Claim Objections
Claim 11, line 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the wall” should be - -wherein a wall- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crothers et al (US 20150219335 as referenced in OA dated 12/30/2024) in view of Stoia et al (US 9052115 as referenced in OA dated 12/30/2024) and Hughes et al (US 20170175635 as referenced in OA dated 10/15/2025).
Annotated Figure 2 and 3 of Crothers
Annotated Figure 5 of Stoia
Regarding claim 1, Crothers discloses a combustor (Figure 1; 42) for a gas turbine system (Figure 1; 10), the combustor comprising:
a combustor body (The body of Figure 1; 42) including a combustion liner (Figure 2; 72, 74) including a cylindrical portion (Figure 2; 72) and a tapered transition portion (Figure 2; 74) defining a centerline axis (The centerline of the combustion liner);
a head end fuel nozzle assembly (Figure 2; 70) at a forward end (The forward end of the combustor body) of the combustor body;
an air flow passage (The portion of Figure 2; 82 around 72) defined at least partially by the combustor body, the air flow passage configured to deliver a first portion (The portion of the air to the head end fuel assembly) of an air supply (Figure 2; 38) to the head end fuel nozzle assembly (Paragraph 0031);
an axial fuel stage (AFS) injector (Figure 3; 84, Paragraph 0032 states the injector is through the 84) directed into the combustor body downstream of the head end fuel nozzle assembly;
a cooling passage (The portion of Figure 2; 82 around 74 and Figure 3; 92) at least partially defined by the tapered transition portion and a wall (Figure 2; 76) extending in a spaced manner (The spaced manner of the wall with respect to the tapered transition portion) adjacent to the tapered transition portion, the cooling passage configured to deliver a second portion (The portion of the air to the AFS injector through Figure 3; 94) of the air supply to the AFS injector;
wherein the wall includes a curved portion (Annotated Figure 3; labeled curved portion) extending in an axially outwardly convex manner (The axially outwardly convex manner of the curved portion) relative to the centerline axis at a location (The location over the AFS injector) over the AFS injector, and wherein the curved portion of the wall defines a portion (The portion of the cooling passage over the AFS injector) of the cooling passage over the AFS injector; and
a third, additional portion (The portion of the air to the AFS injector through Figure 3; 98) of the air supply to the AFS injector through the cooling passage.
Crothers does not disclose wherein the cooling passage is separate from the air flow passage; and a valve operatively coupled to the curved portion of the wall over the AFS injector, wherein the valve is configured to, in an open position, flow a third, additional portion of the air supply to the AFS injector through the cooling passage and, in a closed position, block the third, additional portion of the air supply from flowing to the AFS injector.
However, Stoia teaches a combustor (Figure 1; 14 using Figure 5) for a gas turbine system (Figure 1; 10), the combustor comprising:
a combustor body (The body of Figure 1; 14) including a combustion liner (Figure 5; 46) including a tapered transition portion (Figure 5; 46 is a tapered transition portion);
a head end fuel nozzle assembly (Figure 1; 34) at a forward end (The forward end of the combustor body) of the combustor body;
an axial fuel stage (AFS) injector (Figure 5; 60) directed into the combustor body downstream of the head end fuel nozzle assembly;
a cooling passage (Figure 5; 112) at least partially defined by the tapered transition portion; and
a valve (Figure 3; 70 as applied to Figure 5) operatively coupled to a curved portion (Annotated Figure 5; labeled curved portion) of a wall (Figure 5; 110) over the AFS injector, wherein the valve is configured to, in an open position (Figure 3), flow a portion of an air supply (The portion of Figure 3; 22 to 70 as applied to Figure 5. Column 3-4, lines 58-19) to the AFS injector through the cooling passage and, in a closed position (Figure 4), block the portion of the air supply from flowing to the AFS injector.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers to include a valve operatively coupled to the curved portion of the wall over the AFS injector, wherein the valve is configured to, in an open position, flow a portion of a air supply (In the context of Crothers, this is the third, additional portion of the air supply of Crothers) to the AFS injector through the cooling passage and, in a closed position, block the third, additional portion of the air supply from flowing to the AFS injector as taught by and suggested by Stoia in order to control the air through the AFS injector (Column 2, lines 32-40, The modification adds a valve assembly over at least Figure 3; 98 of Crothers to modulate the third portion of air)
Crothers in view of Stoia does not disclose wherein the cooling passage is separate from the air flow passage.
