DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's priority claim based on application PCT/CN2021/127732 filed on 10/29/2021.
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 02/14/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Further recognition:
The request for a Certified copy of the parent international application is withdrawn.
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
The objections to the claims are withdrawn in in light of the amendments.
The objections to the specification have been withdrawn in in light of the amendments.
The rejections pursuant to 112(b) are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
The rejections pursuant to 112(a) are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
The rejections pursuant to 112(f) are in part withdrawn any upheld claim interpretations are listed below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, the claim recites “… heating mode is used to perform heating process.”
The claim should be amended to recite - - heating mode is used to perform a heating process - - for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Regarding claim 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17 and 19 the recitation of claim limitation "heat pump system" in at least claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 8, 10-11, 13, 15 and 17-19.Corresponds to “a compressor 101, an evaporator 102, a condenser 103, a blower 104, an air handling unit 120, etc.” in 0039 of the specification.
Regarding claim 1, 3-4, 6-7, 8, 10-11, 13, 15 and 17-19 the recitation of claim limitation "coolant circulation system" in at least claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 8, 10-11, 13, 15 and 17-19.Corresponds to “a warm air core 105, a PTC heater 106, a three-way valve 107, a battery 108, a warm air circuit pump 109, a battery circuit pump 110, et” in 0039 of the specification.
Regarding claim 1, 8 and 15 the recitation of claim limitation " target device" in at least claims 1, 8 and 15.Corresponds to a compressor, a water pump or a first multi-way valves in 0009 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mieda et al. (US2022/0275982A1) and in view of Takeuchi et al. (US2019/0202261A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Mieda teaches a vehicle heating control method [0086 “Vehicle” and “refrigeration cycle device”] comprising:
turning on [0173 “turned on”] a passenger compartment heating mode [0173 “various operation modes”] when detecting that a heating requirement exists [0174 “the operation mode is switched based on detection signals of various control sensors and an operation signal of the operation panel”] in both a passenger compartment [0160 “vehicle interior”] and a battery [70; see also 0303-0304 where warm-up mode would be used in parallel dehumidifying and heating mode] of a target vehicle [one of ordinary skill would recognize that a target vehicle is the interior of the vehicle being heated],
wherein the passenger compartment heating mode [0111 “hot-gas heating mode”] is used to perform a heating process on air in the passenger compartment by using a heat exchanger [0281 “blown into the vehicle interior”; 18] of a heat pump system [18, 26, 11, 13] and/or a coolant circulation system [70, 41, 12e, 18] in an air handling unit [50];
monitoring in real time whether air temperature at an air outlet [0180-0181 “calculated using” “TAO”] of the passenger compartment [0180-0181 “vehicle interior”] heating mode meets a first preset requirement [0180-0181 “ target blown air temperature”];
based on the air temperature at the air outlet of the passenger compartment heating mode [0111 “hot-gas heating mode”] meets the first preset requirement [0180-0181 “ target blown air temperature”].
Mieda does not explicitly teach turning on a diversion mode and sending a preset control instruction to a target device, wherein the preset control instruction is used to heat coolant in a warm air circuit by using the heat pump system, and divert the coolant to a battery circuit to heat the battery, wherein the coolant circulation system comprises the warm air circuit and the battery circuit.
However, Takeuchi teaches turning on a diversion mode [fig. 6-9; 0109-0110 “states of the flow path switching valve 44 are different from each other”] and sending a preset control instruction [0109-0110 “schematic configurations”] to a target device [44],
wherein the preset control instruction [0109-0110 “schematic configuration”] is used to heat coolant [fig. 8; see also 0117 where it is discussed to raise the temperature] in a warm air circuit [8] by using the heat pump system [0117 “heat pump system” corresponding to components of Mieda], and divert the coolant [0113 teaches diverting coolant to heat the battery] to a battery circuit [61] to heat the battery [0113; 16 corresponding to 70 of Mieda], wherein the coolant circulation system [fig. 7; at least 42 & 65 corresponds to 70, 41, 12e, 18 of Mieda] comprises the warm air circuit [8] and the battery circuit [fig. 6-9].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mieda to have turning on a diversion mode and sending a preset control instruction to a target device, wherein the preset control instruction is used to heat coolant in a warm air circuit by using the heat pump system, and divert the coolant to a battery circuit to heat the battery, wherein the coolant circulation system comprises the warm air circuit and the battery circuit in view of the teachings of Takeuchi where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a vehicle heating control method with a diversion mode which sends instructions to a target device and heating coolant which is diverted to the battery circuit to heat the battery which effectively uses the thermal energy [Takeuchi; 0007].
Regarding Claim 8, Mieda teaches an electronic device [0086 “refrigeration cycle device”], comprising:
a processor [0158 “CPU”], and a memory [0158 “ROM, a RAM”] connected to the processor in a communication way [0158 “controller 60”];
the memory stores computer execution instructions [0158 “control program stored in the ROM”];
a communication interface connected with the processor [fig. 7 clearly showing a communication interface connected with the processor (60); see 0158 “The controller 60 includes a known microcomputer including a CPU, a ROM, a RAM, and the like, and peripheral circuits thereof.”], and the processor [PU] executes the computer execution instructions stored in the memory [RAM and ROM] to cause the processor to [0158]:
turn on [0173 “turned on”] a passenger compartment heating mode [0173 “various operation modes”] when detecting that a heating requirement exists [0174 “the operation mode is switched based on detection signals of various control sensors and an operation signal of the operation panel”] in both a passenger compartment [0160 “vehicle interior”] and a battery [70; see also 0303 where warm-up mode would be used in parallel dehumidifying and heating mode] of a target vehicle [one of ordinary skill would recognize that a target vehicle is the interior of the vehicle being heated],
wherein the passenger compartment heating mode [0111 “hot-gas heating mode”] is used to perform a heating process on air in the passenger compartment by using a heat exchanger [0281 “blown into the vehicle interior”; 18] of a heat pump system [18, 26, 11, 13] and/or a coolant circulation system [70, 41, 12e, 18] in an air handling unit [50];
monitor in real time whether air temperature at an air outlet [0180-0181 “calculated using” “TAO”] of the passenger compartment heating mode meets a first preset requirement [0180-0181 “vehicle interior” “control map”];
based on the air temperature at the air outlet of the passenger compartment heating mode [0111 “hot-gas heating mode”] meets the first preset requirement [0180-0181 “ target blown air temperature”].
