Response to Amendment
The amendment filed August 25th, 2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The previous grounds for rejection are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 113826240 A) in view of Zhang et al. (US 12,620,581 B2). Wu et al. is mapped to the English machine translation provided by the EPO.
In view or Claim 1, Wu et al. teaches an electrochemical apparatus comprising a first electrode plate (Fig. 2, #10) and a second electrode plate (Fig. 2, #20) separated by a separator (Fig. 1-2, #30 – Page 3, Lines 16-17), wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first tab (Fig. 2, #41), a first current collector (Fig. 2, #11) and a first active substance layer disposed on a surface of the first current collector (Fig. 2, #12 – Page 4, Lines 1-21); and the second electrode plate comprises a second tab (Fig. 2, #42 – Page 7, 8th Paragraph), a second current collector (Fig. 2, #21) and a second active substance layer (Fig. 2, #22) disposed on a surface of the second current collector (Fig. 2, #21 – Page 4, Lines 1-21), wherein
the electrochemical apparatus further comprises a first tab adhesive (Fig. 2, #60) and a first electrode plate adhesive (Fig. 2, #70), the first substance layer is provided with a first groove (Fig. 2, #13) with the first current collector exposed to the first groove (Fig. 2, #11 has a portion w/I the groove 13), the first tab is located in the first groove (Fig. 2, #41) and is connected to the first current collector (Fig. 2, #11);
the second active substance layer is provided with a second mounting groove (Fig. 2, #23) and the first electrode plate adhesive is provided on the second mounting groove (Fig. 2, #23); and
along a first direction a projection of the first tab is located in the first electrode plate adhesive and the first tab adhesive, the first direction being a normal direction of a plane on which the first electrode plate is located (Fig. 3 shows that these layers are all “stacked” on each other in the “z” direction which corresponds to “a normal direction of a plane on which the first electrode plate is located”).
Wu does not disclose a first mounting groove that is located above the first groove such that the first groove is located between the first mounting groove and the first current collector along a thickness direction of the first electrode plate such that the first tab adhesive is provided in the first mounting groove nor is it disclosed that the first electrode plate adhesive is provided in the second mounting groove nor is it disclose that along a first direction a projection of the first electrode plate adhesive is completely located in the second mounting groove.
Zhang et al. discloses in an analogous electrochemical apparatus that recessed regions (corresponding to first mounting grooves or second mounting grooves & See Annotated Zhang et al. Fig. 1, below) are provided with mounting grooves (Fig. 1, mounting groove is the wider area and the first groove is the narrow area below) wherein adhesive portions are nestled within the mounting grooves (Fig. 1, #5). Zhang et al. discloses that these “mounting grooves” can effectively avoid the problems such as excessive thickness at a position near the tab in a cell formed by an electrode piece and thus ensures safety and charging and discharging rate and other performances of a battery (Column 3, Lines 29-34). Zhang et al. discloses that these adhesive portions are located completely in their respective mounting grooves in a first direction Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a first mounting groove that is located above the first groove such that the first groove is located between the first mounting groove and the first current collector along a thickness direction of the first electrode plate such that the first tab adhesive is provided in the first mounting groove and that the first electrode plate adhesive is provided in the second mounting groove and along a first direction a projection of the first electrode plate adhesive is completely located in the second mounting groove in Wu et al. electrochemical apparatus for the advantage of having a configuration that can effectively avoid the problems such as excessive thickness at a position near the tab in a cell formed by an electrode piece and thus ensures safety and charging and discharging rate and other performances of a battery.
Annotated Zhang et al. Fig. 1
In view of Claim 2, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Wu et al. discloses along the first direction a projection of the first tab adhesive is located in the first electrode plate adhesive (Fig. 3 shows that these layers are all “stacked” on each other in the “z” direction which corresponds to “a normal direction of a plane on which the first electrode plate is located”).