However, Hughes teaches a combustor (Figure 10) for a gas turbine system (Figure 1; 10), the combustor comprising:
a combustor body (Figure 10; 24) including a combustion liner (Figure 10; 24) including a cylindrical portion (The portion of Figure 10; 24 to the left of 68. Paragraph 0041, 0052) and a tapered transition portion (The portion of Figure 10; 24 to the right of 68. Paragraph 0041, 0052);
a head end fuel nozzle assembly (Figure 10; 22, 23, 28) at a forward end (The forward end of the combustor body) of the combustor body;
an air flow passage (The portion of Figure 10; 26 to the left of 85) defined at least partially by the combustor body, the air flow passage configured to deliver a first portion (The portion of air to Figure 10; 30) of an air supply (Figure 2; 44) to the head end fuel nozzle assembly;
an axial fuel stage (AFS) injector (Figure 5; 51 as shown in Figure 10) directed into the combustor body downstream of the head end fuel nozzle assembly;
a cooling passage (The portion of Figure 10; 26 to the right of 85) at least partially defined by the tapered transition portion, wherein the cooling passage is separate from the air flow passage and is configured to deliver a second portion of the air supply (The portion of air to the AFS injector) to the AFS injector.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers in view of Stoia wherein the cooling passage is separate from the air flow passage as taught by and suggested by Hughes in order to create and aftward and forward annulus sections (Paragraph 0083, the modification adds an axial partition separating the cooling passage and air flow passage).
Regarding claim 2, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers does not disclose wherein: in response to the AFS injector operating, the valve is in the open position with the third, additional portion of the air supply flowing to the AFS injector; and
in response to the AFS injector being inoperative, the valve is in the closed position, blocking the third, additional portion of the air supply from flowing to the AFS injector and causing the third, additional portion of the air supply to enter the air flow passage to the head end fuel nozzle assembly.
However, Stoia teaches wherein: in response to the AFS injector operating (The AFS injector flowing an additional fuel-air mixture is considered operating), the valve is in the open position with the portion (In the combined invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes, this portion is the third, additional portion of the air supply) of the air supply flowing to the AFS injector (Functional Language, the open position allows the third portion of the air supply to flow to the AFS injector); and
in response to the AFS injector being inoperative (The AFS injector not flowing an additional fuel-air mixture is considered inoperative. Column 1, lines 49-55), the valve is in the closed position, blocking the portion (In the combined invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes, this portion is the third, additional portion of the air supply) of the air supply from flowing to the AFS injector and causing the portion of the air supply to enter an air flow passage (Figure 5; 50) to enter the air flow passage to the head end fuel nozzle assembly (Functional Language, closing the valve allows the third portion of air to flow through Figure 5; 50 to the head end fuel nozzle assembly).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers wherein: in response to the AFS injector operating, the valve is in the open position with the third, additional portion of the air supply flowing to the AFS injector; and in response to the AFS injector being inoperative, the valve is in the closed position, blocking the third, additional portion of the air supply from flowing to the AFS injector and causing the third, additional portion of the air supply to enter the air flow passage to the head end fuel nozzle assembly as taught by and suggested by Stoia in order to control the air through the AFS injector (Column 2, lines 32-40, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers further discloses wherein the air supply includes a compressor discharge (Paragraph 0024 and 0025), and wherein the first portion of the air supply is pulled directly from the compressor discharge (The first portion of air is supplied directly from the compressor discharge. The most upstream Figure 2; 78 provide air directly from the compressor discharge) and the second portion of the air supply passes through the cooling passage after being pulled from the compressor discharge, wherein the cooling passage is further defined in a hot part (The cooling passage is in a hot part of the combustor) of the combustor.
Regarding claim 4, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers further discloses wherein the hot part includes at least one of the tapered transition portion of the combustor body (The hot part includes the tapered transition portion) and an aft frame (Annotated Figure 2; labeled aft frame) at an aft end (The aft end of the tapered portion) of the tapered transition portion of the combustor body.
