DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Formal Matters
Applicant’s arguments in the reply filed on 06 January 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered due to the entered request for continued examination. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-11 are under consideration in the instant office action. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 26 November 2025 are noted and the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statement. A signed copy is attached.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous office actions are hereby withdrawn as are those rejections and/or objections expressly stated to be withdrawn.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Note: The claims are examined with respect to the elected species potassium nitrate as source of nitrate; and citric acid as the type of acid.
Claims 1-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perrin et al. (2013/0011377, previously cited) in view of Kramer et al. (US Patent No. 8,466,187, IDS reference, 02/15/24, previously cited) and as evidenced by Cottrell et al. (J Physiol 595.15 (2017) pp 5095–5102, newly cited) and De Belder et al. (WO 96/17604, newly cited).
Note: Claims are examined with respect to the elected species of potassium nitrate as source of nitrate and citric acid as the type of acid.
Applicant Claims
Applicant claims a composition for human consumption comprising: elemental zinc; and a source of nitrate anion (NO3-) (potassium nitrate, elected species); wherein the composition is in a unit dosage form selected from one or more of the group consisting of: a capsule. a tablet. a pill, and a combination thereof.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Perrin et al. teach compositions, kits and methods for the administration of various vitamin, mineral and nutrient compositions, and in a specific embodiment, the compositions, kits and methods may utilize or include vitamin D, iodine, vitamin B1, vitamin B6, vitamin B12, vitamin B2, vitamin B9, vitamin B3, vitamin E, vitamin A, vitamin C, iron, zinc, copper, magnesium, omega 3 fatty acids and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers (see abstract). A composition consisting of vitamin D, iodine, vitamin B1, vitamin B6, vitamin B12, vitamin B2, vitamin B9, vitamin B3, vitamin E, vitamin A, vitamin C, iron, zinc, copper, magnesium, omega-3 fatty acids and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers (see claim 1). The composition of claim 1, wherein said zinc is in the form selected from one or more of the group consisting of elemental zinc, in the form of a salt, in a chelated form, in a non-chelated form, zinc acetate, zinc gluconate, zinc picolinate, zinc sulfate and zinc oxide (see claim 2).
The compositions, kits and methods of the present invention may comprise or use zinc. Zinc plays a role in numerous metabolic activities such as nucleic acid production, protein synthesis, and development of the immune system. There are more than 200 zinc metalloenzymes including aldolase, alcohol dehydrogenase, RNA polymerase, and protein kinase C. Zima et al., 17 BLOOD PURIF. 182-86 (1999). Zinc stabilizes RNA and DNA structures, forms zinc fingers in nuclear receptors, and is a component of chromatin proteins involved in transcription and replication. Deficiencies of zinc during pregnancy have been shown to contribute to severe fetal abnormalities. Srinivas et al., 68(6) INDIAN J. PEDIATR. 519-22 (2001); Yang et al., 13(4) BIOMED. ENVIRON. SCI. 280-86 (2000); King, 71(Supp.) AM. J. CLIN. NUTR. 1334S-43S (2000). Indeed, the recommended daily allowance for zinc increases during pregnancy. A higher dose of zinc, however, is associated with causing nausea in some patients. Thus, for pregnant women or other patients that are more susceptible to nausea, a conservative amount of zinc that still provides adequate nutritional supplementation is desirable. Zinc is available in many forms and may be included in the kits and methods of the present invention in chelated or nonchelated form (paragraph 0104). In a specific embodiment of the present invention, zinc may be provided in one or more of the forms of elemental zinc, in the form of a salt, in a chelated form, in a non-chelated form, zinc acetate, zinc gluconate, zinc picolinate, zinc sulfate and zinc oxide. In a specific embodiment of the present invention, zinc may be included in the form of zinc oxide. In another specific embodiment, zinc may be included in amounts ranging from about 12.5 mg to about 37.5 mg. In another specific embodiment, zinc may be included in amounts ranging from about 20 mg to about 30 mg. In another specific embodiment, zinc may be included in amounts ranging from about 22.5 mg to about 27.5 mg. In another embodiment, zinc may be included in an amount of about 25 mg (paragraph 0105). The composition of claim 1, wherein said zinc is present in an amount of about 25 mg (see claim 15). The composition of claim 1, wherein said vitamin D is present in an amount of about 500 I.U. to about 1500 I.U., said iodine is present in an amount of about 75 μg to about 225 μg, said vitamin B1 is present in an amount of about 0.8 mg to about 2.4 mg, said vitamin B6 is present in an amount of about 1.2 mg to about 3.8 mg, said vitamin B12 is present in an amount of about 6 μg to about 18 μg, said vitamin B2 is present in an amount of about 0.9 mg to about 2.7 mg, said vitamin B9 is present in an amount of about 0.5 mg to about 1.5 mg, said vitamin E is present in an amount of about 10 I.U. to about 30 I.U., said vitamin A is present in an amount of about 550 I.U. to about 1650 I.U., said vitamin C is present in an amount of about 15 mg to about 45 mg, said vitamin B3 is present in an amount of about 7.5 mg to about 22.5 mg, said iron is present in an amount of about 14.5 