DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16, 19 and 20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejection of claims 1, 14 and 20 (see applicant’s remarks; pages 11 and 12) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In particular, the examiner has introduced Hsaio to disclose the amended limitations “store at a time series store, configuration information…”, “store, at an event store, event information comprising a pointer…” and “obtain, from the location of the configuration information at the time series store…”, as shown in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwivedi et al. (U.S. 2022/0043807 A1) in view of Hsaio et al. (U.S. 12,028,208 B1).
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 20, Dwivedi discloses a system and method comprising one or more processors implemented in circuitry and having access to non-transitory computer-readable media (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0967 and 0968; Dwivedi discloses a processor configured to execute computer-executable instructions of a non-transitory computer-readable media), wherein the system is configured to:
based on a determination that an event associated with a network device of the plurality of network devices of a network has occurred (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0139 and 0141; Dwivedi discloses events comprising machine data associated with a specific point in time are derived, i.e. “based on a determination…”, from devices, i.e. “an event associated with a network device of the plurality of network devices of a network has occurred”):
based on receiving a request for data corresponding to the event (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0290 and 0397; Dwivedi discloses receiving a search query, i.e. “request for data”, from a client for a set of event data, i.e. “corresponding to the event”):
determine, using the event information stored in the event store, the pointer to the configuration information for the network device (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0186 and 0291; Dwivedi discloses a search reference to an index, i.e. “the pointer”, related to stored and managed event data collection, i.e. “the event information stored in the event store”);
generate a response to the request based on the configuration information obtained from the time series store (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0144, 0228, 0399 and 0400; Dwivedi discloses summarization information, i.e. “a response”, is provided in response to the query, i.e. “the request”, for event data that is indexed for configuration files, i.e. “configuration information”); and
output the response to the request (see Dwivedi; paragraph 0400; Dwivedi discloses summarization information is provided for response to the query, i.e. “output the response to the request”).
While Dwivedi discloses a “time series store” (see Dwivedi; paragraph 0911), Dwivedi does not explicitly disclose store at a time series store, configuration information for the network device and for a time range associated with the event, wherein the time series store is configured to store configuration information for each time range of a plurality of time ranges; store, at an event store, event information comprising a pointer specifying a location of the configuration information at the time series store and an indication of a time that the event occurred; and obtain, from the location of the configuration information at the time series store, and using the pointer determined using the event information, the configuration information for the network device and for the time range associated with the event.
In analogous art, Hsiao discloses store at a time series store, configuration information for the network device and for a time range associated with the event, wherein the time series store is configured to store configuration information for each time range of a plurality of time ranges (see Hsiao; column 7 line 62 – column 8 line 13, column 13 lines 33-48, column 16 lines 22-25, column 20 lines 63-65, column 22 lines 11-14 and column 37 lines 44-54; Hsiao discloses an event can include data from configuration files. A user is able to search for events in a specific time range. The system stores the events covering specific time ranges, i.e. “store at a time series store…a plurality of time ranges”. Event data with the specific time ranges is transmitted to a data storage server, i.e. “time series store”. The event data includes a list of event streams, as well as, configuration information generated for the event streams. For example, the user is able to search for time-series event data, e.g. data including the configuration information, that matches events, i.e. “configuration information for each time range…”);
store, at an event store, event information comprising a pointer specifying a location of the configuration information at the time series store and an indication of a time that the event occurred (see Hsaio; column 9 lines 30-38, column 20 lines 63-65, column 22 lines 11-19 and column 37 lines 44-54; Hsaio discloses the collected data, e.g. event data, is provided for storage in one or more data stores, i.e. “store, an event store”. Storage servers, i.e. “time series store”, include the event data, i.e. “event information”. The event data includes an unique identifier for the configuration information, i.e. “a pointer specifying a location of the configuration information”, for each event stream. Time-series data is provided with the event data, i.e. “an indication of a time that the event occurred”); and
obtain, from the location of the configuration information at the time series store, and using the pointer determined using the event information, the configuration information for the network device and for the time range associated with the event (see Hsaio; column 13 lines 33-48, column 16 lines 22-25, column 20 lines 63-65, column 22 lines 11-19 and column 37 lines 44-54; Hsaio discloses searching and receiving, i.e. “obtain”, event data, from the data storage server, i.e. “time series store”, it was transmitted to, for a specific time range, i.e. “time range associated with the event”. The event data includes a list of event streams, as well as, a unique identifier, i.e. “location of the configuration”, for configuration information, i.e. “using the pointer determined using the event information”, generated for the event streams).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Dwivedi and Hsiao because they both disclose features event data tracking and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Hsaio’s event data capturing into the system of Dwivedi in order to provide the benefit of efficiency by streamlining the deployment of configuration of network capture (see Hsaio; column 22 lines 34-37).