Mieda does not explicitly teach turn on a diversion mode and send, through the communication interface, a preset control instruction to a target device, wherein the preset control instruction is used to heat coolant in a warm air circuit by using the heat pump system, and divert the coolant to a battery circuit to heat the battery, wherein the coolant circulation system comprises the warm air circuit and the battery circuit.
However, Takeuchi teaches turn on a diversion mode [fig. 6-9; 0109-0110 “states of the flow path switching valve 44 are different from each other”] and send, through the communication interface [0062 “receives information” clearly demonstrating that the controller (15) has a communication interface],
a preset control instruction [0109-0110 “schematic configurations”] to a target device [44],
wherein the preset control instruction [0109-0110 “schematic configuration”] is used to heat coolant [fig. 8; see also 0117 where it is discussed to raise the temperature] in a warm air circuit [8] by using the heat pump system [0117 “heat pump system” corresponding to components of Mieda], and divert the coolant [0113 teaches diverting coolant to heat the battery] to a battery circuit [61] to heat the battery [0113; 16 corresponding to 70 of Mieda], wherein the coolant circulation system [fig. 7; at least 42 & 65 corresponds to 70, 41, 12e, 18 of Mieda] comprises the warm air circuit [8] and the battery circuit [fig. 6-9].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Mieda to have turn on a diversion mode and send, through the communication interface, a preset control instruction to a target device, wherein the preset control instruction is used to heat coolant in a warm air circuit by using the heat pump system, and divert the coolant to a battery circuit to heat the battery, wherein the coolant circulation system comprises the warm air circuit and the battery circuit in view of the teachings of Takeuchi where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an electronic device with a diversion mode which sends instructions to a target device and heating coolant which is diverted to the battery circuit to heat the battery which effectively uses the thermal energy [Takeuchi; 0007].
Regarding Claim 15, Mieda teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [158 “ROM, a RAM”], wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores computer execution instructions which [0158 “control program stored in the ROM”], when executed by a processor [0158 “controller 60 performs various calculations and processing based on a control program stored in the ROM”], cause the processor [CPU] to execute the following:
turning on [0173 “turned on”] a passenger compartment heating mode [0173 “various operation modes”] when detecting that a heating requirement exists [0174 “the operation mode is switched based on detection signals of various control sensors and an operation signal of the operation panel”] in both a passenger compartment [0160 “vehicle interior”] and a battery [70; see also 0303 where warm-up mode would be used in parallel dehumidifying and heating mode] of a target vehicle [one of ordinary skill would recognize that a target vehicle is the interior of the vehicle being heated],
wherein the passenger compartment heating mode [0111 “hot-gas heating mode”] is used to perform a heating process on air in the passenger compartment by using a heat exchanger [0281 “blown into the vehicle interior”; 18] of a heat pump system [18, 26, 11, 13] and/or a coolant circulation system [70, 41, 12e, 18] in an air handling unit [50];
monitoring in real time whether air temperature at an air outlet [0180-0181 “calculated using” “TAO”] of the passenger compartment [0180-0181 “vehicle interior”] heating mode meets a first preset requirement [0180-0181 “ target blown air temperature”];
based on the air temperature meets the first preset requirement [0180-0181 “ target blown air temperature”].
Mieda does not explicitly teach turning on a diversion mode and sending a preset control instruction to a target device, wherein the preset control instruction is used to heat coolant in a warm air circuit by using the heat pump system, and divert the coolant to a battery circuit to heat the battery, wherein the coolant circulation system comprises the warm air circuit and the battery circuit.
However, Takeuchi teaches turning on a diversion mode [fig. 6-9; 0109-0110 “states of the flow path switching valve 44 are different from each other”] and sending a preset control instruction [0109-0110 “schematic configurations”] to a target device [44],
wherein the preset control instruction [0109-0110 “schematic configuration”] is used to heat coolant [fig. 8; see also 0117 where it is discussed to raise the temperature] in a warm air circuit [8] by using the heat pump system [0117 “heat pump system” corresponding to components of Mieda], and divert the coolant [0113 teaches diverting coolant to heat the battery] to a battery circuit [61] to heat the battery [0113; 16 corresponding to 70 of Mieda], wherein the coolant circulation system [fig. 7; at least 42 & 65 corresponds to 70, 41, 12e, 18 of Mieda] comprises the warm air circuit [8] and the battery circuit [fig. 6-9].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mieda to have turning on a diversion mode and sending a preset control instruction to a target device, wherein the preset control instruction is used to heat coolant in a warm air circuit by using the heat pump system, and divert the coolant to a battery circuit to heat the battery, wherein the coolant circulation system comprises the warm air circuit and the battery circuit in view of the teachings of Takeuchi where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with a diversion mode which sends instructions to a target device and heating coolant which is diverted to the battery circuit to heat the battery which effectively uses the thermal energy [Takeuchi; 0007].
