DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7, 8, 9, 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Independent Claims
Claim(s) 1, 11, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US-20190254118) in view of 3GPP TS 23.501 v17.1.0 (2021-06) System architecture for the 5G system.
As to claim 1, 11, 15: Dao teaches a transmission method, applied in an access network element, the method comprising: receiving third control information from a session management network element ([0067] SMF provides QoS profiles to RAN node), the third control information being used to indicate a control parameter of an application data unit in a Quality of Service (QoS) flow ([0158] The SMF sends all QoS Profiles for both GBR and non-GBR QoS Flows together with QFIs, to (R)AN.; [0067-68] QoS Profiles contain QoS parameters for controlling the forwarding of packets having various QoS requirements; [0084-91, 188] If the Application-Specific Packet Filter Set is not changed, the QoS Rule(s) for one QoS Flow may include UE-Specific Application ID, and Application Specific Packet Filter Set ID, (not the whole Packet Filters), QFI, QoS parameters).
Although Dao teaches 5QI ([0067, 68]), Dao may not explicitly teach wherein the third control information comprises third parameter information used to indicate a QoS parameter of the application data unit, wherein the third parameter information comprises at least one of a bit error rate, a transmission delay or a code rate requirement. However, 3GPP teaches wherein the third control information comprises third parameter information used to indicate a QoS parameter of the application data unit, wherein the third parameter information comprises at least one of a bit error rate, a transmission delay or a code rate requirement (p.153, section 5.7.3.1 5G QoS characteristics associated with 5QI including PDB, PER).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement BER, delay, taught by 3GPP, into the communication system, taught by Dao, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and to assist in scheduling. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Dao in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 2, 12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US-20190254118), 3GPP TS 23.501 v17.1.0 (2021-06) System architecture for the 5G system in view of Jheng (US-20180324631).
As to claim 2, 12, 16: Dao teaches the method according to claim 1.
Dao may not explicitly teach wherein the third control information comprises at least one of: third level information used to indicate a level of the application data unit. However, Jheng teaches wherein the third control information comprises at least one of: third level information used to indicate a level of the application data unit ([0085] flow priority).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement flow priority level , taught by Jheng, into the 5QI, taught by Dao, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and assist in scheduling and QoS. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Dao and Jheng in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 13, 14, 17, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US-20190254118) in view 3GPP TS 23.501 v17.1.0 (2021-06) System architecture for the 5G system.
As to claim 3, 13, 17: Dao teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving fourth control information from the session management network element, the fourth control information being used to indicate a QoS parameter of the QoS flow ([0137, 158] SMF provides RAN with QoS profiles with 5QI).
As to claim 4, 14, 18: Dao teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving first identification information from the session management network element, the first identification information being used to identify the application data unit ([0084-91] UE-Specific Application Identifier); or receiving a number of the application data unit from the session management network element.
As to claim 6, 20: Dao teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving a QoS flow identifier from the session management network element, the QoS flow identifier being used to identify the QoS flow ([0137, 158]).
Claim(s) 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao (US-20190254118), 3GPP TS 23.501 v17.1.0 (2021-06) System architecture for the 5G system in view Hong (US-20120183077).
As to claim 21, 22: Dao teaches the method according to claim 1.
Dao may not explicitly teach wherein the application data unit comprises a frame or a coded slice within the frame. However, Hong teaches wherein the application data unit comprises a frame or a coded slice within the frame ([0006] In H.264, a bitstream is logically subdivided into NAL units. Each coded picture is coded in one or more slice NAL units).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement coded slices, taught by Hong, into the communication system, taught by Dao, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and facilitate communication of media content. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Hong and Dao in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW C OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466