mg to about 43.5 mg, said zinc is present in an amount of about 12.5 mg to about 37.5 mg, said copper is present in an amount of about 1.0 mg to about 3.0 mg, said magnesium is present in an amount of about 10 mg to about 30 mg, and said omega 3 fatty acids is present in an amount of about 100 mg to about 300 mg (see claim 20). The term “dosage form,” as used herein, is the form in which the dose is to be administered to the subject or patient. The drug or supplement is generally administered as part of a formulation that includes nonmedical agents. The dosage form has unique physical and pharmaceutical characteristics. Dosage forms, for example, may be solid, liquid or gaseous. “Dosage forms,” may include for example, a capsule, tablet, caplet, gel caplet (gelcap), syrup, a liquid composition, a powder, a concentrated powder, a concentrated powder admixed with a liquid, a chewable form, a swallowable form, a dissolvable form, an effervescent, a granulated form, and an oral liquid solution. In a specific embodiment, the dosage form may be a gelcap (paragraph 0037). The ingredients of the present invention may thus be combined into a composition which may be in the form of capsule, tablet, caplet, gel caplet (gelcap), syrup, a liquid composition, a concentrated powder, and a concentrated powder admixed with a liquid, and which may be administered alone or in suitable combination with other components (paragraph 0140). In preparing the composition in oral dosage form, any of the usual media may be utilized. For liquid preparations (e.g., suspensions, elixirs, and solutions), media containing, for example water, oils, alcohols, flavoring agents, preservatives, coloring agents and the like may be used. Pharmaceutical acceptable carriers such as starches, sugars, diluents, granulating agents, lubricants, binders, disintegrating agents and the like may be used to prepare oral solids (e.g., powders, caplets, pills, tablets, capsules, and lozenges). Controlled release forms may also be used. Because of their ease in administration, caplets, tablets, pills, and capsules represent the most advantageous oral dosage unit form, in which case solid carriers are employed. If desired, tablets may be sugar coated or enteric coated by standard techniques (see paragraph 0142). The compositions, kits and methods of the present invention may be administered to or directed to a subject such as a human or any other organism (see paragraph 0044). Examples of rapidly water soluble fillers suitable for use with the present invention include, by way of example and without limitation, saccharides, amino acids and the like (paragraph 0152). Diluents also may be included in the compositions of the present invention in order to enhance the granulation of the compositions. Diluents can include, by way of example and without limitation, microcrystalline cellulose, sucrose, dicalcium phosphate, starches, lactose and polyols of less than 13 carbon atoms, such as mannitol, xylitol, sorbitol, maltitol and pharmaceutically acceptable amino acids, such as glycine, and their mixtures (paragraph 0155). The term “mouthfeel” refers to non-taste-related aspects of the pleasantness experienced by a person while chewing or swallowing a nutritional supplement. Aspects of mouthfeel include, for example and without limitation, the hardness and brittleness of a composition, whether the composition is chewy, gritty, oily, creamy, watery, sticky, easily dissolved, astringent, effervescent, and the like, and the size, shape, and form of the composition (tablet, powder, gel, etc.) (paragraph 0034).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Perrin et al. do not teach the inclusion of potassium nitrate and its amounts and the inclusion of citric acid. These deficiencies are cured by the teachings of Kramer et al.
Kramer et al. teach methods for increasing athletic performance, distribution of various Amino Acids to muscles, and solubility of various Amino Acids in a human or animal by administering an amino acid composition that includes: at least one constituent selected from the group consisting of a nitrate, a nitrite, and both; and at least one constituent amino acid selected from the group consisting of Arginine, Agmatine, Beta Alanine, Citrulline, Creatine, Glutamine, L-Histidine, Isoleucine, Leucine, Norvaline, Ornithine, Valine, Aspartic Acid, Cysteine, Glycine, Lysine, Methionine, Proline, Tyrosine, and Phenylalanine (see abstract). As used herein, “Nitrate” is a term used in its broadest sense and may refer to an Nitrate in its many different chemical forms including a salt of Nitric Acid, a single administration Nitrate, its physiologically active salts or esters, its combinations with its various salts, its tautomeric, polymeric and/or isomeric forms, its analog forms, and/or its derivative forms. Nitrate comprises, by way of non-limiting example, many different chemical forms including dinitrate and trinitrate. Nitrates may be salts, or mixed salts, of Nitric Acid (HNO3) and comprise one Nitrogen atom and three Oxygen atoms (NO3). For the exemplary purposes of this disclosure, Nitrate may comprise salts of Nitrate such as sodium nitrate, potassium nitrate, barium nitrate, calcium nitrate, and the like (column 7, lines 3-8). Composition 5 (Tablets Containing Arginine and Potassium Nitrate for Blood Pressure support). Per tablet: Arginine 250-700 mg. Potassium Nitrate 50-500 mg. Corn Starch till the desired volume for the tablet machine is obtained.
Empirical studies indicate that Nitrates are useful for their vasolidating effects. Nitrates exert their vasodilating effect through their reduction to Nitrites. In vivo, Nitrates are reduced to Nitrites and, in the blood vessels' epithelial cells, Nitrite reacts with a thiol donor (mainly glutathione) to yield Nitric Oxide (column 17, lines 29-32).
