of the first object update form and displaying, in the writing mode user interface, a second object update form of the plurality of object update forms, wherein the second object update form: corresponds to a second object update of the set of the plurality of object updates; and is configured to receive a second object update description. (See Dai [0021, 0036, 0041, 0042] and Wooten [0064, 0213]). The combination would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art since the system and method provide user interface for a project management application with the inclusion of second object update to enhance user interaction. See Mouawad [0349].
Response to Argument
In response to the argument filled January 22, 2026, regarding the 103 rejections, the Examiner Respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to teach “multiple object updates".
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to the amended claims, Wooten does disclose the indication of progress made in the performance process or process flow. See Wooten [0055, 0064].
In terms of the arguments Dai, Wooten and, Mouawad does teach specific limitations such as amended. The prior art discloses the status or progress of the project; See Wooten [0064], first object update; see Dai [0036], ceasing display of the second object update form; Mouawad [0349].
Based on the considered amendments cited, 35 USC 103 references have been utilized to
teach the claimed invention (claim 1 and 12).
Lacking any further argument, claims 1-20 are maintaining the 35 USC 103 rejection, as considered above in light of the amended claim limitation above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to VICTOR ESONU whose telephone number is (571)272 -
4883. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 5pm.
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VICTOR ESONU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/SARAH M MONFELDT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3629