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 9-10, 12 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mieda et al. (US2022/0275982A1), Takeuchi et al. (US2019/0202261A1) as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and in further view of Porras et al. (US2019/0351734A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Modified Mieda teaches the vehicle heating control method according to claim 1 and Takeuchi teaches wherein the turning on the diversion mode [fig. 6-9] and sending the preset control instruction [schematic configurations] to the target device [0109-0110 “schematic configurations”, “flow path switching valve”] comprises:
sending a first closed-loop control instruction [fig. 6 see also 0102 “disconnected with respect to a battery cooling circuit”] to a compressor [0117 “compressor”] in the heat pump system [0117 “heat pump system”];
sending a diversion instruction [0106 “can switch a flow path”] to a first multi-way valve [44], wherein the diversion instruction [0106] is used to switch a second output end [61b] of the first multi-way valve [44] from a closed state [fig. 6] to an open state [fig. 7] in a second preset manner [0109-0110 “schematic configuration”], so as to guide the coolant in the warm air circuit [8] into the battery circuit [fig. 7], and to heat the battery through the coolant [0114 “higher than the temperature of the thermal medium in the battery cooling circuit” further in 0114 there is a typo where it recites FIG.6 it should recite FIG. 7],
wherein an input end [61d] and a first output end [61b] of the first multi-way valve [44] are connected to the warm air circuit [8], and the second output end [61b] is connected to the battery circuit [fig. 7 clearly showing that 61b is connected to the battery circuit 61].
Modified Mieda does not explicitly teach sending a first rotary speed control instruction to a water pump in the warm air circuit, so as to increase rotary speed of the water pump from a first rotary speed to a second rotary speed in a first preset manner.
However, Porras teaches sending a first rotary speed control instruction [0044 “one”] to a water pump [104] in the warm air circuit [54 corresponding to 8 of Takeuchi], so as to increase rotary speed of the water pump [104] from the first rotary speed [0044 “25% of the ideal speed”] to a second rotary speed [0044 “50% of the ideal speed”] in a first preset manner [0040 “ramp up”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the modified Mieda teaching with Porras by combining sending a first rotary speed control instruction to a water pump in the warm air circuit, so as to increase rotary speed of the water pump from a first rotary speed to a second rotary speed in a first preset manner where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a vehicle heating control method where a first rotary speed control instruction to a water pump increases the rotary speed of the water pump in a first preset manner which avoids large temperature swings to the cabin [Porras; 0039].
Regarding Claim 3, Modified Mieda teaches the vehicle heating control method according to claim 2 and Takeuchi teaches wherein the turning on the diversion mode [fig. 6-9] and sending the preset control instruction [schematic configurations] to the target device [0109-0110] further comprises:
obtaining a total heating load of the passenger compartment and the battery [Porras; 0032 “designed to balance the cabin demand and the battery demand”];
determining whether the total heating load [demand] exceeds heating upper limit of the heat pump system [Porras; 0031 “ combined load exceeds the capacity” see also 0024 where 52 is described as a heat pump];
based on the total heating load exceeds the heating upper limit of the heat pump system [Porras; 0031], turning on a heater [43] of the coolant circulation system [at least fig. 7] to supplement heat [0050 “configured to increase a temperature of the thermal medium liquid”].
Regarding Claim 5, Modified Mieda teaches the vehicle heating control method according to claim 2 and Mieda teaches wherein the turning on the passenger compartment heating mode comprises [0166-0167 “various operation switches”]:
obtaining a first heating load of the passenger compartment [0180 “determined based on a target blown air temperature”];
determining to turn on a single heat pump mode [hot-gas heating mode] when the first heating load [0180 “TAO”] is less than or equal to a load threshold [0224 “TAO increases” which indicates that the first heat load TAO is less than the TAO given in this paragraph], wherein the single heat pump mode [hot-gas heating mode] is used to individually control the heat pump system [0235 “eating-coolant flowing into the heater core 32 radiates heat”] to heat the air in the passenger compartment [0236 “heating of the vehicle interior is realized”];
sending a second control instruction [0240 “increasing a compression workload”] to the compressor [11] to maximize heating capacity of the compressor [0240 “discharge capacity of the compressor 11 is increased”];
monitoring the air temperature at the air outlet in real time [0181 “is calculated”];
sending a third closed-loop control instruction [0233 “The controller 60 appropriately controls the operation of other control target devices”] to the compressor [11] to enable the compressor to enter a closed-loop control state [0233 “predetermined amount”] when a temperature difference between the air temperature and target temperature is less than or equal to a first preset threshold [Porras; 0041 “evaporator error” where the evaporator error would be less than or equal to a first preset threshold].
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Mieda teaches the electronic device according to claim 8 and Takeuchi teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor [Mieda; CPU] to [Mieda; 0170 “configurations that control”]:
send, through the communication interface [Mieda; fig. 7], a first closed-loop control instruction [Takeuchi; fig. 6 see also 0102 “disconnected with respect to a battery cooling circuit”] to a compressor [Takeuchi; 0117 “compressor”] in the heat pump system [Takeuchi; 0117 “heat pump system”];
send, through the communication interface [Mieda; fig. 7], a diversion instruction [0106 “can switch a flow path”] to a first multi-way valve [44], wherein the diversion instruction [0106] is used to switch a second output end [61b] of the first multi-way valve [44] from a closed state [fig. 6] to an open state [fig. 7] in a second preset manner [0109-0110 “schematic configuration”], so as to guide the coolant in the warm air circuit [8] into the battery circuit [fig. 7], and to heat the battery through the coolant [0114 “higher than the temperature of the thermal medium in the battery cooling circuit” further in 0114 there is a typo where it recites FIG.6 it should recite FIG. 7],
wherein an input end [61d] and a first output end [61b] of the first multi-way valve [44] are connected to the warm air circuit [8], and the second output end [61b] is connected to the battery circuit [fig. 7 clearly showing that 61b is connected to the battery circuit 61].
Modified Mieda does not explicitly teach send, through the communication interface, a first rotary speed control instruction to a water pump in the warm air circuit, so as to increase rotary speed of the water pump from a first rotary speed to a second rotary speed in a first preset manner.