Further, Dwivedi discloses the additional limitations of claim 20, a non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing instructions (see Dwivedi; paragraph 0968; Dwivedi discloses non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a computing system).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Dwivedi and Hsaio discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 14, as discussed above, and further the combination of Dwivedi and Hsaio clearly discloses wherein to generate the response, the system is configured to generate data for a user interface (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0299, 0312 and 0400; Dwivedi discloses the summarization information, i.e. “the response”, is provided to a user in the form of a graph, chart or other visualization. The visualization is seen via a user interface); and
wherein to output the response, the system is configured to cause a display of the user interface to present the configuration information (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0144, 0312, 0336 and 0337; Dwivedi discloses the events associated with the configuration files, i.e. “configuration information”, are displayed, via a user interface, using an events tab).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Dwivedi and Hsaio discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 14, as discussed above, and further the combination of Dwivedi and Hsaio clearly discloses wherein the time series store comprises a plurality of intent graph models, each intent graph model of the plurality of intent graph models being deployed at the network for a corresponding time range of the plurality of time ranges and including an indication of the configuration information for the network device at the corresponding time range (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0144, 0228, 0299, 0336 and 0346; Dwivedi discloses the events associated with the configuration files are based on a specific time range, i.e. “configuration information for the network device at the respective time range”. Visualizations, such as graphs, i.e. “graph models”, are used to display the events at the specific time range).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Dwivedi and Hsaio discloses all the limitations of claims 3 and 16, as discussed above, and further the combination of Dwivedi and Hsaio clearly discloses wherein to generate the response based on the configuration information (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0144, 0228, 0399 and 0400; Dwivedi discloses summarization information, i.e. “a response”, is provided in response to the query for event data that is indexed for configuration files, i.e. “configuration information”), the system is configured to:
determine, based on the event, a configuration change (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0217, 0290 and 0330; Dwivedi discloses transformations applied to events. Configurations may be updated, i.e. “configuration change”, by adding schema to the configuration files based on a user learning more about the data in the events, i.e. “based on the event”); and
determine, based on the pointer, a first intent graph model of the plurality of intent graph models, the first intent graph model corresponding to before the configuration change and a second intent graph model corresponding to after the configuration change (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0144, 0336, 0346 and 0911; Dwivedi discloses replacing the event data, which includes the configuration files, with updated event data using the indexed field names, i.e. “based on the pointer”. Data models are used graphically to display the event data, i.e. “the first intent graph model”, and the updated event data, i.e. “a second intent graph model”, which replaced the prior event data. And the timeseries data store is optimized to conduct time-based modifications, i.e. “before the configuration change and…after the configuration change”).
Regarding claim 5, Dwivedi and Hsaio discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and further the combination of Dwivedi and Hsaio clearly discloses wherein the event is a first event and, based on a determination that a second event associated with the network device has occurred (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0144; Dwivedi discloses events, therefore a “first event” and a “second event”, are stored, i.e. “occurred”), the system is configured to:
store at the time series store, telemetry information indicating a metric associated with the network device (see Dwivedi; paragraph 0139; Dwivedi discloses events may be derived from time series data where the time series data comprises a sequence of data points, such as performance measurements, i.e. “telemetry information”, from a computer system, i.e. “metric associated with the network device”, that are associated with successive points in time); and
store, at the event store, event information comprising a pointer to the telemetry information stored at the time series store and an indication of a time that the second event occurred (see Dwivedi; paragraph 0139; Dwivedi discloses events are stored, i.e. at a “event store”, and are derived from time series data where the time series data comprises a sequence of data points, such as performance measurements, i.e. “telemetry information”, that are associated with successive points in time, i.e. “indication of a time that the second event occurred”. In other words, since events are stored at a sequence of data points in time, then a first even and a second event will have the associated time).
Regarding claim 6, Dwivedi and Hsaio discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and further the combination of Dwivedi and Hsaio clearly discloses wherein the event comprises a change to configuration information of the network device (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0141, 0290 and 0330; Dwivedi discloses updated configuration files for the device).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Dwivedi and Hsaio discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 14, as discussed above, and further the combination of Dwivedi and Hsaio clearly discloses wherein to generate the response based on the configuration information (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0144, 0228, 0399 and 0400; Dwivedi discloses summarization information, i.e. “a response”, is provided in response to the query for event data that is indexed for configuration files, i.e. “configuration information”), the system is configured to:
determine, based on the event, a configuration change (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0217, 0290 and 0330; Dwivedi discloses transformations applied to events. Configurations may be updated, i.e. “configuration change”, by adding schema to the configuration files based on a user learning more about the data in the events, i.e. “based on the event”); and
determine, based on the pointer, configuration information for the network device corresponding to before the configuration change and configuration information for the network device corresponding to after the configuration change (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0144, 0336, 0346 and 0911; Dwivedi discloses replacing the event data, which includes the configuration files, with updated event data using the indexed field names, i.e. “based on the pointer”. Data models are used graphically to display the event data and the updated event data which replaced the prior event data. And the timeseries data store is optimized to conduct time-based modifications, i.e. “before the configuration change and…after the configuration change”).