In view of Claim 3, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Zhang et al. discloses that a thickness of the adhesives in the mounting grooves are less than the depth of the mounting grooves (Fig. 1, #5 is below the top lip of the recessed mounting groove area defined by the absence of material 31). Thus, modified Wu et al. discloses that along the first direction, the thickness of the first tab adhesive would be less than or equal to a depth of the first mounting groove.
In view of Claim 4, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Zhang et al. discloses a thickness of a first tab adhesive (or any of the adhesives) should be between 16-30 microns (Column 8, Lines 3-5).
In view of Claim 5, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Zhang et al. discloses that a width of the first mounting groove can be 3-50 mm (Column 4, Lines 58-60).
In view of Claim 6, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Zhang et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious to include mounting grooves (including first and second mounting grooves) that have thicknesses that are less than a depth of the mounting groove areas.
In View of Claim 7, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Zhang et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious to include mounting grooves (including first and second mounting grooves) that have thicknesses that are less than a depth of the mounting groove areas. Zhang et al. discloses that a depth of the second mounting grooves would be 10-100 microns (Column 4, Lines 40-43).
In view of Claim 8, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Zhang et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious to include mounting grooves (including first and second mounting grooves) thus the width of the second mounting groove would be 3-50 mm (Column 4, Lines 58-60).
In view of Claim 9, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Wu et al. teaches the first electrode plate (Fig. 2, #10) comprises a third active substance layer (Fig. 2, #12 bottom layer beneath the current collector #11), such that the first current collector (Fig. 2, #11) is between the first active substance layer (Fig. 2, #12 top layer) and the third active substance layer (Fig. 2, #12 bottom layer), and the third active substance layer is provided with a second groove corresponding to the first groove (Fig. 2, #14 – there’s an additional groove directly beneath groove 13); wherein the electrochemical apparatus further comprises a third electrode plate (Fig. 2, #20 bottom stack) that comprises a second tab adhesive (Fig. 2, #60 bottom element) and a second electrode plate adhesive (Fig. 2, #70 bottom element), wherein the second electrode plate (Fig. 2, #20 top stack) and the third electrode plate (Fig. 2, #20 bottom stack) are located on two sides of the first electrode plate respectively (Fig. 2, #10);
the third electrode plate (Fig. 2, #20 bottom stack) comprises a third current collector (Fig. 2, #21) and a fourth active substance layer (Fig. 2, #22), the fourth active substance layer being disposed on a surface of the third current collector facing the first electrode plate (Fig. 2, #21), wherein the second tab adhesive (Fig. 2, #60 bottom element) is located adjacent the third active substance layer (Fig. 2, #12 bottom layer) and the second electrode adhesive (Fig. 2, #70 bottom element) is located adjacent the fourth active substance layer (Fig. 2, #22 top layer in #20 bottom stack).
Wu et al. discloses along the first direction a projection of the first tab adhesive is located in the first electrode plate adhesive (Fig. 3 shows that these layers are all “stacked” on each other in the “z” direction which corresponds to “a normal direction of a plane on which the first electrode plate is located”).
Wu et al. does not disclose that the second tab adhesive is located in the third active substance layer or that the second electrode plate adhesive is provided in the fourth active substance layer.
Zhang et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious that a configuration of Wu et al. includes mounting grooves provided with widths that can accommodate adhesive layers. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that these recessed mounting groove areas are located wherever an adhesive layer of Wu et al. is located such that the second tab adhesive is located in the third active substance layer or that the second electrode plate adhesive is provided in the fourth active substance layer for the advantage of having a configuration that can effectively avoid the problems such as excessive thickness at a position near the tab in a cell formed by an electrode piece and thus ensures safety and charging and discharging rate and other performances of a battery.
In view of Claim 10, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Wu et al. discloses along the first direction a projection of the second tab adhesive is located in the second electrode plate adhesive (Fig. 3 shows that these layers are all “stacked” on each other in the “z” direction which corresponds to “a normal direction of a plane on which the first electrode plate is located”).