Regarding claim 5, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers further discloses wherein the cooling passage is at least partially between the AFS injector and the air supply (The cooling passage is between the AFS injector and the air supply).
Regarding claim 6, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers further discloses wherein the cooling passage is defined between an inner transition portion wall and an outer transition portion wall in the tapered transition portion of the combustor body or between the tapered transition portion of the combustor body and a flow sleeve (Figure 2; 76 and Figure 3; 90) spaced along at least a portion of an exterior surface (The exterior surface of the tapered transition portion) of the tapered transition portion of the combustor body; and wherein the wall, having the axially outwardly convex portion to which the valve is coupled, is part of either the outer transition portion wall or the flow sleeve.
Regarding claim 7, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers further discloses wherein the AFS injector includes a plurality of AFS injectors (Paragraph 0032 states a plurality of injectors) positioned about the combustor body.
Crothers does not disclose the valve includes a plurality of valves.
However, Stoia teaches wherein the AFS injector includes a plurality of AFS injectors (Figure 5 shows a plurality of 60) positioned about the combustor body, and the valve includes a plurality of valves (Column 7, lines 13-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers wherein the valve includes a plurality of valves as taught by and suggested by Stoia in order to control the air through the AFS injector (Column 2, lines 32-40, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers does not disclose wherein the valve includes one or more of: an electrically controlled valve controlled by a combustor controller that controls operation of the combustor, a temperature sensitive control valve configured to close based on a temperature in the combustor body, or a pressure sensitive control valve configured to close based on a pressure in the combustor body.
However, Stoia teaches wherein the valve includes one or more of: an electrically controlled valve controlled by a combustor controller that controls operation of the combustor, a temperature sensitive control valve configured to close based on a temperature in the combustor body, or a pressure sensitive control valve (Figure 5; 70 is a pressure sensitive control valve) configured to close based on a pressure in the combustor body (The pressure in the combustor body. Column 5, lines 30-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers wherein the valve includes one or more of: an electrically controlled valve controlled by a combustor controller that controls operation of the combustor, a temperature sensitive control valve configured to close based on a temperature in the combustor body, or a pressure sensitive control valve configured to close based on a pressure in the combustor body as taught by and suggested by Stoia in order to control the air through the AFS injector (Column 2, lines 32-40, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers further discloses wherein the combustor body further includes:
an axial fuel stage (AFS) injector opening (The opening in Figure 3; 72 for 84) directed into the combustion liner downstream of the head end fuel nozzle assembly, the AFS injector opening configured to have the AFS injector mounted thereto and to receive the second portion of the air supply; and
an opening (Figure 3; 98. In the combined invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes, the valve is over this opening, so that this opening partially forms a valve opening which mounts the valve) in fluid communication with the cooling passage;
wherein the air flow passage is defined at least partially by the cylindrical portion of the combustion liner.
Crothers does not disclose a valve opening, the valve opening configured to mount the valve;
wherein, in the open position of the valve, the third, additional portion of the air supply flows through the valve opening to the cooling passage and, in the closed position of the valve, the third, additional portion of the air supply is blocked from flowing to the cooling passage.