Regarding claim 8, Dwivedi and Hsaio discloses all the limitations of claim 7, as discussed above, and further the combination of Dwivedi and Hsaio clearly discloses wherein to generate the response based on the configuration information (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0144, 0228, 0399 and 0400; Dwivedi discloses summarization information, i.e. “a response”, is provided in response to the query for event data that is indexed for configuration files, i.e. “configuration information”), the system is configured to:
determine a first time corresponding to when the configuration change is provided by a user (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0139, 0217, 0290 and 0330; Dwivedi discloses events are derived from time series data where the time series data comprises a sequence of data points that are associated with successive points in time, i.e. “a first time”. And configurations may be updated, i.e. “configuration change”, by adding schema to the configuration files based on a user learning more about the data in the events, i.e. “when the configuration change is provided by a user”); and
determine a second time corresponding to when the configuration change is applied at the network device (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0139, 0217, 0290 and 0330; Dwivedi discloses events are derived from time series data where the time series data comprises a sequence of data points that are associated with successive points in time, i.e. “a second time”. And configurations may be updated, i.e. “configuration change”, by adding schema to the configuration files based on a user learning more about the data in the events. In other words, the configuration update occurs at the device at the respective point in time, i.e. “when the configuration change is applied at the network device).
Regarding claim 9, Dwivedi and Hsaio discloses all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above, and further the combination of Dwivedi and Hsaio clearly discloses wherein to generate the response based on the configuration information (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0144, 0228, 0399 and 0400; Dwivedi discloses summarization information, i.e. “a response”, is provided in response to the query for event data that is indexed for configuration files, i.e. “configuration information”), the system is configured to determine user information for the user providing the configuration change (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0290 and 0330; Dwivedi discloses updated configurations, i.e. “configuration change”, with the user adding field definitions. In other words, information for the field definitions added by the user, i.e. “user information”).
Regarding claim 10, Dwivedi and Hsaio discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and further the combination of Dwivedi and Hsaio clearly discloses wherein to generate the response based on the configuration information (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0144, 0228, 0399 and 0400; Dwivedi discloses summarization information, i.e. “a response”, is provided in response to the query for event data that is indexed for configuration files, i.e. “configuration information”), the system is configured to:
determine, based on the event, a configuration change (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0217, 0290 and 0330; Dwivedi discloses transformations applied to events. Configurations may be updated, i.e. “configuration change”, by adding schema to the configuration files based on a user learning more about the data in the events, i.e. “based on the event”); and
determine, based on the configuration information, telemetry information for the network device based on the configuration change (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0139 and 0290; Dwivedi discloses events associated with update configurations, i.e. “based on the configuration change”, may be derived from time series data where the time series data comprises a sequence of data points, such as performance measurements from a computer system, i.e. “telemetry information for the network device”, that are associated with successive points in time).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Dwivedi and Hsaio discloses all the limitations of claims 1 ad 14, as discussed above, and further the combination of Dwivedi and Hsaio clearly discloses wherein the system is configured to: after storing the event information in the event store and after determining the pointer, remove the event information for the event from the event store based on a determination that a time the event occurred satisfies a time constraint (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0220, 0557, 0668, 1008; Dwivedi discloses indexed fields, i.e. “the pointer”, for event data stored in a data store, i.e. “event store”. The system can identify event data that satisfies a time constraint and is removed from the data store, i.e. “after storing the event information…remove the event information…from the event store”).
Regarding claim 12, Dwivedi and Hsaio discloses all the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above, and further the combination of Dwivedi and Hsaio clearly discloses wherein the system is further configured to set the time constraint based on a user input (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0335, 0338, 0421 and 0532; Dwivedi discloses accepting user input which includes a time range picker that enables the user to specify a time range, i.e. “time constraint”).
Regarding claim 13, Dwivedi and Hsaio discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and further the combination Dwivedi and Hsaio clearly discloses wherein to store the configuration information in the time series store (see Dwivedi; paragraph 0141, 0144, 0228; Dwivedi discloses machine data from a network device includes configuration files, i.e. “configuration information”. The configuration files are associated with the events. An indexer stores the events with an associated timestamp in a data store, i.e. “a time series store”), the system is configured to compress the configuration information (see Dwivedi; paragraphs 0141, 0144, 0218 and 0220; Dwivedi discloses the machine data for the event, which is associated with the configuration files, i.e. “configuration information”, can be stored in a compressed format); and
wherein to store the event information, the system is configured to store the event information for the event without compression (see Dwivedi; paragraph 0218; Dwivedi discloses the data can be stored in compressed or encrypted format. In other words, the data can be stored not in compression, i.e. “without compression”, format but encrypted).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bingham et al. (U.S. 2014/0324862 A1) discloses portion of log data has an associated time, providing a graphical user interface enabling selection of a time range, and receiving through the graphical user interface a selection of a time range.
Lu et al. (U.S. 11,093,518 B1) discloses storing events for a specific time range in a data store.
/A.A.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2458 01/20/26
/UMAR CHEEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2458