However, Porras teaches send, through the communication interface [0022 “bus” corresponding to fig. 7 of Mieda], a first rotary speed control instruction [0044 “one”] to a water pump [104] in the warm air circuit [54 corresponding to 8 of Takeuchi], so as to increase rotary speed of the water pump [104] from the first rotary speed [0044 “25% of the ideal speed”] to a second rotary speed [0044 “50% of the ideal speed”] in a first preset manner [0040 “ramp up”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the modified Mieda teaching with Porras by combining send, through the communication interface, a first rotary speed control instruction to a water pump in the warm air circuit, so as to increase rotary speed of the water pump from a first rotary speed to a second rotary speed in a first preset manner where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an electric device where a first rotary speed control instruction to a water pump increases the rotary speed of the water pump in a first preset manner which avoids large temperature swings to the cabin [Porras; 0039].
Regarding Claim 10, Modified Mieda teaches the electronic device according to claim 9 and Takeuchi teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor [Mieda; CPU] to [Mieda; 0170 “configurations that control”]:
obtain a total heating load of the passenger compartment and the battery [Porras; 0032 “designed to balance the cabin demand and the battery demand”];
determining whether the total heating load [demand] exceeds heating upper limit of the heat pump system [Porras; 0031 “ combined load exceeds the capacity” see also 0024 where 52 is described as a heat pump];
based on the total heating load exceeds the heating upper limit of the heat pump system [Porras; 0031], turning on a heater [43] of the coolant circulation system [at least fig. 7] to supplement heat [0050 “configured to increase a temperature of the thermal medium liquid”].
Regarding Claim 12, Modified Mieda teaches the electronic device according to claim 9 and Mieda teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor [CPU] to [0170 “configurations that control”]:
obtain a first heating load of the passenger compartment[0180 “determined based on a target blown air temperature”];
determine to turn on a single heat pump mode [hot-gas heating mode] when the first heating load [0180 “TAO”] is less than or equal to a load threshold [0224 “TAO increases” which indicates that the first heat load TAO is less than the TAO given in this paragraph],
wherein the single heat pump mode [hot-gas heating mode] is used to individually control the heat pump system [0235 “eating-coolant flowing into the heater core 32 radiates heat”] to heat the air in the passenger compartment [0236 “heating of the vehicle interior is realized”];
send, through the communication interface [fig. 7], a second control instruction [0240 “increasing a compression workload”] to the compressor [11] to maximize heating capacity of the compressor [0240 “discharge capacity of the compressor 11 is increased”];
monitoring the air temperature at the air outlet in real time [0181 “is calculated”];
send, through the communication interface [Fig. 7], a third closed-loop control instruction [0233 “The controller 60 appropriately controls the operation of other control target devices”] to the compressor [11] to enable the compressor to enter a closed-loop control state [0233 “predetermined amount”] when a temperature difference between the air temperature and target temperature is less than or equal to a first preset threshold [Porras; 0041 “evaporator error” where the evaporator error would be less than or equal to a first preset threshold].
Regarding Claim 16, Modified Mieda teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15 and Takeuchi teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to execute the following [Mieda; 0158 “control the operations of the various control target devices connected to the output side based on the calculation and processing results”]:
sending a first closed-loop control instruction [fig. 6 see also 0102 “disconnected with respect to a battery cooling circuit”] to a compressor [0117 “compressor”] in the heat pump system [0117 “heat pump system”];
sending a diversion instruction [0106 “can switch a flow path”] to a first multi-way valve [44], wherein the diversion instruction [0106] is used to switch a second output end [61b] of the first multi-way valve [44] from a closed state [fig. 6] to an open state [fig. 7] in a second preset manner [0109-0110 “schematic configuration”], so as to guide the coolant in the warm air circuit [8] into the battery circuit [fig. 7], and to heat the battery through the coolant [0114 “higher than the temperature of the thermal medium in the battery cooling circuit” further in 0114 there is a typo where it recites FIG.6 it should recite FIG. 7], wherein an input end [61d] and a first output end [61b] of the first multi-way valve [44] are connected to the warm air circuit [8], and the second output end [61b] is connected to the battery circuit [fig. 7 clearly showing that 61b is connected to the battery circuit 61].
Modified Mieda does not explicitly teach sending a first rotary speed control instruction to a water pump in the warm air circuit, so as to increase rotary speed of the water pump from a first rotary speed to a second rotary speed in a first preset manner.
However, Porras teaches sending a first rotary speed control instruction [0044 “one”] to a water pump [104] in the warm air circuit [54 corresponding to 8 of Takeuchi], so as to increase rotary speed of the water pump [104] from the first rotary speed [0044 “25% of the ideal speed”] to a second rotary speed [0044 “50% of the ideal speed”] in a first preset manner [0040 “ramp up”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the modified Mieda teaching with Porras by combining sending a first rotary speed control instruction to a water pump in the warm air circuit, so as to increase rotary speed of the water pump from a first rotary speed to a second rotary speed in a first preset manner where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium where a first rotary speed control instruction to a water pump increases the rotary speed of the water pump in a first preset manner which avoids large temperature swings to the cabin [Porras; 0039].
Regarding Claim 17, Modified Mieda teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to execute the following [Mieda; 0158 “control the operations of the various control target devices connected to the output side based on the calculation and processing results”]:
obtaining a total heating load of the passenger compartment and the battery [Porras; 0032 “designed to balance the cabin demand and the battery demand”];
determining whether the total heating load [demand] exceeds heating upper limit of the heat pump system [Porras; 0031 “ combined load exceeds the capacity” see also 0024 where 52 is described as a heat pump];
based on the total heating load exceeds the heating upper limit of the heat pump system [Porras; 0031], turning on a heater [43] of the coolant circulation system [at least fig. 7] to supplement heat [0050 “configured to increase a temperature of the thermal medium liquid”].
