DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, which are necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11, 13-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2022/0118278) in view of Pan et al. (herein, Pan’2; WO 2021/003950)
Regarding claim 1, Pan discloses a skin treatment apparatus (“the hair device has both functions of hair removal and skin care” – see last sentence of Abstract), comprising:
a housing component (see numeral 21 of Figure 1) defining an accommodation cavity (see entirety of space encompassed by housing 21 and end plate 132) and a light outlet (see “a mounting hole 131 for clearance fit with the cold compressing portion 11” - paragraph 30; “since the cold compressing member 119 is made of sapphires, the cold compressing member 119 can also be used as a light outlet” - paragraph 71) communicated with each other;
a light emitting component (“The light emitted by the lamp beads 122 passes through the ending plate 132 and is emitted to the skin of the user” – paragraph 31; also see lamp tube 31) disposed in the accommodation cavity (note: the lamp beads are within end plate 132, which has been interpreted to read on a portion of the accommodating cavity; additionally, it is noted that lamp tube 31 is within the accommodation cavity of Pan), light generated from the light emitting component passing through the light outlet and being irradiated to a skin to be treated ((“The light emitted by the lamp beads 122 passes through the ending plate 132 and is emitted to the skin of the user” – paragraph 31);
a cold compress component (“The head portion 10 includes a cold compressing portion 11” – paragraph 16, see Figure 1) disposed on the housing component and located at the light outlet (“since the cold compressing member 119 is made of sapphires, the cold compressing member 119 can also be used as a light outlet” - paragraph 71), the cold compress component being configured to cool the skin to be treated or a skin in a vicinity of the skin to be treated (“The cold compressing portion 11 can quickly cool down to reduce a burning sensation caused by the light and ensure comfort” – paragraph 18; “the cold compressing portion 11 can effectively cold compress the skin of the user with high comfort and no skin damage” – paragraph 65); and
a heart dissipation component (see heat conducting portion 40) comprising a thermal conductive structure (“heat conducting portion 40 includes a heat conducting plate 41 attached to the cold compressing portion 11” – paragraph 47) and a heat dissipation sheet component (“heat conducting portion 40 includes … a first heat sink assembly 42 and a second heat sink assembly 43 which are attached to the heat conducting plate 41” – paragraph 47), the thermal conductive structure comprising a first thermal conductive section (“The heat conducting plate 41 is fixed on the cooling bracket 60” – paragraph 47; “a part of the heat conducting portion 40 is fixed to the bracket head 69 and is in contact with the heat conducting surface 112 of the cold compressing portion 11” – paragraph 46; thereby teaching that one end/section of the heat conductive plate 41 is connected to the cold compress portion 11) and a second thermal conductive section (“One end of the heat conducting plate 41 away from the cold compressing portion 11 covers the second cooling channel 62. The first heat sink assembly 42 is received in the second cooling channel 62 and contacts with a part of the heat conducting plate 41 covering the second cooling channel 62” – paragraph 47), the cold compress component being thermally connected to the first thermal conductive section (“The heat conducting plate 41 is fixed on the cooling bracket 60” – paragraph 47; “a part of the heat conducting portion 40 is fixed to the bracket head 69 and is in contact with the heat conducting surface 112 of the cold compressing portion 11” – paragraph 46; thereby teaching that one end/section of the heat conductive plate 41 is connected to the cold compress portion 11), and at least part of the heat dissipation sheet component being thermally connected to the second thermal conductive section (“One end of the heat conducting plate 41 away from the cold compressing portion 11 covers the second cooling channel 62. The first heat sink assembly 42 is received in the second cooling channel 62 and contacts with a part of the heat conducting plate 41 covering the second cooling channel 62” – paragraph 47); and
a fan (see numeral 50) disposed in the accommodation cavity and located on a side of the heat dissipation sheet component away from the outlet light (see Figures 4-6 illustrating its location).
However, the fan in Pan provides sequential cooling by first entering the second cooling channel 62, cooling the first heat sink assembly 42, thereby cooling the cold compressing portion 11. After that, a portion of the airflow passes through a transmitting opening 65 into the first cooling channel 61 to cool the lamp tube 31. Therefore, Pan fails to teach the holder component defining first and second mounting cavities wherein a part of airflow blown out from the fan enters the first mountain cavity to cool the light emitting components and the other part of the airflow enters the second mounting cavity to cool the heat dissipation sheet component, as claimed.
