DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed on 05/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FONG (US 2025/0184918 A1, hereinafter “FONG”).
Regarding claim 1:
FONG discloses a method comprising:
detecting, by a processing system (e.g., Fig. 4, 410, [0149]) including at least one processor (e.g., Fig. 4, 475), a presence of a plurality of user endpoint devices within a cell of a radio access network, wherein the plurality of user endpoint devices includes a first user endpoint device (e.g. Fig. 8, 808) and a second user endpoint device (e.g., Fig. 8, 804);
identifying, by the processing system, a plurality of resource blocks of the cell that are available for allocation to the plurality of user endpoint devices, wherein the plurality of resource blocks includes a first resource block and a second resource block that is located closer to an end of a radio frequency spectrum band of the cell than the first resource block (e.g., [0146]-[0147], frequency resources in the middle of the channel, and frequency resources closer to the channel edge, e.g., see Fig. 7, the region closer to the channel edge corresponds to a higher A-MPR than the region in the middle of the channel).
determining, by the processing system, that the first user endpoint device is more likely than the second user endpoint device to be negatively impacted by maximum power reduction (e.g., [0048], [0149], [0161], [0165], [0166]), wherein the determining is based on information contained in a first profile describing network traffic associated with the first user endpoint device and a second profile describing network traffic associated with the second user endpoint device (e.g., [0161], the network node schedules the UE 1002 for repetition based on the resources in the A-MPR region, the network node schedules the UE 1003 without repetition based on the resources in the non-A-MPR region, [0165], the network node schedules the UE 1102 that supports a higher power class with resources in the A-MPR region, [0166], the network node schedules UE 1103 that does not support the higher power class in the non-A-MPR region, the repetition or the power class of a UE can be construed as information contained in a profile associated with a UE);
allocating, by the processing system in response to the determining, the first resource block to the first user endpoint device (e.g., [0048], [0149], [0161], [0165], [0166], network node schedules UE 1103 with resources in the non-A-MPR region).
Regarding claim 2:
FONG further discloses wherein the radio access network is a fifth generation radio access network (e.g., [0061]).
Regarding claim 3:
FONG further discloses wherein the fifth generation radio access network supports a time division duplexing mode (e.g., [0097]).
Regarding claim 4:
FONG further discloses wherein the radio frequency spectrum band has a bandwidth of up to nine hundred megahertz (e.g., [0064]).
Regarding claim 6:
FONG further discloses wherein a magnitude of the maximum power reduction is greater for the second resource block than for the first resource block (e.g., Fig. 7, [0146]-[0149]).
Regarding claim 9:
FONG further discloses wherein the determining is further based on information indicating the first user endpoint device is located closer to an edge of the cell than the second user endpoint device (e.g., [0048], [0149], Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14:
FONG further discloses wherein the allocating further comprises allocating the second resource block to the second user endpoint device (e.g., [0048], [0149], the base station schedules UE 804 with resources that correspond to a higher A-MPR).
Regarding claim 15:
FONG further discloses wherein the processing system is part of a base station that provides radio frequency coverage to the cell (e.g., Fig. 8, 802).
Regarding claim 16:
FONG discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions (e.g., Fig. 4, 476) which, when executed by a processing system including at least one processor (e.g., Fig. 4, 475), cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: detecting a presence of a plurality of user endpoint devices within a cell of a radio access network, wherein the plurality of user endpoint devices includes a first user endpoint device and a second user endpoint device; identifying a plurality of resource blocks of the cell that are available for allocation to the plurality of user endpoint devices, wherein the plurality of resource blocks includes a first resource block and a second resource block that is located closer to an end of a radio frequency spectrum band of the cell than the first resource block; determining that the first user endpoint device is more likely than the second user endpoint device to be negatively impacted by maximum power reduction, wherein the determining is based on information contained in a first profile describing network traffic associated with the first user endpoint device and a second profile describing network traffic associated with the second user endpoint device; and allocating, in response to the determining, the first resource block to the first user endpoint device. (See rejection of claim 1 with respect to similar features.)
Regarding claim 17:
FONG further discloses wherein a magnitude of the maximum power reduction is greater for the second resource block than for the first resource block (e.g., Fig. 7, [0146]-[0149]).
Regarding claim 18:
FONG further discloses wherein the determining is further based on information indicating that the first user endpoint device is located closer to an edge of the cell than the second user endpoint device (e.g., [0048], [0149], Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 20:
FONG discloses a device (e.g., Fig. 4, 410) comprising: a processing system including at least one processor (e.g., Fig. 4, 475); and a computer-readable medium (e.g., Fig. 4, 476) storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system, cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: detecting a presence of a plurality of user endpoint devices within a cell of a radio access network, wherein the plurality of user endpoint devices includes a first user endpoint device and a second user endpoint device; identifying a plurality of resource blocks of the cell that are available for allocation to the plurality of user endpoint devices, wherein the plurality of resource blocks includes a first resource block and a second resource block that is located closer to an end of a radio frequency spectrum band of the cell than the first resource block; determining that the first user endpoint device is more likely than the second user endpoint device to be negatively impacted by maximum power reduction, wherein the determining is based on information contained in a first profile describing network traffic associated with the first user endpoint device and a second profile describing network traffic associated with the second user endpoint device; and allocating, in response to the determining, the first resource block to the first user endpoint device. (See rejection of claim 1 with respect to similar features.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FONG.