Claim(s) 4, 6, 11, 13 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mieda et al. (US2022/0275982A1), Takeuchi et al. (US2019/0202261A1), Porras et al. (US2019/0351734A1) as applied to claims 2, 9 and 16 above, and in view of Suzuki et al. (US2016/0185185A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Mieda teaches the vehicle heating control method according to claim 3 and Takeuchi teaches wherein before turning on the heater [43] of the coolant circulation system [at least fig. 7] to supplement heat [0050 “increase a temperature of the thermal medium liquid”].
Modified Mieda does not explicitly teach monitoring in real time whether the air temperature at the air outlet meets a second preset requirement; based on the air temperature at the air outlet meets the second preset requirement, turning on the heater; sending a second closed-loop control instruction to the heater; sending a first control instruction to the compressor to enable the compressor to operate at a preset rotary speed; based on the air temperature at the air outlet does not meet the second preset requirement, turning off the heater.
However, Suzuki teaches monitoring in real time [0092 “calculates TAO”] whether the air temperature at the air outlet meets a second preset requirement [0097 “controller 32 judges that the heating capability by the radiator 4 runs short in this heating mode”];
based on the air temperature at the air outlet meets the second preset requirement [0097-0098 “blown out from the outlet”], turning on the heater [0097 “energizes the heating medium heating electric heater”];
sending a second closed-loop control instruction [0098 “circulating pump 30 of the heating medium circulating circuit 23 is operated”] to the heater [35 corresponding to 43 of Takeuchi];
sending a first control instruction [0091 “(6-1)”] to the compressor [2 corresponding to the compressor of Takeuchi] to enable the compressor [2] to operate at a preset rotary speed [0093 “operates the compressor 2 in the number of revolution”];
based on the air temperature at the air outlet [TAO] does not meet the second preset requirement [0102 “radiator 4 is sufficient to the required heating capability”], turning off the heater [0102 “does not energize the heating medium heating electric heater” see also 0093 “controller 32 calculates a radiator target temperature TCO from the target outlet temperature TAO”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the modified Mieda teaching with Suzuki by combining monitoring in real time whether the air temperature at the air outlet meets a second preset requirement; based on the air temperature at the air outlet meets the second preset requirement, turning on the heater; sending a second closed-loop control instruction to the heater; sending a first control instruction to the compressor to enable the compressor to operate at a preset rotary speed; based on the air temperature at the air outlet does not meet the second preset requirement, turning off the heater where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures the vehicle heating control method which through monitoring in real time determines a second preset requirement and based from that requirement turns on or off a heater and sends instructions to the heater and compressor from that data which heats the vehicle interior making it comfortable for the passengers [Suzuki; 0023].
Regarding Claim 6, Modified Mieda teaches the vehicle heating control method according to claim 5 and Takeuchi teaches further comprising:
determining to turn on a composite mode [connection state] when the first heating load is greater than the load threshold [0084-0085 “the temperature (the second predetermined temperature) or more”], wherein the composite mode [connection state] is used to heat the air [0085 “conditioning air heat-exchange with the heater core”] by simultaneously using at least one heat pump system [61] and at least one coolant circulation system [8 see fig. 7];
sending the second control instruction [Mieda; 0240 “increasing a compression workload”] to the compressor [Mieda; 11];
monitoring coolant temperature [TW1] of a warm air core [55] in real time [0054 “input to the controller”];
sending a fourth closed-loop control instruction [0084 “there is heating requirement”] to the heater [43] to enable the heater [43] to enter a closed-loop control state [fig. 8] when the coolant temperature reaches the target temperature [0019 “when the temperature of the thermal medium liquid in the air conditioning hot liquid circuit is the certain temperature”].
Modified Mieda does not explicitly teach monitoring coolant temperature at a liquid outlet of a warm air core.
However, Suzuki teaches monitoring coolant temperature at a liquid outlet [Suzuki; 0129 “passed through the heating medium heating electric heater” meaning monitoring coolant temperature at a liquid outlet] of a warm air core [40 corresponding to 55 of Takeuchi].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the modified Mieda teaching with Suzuki by combining monitoring coolant temperature at a liquid outlet of a warm air core where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures the vehicle heating control method that monitors coolant temperature at a liquid outlet of a warm air core further improving comfort [Suzuki; 0027].
Regarding Claim 11, Modified Mieda teaches the electronic device according to claim 10 and Takeuchi teaches wherein before turning on the heater [43] of the coolant circulation system [at least fig. 7] to supplement heat [0050 “increase a temperature of the thermal medium liquid”], the instructions further cause the processor [Mieda; CPU] to [Mieda; 0170 “configurations that control”].
Modified Mieda does not explicitly teach the instructions further cause the processor to monitor in real time whether the air temperature at the air outlet meets a second preset requirement; based on the air temperature at the air outlet meets the second preset requirement, turn on the heater; send, through the communication interface, a second closed-loop control instruction to the heater; send, through the communication interface, a first control instruction to the compressor to enable the compressor to operate at a preset rotary speed; based on the air temperature at the air outlet does not meet the second preset requirement, turn off the heater.