Pan’2 teaches “a portable depilation device, comprising: a housing; and a depilation mechanism and a heat dissipation mechanism disposed inside the housing. The housing has at least two outlets and one inlet. An external cooling medium is fed to the housing from the inlet. The heat dissipation mechanism comprises a heat-conducting assembly. The depilation mechanism comprises a refrigeration element and an emitter. The refrigeration element and the emitter are separated by the heat-conducting assembly and provided in two sealed channels, namely a first channel and a second channel” (see Abstract, which teaches the claimed holder component, where Figure 13 illustrates the heat dissipation cavity residing above the light emitting component cavity thereby teaching that at least a part of a projection of the second mounting cavity on the first mounting cavity being within the first mounting cavity along a length direction of the housing). “The present invention adopts an improvement on the portable hair removal instrument in the original heat dissipation mode. It uses the fan 211 to suck in the outside air, and the wind direction through the heat-conducting component 212 leads to the first channel and the second channel respectively. The first channel and the second channel are completely Isolation, the refrigeration element 223 and the emitter 222 are located at the positions of the first channel and the second channel respectively. As the air flows in the completely isolated first channel and the second channel, the cooling element and the emitter 222 are respectively heat dissipation; at the same time, the first channel can also cool other heating elements inside the housing 1, such as the circuit device 3 and the power supply device 4, which also generate heat, to achieve an efficient and thorough cooling effect” (see page 9 of the Machine Translation). This portion of page 9 teaches the wherein clause in the last three lines of claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize this parallel cooling configuration taught by Pan’2 within the system and methods of Pan, because this provides “the following advantages: the portable hair removal device for household use is relatively small for the convenience of the user's hand. Therefore, due to the large amount of heat accumulation, its heat dissipation is very important. An important issue, if the heat dissipation is not good, it may cause pain to the user during the hair removal process and even cause safety problems; in the past, only a single inlet and outlet were set in the portable hair removal device to form a channel for heat dissipation, but the inside of the portable hair removal device is not only a single element that generates heat, but if multiple heat-generating elements rely on a single channel of inlet and outlet to dissipate heat, the heat generated by the heat-generating elements will affect each other, making the heat dissipation effect poor, and the heat dissipation of the working environment of the heat generating element will be affected; for example, the cooling element and the emitter, which both generate heat, are placed in the same heat dissipation channel. When the external cooling medium passes through one of the cooling element and the emitter, its heat will be carried to the other. Therefore, the present invention provides multiple heat dissipation channels in the portable hair removal instrument, and different heat generating elements can be arranged in different heat dissipation channels. The heat dissipation channels can be one inlet corresponding to multiple outlets, or multiple inlet pairs. There are two outlets, so under the action of the heat-conducting component, the external cooling medium can cool the multiple heat-generating elements inside the portable hair removal instrument shell without interfering with each other” (see page 10 of the Machine Translation of Pan’2, paragraph beginning with “Compared with the prior art…”).
Regarding claim 2, Pan teaches that “the housing 21 defines a first guide opening 24 and a second guide opening 25” (see paragraph 34) and “first driving opening 51 is configured to input or output the external cooling medium from the first guide opening 24, and the second driving opening 52 is configured to blow or suck away the cooling medium to the hair removal device 30 and the cold compressing portion 11, thereby enabling the cooling medium around the hair removal device 30 and the cold compressing portion 11 to flow” (see paragraph 35). This reads on “wherein the housing component is provided with a housing air outlet part, and at least part of the heat dissipation component is disposed corresponding to the housing air outlet part”. Paragraphs 35-37 teach the configuration of these cooling channels and teach how the cooling bracket is coupled with the cool driving portion. These components are part of the heat dissipation component and are disposed corresponding to the housing’s air outlet part.
Regarding claim 3, the housing component of Pan (see numeral 21 of Figure 1) comprises: a housing (see numeral 21 of Figure 1 and 6), the light outlet being located at a first end of the housing (see opening at left end of housing in Figure 1 with numeral 111 which is an opening within which cold compress 111 resides), and the first end of the housing being provided with a necking section (see reproduction of Figure 6 below):
Regarding claim 11, the device of Pan includes a first side plate (see 22 in Figure 3) and a second side plate (see 23 in Figure 3). It is noted that the edges of first side place 22 bend toward the second side plate to meet it and couple to it, including at the necking section illustrated above. This bending of the edges occurs along the edge, along the light output direction of the light emitting component.