However, Stoia teaches a valve opening (The opening formed by Figure 5; 114 and the hole in Figure 4; 84 for 98 as applied to Figure 5), the valve opening configured to mount the valve;
wherein, in the open position of the valve, the third, additional portion of the air supply flows through the valve opening (In the combined invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes, the open position of the valve allows the air to flow into the cooling passage) and, in the closed position of the valve, the portion (In the combined invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes, this portion is the third, additional portion of the air supply) of the air supply is blocked from flowing (In the combined invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes, the closed position of the valve blocks the air to flow into the cooling passage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers wherein to include a valve opening, the valve opening configured to mount the valve; wherein, in the open position of the valve, the third, additional portion of the air supply flows through the valve opening to the cooling passage and, in the closed position of the valve, the third, additional portion of the air supply is blocked from flowing to the cooling passage as taught by and suggested by Stoia in order to control the air through the AFS injector (Column 2, lines 32-40, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Crothers discloses a combustor body (The body of Figure 1; 42) for a combustor (Figure 1; 42) for a gas turbine system (Figure 1; 10), the combustor body comprising:
a combustion liner (Figure 2; 72 and 74) including a cylindrical portion (Figure 2; 72) and a tapered transition portion (Figure 2; 74), and defining a centerline axis (The centerline of the combustion liner);
an air flow passage (The portion of Figure 2; 82 around 72) defined at least partially by the cylindrical portion of the combustion liner, the air flow passage configured to deliver a first portion (The portion of the air to the head end fuel assembly) of an air supply (Figure 2; 38) to a head end fuel nozzle assembly (Figure 2; 70) at a forward end (The forward end of the liner) of the combustion liner (Paragraph 0031);
a cooling passage (The portion of Figure 2; 82 around 74 and Figure 3; 92) at least partially defined by the tapered transition portion;
an axial fuel stage (AFS) injector opening (The opening in Figure 3; 72 for 84) directed into the combustion liner downstream of the head end fuel nozzle assembly, the AFS injector opening configured to have an AFS injector (Figure 3; 84, Paragraph 0032 states the injector is through the 84) mounted thereto and to receive a second portion (The portion of the air to the AFS injector through Figure 3; 94) of the air supply through the cooling passage;
wherein a wall (Figure 2; 76) includes a curved portion (Annotated Figure 3; labeled curved portion) extending in an axially outwardly convex manner (The axially outwardly convex manner of the curved portion) relative to the centerline axis at a location (The location over the AFS injector) over the AFS injector, and wherein the curved portion defines the cooling passage over the AFS injector.
Crothers does not disclose a cooling passage separate from the air flow passage;
a valve opening in fluid communication with the cooling passage, the valve opening being disposed on the curved portion of the wall over the AFS injector and configured to mount a valve thereto.
However, Stoia teaches a combustor body (The body of Figure 1; 14) for a combustor (Figure 1; 14) for a gas turbine system (Figure 1; 10), the combustor body comprising:
a combustion liner (Figure 2; 46) including a tapered transition portion (Figure 2; 46 is a tapered transition portion);
a head end fuel nozzle assembly (Figure 1; 34) at a forward end (The forward end of the combustor body) of the combustion liner;
a cooling passage (Figure 5; 112) at least partially defined by the tapered transition portion;
an axial fuel stage (AFS) injector opening (The opening in Figure 5; 46 for 60) directed into the combustion liner downstream of the head end fuel nozzle assembly, the AFS injector opening configured to have an AFS injector (Figure 5; 60); and
a valve opening (The opening formed by Figure 5; 114 and the hole in Figure 4; 84 for 98 as applied to Figure 5) in fluid communication with the cooling passage, the valve opening being disposed on a curved portion (Annotated Figure 5; labeled curved portion) of a wall (Figure 5; 110) over the AFS injector and configured to mount a valve (Figure 3; 70 as applied to Figure 5) thereto.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers to include a valve opening in fluid communication with the cooling passage, the valve opening being disposed on the curved portion of the wall over the AFS injector and configured to mount a valve thereto as taught by and suggested by Stoia in order to control the air through the AFS injector (Column 2, lines 32-40, The modification adds a valve assembly over at least Figure 3; 98 of Crothers to modulate the third portion of air).
Crothers in view of Stoia does not teach a cooling passage separate from the air flow passage.
However, Hughes teaches a combustor (Figure 10) for a gas turbine system (Figure 1; 10), the combustor comprising:
a combustion liner (Figure 10; 24) including a cylindrical portion (The portion of Figure 10; 24 to the left of 68. Paragraph 0041, 0052) and a tapered transition portion (The portion of Figure 10; 24 to the right of 68. Paragraph 0041, 0052);
an air flow passage (The portion of Figure 10; 26 to the left of 85) defined at least partially by the cylindrical portion of the combustion liner, the air flow passage configured to deliver a first portion (The portion of air to Figure 10; 30) of an air supply (Figure 2; 44) to a head end fuel nozzle assembly (Figure 10; 22, 23, 28) at a forward end (The forward end of the combustor body) of the combustion liner;
a cooling passage (The portion of Figure 10; 26 to the right of 85) at least partially defined by the tapered transition portion and separate from the air flow passage
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers in view of Stoia wherein a cooling passage separate from the air flow passage as taught by and suggested by Hughes in order to create and aftward and forward annulus sections (Paragraph 0083, the modification adds an axial partition separating the cooling passage and air flow passage).