Implementations of an Amino Acid Compound or Composition may include diluents, or any inert substances added to increase the bulk of the Amino Acid Compound to make a tablet a practical size for compression. Diluents may include, for example, calcium phosphate, calcium sulfate, lactose, mannitol, magnesium stearate, potassium chloride, and citric acid, among other organic and inorganic materials (column 15, lines 63-67 and column 16, lines 1-2).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Perrin et al. by incorporating potassium nitrate and citric acid because Kramer et al. teach methods for increasing athletic performance, distribution of various Amino Acids to muscles, and solubility of various Amino Acids in a human or animal by administering an amino acid composition that includes: at least one constituent selected from the group consisting of a nitrate, a nitrite, and both; and at least one constituent amino acid selected from the group consisting of Arginine, Agmatine, Beta Alanine, Citrulline, Creatine, Glutamine, L-Histidine, Isoleucine, Leucine, Norvaline, Ornithine, Valine, Aspartic Acid, Cysteine, Glycine, Lysine, Methionine, Proline, Tyrosine, and Phenylalanine (see abstract). As used herein, “Nitrate” is a term used in its broadest sense and may refer to an Nitrate in its many different chemical forms including a salt of Nitric Acid, a single administration Nitrate, its physiologically active salts or esters, its combinations with its various salts, its tautomeric, polymeric and/or isomeric forms, its analog forms, and/or its derivative forms. Nitrate comprises, by way of non-limiting example, many different chemical forms including dinitrate and trinitrate. Nitrates may be salts, or mixed salts, of Nitric Acid (HNO3) and comprise one Nitrogen atom and three Oxygen atoms (NO3). For the exemplary purposes of this disclosure, Nitrate may comprise salts of Nitrate such as sodium nitrate, potassium nitrate, barium nitrate, calcium nitrate, and the like (column 7, lines 3-8). Composition 5 (Tablets Containing Arginine and Potassium Nitrate for Blood Pressure support). Per tablet: Arginine 250-700 mg. Potassium Nitrate 50-500 mg. Corn Starch till the desired volume for the tablet machine is obtained. Empirical studies indicate that Nitrates are useful for their vasolidating effects. Nitrates exert their vasodilating effect through their reduction to Nitrites. In vivo, Nitrates are reduced to Nitrites and, in the blood vessels' epithelial cells, Nitrite reacts with a thiol donor (mainly glutathione) to yield Nitric Oxide (column 17, lines 29-32). Implementations of an Amino Acid Compound or Composition may include diluents, or any inert substances added to increase the bulk of the Amino Acid Compound to make a tablet a practical size for compression. Diluents may include, for example, calcium phosphate, calcium sulfate, lactose, mannitol, magnesium stearate, potassium chloride, and citric acid, among other organic and inorganic materials (column 15, lines 63-67 and column 16, lines 1-2). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kramer et al. teach that empirical studies indicate that Nitrates are useful for their vasolidating effects. Nitrates exert their vasodilating effect through their reduction to Nitrites. In vivo, Nitrates are reduced to Nitrites and, in the blood vessels' epithelial cells, Nitrite reacts with a thiol donor (mainly glutathione) to yield Nitric Oxide (column 17, lines 29-32). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include citric acid because implementations of an Amino Acid Compound or Composition may include diluents, or any inert substances added to increase the bulk of the Amino Acid Compound to make a tablet a practical size for compression. Diluents may include, for example, calcium phosphate, calcium sulfate, lactose, mannitol, magnesium stearate, potassium chloride, and citric acid, among other organic and inorganic materials (column 15, lines 63-67 and column 16, lines 1-2). It should be noticed that both Perrin et al. and Kramer et al. teach that in the preparation of their solid dosage forms the inclusion of diluents. Substituting one dilute with another is prima facie obvious as they all are functionally equivalent. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol.) Furthermore, in the case where the claimed ranges for amounts of actives and ingredients “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success upon combination of the Perrin et al. and Kramer et al. because both references teach dietary supplement compositions in solid dosage forms containing various ingredients with different health benefits for humans. The examiner herein provides evidence or proof that supplementation or administration of nitrates during pregnancy is recommended and has been accomplished contrary to applicant’s assertions. Cottrell et al. with title “Dietary interventions for fetal growth restriction – therapeutic potential of dietary nitrate supplementation in pregnancy” recommending dietary nitrate supplementation during pregnancy. Cottrell et al. teach that given the beneficial effects of dietary nitrate supplementation in non-pregnant humans and animals, we hypothesised that this approach could be used to increase NO bioavailability and improve vascular function in complicated pregnancies. Moreover, it is likely that a dietary intervention, such as beetroot juice supplementation, may be more appealing to pregnant women and potentially have fewer off-target effects compared with pharmacological approaches, and therefore may encourage compliance. Our preclinical findings thus far have shown that maternal dietary nitrate supplementation (using beetroot juice) increases both maternal and fetal nitrate and nitrite concentrations and improves maternal uterine artery vascular function ex vivo in a mouse model of FGR associated with marked vascular dysfunction, the eNOS knockout mouse (Cottrell et al. 2015). Our ongoing studies using this approach aim to understand how the beneficial effects of nitrate supplementation are conferred in this model, and to establish the mechanisms involved in nitrate/nitrite bioactivation in uteroplacental tissues of pregnant animals (page 5098). Additionally, the examiner also provides De Belder et al. (WO 96/17604) who teach the use of a NO donor for the prophylaxis and/or treatment of hypertension and hypertensive disorders during pregnancy, in particular for the prophylaxis and/or treatment of pre-eclampsia, is disclosed. Preferably, the NO donor is an S-nitroso compound of the formula R-SNO wherein R is one or more amino acid derived fragments (see abstract and claim 1). The use according to any one of claims 1 to 4 wherein the NO donor is glyceryl trinitrate (see claim 1). Both references are clear evidence that nitrates can be administered during pregnancy.
In light of the forgoing discussion, one of ordinary skill in the art would have concluded that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perrin et al. (2013/0011377, previously cited) in view of Kramer et al. (US Patent No. 8,466,187, IDS reference, 02/15/24, previously cited) and as evidenced by Cottrell et al. (J Physiol 595.15 (2017) pp 5095–5102, newly cited) and De Belder et al. (WO 96/17604, newly cited) as applied to claims 1-4 and 7-11 above, and further in view of Dennis et al. (EP 0454396) and Hughes et al. (WO2018071988).
Applicant Claims
Applicant claims a composition for human consumption. Dependent claims 5-6 recite the amount of citric acid in the composition.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
The teachings of Perrin et al. and Kramer et al. is described above in detail and are incorporated herein by reference.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Perrin et al. and Kramer et al. do not teach the amount of citric acid as recited. These deficiencies are cured by the teachings of Dennis et al. and Hughes et al.