Regarding claim 13, the reproduction of Figure 4 to the right, it illustrates a first ventilation surface facing the first extension section, which is an underside of the housing component 22 of Pan. This first ventilation surface shown below is “gradually close to the second side plate 23 of Pan. Also, numeral 62 is an air vent in communication with the second mounting cavity.
Regarding claim 14, Figures 4 and 5 of Pan illustrates the holder component, which holds the heat dissipation sheet (see Figures 1 and 3 of Pan), holds the light emitting component(s), which are located on two sides of a thermal conductive structure (see element 41 in Figure 3, below which resides the light emitting cavity and above which resides heat dissipation component 43). The second cavity (see numerals 52 and 62 in Figure 4) have the first ventilation surface and the mounting port 52, within which the heat dissipation component 421 is mounted (see Figure 3 of Pan).
Regarding claim 15, Pan’2 is described above in the rejection of claim 1 as teaching two channels from which air moves from the fan separately to each of the light emitting component and to the heat dissipation means, from which both have their own outlet.
Regarding claim 18, paragraph 37 of Pan states that “the cold compressing portion 11 is fixed to the cooling bracket 60 and is opposite to the hair removal device 30, to receive the light emitted by the hair removal device 30 and emit the light.” Additionally, it can be seen in Figure 6 that elements 13, 12, 111, 112, 31 and 33 (all on the left side of the figure) all come together and reside in the front (i.e., left) section of the accommodation cavity, which all fits together in a specific mounting cavity (i.e., equivalent to the claimed “third mounting cavity”), and is located between the first mounting cavity (i.e., the one holding the heat dissipation components) and the light outlet.
Regarding claim 19, Pan teaches a reflecting plate 33 (see paragraph 61 of Pan), which equates to the claimed light holder outlet (see description of the claimed “holder light outlet 1252a” in paragraph 223 of the PGPUB 2024/0390696 of the instant application, stating this is a U-shaped structure). This reflecting plate is held via a mounting structure within the cavity of the housing, which holder is the claimed second holder. Additionally, light cover 13 of Pan is mounted to the structure of the housing and is a third mounting structure, as claimed.
Regarding claim 20, it is noted that Pan teaches that the heat dissipation component resides on one side of the light emitting component, as illustrated in at least Figure 3. The remainder of the claim is moot because “and/or” in this claim is being interpreted as “or”.
Claims 4-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan as applied to claim 3 above, in view of Xue (CN 112451087).
Pan is described above with respect to claim 3. However, Pan does not teach a reduced height of the heat dissipation sheet component.
Regarding claim 4, Xue teaches a cold compress assembly of a depilator (see Title). Elements 51, 52, 53 and 54 in Figure 1 illustrate a radiating frame. It can be seen in Figure 1 that the cross-section of portion 52 has a larger height than that of the top end of portion 51, such that the height gradually reduces as one goes from the bottom of portion 52 to the top of portion 51 (see reproduction below; also see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide a heat dissipation portion having a varied height, as taught by Xue, and to utilize this within the system of Pan in order to accommodate a housing with a reduced internal clearance, as is illustrated above with respect to Xue. This same feature (of reduced height) would allow for the heat dissipation portion of Pan to also extend further toward the cold compress and lamp, into the necking portion as is illustrated above in the rejection of claim 3, thereby increasing its ability to withdraw heat from these areas of the device.
Regarding claim 5, it is noted that the reproduction of Figure 4 to the right illustrates the claimed elements of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, it can be seen that the sloped section and the lower surface below the “missing corner” relates to the claimed “transition surface” of claim 6, and it is non-coplanar with the 1st side surface and the 2nd side surface. Additionally, the space above the surface labeled “missing corner” is the missing corner and is in a space between at least a part of the transition surface and the housing.
Regarding claim 7, Figure 5 of Xue illustrates that portion 52 of Xue’s heat dissipation sheet equivalent is comprises a plurality of “fins” 522, which is the same as “sheets” of the claim. These fins/sheets 522 are arranged at intervals at a first direction, and extend in a second direction equal to Xue’s light output direction.
Regarding claim 10, it is noted that each fin of Xue includes a space therebetween adjacent fins. This provides an air inlet at the top/bottom and an air outlet at the other bottom/top, in the configuration as claimed (see Figure 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES KISH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792