However, Suzuki teaches the instructions further cause the processor to [0070 “microcomputer, and an input of the controller 32 is connected to respective outputs” corresponding to of Mieda 0170 “configurations that control”]:
monitor in real time [0092 “calculates TAO”] whether the air temperature at the air outlet meets a second preset requirement [0097 “controller 32 judges that the heating capability by the radiator 4 runs short in this heating mode”];
based on the air temperature at the air outlet meets the second preset requirement [0097-0098 “blown out from the outlet”], turning on the heater [0097 “energizes the heating medium heating electric heater”]; send, through the communication interface [0070 “connected to respective outputs” corresponding to fig. 7 of Mieda], a second closed-loop control instruction [0098 “circulating pump 30 of the heating medium circulating circuit 23 is operated”] to the heater [35 corresponding to 43 of Takeuchi]; send, through the communication interface [0070 “connected to respective outputs”], a first control instruction [0091 “(6-1)”] to the compressor [2 corresponding to the compressor of Takeuchi] to enable the compressor [2] to operate at a preset rotary speed [0093 “operates the compressor 2 in the number of revolution”];
based on the air temperature at the air outlet [TAO] does not meet the second preset requirement [0102 “radiator 4 is sufficient to the required heating capability”], turning off the heater [0102 “does not energize the heating medium heating electric heater” see also 0093 “controller 32 calculates a radiator target temperature TCO from the target outlet temperature TAO”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the modified Mieda teaching with Suzuki by combining the instructions further cause the processor to monitor in real time whether the air temperature at the air outlet meets a second preset requirement; based on the air temperature at the air outlet meets the second preset requirement, turn on the heater; send, through the communication interface, a second closed-loop control instruction to the heater; send, through the communication interface, a first control instruction to the compressor to enable the compressor to operate at a preset rotary speed; based on the air temperature at the air outlet does not meet the second preset requirement, turn off the heater where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures the electric device which through monitoring in real time determines a second preset requirement and based from that requirement turns on or off a heater and sends instructions to the heater and compressor from that data which heats the vehicle interior making it comfortable for the passengers [Suzuki; 0023].
Regarding Claim 13, Modified Mieda teaches the electronic device according to claim 12 and Takeuchi teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor [Mieda; CPU] to [Mieda; 0170 “configurations that control”]:
determine to turn on a composite mode [connection state] when the first heating load is greater than the load threshold [0084-0085 “the temperature (the second predetermined temperature) or more”], wherein the composite mode [connection state] is used to heat the air [0085 “conditioning air heat-exchange with the heater core”] by simultaneously using at least one heat pump system [61] and at least one coolant circulation system [8 see fig. 7]; send, through the communication interface [Mieda; Fig. 7], the second control instruction [Mieda; 0240 “increasing a compression workload”] to the compressor [Mieda; 11];
monitoring coolant temperature [TW1] of a warm air core [55] in real time [0054 “input to the controller”]; send, through the communication interface [Mieda; Fig. 7], a fourth closed-loop control instruction [0084 “there is heating requirement”] to the heater [43] to enable the heater [43] to enter a closed-loop control state [fig. 8] when the coolant temperature reaches the target temperature [0019 “when the temperature of the thermal medium liquid in the air conditioning hot liquid circuit is the certain temperature”].
Modified Mieda does not explicitly teach monitoring coolant temperature at a liquid outlet of a warm air core.
However, Suzuki teaches monitoring coolant temperature at a liquid outlet [Suzuki; 0129 “passed through the heating medium heating electric heater” meaning monitoring coolant temperature at a liquid outlet] of a warm air core [40 corresponding to 55 of Takeuchi].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the modified Mieda teaching with Suzuki by combining monitoring coolant temperature at a liquid outlet of a warm air core where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures the electronic device that monitors coolant temperature at a liquid outlet of a warm air core further improving comfort [Suzuki; 0027].
Regarding Claim 18, Modified Mieda teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 17, and Takeuchi teaches wherein before turning on the heater [43] of the coolant circulation system [at least fig. 7] to supplement heat [0050 “increase a temperature of the thermal medium liquid”], the instructions further cause the processor to execute the following [Mieda; 0158 “control the operations of the various control target devices connected to the output side based on the calculation and processing results”].
Modified Mieda does not explicitly teach monitoring in real time whether the air temperature at the air outlet meets a second preset requirement; based on the air temperature at the air outlet meets the second preset requirement, turning on the heater; sending a second closed-loop control instruction to the heater; sending a first control instruction to the compressor to enable the compressor to operate at a preset rotary speed; based on the air temperature at the air outlet does not meet the second preset requirement, turning off the heater.
However, Suzuki teaches monitoring in real time [0092 “calculates TAO”] whether the air temperature at the air outlet meets a second preset requirement [0097 “controller 32 judges that the heating capability by the radiator 4 runs short in this heating mode”];
based on the air temperature at the air outlet meets the second preset requirement [0097-0098 “blown out from the outlet”], turning on the heater [0097 “energizes the heating medium heating electric heater”];
sending a second closed-loop control instruction [0098 “circulating pump 30 of the heating medium circulating circuit 23 is operated”] to the heater [35 corresponding to 43 of Takeuchi];
sending a first control instruction [0091 “(6-1)”] to the compressor [2 corresponding to the compressor of Takeuchi] to enable the compressor [2] to operate at a preset rotary speed [0093 “operates the compressor 2 in the number of revolution”];
based on the air temperature at the air outlet [TAO] does not meet the second preset requirement [0102 “radiator 4 is sufficient to the required heating capability”], turning off the heater [0102 “does not energize the heating medium heating electric heater” see also 0093 “controller 32 calculates a radiator target temperature TCO from the target outlet temperature TAO”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the modified Mieda teaching with Suzuki by combining monitoring in real time whether the air temperature at the air outlet meets a second preset requirement; based on the air temperature at the air outlet meets the second preset requirement, turning on the heater; sending a second closed-loop control instruction to the heater; sending a first control instruction to the compressor to enable the compressor to operate at a preset rotary speed; based on the air temperature at the air outlet does not meet the second preset requirement, turning off the heater where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which through monitoring in real time determines a second preset requirement and based from that requirement turns on or off a heater and sends instructions to the heater and compressor from that data which heats the vehicle interior making it comfortable for the passengers [Suzuki; 0023].