Regarding claim 12, Crothers discloses a gas turbine (GT) system (Figure 1; 10), comprising:
a compressor section (Figure 1; 14);
a combustion section (Figure 1; 16) operatively coupled to the compressor section; and
a turbine section (Figure 1; 18) operatively coupled to the combustion section,
wherein the combustion section includes at least one combustor (Figure 1; 42) including:
a combustor body (The body of Figure 1; 42) including a combustion liner (Figure 2; 72 and 74) including a cylindrical portion (Figure 2; 72), a tapered transition portion (Figure 2; 74, the portion of 76 covering 74, and Figure 3; 90) and defining a centerline axis (The centerline of the combustion liner);
a head end fuel nozzle assembly (Figure 2; 70) at a forward end (The forward end of the combustor body) of the combustor body;
an air flow passage (The portion of Figure 2; 82 around 72) defined at least partially by the combustor body, the air flow passage configured to deliver a first portion (The portion of the air to the head end fuel assembly) of an air supply (Figure 2; 38) to the head end fuel nozzle assembly (Paragraph 0031);
an axial fuel stage (AFS) injector (Figure 3; 84, Paragraph 0032 states the injector is through the 84) directed into the combustor body downstream of the head end fuel nozzle assembly;
a cooling passage (The portion of Figure 2; 82 around 74 and Figure 3; 92) defined by a radially outer portion (The portion of Figure 2; 76 over 74 and Figure 3; 90) of the tapered transition portion and a radially inner portion (Figure 2; 74) of the tapered transition portion adjacent a hot gas path (The hot gas path within the combustion liner) within the combustion liner, wherein the radially outer portion includes:
a first portion (The portion of Figure 3; 90 contacting 80 as applied to the tapered transition portion, Paragraph 0032, and downstream of the AFS injector) spaced from and parallel to at least a portion (The portion of Figure 3; 72 as applied to the tapered transition portion, Pargraph 0032) of the radially inner portion of the tapered transition portion downstream of the AFS injector,and
an axially outward convex second portion (Annotated Figure 3; labeled curved portion) extending in an axially outwardly convex manner (The axially outwardly convex manner of the curved portion)relative to the centerline axis at a location (The location over the AFS injector) over the AFS injector;
the cooling passage configured to deliver a second portion (The portion of the air to the AFS injector through Figure 3; 94) of the air supply to the AFS injector;
a third, additional portion (The portion of the air to the AFS injector through Figure 3; 98) of the air supply to the AFS injector through the cooling passage.
Crothers does not disclose a cooling passage separate from the air flow passage;
a valve operatively coupled to the axially outwardly convex portion of the cooling passage over the AFS injector and configured to, in an open position, flow a third, additional portion of the air supply to the AFS injector through the cooling passage and, in a closed position, block the third, additional portion of the air supply from flowing to the AFS injector.
However, Stoia teaches a combustor (Figure 1; 14 using Figure 5) for a gas turbine system (Figure 1; 10), the combustor comprising:
a combustor body (The body of Figure 1; 14) including a combustion liner (Figure 5; 46) including a tapered transition portion (Figure 5; 46 is a tapered transition portion);
a head end fuel nozzle assembly (Figure 1; 34) at a forward end (The forward end of the combustor body) of the combustor body;
an axial fuel stage (AFS) injector (Figure 5; 60) directed into the combustor body downstream of the head end fuel nozzle assembly;
a cooling passage (Figure 5; 112) at least partially defined by the tapered transition portion; and
a valve (Figure 3; 70 as applied to Figure 5) operatively coupled to an axially outwardly convex portion (Annotated Figure 5; labeled curved portion) of the cooling passage over the AFS injector and configured to, in an open position (Figure 3), flow a portion of an air supply (The portion of Figure 3; 22 to 70 as applied to Figure 5. Column 3-4, lines 58-19) to the AFS injector through the cooling passage and, in a closed position (Figure 4), block the portion of the air supply from flowing to the AFS injector.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers to include a valve operatively coupled to the axially outwardly convex portion of the cooling passage over the AFS injector and configured to, in an open position, flow a portion (In the context of Crothers, this is the third, additional portion of the air supply of Crothers) of the air supply to the AFS injector through the cooling passage and, in a closed position, block the portion of the air supply from flowing to the AFS injector as taught by and suggested by Stoia in order to control the air through the AFS injector (Column 2, lines 32-40, The modification adds a valve assembly over at least Figure 3; 98 of Crothers to modulate the third portion of air).