In view of Claim 11, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Zhang et al. discloses that a thickness of the adhesives in the mounting grooves are less than the depth of the mounting grooves (Fig. 1, #5 is below the top lip of the recessed mounting groove area defined by the absence of material 31). Thus, modified Wu et al. discloses that along the first direction, a sum of the thickness of the first tab adhesive and a thickness of the second tab adhesive is less than or equal to a depth of the first mounting groove.
In view of Claim 12, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Zhang et al. discloses that a thickness of the adhesives in the mounting grooves are less than the depth of the mounting grooves (Fig. 1, #5 is below the top lip of the recessed mounting groove area defined by the absence of material 31). Thus, modified Wu et al. discloses that along the first direction, a sum of the thickness of the first electrode plate adhesive and a thickness of the second electrode plate adhesive is less than or equal to a depth of the second mounting groove.
In view of Claim 13, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Zhang et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious that the third active substance layer is provided with a third mounting groove. Thus modified Wu et al. would disclose the second groove located between the third mounting groove and the first current collector and the second tab adhesive provided in the third mounting groove.
In view of Claim 14, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Zhang et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious to include mounting grooves (including first, second, and third mounting grooves) that have thicknesses that are less than a depth of the mounting groove areas.
In view of Claim 15, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 14. Zhang et al. discloses a thickness of the second tab adhesives (or any of the adhesives) should be between 16-30 microns (Column 8, Lines 3-5).
In view of Claim 16, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Wu et al. teaches that the fourth active substance layer is provided with a mounting groove (Fig. 2, #24). Zhang et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious that any groove area adjacent to the adhesive layers would comprise a mounting groove, thus modified WU et al. teaches that the fourth active substance layer is provided with a fourth mounting groove and the second electrode plate adhesive is provided in the fourth mounting groove.
In view of Claim 17, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 16. Zhang et al. discloses that a thickness of the adhesives in the mounting grooves are less than the depth of the mounting grooves (Fig. 1, #5 is below the top lip of the recessed mounting groove area defined by the absence of material 31). Thus, modified Wu et al. discloses that along the first direction, a thickness of the second electrode plate adhesive is less than or equal to a depth of the fourth mounting groove.
In view of Claim 18, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 17. Zhang et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious to include mounting grooves (including first, second, third, and fourth mounting grooves) that have thicknesses that are less than a depth of the mounting groove areas. Zhang et al. discloses that a depth of the fourth mounting grooves would be 10-100 microns (Column 4, Lines 40-43).
In view of Claim 19, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Wu et al. teaches an electronic device (page 1, line 1).
In view of Claim 20, Wu et al. teaches an electrochemical apparatus comprising a first electrode plate (Fig. 2, #20) and a second electrode plate (Fig. 2, #10) separated by a separator (Fig. 1-2, #30 – Page 3, Lines 16-17), wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first tab (Fig. 2, #42 – Page 7, 8th Paragraph), a first current collector (Fig. 2, #21) and a first active substance layer disposed on a surface of the first current collector (Fig. 2, #22 – Page 4, Lines 1-21); and the second electrode plate comprises a second tab (Fig. 2, #41), a second current collector (Fig. 2, #11) and a second active substance layer (Fig. 2, #12) disposed on a surface of the second current collector (Fig. 2, #11 – Page 4, Lines 1-21), wherein
the electrochemical apparatus further comprises a first tab adhesive (Fig. 2, #70) and a first electrode plate adhesive (Fig. 2, #60), the first active substance layer (Fig. 2, #22) is provided with a first groove (Fig. 2, #23) with the first current collector exposed to the first groove (Fig. 2, #21 has a portion w/I the groove 23), the first tab is located in the first groove (Fig. 2, #42) and is connected to the first current collector (Fig. 2, #21);
the second active substance layer is provided with a second mounting groove (Fig. 2, #13) and the first electrode plate adhesive is provided on the second mounting groove (Fig. 2, #60); and
along a first direction a projection of the first tab is located in the first electrode plate adhesive and the first tab adhesive, the first direction being a normal direction of a plane on which the first electrode plate is located (Fig. 3 shows that these layers are all “stacked” on each other in the “z” direction which corresponds to “a normal direction of a plane on which the first electrode plate is located”).