Regarding Claim 19, Modified Mieda teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 16 and Mieda teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to execute the following [0158 “control the operations of the various control target devices connected to the output side based on the calculation and processing results”]:
obtaining a first heating load of the passenger compartment [0180 “determined based on a target blown air temperature”];
determining to turn on a single heat pump mode [hot-gas heating mode] when the first heating load [0180 “TAO”] is less than or equal to a load threshold [0224 “TAO increases” which indicates that the first heat load TAO is less than the TAO given in this paragraph], wherein the single heat pump mode [hot-gas heating mode] is used to individually control the heat pump system [0235 “eating-coolant flowing into the heater core 32 radiates heat”] to heat the air in the passenger compartment [0236 “heating of the vehicle interior is realized”];
sending a second control instruction [0240 “increasing a compression workload”] to the compressor [11] to maximize heating capacity of the compressor [0240 “discharge capacity of the compressor 11 is increased”];
monitoring the air temperature at the air outlet in real time [0181 “is calculated”];
sending a third closed-loop control instruction [0233 “The controller 60 appropriately controls the operation of other control target devices”] to the compressor [11] to enable the compressor to enter a closed-loop control state [0233 “predetermined amount”] when a temperature difference between the air temperature and target temperature is less than or equal to a first preset threshold [Porras; 0041 “evaporator error” where the evaporator error would be less than or equal to a first preset threshold];
wherein the instructions further cause the processor to execute the following[0158 “control the operations of the various control target devices connected to the output side based on the calculation and processing results”]:
determining to turn on a composite mode [Takeuchi; connection state] when the first heating load is greater than the load threshold [Takeuchi; 0084-0085 “the temperature (the second predetermined temperature) or more”], wherein the composite mode [Takeuchi; connection state] is used to heat the air [Takeuchi; 0085 “conditioning air heat-exchange with the heater core”] by simultaneously using at least one heat pump system [Takeuchi; 61] and at least one coolant circulation system [Takeuchi; 8 see fig. 7];
sending the second control instruction [Mieda; 0240 “increasing a compression workload”] to the compressor [Mieda; 11];
monitoring coolant temperature at a liquid outlet [Suzuki; 0129 “passed through the heating medium heating electric heater” meaning monitoring coolant temperature at a liquid outlet] of a warm air core [Takeuchi; 55] in real time [Takeuchi; 0054 “input to the controller”];
sending a fourth closed-loop control instruction [Takeuchi; 0084 “there is heating requirement”] to the heater [Takeuchi; 43] to enable the heater [Takeuchi; 43] to enter a closed-loop control state [Takeuchi; fig. 8] when the coolant temperature reaches the target temperature [Takeuchi; 0019 “when the temperature of the thermal medium liquid in the air conditioning hot liquid circuit is the certain temperature”].
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mieda et al. (US2022/0275982A1), Takeuchi et al. (US2019/0202261A1) as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and in view of Kishita et al. (US2014/0041826A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Modified Mieda teaches the vehicle heating control method according to claim 1 and Mieda teaches wherein the coolant circulation system further comprises a motor circuit [Fig. 50 at least the circuit with (71)], and after turning on [0173 “turned on”] the passenger compartment heating mode [0173 “various operation modes”], the method further comprises:
obtaining a first temperature [TWL2] of the coolant in the motor circuit [Fig. 50 at least the circuit with (71)] and a second temperature [TWL1] of the battery [70].
Modified Mieda does not explicitly teach sending a connection instruction to a second multi-way valve to connect the motor circuit and the battery circuit when a temperature difference between the first temperature and the second temperature is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold, and to transfer heat generated by operation of a motor to the battery through the coolant.
However, Kishita teaches sending a connection instruction [second mode] to a second multi-way valve [64] to connect the motor circuit [60 corresponding to Fig. 50 at least the circuit with (71) of Mieda] and the battery circuit [10 corresponding to figs. 6-9 of Takeuchi] when a temperature difference between the first temperature [0219 “heat of the engine coolant circuit” corresponds to TWL2 of Mieda] and the second temperature [0222 “battery coolant temperature” corresponds to TWL2 of Mieda] is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold [0223 “to 40 degrees Celsius” where the motor circuit would be equal to or greater than 40 degrees Celsius] and to transfer heat generated by operation of a motor [3] to the battery [1] through the coolant [0226].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the modified Mieda teaching with Kishita by combining sending a connection instruction to a second multi-way valve to connect the motor circuit and the battery circuit when a temperature difference between the first temperature and the second temperature is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold, and to transfer heat generated by operation of a motor to the battery through the coolant where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a vehicle heating control method which sends a connection instruction that connects the motor circuit and the battery circuit and transfers heat from a motor to a battery through the coolant which effectively controls temperature [Kishita; 0016].
Regarding Claim 14, Modified Mieda teaches the electronic device according to claim 8 and Mieda teaches wherein after turning on [0173 “turned on”] the passenger compartment heating mode [0173 “various operation modes”], the instructions further cause the processor [CPU] to [0170 “configurations that control”]:
obtain a first temperature [TWL2] of the coolant in the motor circuit [Fig. 50 at least the circuit with (71)] and a second temperature [TWL1] of the battery [70].
Modified Mieda does not explicitly teach send, through the communication interface, a connection instruction to a second multi-way valve to connect the motor circuit and the battery circuit when a temperature difference between the first temperature and the second temperature is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold, and to transfer heat generated by operation of a motor to the battery through the coolant.