Crothers in view of Stoia does not teach a cooling passage separate from the air flow passage.
However, Hughes teaches a combustor (Figure 10) for a gas turbine system (Figure 1; 10), the combustor comprising:
a combustion liner (Figure 10; 24) including a cylindrical portion (The portion of Figure 10; 24 to the left of 68. Paragraph 0041, 0052) and a tapered transition portion (The portion of Figure 10; 24 to the right of 68. Paragraph 0041, 0052);
an air flow passage (The portion of Figure 10; 26 to the left of 85) defined at least partially by the cylindrical portion of the combustion liner, the air flow passage configured to deliver a first portion (The portion of air to Figure 10; 30) of an air supply (Figure 2; 44) to a head end fuel nozzle assembly (Figure 10; 22, 23, 28) at a forward end (The forward end of the combustor body) of the combustion liner;
a cooling passage (The portion of Figure 10; 26 to the right of 85) at least partially defined by the tapered transition portion and separate from the air flow passage
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers in view of Stoia wherein a cooling passage separate from the air flow passage as taught by and suggested by Hughes in order to create and aftward and forward annulus sections (Paragraph 0083, the modification adds an axial partition separating the cooling passage and air flow passage).
Regarding claim 13, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers does not disclose wherein: in response to the AFS injector operating, the valve is in the open position with the third, additional portion of the air supply flowing to the AFS injector; and
in response to the AFS injector being inoperative, the valve is in the closed position, blocking the third, additional portion of the air supply from flowing to the AFS injector and causing the third, additional portion of the air supply to enter the air flow passage to the head end fuel nozzle assembly.
However, Stoia teaches wherein: in response to the AFS injector operating (The AFS injector flowing an additional fuel-air mixture is considered operating), the valve is in the open position with the portion (In the combined invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes, this portion is the third, additional portion of the air supply) of the air supply flowing to the AFS injector (Functional Language, the open position allows the third portion of the air supply to flow to the AFS injector); and
in response to the AFS injector being inoperative (The AFS injector not flowing an additional fuel-air mixture is considered inoperative. Column 1, lines 49-55), the valve is in the closed position, blocking the portion (In the combined invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes, this portion is the third, additional portion of the air supply) of the air supply from flowing to the AFS injector and causing the portion of the air supply to enter an air flow passage (Figure 5; 50) to the head end fuel nozzle assembly (Functional Language, closing the valve allows the third portion of air to flow through Figure 5; 50 to the head end fuel nozzle assembly).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers wherein: in response to the AFS injector operating, the valve is in the open position with the third, additional portion of the air supply flowing to the AFS injector; and in response to the AFS injector being inoperative, the valve is in the closed position, blocking the third, additional portion of the air supply from flowing to the AFS injector and causing the third, additional portion of the air supply to enter the air flow passage to the head end fuel nozzle assembly as taught by and suggested by Stoia in order to control the air through the AFS injector (Column 2, lines 32-40, This is the same modification as claim 12).
Regarding claim 14, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers further discloses wherein the air supply includes a compressor discharge (Paragraph 0024 and 0025), of the compressor section, and wherein the first portion of the air supply is pulled directly from the compressor discharge (The first portion of air is supplied directly from the compressor discharge. The most upstream Figure 2; 78 provide air directly from the compressor discharge) and the second portion of the air supply passes through the cooling passage after being pulled from the compressor discharge, wherein the cooling passage is further defined in a hot part (The cooling passage is in a hot part of the combustor) of the combustor.
Regarding claim 15, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers further discloses wherein the cooling passage is at least partially between the AFS injector and the air supply (The cooling passage is between the AFS injector and the air supply).
Regarding claim 17, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers further discloses wherein the combustor body further includes:
an axial fuel stage (AFS) injector opening (The opening in Figure 3; 72 for 84) directed into the combustion liner downstream of the head end fuel nozzle assembly, the AFS injector opening configured to have the AFS injector mounted thereto and to receive the second portion of the air supply; and
an opening (Figure 3; 98. In the combined invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes, the valve is over this opening, so that this opening partially forms a valve opening which mounts the valve) in fluid communication with the cooling passage;
wherein the air flow passage is defined at least partially by the cylindrical portion of the combustion liner.