Wu et al. discloses that the first active substance layer (Fig. 2, #22) is a negative active substance layer (Page 4, Line 14) and the second active substance layer (Fig. 2, #12) is a positive active substance layer (Page 4, Line 8).
Wu et al. discloses that in a first direction a projection of the first tab adhesive (Fig. 2, #70) is complected located inside the first electrode plate adhesive (Fig. 2, #60 – see in the direction A from either the top or bottom of the stack of layers element 70 is smaller and thus would be located inside element 60 in this projection).
Wu does not disclose a first mounting groove that is located above the first groove such that the first groove is located between the first mounting groove and the first current collector along a thickness direction of the first electrode plate such that the first tab adhesive is provided in the first mounting groove nor is it disclosed that the first electrode plate adhesive is provided in the second mounting groove nor is it disclose that along a first direction a projection of the first electrode plate adhesive is completely located in the second mounting groove.
Zhang et al. discloses in an analogous electrochemical apparatus that recessed regions (corresponding to first mounting grooves or second mounting grooves & See Annotated Zhang et al. Fig. 1, below) are provided with mounting grooves (Fig. 1, mounting groove is the wider area and the first groove is the narrow area below) wherein adhesive portions are nestled within the mounting grooves (Fig. 1, #5). Zhang et al. discloses that these “mounting grooves” can effectively avoid the problems such as excessive thickness at a position near the tab in a cell formed by an electrode piece and thus ensures safety and charging and discharging rate and other performances of a battery (Column 3, Lines 29-34). Zhang et al. discloses that these adhesive portions are located completely in their respective mounting grooves in a first direction Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a first mounting groove that is located above the first groove such that the first groove is located between the first mounting groove and the first current collector along a thickness direction of the first electrode plate such that the first tab adhesive is provided in the first mounting groove and that the first electrode plate adhesive is provided in the second mounting groove and along a first direction a projection of the first electrode plate adhesive is completely located in the second mounting groove in Wu et al. electrochemical apparatus for the advantage of having a configuration that can effectively avoid the problems such as excessive thickness at a position near the tab in a cell formed by an electrode piece and thus ensures safety and charging and discharging rate and other performances of a battery.
Annotated Zhang et al. Fig. 1
In view of Claim 21, Wu et al. and Zhang et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Zhang et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious to have mounting grooves present in the second active substance layer of Wu et al., wherein in the first direction a thickness of the second active substance layer is larger than a depth of the second mounting groove (Fig. 1, #31/#32 together in thickness are larger than a depth of the mounting groove H1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that modified Wu et al. does not disclose that along a first direction a projection of the first electrode plate adhesive is completely located in the second mounting groove. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out to Applicant that Zhang et al. discloses in an analogous electrochemical apparatus that recessed regions (corresponding to first mounting grooves or second mounting grooves & See Annotated Zhang et al. Fig. 1, below) are provided with mounting grooves (Fig. 1, mounting groove is the wider area and the first groove is the narrow area below) wherein adhesive portions are nestled within the mounting grooves (Fig. 1, #5). Zhang et al. discloses that these “mounting grooves” can effectively avoid the problems such as excessive thickness at a position near the tab in a cell formed by an electrode piece and thus ensures safety and charging and discharging rate and other performances of a battery (Column 3, Lines 29-34). Zhang et al. discloses that these adhesive portions are located completely in their respective mounting grooves in a first direction Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a first mounting groove that is located above the first groove such that the first groove is located between the first mounting groove and the first current collector along a thickness direction of the first electrode plate such that the first tab adhesive is provided in the first mounting groove and that the first electrode plate adhesive is provided in the second mounting groove and along a first direction a projection of the first electrode plate adhesive is completely located in the second mounting groove in Wu et al. electrochemical apparatus for the advantage of having a configuration that can effectively avoid the problems such as excessive thickness at a position near the tab in a cell formed by an electrode piece and thus ensures safety and charging and discharging rate and other performances of a battery.
Annotated Zhang et al. Fig. 1
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726