Dennis et al. teach an improved tablet composition for drugs or active ingredients prone to poor tabletting properties is disclosed. The improved composition comprises a premixture, consisting essentially of between about 85 and 99.9 percent by weight of the active ingredient and between about 0.1 and 15 percent by weight of citric acid, and one or more other formulation ingredients added to the premixture. The present invention also involves the process for making such compositions and products therefrom (see abstract). It is known that certain pharmacologically active ingredients are extremely difficult to manufacture in tablet form due to the physical nature of the active compound itself. For example, many drugs which when utilized in free base form, i.e., not in salt form, e.g. atenolol, nadolol, salbutamol, chlordiazepoxide, temazepam, diazepam, sulpiride, d-sotalol, d-L-sotalol and the like, are prone to many undesirable tabletting problems including poor compression and dissolution properties, high lubricant requirement, formation of soft granules and "sticking" which refers to the film-forming adherence phenomenon wherein the compound adheres to tablet punches and other manufacturing apparatus. These problems can result in soft tablets of high friability and tablets of inelegant appearance due to loss of material to punch surfaces. Attempting to reduce the compression problems by increasing compression forces in the tablet press can result in high disintegration times and slow drug release which may compromise bioavailability. In all instances so far discussed high ejection forces are needed to remove tablets from dies which can result in inelegant product and machine wear (paragraph 0001). Increasing the level of certain excipient materials to compensate for these phenomena is not without difficulties. For example, increasing the level of hydrophobic tablet lubricants to reduce ejection forces and adhesion, e.g. magnesium stearate, decreases the attainable tablet hardness which in turn can result in poor handling properties and a decrease in the rate of drug release. Attempts to counter the decreased hardness with higher compression forces have given way to retardation of the tablet disintegration. Higher ratios of lubricant-to-drug can be provided without adversely affecting tablet hardness by proportionally increasing the levels of all of the other ingredients, except the drug itself. However, this results in a substantial increase in tablet size which is not at all desirable as this might compromise patient compliance (paragraph 0002). In accordance with the present invention, large improvements in the handling/manufacturing of drugs, prone to compression, lubrication, sticking and adherence problems, into tablet form is provided. Not only does the present composition and process substantially eliminate these problems, but a smaller, more elegant dosage form having significantly enhanced disintegration and dissolution times is also provided (paragraph 0011). In trying to overcome the undesirable tabletting problems, it was found that a 4:1 ratio of drug to citric acid provided some alleviation of the problems as compared to formulations with no citric acid. However, the present compositions unexpectedly provide less adherence, improved compression, reduced ejection forces and more rapid disintegration and dissolution with less citric acid resulting in smaller tablet size. Further, the present composition allows for tablet sizes much smaller than those practicable for non-citric acid compositions which must employ larger proportions of all excipients so as to "swamp" the adherence problem, and to reduce problems of flow, compression, wetting, disintegration and dissolution. This may be of particular benefit for high dose drugs or in case of long term medications or in elderly patients where larger tablets could produce problems of patient compliance (paragraph 0013).
Hughes et al. teach a preparation comprising an active ingredient, a suspension base and an effervescent agent wherein the active ingredient comprises one or more B vitamins (see claim 1). A preparation according to claim 2 wherein the thickening/viscosity component comprises one or more of: Xanthum gum, carboxymethyl cellulose, a hydratable methyl cellulose, sodium carboxyl methyl cellulose, sodium methyl cellulose, microcrystalline cellulose group, other gums such as guar gum, pectin, or other hydrocolloids, agar, carrageenan (see claim 5). A composition comprising: 0.1-100mg optionally 1 to 80mg, optionally 10 to 50mg, optionally 12 to 25mg, optionally 10 to 20mg L-methylfolate a physiologically acceptable salt, ester or derivative thereof; 10 to 1000 mg optionally 20 to 800mg optionally 40 to 400mg optionally 80 to 300mg, optionally 120 to 200mg flavour additive which is optionally a natural flavour additive and optionally pink grapefruit flavour or the like; 80 to 8000 mg optionally 200 to 4000 mg optionally 400 to 2000 mg, optionally 600 to 1000mg optionally 750 to 900mg inulin which is optionally instant inulin-fibriline; 3 to 300 mg optionally 10 to 200mg, optionally 15 to 100mg, optionally 25 to 50mg, optionally 25 to 35 mg sucralose; 80 to 8000 mg optionally 200 to 4000 mg optionally 400 to 2000 mg, optionally 600 to 1000mg optionally 750 to 900mg glucose syrup which is optionally glucose solids-rice; 40 to 5000 mg optionally 80 to 3000mg, optionally 100 to 1000mg, optionally 200 to 800 mg, optionally 400 to 600mg sodium carbonate; 150 to 15,000 mg optionally 300 to 10,000mg, optionally 500 to 5000mg, optionally 1000 to 2000 mg, optionally 1200 to 1700 mg citric acid anhydrous; 1 to 200 mg optionally 1 to 100 mg optionally 1 to 50 mg, optionally 1 to 30 mg, optionally 10 to 22 mg natural colour; 1 to 200 mg optionally 1 to 100 mg optionally 1 to 50 mg, optionally 1 to 30 mg, optionally 10 to 22 mg xanthan gum 200 mesh; 40 to 5000 mg optionally 80 to 3000mg, optionally 100 to 1000mg, optionally 200 to 800 mg, optionally 450 to 650mg sodium bicarbonate (see claims 10-12). A supplement as used herein may be a powder, tablet, capsule or take some other form. The skilled addressee will appreciate that a product according to the invention may contain other ingredients not listed herein (see page 8, lines 8-11).