Crothers does not disclose a valve opening, the valve opening configured to mount the valve;
wherein, in the open position of the valve, the third, additional portion of the air supply flows through the valve opening to the cooling passage and, in the closed position of the valve, the third, additional portion of the air supply is blocked from flowing to the cooling passage.
However, Stoia teaches a valve opening (The opening formed by Figure 5; 114 and the hole in Figure 4; 84 for 98 as applied to Figure 5), the valve opening configured to mount the valve;
wherein, in the open position of the valve, the third, additional portion of the air supply flows through the valve opening (In the combined invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes, the open position of the valve allows the air to flow into the cooling passage) and, in the closed position of the valve, the portion (In the combined invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes, this portion is the third, additional portion of the air supply) of the air supply is blocked from flowing (In the combined invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes, the closed position of the valve blocks the air to flow into the cooling passage)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers wherein to include a valve opening, the valve opening configured to mount the valve; wherein, in the open position of the valve, the third, additional portion of the air supply flows through the valve opening to the cooling passage and, in the closed position of the valve, the third, additional portion of the air supply is blocked from flowing to the cooling passage as taught by and suggested by Stoia in order to control the air through the AFS injector (Column 2, lines 32-40, This is the same modification as claim 12).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hanson (US 20140216042 as referenced in OA dated 12/30/2024),
Regarding claim 9, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes does not teach wherein the combustor body is additively manufactured (AM) and includes a plurality of parallel, sintered metal layers.
However, Hanson teaches wherein a combustor body (Figure 1; 22) is additively manufactured (AM) (Paragraph 0005) and includes a plurality of parallel, sintered metal layers (Figure 4 shows parallel layers, Paragraph 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes wherein the combustor body is additively manufactured (AM) and includes a plurality of parallel, sintered metal layers as taught by and suggested by Hanson in order to avoid expensive and/or time consuming manufacturing (Paragraph 0026, The modification makes at least a portion of the combustor body through additive manufacturing).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lind et al (US 20190086085)
Annotated Figure 2 of Lind
Regarding claim 16, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes teaches the invention as claimed.
Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes does not teach wherein the radially outer portion partially defining the cooling passage is integral with the radially inner portion of the tapered transition portion, the radially inner portion and the radially outer portion of the tapered transition portion being additively manufactured (AM) and including a plurality of parallel, sintered metal layers.
However, Lind teaches wherein a radially outer portion (Annotated Figure 2; labeled radially outer portion) partially defining a cooling passage (The passage between Annotated Figure 2; labeled radially outer and inner portions) is integral with a radially inner portion (Annotated Figure 2; labeled radially inner portion)of a tapered transition portion (Annotated Figure 2; labeled radially outer and inner portions), the radially inner portion and the radially outer portion of the tapered transition portion being additively manufactured (AM) and including a plurality of parallel, sintered metal layers (Paragraph 0037, 0085. 3D printing as defined by Oxford and Dictionary.com describe applying layers on top of each other, so that the layers are parallel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes wherein the radially outer portion partially defining the cooling passage is integral with the radially inner portion of the tapered transition portion, the radially inner portion and the radially outer portion of the tapered transition portion being additively manufactured (AM) and including a plurality of parallel, sintered metal layers as taught by and suggested by Lind because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Lind’s use of additive manufacturing or 3d printing according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Crothers in view of Stoia and Hughes’s combustor body, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case forming a combustor body, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification forms the tapered transition portion by 3D printing using sintering).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the prior art of record does not disclose, teach, or suggest the curved portion extends in an axially outwardly convex manner over the AFS injector. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Annotated Figure 3; labeled curved portion of Crothers extends in an axially outwardly convex manner over the AFS injector.
Applicant asserts that the prior art of record does not disclose, teach, or suggest the amended limitations of claim 12. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the new interpretation of the prior art presented in this OA for claim 12, a new rejection is made where the prior art of record discloses, teaches, or suggests the amended limitations of claim 12.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741