Regarding claim 5:
FONG is silent regarding the radio frequency spectrum band is at least one of: an n77 band, an n78 band, or an n79 band. However, Examiner takes Official notice that these radio frequency spectrum bands are well known in the art in 5G NR communications. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in FONG the feature that the radio frequency spectrum band is at least one of: an n77 band, an n78 band, or an n79 band, in order to enhance adoptability to existing network standards for various applications.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FONG in view of UMEDA et al. (US 2024/0340810 A1, hereinafter “UMEDA”).
Regarding claim 7:
FONG teaches the magnitude of the maximum power reduction ranges from approximately zero decibels moving from a middle of the radio frequency spectrum band to the end of the radio frequency spectrum band (e.g., Fig. 7).
However, FONG is silent regarding the magnitude of the maximum power reduction approximately 3.5 decibels at the end of the radio frequency spectrum band.
UMEDA teaches a maximum power reduction ranges from approximately zero decibels to approximately 3.5 decibels moving from a middle of the radio frequency spectrum band to the end of the radio frequency spectrum band (e.g. [0011]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of FONG in view of UMEDA to include the feature wherein the magnitude of the maximum power reduction ranges from approximately zero decibels to approximately 3.5 decibels moving from a middle of the radio frequency spectrum band to the end of the radio frequency spectrum band, in order to optimize uplink performance for a high power UE.
Regarding claim 8:
FONG teaches the magnitude of the maximum power reduction ranges from approximately zero decibels moving from a middle of the radio frequency spectrum band to the end of the radio frequency spectrum band (e.g., Fig. 7).
However, FONG is silent regarding the magnitude of the maximum power reduction approximately 6.5 decibels at the end of the radio frequency spectrum band.
UMEDA teaches a maximum power reduction ranges from approximately zero decibels to approximately 6.5 decibels moving from a middle of the radio frequency spectrum band to the end of the radio frequency spectrum band (e.g. [0009]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of FONG in view of UMEDA to include the feature wherein the magnitude of the maximum power reduction ranges from approximately zero decibels to approximately 6.5 decibels moving from a middle of the radio frequency spectrum band to the end of the radio frequency spectrum band, in order to optimize uplink performance for a high power UE.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FONG in view of John Wilson et al. (US 2020/0205092 A1, hereinafter “JOHN WILSON”).
Regarding claim 10:
FONG is silent regarding wherein first profile indicates that at least one of: a portion of the network traffic to the first user endpoint device or a portion of the network traffic from the first user endpoint device is utilizing ultra-reliable and low latency communications.
JOHN WILSON teaches a profile indicates that at least one of: a portion of the network traffic to the first user endpoint device or a portion of the network traffic from a user endpoint device is utilizing ultra-reliable and low latency communications (e.g., [0084], [0085]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of FONG in view of JOHN WILSON to include the feature wherein first profile indicates that at least one of: a portion of the network traffic to the first user endpoint device or a portion of the network traffic from the first user endpoint device is utilizing ultra-reliable and low latency communications, in order to ensure uplink reception quality of high priority traffic meets service requirements.
Regarding claim 12:
FONG is silent regarding wherein the first profile indicates that at least one of: a portion of the network traffic to the first user endpoint device or a portion of the network traffic from the first user endpoint device is supporting a physical uplink control channel.
JOHN WILSON teaches a profile indicates that at least one of: a portion of the network traffic to a user endpoint device or a portion of the network traffic from the user endpoint device is supporting a physical uplink control channel (e.g., [0083], [0085], [0087]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of FONG in view of JOHN WILSON to include the feature wherein the first profile indicates that at least one of: a portion of the network traffic to the first user endpoint device or a portion of the network traffic from the first user endpoint device is supporting a physical uplink control channel, in order to ensure high priority uplink transmission is prioritized while improving delay of low priority uplink traffic.
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FONG in view of Kazmi et al. (US 2019/0372741 A1, hereinafter “KAZMI”).
Regarding claims 11 and 19:
FONG is silent regarding wherein the first profile indicates that at least one of: a portion of the network traffic to the first user endpoint device or a portion of the network traffic from the first user endpoint device is utilizing a first responder service.
KAZMI teaches a profile indicates that at least one of: a portion of the network traffic to a user endpoint device or a portion of the network traffic from the user endpoint device is utilizing a first responder service (e.g., [0108], public safety operation).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of FONG in view of KAZMI to include the feature wherein the first profile indicates that at least one of: a portion of the network traffic to the first user endpoint device or a portion of the network traffic from the first user endpoint device is utilizing a first responder service, in order to improve network performance for mission critical traffic.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FONG in view of Piipponen et al. (US 2020/0280926 A1, hereinafter “PIIPPONEN”).
Regarding claim 13:
FONG is silent regarding wherein the first profile indicates that at least one of: a portion of the network traffic to the first user endpoint device or a portion of the network traffic from the first user endpoint device is utilizing a bandwidth part.
PIIPPONEN teaches a profile indicates that at least one of: a portion of the network traffic to a user endpoint device or a portion of the network traffic from the user endpoint device is utilizing a bandwidth part (e.g., [0034], [0035], [0039], [0041]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of FONG in view of PIIPPONEN to include the feature the first profile indicates that at least one of: a portion of the network traffic to the first user endpoint device or a portion of the network traffic from the first user endpoint device is utilizing a bandwidth part, in order to improve signal interference and optimize power consumption by the UE.
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 over FONG
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 16, and 20 as amended have been considered but are moot in view of the rejection presented in the current Office action. Specifically, Applicant argues Fong fails to teach or suggest “the determining is based on information contained in a first profile describing network traffic associated with the first user endpoint device and a second profile describing network traffic associated with the second user endpoint device.” See detailed rejection above where the cited portions of FONG describe the amended feature regarding scheduling based on information contained in profiles associated with user endpoint devices.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO HUI A ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465