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Perrin et al. and Kramer et al., by incorporating citric acid in the composition in amounts as recited because Dennis et al. teach an improved tablet composition for drugs or active ingredients prone to poor tabletting properties is disclosed. The improved composition comprises a premixture, consisting essentially of between about 85 and 99.9 percent by weight of the active ingredient and between about 0.1 and 15 percent by weight of citric acid, and one or more other formulation ingredients added to the premixture. The present invention also involves the process for making such compositions and products therefrom (see abstract). It is known that certain pharmacologically active ingredients are extremely difficult to manufacture in tablet form due to the physical nature of the active compound itself. For example, many drugs which when utilized in free base form, i.e., not in salt form, e.g. atenolol, nadolol, salbutamol, chlordiazepoxide, temazepam, diazepam, sulpiride, d-sotalol, d-L-sotalol and the like, are prone to many undesirable tabletting problems including poor compression and dissolution properties, high lubricant requirement, formation of soft granules and "sticking" which refers to the film-forming adherence phenomenon wherein the compound adheres to tablet punches and other manufacturing apparatus. These problems can result in soft tablets of high friability and tablets of inelegant appearance due to loss of material to punch surfaces. Attempting to reduce the compression problems by increasing compression forces in the tablet press can result in high disintegration times and slow drug release which may compromise bioavailability. In all instances so far discussed high ejection forces are needed to remove tablets from dies which can result in inelegant product and machine wear (paragraph 0001). Increasing the level of certain excipient materials to compensate for these phenomena is not without difficulties. For example, increasing the level of hydrophobic tablet lubricants to reduce ejection forces and adhesion, e.g. magnesium stearate, decreases the attainable tablet hardness which in turn can result in poor handling properties and a decrease in the rate of drug release. Attempts to counter the decreased hardness with higher compression forces have given way to retardation of the tablet disintegration. Higher ratios of lubricant-to-drug can be provided without adversely affecting tablet hardness by proportionally increasing the levels of all of the other ingredients, except the drug itself. However, this results in a substantial increase in tablet size which is not at all desirable as this might compromise patient compliance (paragraph 0002). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include citric acid in the composition in amounts as recited during tablet preparation because Dennis et al. teach in accordance with the present invention, large improvements in the handling/manufacturing of drugs, prone to compression, lubrication, sticking and adherence problems, into tablet form is provided. Not only does the present composition and process substantially eliminate these problems, but a smaller, more elegant dosage form having significantly enhanced disintegration and dissolution times is also provided (paragraph 0011). In trying to overcome the undesirable tabletting problems, it was found that a 4:1 ratio of drug to citric acid provided some alleviation of the problems as compared to formulations with no citric acid. However, the present compositions unexpectedly provide less adherence, improved compression, reduced ejection forces and more rapid disintegration and dissolution with less citric acid resulting in smaller tablet size. Further, the present composition allows for tablet sizes much smaller than those practicable for non-citric acid compositions which must employ larger proportions of all excipients so as to "swamp" the adherence problem, and to reduce problems of flow, compression, wetting, disintegration and dissolution. This may be of particular benefit for high dose drugs or in case of long term medications or in elderly patients where larger tablets could produce problems of patient compliance (paragraph 0013). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include citric acid in amounts as recited because Hughes et al. teach a preparation comprising an active ingredient, a suspension base and an effervescent agent wherein the active ingredient comprises one or more B vitamins (see claim 1). A preparation according to claim 2 wherein the thickening/viscosity component comprises one or more of: Xanthum gum, carboxymethyl cellulose, a hydratable methyl cellulose, sodium carboxyl methyl cellulose, sodium methyl cellulose, microcrystalline cellulose group, other gums such as guar gum, pectin, or other hydrocolloids, agar, carrageenan (see claim 5). A composition comprising: 0.1-100mg optionally 1 to 80mg, optionally 10 to 50mg, optionally 12 to 25mg, optionally 10 to 20mg L-methylfolate a physiologically acceptable salt, ester or derivative thereof; 10 to 1000 mg optionally 20 to 800mg optionally 40 to 400mg optionally 80 to 300mg, optionally 120 to 200mg flavour additive which is optionally a natural flavour additive and optionally pink grapefruit flavour or the like; 80 to 8000 mg optionally 200 to 4000 mg optionally 400 to 2000 mg, optionally 600 to 1000mg optionally 750 to 900mg inulin which is optionally instant inulin-fibriline; 3 to 300 mg optionally 10 to 200mg, optionally 15 to 100mg, optionally 25 to 50mg, optionally 25 to 35 mg sucralose; 80 to 8000 mg optionally 200 to 4000 mg optionally 400 to 2000 mg, optionally 600 to 1000mg optionally 750 to 900mg glucose syrup which is optionally glucose solids-rice; 40 to 5000 mg optionally 80 to 3000mg, optionally 100 to 1000mg, optionally 200 to 800 mg, optionally 400 to 600mg sodium carbonate; 150 to 15,000 mg optionally 300 to 10,000mg, optionally 500 to 5000mg, optionally 1000 to 2000 mg, optionally 1200 to 1700 mg citric acid anhydrous; 1 to 200 mg optionally 1 to 100 mg optionally 1 to 50 mg, optionally 1 to 30 mg, optionally 10 to 22 mg natural colour; 1 to 200 mg optionally 1 to 100 mg optionally 1 to 50 mg, optionally 1 to 30 mg, optionally 10 to 22 mg xanthan gum 200 mesh; 40 to 5000 mg optionally 80 to 