DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 – 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boll (DE 102023104760).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Boll discloses a power conversion system incorporated in a flight vehicle (10), the power conversion system comprising a module (1) having a semiconductor element stored therein (inherently disclosed as the power conversion system requires to be controlled), wherein an energy storage (2) is disposed above the module in a vertical direction (Fig. 3 – liquid hydrogen H2 tank is placed on top), the energy storage storing a solid or liquid energy source containing a neutron attenuating material (claim 3 of Boll), and wherein at least either the module or the energy storage is provided with a movable mechanism (adjusting device 4) that moves to shift in position according to a tilt of the flight vehicle.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Boll discloses an adjustment mechanism (motor of the adjusting device 4) that adjusts a barycenter of the energy storage and causes the energy storage to tilt at various angles.
Regarding claim 7, Boll inherently discloses that a neutron attenuating material reduces intensity of neutrons carrying an energy of 1 MeV < E < 20 MeV – Boll discloses that the neutrons are generated by cosmic radiation (K) which would typically fall within that range.
Regarding claim 8, Boll discloses that the energy storage is provided as a fuel tank (H2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boll ‘760 in view of Huang (CN 110304259).
Regarding claim 3, Boll fails to explicitly teach a shock-absorber is disposed between the energy storage and the module. However, Huang discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle with a hybrid power system which has a damping device with a shock absorption structure (10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, with reasonable expectation of success, to include a shock absorber as taught by Huang in between the energy storage and the module of Boll in order to prevent damage to the structure.
Regarding claim 4, Boll as modified by Huang discloses that the shock-absorber has a ventilation function 13 (Huang).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boll ‘760.
Regarding claim 9, Boll does not teach that the semiconductor element is disposed such that a plane thereof with a largest area is parallel to a vertical direction. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, with reasonable expectation of success, to position the semiconductor element as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3 – 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/VALENTINA XAVIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642