However, Kishita teaches send, through the communication interface [0095 “microcomputer and its peripheral circuit`” corresponding to Fig. 7 of Mieda], a connection instruction[second mode] to a second multi-way valve [64] to connect the motor circuit [60 corresponding to Fig. 50 at least the circuit with (71) of Mieda] and the battery circuit [10 corresponding to figs. 6-9 of Takeuchi] when a temperature difference between the first temperature [0219 “heat of the engine coolant circuit” corresponds to TWL2 of Mieda] and the second temperature [0222 “battery coolant temperature” corresponds to TWL2 of Mieda] is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold [0223 “to 40 degrees Celsius” where the motor circuit would be equal to or greater than 40 degrees Celsius] and to transfer heat generated by operation of a motor [3] to the battery [1] through the coolant [0226].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the modified Mieda teaching with Kishita by combining send, through the communication interface, a connection instruction to a second multi-way valve to connect the motor circuit and the battery circuit when a temperature difference between the first temperature and the second temperature is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold, and to transfer heat generated by operation of a motor to the battery through the coolant where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an electronic device which sends a connection instruction that connects the motor circuit and the battery circuit and transfers heat from a motor to a battery through the coolant which effectively controls temperature [Kishita; 0016].
Regarding Claim 20, Modified Mieda teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15 and Mieda teaches wherein after turning on [0173 “turned on”] the passenger compartment heating mode [0173 “various operation modes”], the instructions further cause the processor to execute the following [Mieda; 0158 “control the operations of the various control target devices connected to the output side based on the calculation and processing results”]:
obtaining a first temperature [TWL2] of the coolant in the motor circuit [Fig. 50 at least the circuit with (71)] and a second temperature [TWL1] of the battery [70].
Modified Mieda does not explicitly teach sending a connection instruction to a second multi-way valve to connect the motor circuit and the battery circuit when a temperature difference between the first temperature and the second temperature is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold, and to transfer heat generated by operation of a motor to the battery through the coolant.
However, Kishita teaches sending a connection instruction [second mode] to a second multi-way valve [64] to connect the motor circuit [60 corresponding to Fig. 50 at least the circuit with (71) of Mieda] and the battery circuit [10 corresponding to figs. 6-9 of Takeuchi] when a temperature difference between the first temperature [0219 “heat of the engine coolant circuit” corresponds to TWL2 of Mieda] and the second temperature [0222 “battery coolant temperature” corresponds to TWL2 of Mieda] is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold [0223 “to 40 degrees Celsius” where the motor circuit would be equal to or greater than 40 degrees Celsius] and to transfer heat generated by operation of a motor [3] to the battery [1] through the coolant [0226].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the modified Mieda teaching with Kishita by combining sending a connection instruction to a second multi-way valve to connect the motor circuit and the battery circuit when a temperature difference between the first temperature and the second temperature is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold, and to transfer heat generated by operation of a motor to the battery through the coolant where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which sends a connection instruction that connects the motor circuit and the battery circuit and transfers heat from a motor to a battery through the coolant which effectively controls temperature [Kishita; 0016].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/02/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument on pgs. 26-27, applicant argues “First, Takeuchi does not disclose “heat coolant in a warm air circuit by using the heat pump system” and associating such heating with diverting the coolant to the battery circuit.”
The Examiner disagrees,
Further, Takeuchi does teach “heat coolant in a warm air circuit by using the heat pump system, and divert the coolant to a battery circuit to heat the battery,” in paragraph 0117 Takeuchi explicitly states
“In addition, while the electric heater 43 constitutes the electric power consumption type temperature raising device in the embodiment, a temperature raising device may be constituted by a compressor or a condenser of a heat pump system like the second embodiment,”
meaning the temperature raising device would be replaced with a heat pump system without departing form the scope of the invention, therefore Takeuchi does teach heating the coolant in the warm air circuit by using the heat pump system. In paragraph 0114 Takeuchi explicitly states
“In addition, the controller 15 controls the flow path switching valve 44 and causes the air conditioning hot liquid circuit 8 and the battery cooling circuit 61 to be in a connection state as shown in FIG. 6 when it is determined that the temperature of the thermal medium liquid in the air conditioning hot liquid circuit 8 is higher than the temperature of the thermal medium in the battery cooling circuit 61. As a result, the thermal medium liquid circulates through the insides of the air conditioning hot liquid circuit 8 and the battery cooling circuit 61”
meaning coolant is diverted to the battery circuit to heat the battery, therefore Takeuchi does teach heating the coolant in the warm air circuit by using the heat pump system and the diversion to the battery circuit.
Therefore, the applicant' s arguments are unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to applicant’s argument on pg. 27, applicant argues “Second, Takeuchi does not disclose “divert coolant to a battery circuit” is in the direction from the warm air circuit to the battery circuit.”
The Examiner disagrees,
Takeuchi does teach “divert coolant to a battery circuit” is in the direction from the warm air circuit to the battery circuit” in figure 7 there is a clear flow direction which starts at the warm air circuit (8) and goes to the battery circuit (61), Further paragraph 0114 clearly describes the controller (15) is connecting (8 & 61) when (8) is a higher temperature, someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that means the flow direction of the coolant is from the warm air circuit to the battery circuit.
Therefore, the applicant' s arguments are unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to applicant’s argument on pgs. 27-28, applicant argues “Third, Takeuchi does not disclose “the purpose of diversion, i.e. “…the coolant… to heat the battery”.”
The Examiner disagrees,
Takeuchi does teach “the purpose of diversion, i.e. “…the coolant… to heat the battery,”” paragraph 0114 clearly describes the controller (15) is connecting (8 & 61) when (8) is a higher temperature, someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that means the coolant is heating the battery.
Therefore, the applicant' s arguments are unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
In response to applicant’s argument on pgs. 28-29, applicant argues “Takeuchi does not disclose suggest the aforementioned distinguishing technical features of claim 1 of the present application.” And further states that Porras, Suzuki, Kishita and Mieda do not disclose or suggest the aforementioned distinguishing technical feat.”
The Examiner disagrees,
Someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize from the above arguments that Takeuchi does in fact disclose all technical features of the instant application as discussed in the Applicants remarks.
Finally, the combined teachings disclose all of the structural features of the claim. Therefore, the applicant' s arguments are unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM DORREL MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763