3000mg, optionally 100 to 1000mg, optionally 200 to 800 mg, optionally 450 to 650mg sodium bicarbonate (see claims 10-12). A supplement as used herein may be a powder, tablet, capsule or take some other form. The skilled addressee will appreciate that a product according to the invention may contain other ingredients not listed herein (see page 8, lines 8-11). Furthermore, in the case where the claimed ranges for amounts of ingredients such as citric acid “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, an ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success upon combination of the Perrin et al., Kramer et al. Dennis et al., and Hughes et al. because all references teach compositions for health benefits in tablet forms. The examiner herein provides evidence or proof that supplementation or administration of nitrates during pregnancy is recommended and has been accomplished contrary to applicant’s assertions. Cottrell et al. with title “Dietary interventions for fetal growth restriction – therapeutic potential of dietary nitrate supplementation in pregnancy” recommending dietary nitrate supplementation during pregnancy. Cottrell et al. teach that given the beneficial effects of dietary nitrate supplementation in non-pregnant humans and animals, we hypothesised that this approach could be used to increase NO bioavailability and improve vascular function in complicated pregnancies. Moreover, it is likely that a dietary intervention, such as beetroot juice supplementation, may be more appealing to pregnant women and potentially have fewer off-target effects compared with pharmacological approaches, and therefore may encourage compliance. Our preclinical findings thus far have shown that maternal dietary nitrate supplementation (using beetroot juice) increases both maternal and fetal nitrate and nitrite concentrations and improves maternal uterine artery vascular function ex vivo in a mouse model of FGR associated with marked vascular dysfunction, the eNOS knockout mouse (Cottrell et al. 2015). Our ongoing studies using this approach aim to understand how the beneficial effects of nitrate supplementation are conferred in this model, and to establish the mechanisms involved in nitrate/nitrite bioactivation in uteroplacental tissues of pregnant animals (page 5098). Additionally, the examiner also provides De Belder et al. (WO 96/17604) who teach the use of a NO donor for the prophylaxis and/or treatment of hypertension and hypertensive disorders during pregnancy, in particular for the prophylaxis and/or treatment of pre-eclampsia, is disclosed. Preferably, the NO donor is an S-nitroso compound of the formula R-SNO wherein R is one or more amino acid derived fragments (see abstract and claim 1). The use according to any one of claims 1 to 4 wherein the NO donor is glyceryl trinitrate (see claim 1). Both references are clear evidence that nitrates can be administered during pregnancy.
In light of the forgoing discussion, one of ordinary skill in the art would have concluded that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues first, there is no art-based motivation to add nitrate salts to Perrin's prenatal micronutrient formulations. Perrin expressly characterizes its compositions as prenatal supplementation "optimizing specific nutrients before, during, and after the physiological processes of pregnancy and lactation. (Perrin |[0044]). Perrin further identifies pregnancy anemia as the clinical context in which the iron supplementation is required (see FOA citing Perrin [0094]). In that exact physiologic domain and from the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, there is no teaching and no suggestion whatsoever to add nitrate anion, much less an inorganic nitrate salt. Under In re Lee, 277 F.3d at 1344, the Examiner may not use "common sense" to supply a missing motivation where the art is silent. The pregnancy domain itself teaches a person having ordinary skill in the art to avoid introducing a source of nitrate into prenatal supplementation. Authoritative epidemiologic data demonstrates that pregnancy is not a domain in which nitrate salts are benign "nutrient add-ons," but rather a domain in which nitrate is treated as a risk-managed exposure. For example, a CDC/NIH-supported longitudinal cohort notes that: "Pregnant women are considered vulnerable to the effects of exposure to high levels of nitrates in drinking water due to their altered physiological states." Manassaram et al., Nitrates in Drinking Water and Methemoglobin Levels in Pregnancy: A Longitudinal Study, 9 Env't Health 60 (2010), Abstract, hereinafter Exhibit A. Moreover, a systematic review and meta-analysis (7.27 million participants) reported that "Increased nitrate in drinking water may be associated with an increased risk of preterm birth and some specific congenital anomalies." Li et al., Nitrate Contamination in Drinking Water and Adverse Reproductive and Birth Outcomes: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis, 13 Sci. Rep. 563 (2023), Abstract, hereinafter Exhibit B. Likewise, a 2023 narrative review concludes that prenatal nitrate exposure literature demonstrates "adverse health outcomes in the offspring." Clemmensen et al., Prenatal Exposure to Nitrate in Drinking Water and Adverse Health Outcomes in the Offspring: A Review of Current Epidemiological Research, 10 Current Envtl. Health Rep. 250, 250-63 (2023), hereinafter Exhibit C. Under In re Lee, 277 F.3d at 1344 (Fed. Cir. 2002), where the domain-specific evidence treats the ingredient category as one to minimize, the Examiner cannot fabricate "motivation". Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art designing prenatal iron formulations would avoid nitrate, not add it. The prenatal toxicology data constitutes a teaching away, consistent with In re Ratti, 270 F.2d 810 (C.C.P.A. 1959) (teaching away exists when the art discourages the modification the Examiner proposes). Applicant then argues the Examiner relies on Kramer to supply nitrate. Kramer does not discuss co-formulating nitrate with elemental zinc. The nitrogen metabolism and performance-enhancement domain of Kramer is scientifically and clinically distant from prenatal supplementation. Nothing in Kramer suggests any motivation to introduce nitrate salts into prenatal zinc tablets.
The above assertions are not found persuasive because first the examiner would like to bring to Applicant’s attention that disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). "A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use." In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (The invention was directed to an epoxy impregnated fiber-reinforced printed circuit material. The applied prior art reference taught a printed circuit material similar to that of the claims but impregnated with polyester-imide resin instead of epoxy. The reference, however, disclosed that epoxy was known for this use, but that epoxy impregnated circuit boards have "relatively acceptable dimensional stability" and "some degree of flexibility," but are inferior to circuit boards impregnated with polyester-imide resins. The court upheld the rejection concluding that applicant’s argument that the reference teaches away from using epoxy was insufficient to overcome the rejection since "Gurley asserted no discovery beyond what was known in the art." Id. at 554, 31 USPQ2d at 1132.). Furthermore, "[t]he prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed…." In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Perrin et al. is not limited to compositions for pregnant women. Perrin et al. teach compositions and methods of administering compositions for both prophylactic and therapeutic nutritional supplementation. Specifically, for example, the present invention relates to novel compositions of vitamins, minerals, and omega-3 fatty acids that can be used to supplement the nutritional deficiencies observed in patients throughout physiologically stressful states, which, in certain embodiments of the present invention, include prenatal, pregnant and breast-feeding women (see paragraph 0010). The present invention relates to various vitamin, nutrient and mineral compositions and kits for nutritional supplementation and methods of administration of compositions and kits for nutritional supplementation in, for example, subjects in physiologically stressful states, such as occur during pregnancy, lactation, or in need thereof (paragraph 0002). When increased nutrient needs occur during pregnancy, lactation, or any other physiologically stressful state, nutritional supplementation serves a vital role in maintaining good health. Nutritional supplementation is especially pertinent to women contemplating conceiving a child because optimizing specific nutrients before, during, and after the physiological processes of pregnancy or lactation can have profound, positive, and comprehensive impacts upon the overall wellness of the developing and newborn child as well as on the safety and health of the mother. The present invention provides compositions, kits and methods designed to supplement the nutritional needs of individuals in physiologically stressful states (see paragraph 0004). The examiner reminds Applicant that a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (The court held that the prior art anticipated the claims even though it taught away from the claimed invention. "The fact that a modem with a single carrier data signal is shown to be less than optimal does not vitiate the fact that it is disclosed."). Additionally, the examiner notes that although Perrin et al. do not teach the inclusion of potassium nitrate (elected species), Perrin et al. do teach the inclusion of another compound that contains the nitrate anion. Perrin et al. teach in another specific embodiment, vitamin B1 may be included in specific ranges or amounts for each specific form. When provided in their specific forms, the provided numerical range or amount includes the amounts of the specific form and/or compounds that are equivalent to the specific form. For example, vitamin B1 may be in the form of thiamine mononitrate and may be included in the amount of about 1.6 mg. Accordingly, in this example, “thiamine mononitrate in the amount of about 1.6 mg” would include 1.6 mg of thiamine mononitrate and/or its equivalents and would, for example, include a product having 1.6 mg allithiamine instead of thiamine mononitrate (paragraph 0054).
Secondly, the examiner reviewed Exhibits A-C and would take the position that those studies are drawn to the correlation between exposure to nitrates in drinking waters and its effects on pregnancy. Exhibit A (Manassaram et al.) in its conclusion section teach that “Pregnant women potentially exposed to nitrate levels primarily below the MCL for drinking water were unlikely to show methemoglobin levels above the physiologic normal. Water use practices such as the use of treatment devices to remove nitrates varied according to water source and should be considered in the assessment of exposure to nitrates in future studies.” It is very clear from this conclusion the reference is not advising no nitrate should be included as Applicant suggests. It is actually about concentrations or amounts and perhaps also the type of nitrates present.
Exhibit B (Lin et al.) teach that under discussion section This review has some limitations. First, most of the studies were carried out in US and Europe. Given that nitrate levels in drinking water vary widely among different regions and countries, findings from these studies should be interpreted with caution when extrapolated to other regions. Second, the studies included in this systematic review do not consistently account for other potential confounding factors such as maternal diet, nitrosatable drug use, and antioxidant intake. Third, the concentration of nitrate in water often fluctuates with the season. Not all studies included in this review took seasonal variation of nitrate into account in the measurement of exposure or as a factor in the adjusted model. Nitrogen shows significant seasonal relationships with high-intensity agriculture, with the difference between summer and winter water quality increasing as the proportion of high intensity agriculture in a catchment increases. For example, spatial modelling in New Zealand showed that regions dominated by high-intensity agriculture typically have poorer clarity, turbidity and nutrient concentrations in winter than in summer. Fourth, in meta-analysis of observational studies, it is challenging or impossible to identify any unpublished studies, as pre-registration of a protocol is not mandatory⁷. Finally, of all the pre-specified outcomes, only a few outcomes could be incorporated into a meta-analysis to help determine the overall association. Sixteen studies have evaluated the nitrate in drinking water and adverse reproductive and birth outcomes, but the number of studies of any individual outcome was limited. Although some outcomes were reported by more than one study, studies using different designs cannot be combined. We conclude that currently there is sufficient evidence of a possible association between nitrate in drinking water and preterm birth and specific congenital anomalies, to warrant nitrate exposure monitoring and reporting, and regular review as new evidence becomes available. It is very clear the above conclusion cannot be equated to nitrates cannot be included in supplement compositions tailored to pregnant women.
Exhibit C (Clemmensen et al. ) teach in the summary section that the reviewed studies showed some indications of higher risk of preterm delivery, lower birth weight, birth defects, and childhood cancer related to prenatal exposure to nitrate. However, the numbers of studies for each outcome were sparse, and some of the results were conflicting. We suggest that there is a need for additional studies and particularly for studies that include information on water consumption patterns, intake of nitrate from diet, and intake of nitrosatable drugs. The examiner takes the position that the above teachings cannot be equated for avoiding or not including nitrates in supplement compositions tailored to pregnant women.
Thirdly, contrary to Applicant’s assertions, to rebut Applicant’s arguments the examiner as set forth above provided Cottrell et al. with title “Dietary interventions for fetal growth restriction – therapeutic potential of dietary nitrate supplementation in pregnancy” recommending dietary nitrate supplementation during pregnancy. Cottrell et al. teach that given the beneficial effects of dietary nitrate supplementation in non-pregnant humans and animals, we hypothesised that this approach could be used to increase NO bioavailability and improve vascular function in complicated pregnancies. Moreover, it is likely that a dietary intervention, such as beetroot juice supplementation, may be more appealing to pregnant women and potentially have fewer off-target effects compared with pharmacological approaches, and therefore may encourage compliance. Our preclinical findings thus far have shown that maternal dietary nitrate supplementation (using beetroot juice) increases both maternal and fetal nitrate and nitrite concentrations and improves maternal uterine artery vascular function ex vivo in a mouse model of FGR associated with marked vascular dysfunction, the eNOS knockout mouse (Cottrell et al. 2015). Our ongoing studies using this approach aim to understand how the beneficial effects of nitrate supplementation are conferred in this model, and to establish the mechanisms involved in nitrate/nitrite bioactivation in uteroplacental tissues of pregnant animals (page 5098). Additionally, the examiner also provides De Belder et al. (WO 96/17604) who teach the use of a NO donor for the prophylaxis and/or treatment of hypertension and hypertensive disorders during pregnancy, in particular for the prophylaxis and/or treatment of pre-eclampsia, is disclosed. Preferably, the NO donor is an S-nitroso compound of the formula R-SNO wherein R is one or more amino acid derived fragments (see abstract and claim 1). The use according to any one of claims 1 to 4 wherein the NO donor is glyceryl trinitrate (see claim 1). It is a clear evidence that nitrates can be administered during pregnancy.
Furthermore, in terms of the combinability of Perrin et al. and Kramer et al., the examiner reminds Applicant that the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings."); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991) (discussed below). The examiner indeed provided a proper motivation as described above which are incorporated herein by reference. Applicant failed to point in a substantive manner how, where, and why the examiner erred on the motivation. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Assoc., Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Applicant further argues by contrast, for zinc (and similarly magnesium and calcium), Perrin does not say an example of "elemental zinc" is "elemental zinc". Instead, Perrin's elemental zinc definition expressly sweeps in salts, chelates and other non-chelated inorganic compounds, including the formulations "elemental zinc, in the form of a salt, in a chelated form, in a non-chelated form" followed by a list of such conventional zinc forms. See Perrin [0018], which is reproduced below (emphasis added).
The above assertions are not found persuasive because a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (The court held that the prior art anticipated the claims even though it taught away from the claimed invention. "The fact that a modem with a single carrier data signal is shown to be less than optimal does not vitiate the fact that it is disclosed."). Perrin et al. indeed teach elemental zinc contrary to Applicant’s assertions. Perrin et al. teach compositions, kits and methods for the administration of various vitamin, mineral and nutrient compositions, and in a specific embodiment, the compositions, kits and methods may utilize or include vitamin D, iodine, vitamin B1, vitamin B6, vitamin B12, vitamin B2, vitamin B9, vitamin B3, vitamin E, vitamin A, vitamin C, iron, zinc, copper, magnesium, omega 3 fatty acids and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers (see abstract). A composition consisting of vitamin D, iodine, vitamin B1, vitamin B6, vitamin B12, vitamin B2, vitamin B9, vitamin B3, vitamin E, vitamin A, vitamin C, iron, zinc, copper, magnesium, omega-3 fatty acids and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers (see claim 1). The composition of claim 1, wherein said zinc is in the form selected from one or more of the group consisting of elemental zinc, in the form of a salt, in a chelated form, in a non-chelated form, zinc acetate, zinc gluconate, zinc picolinate, zinc sulfate and zinc oxide (see claim 2). In another embodiment, the compositions may include zinc in the form selected from one or more of the group consisting of elemental zinc, in the form of a salt, in a chelated form, in a non-chelated form, zinc acetate, zinc gluconate, zinc picolinate, zinc sulfate and zinc oxide. In another embodiment, the compositions may include copper in the form selected from one or more of the group consisting of elemental copper, in the form of a salt, in a chelated form, in a non-chelated form, cupric oxide, copper sulfate, copper gluconate, copper citrate, cupric acetate, alkaline copper carbonate, and copper salicylate. In another embodiment, the compositions may include magnesium in the form selected from one or more of the group consisting of elemental magnesium, in the form of a salt, in a chelated form, in a non-chelated form, magnesium acetate, magnesium carbonate, magnesium gluconate, magnesium chloride, magnesium citrate, magnesium silicate, magnesium stearate, magnesium sulfate, magnesium oxide, and magnesium chelated to an amino acid (magnesium glycinate, magnesium aspartate) (paragraph 0018). In a specific embodiment of the present invention, zinc may be provided in one or more of the forms of elemental zinc, in the form of a salt, in a chelated form, in a non-chelated form, zinc acetate, zinc gluconate, zinc picolinate, zinc sulfate and zinc oxide. In a specific embodiment of the present invention, zinc may be included in the form of zinc oxide. In another specific embodiment, zinc may be included in amounts ranging from about 12.5 mg to about 37.5 mg. In another specific embodiment, zinc may be included in amounts ranging from about 20 mg to about 30 mg. In another specific embodiment, zinc may be included in amounts ranging from about 22.5 mg to about 27.5 mg. In another embodiment, zinc may be included in an amount of about 25 mg (paragraph 0105).
Applicant further argues with regard to the rejection over Dennis and Hughes, the rejection still fails as a matter of law because secondary references cannot cure a primary deficiency of motivation or expectation. See In re Ratti, 270 F.2d 810, 813 (C.C.P.A. 1959) ("a reference can be said to teach away when it discourages the route taken by the applicant"). Equally, Stratoflex holds that a defective prima facie case cannot be rehabilitated by merely appending more references after-the-fact. Stratoflex, 713 F.2d 1530, 1538 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
The above assertions are not found persuasive because as described above the rejection based on the combination teachings of Perrin et al. and Kramer et al. and as evidenced by Cottrell et al. (J Physiol 595.15 (2017) pp 5095–5102) and De Belder et al. (WO 96/17604) is maintained. Dennis et al. and Hughes et al. are merely added in the rejections to render obvious the amount of citric acid for reasons described above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TIGABU KASSA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619