DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response, filed 22 July 2026, has been entered and carefully considered.
Claims 22, 24, 27, 29, 32, 34, 37 and 39 are amended.
Claims 21-40 are currently pending.
The outstanding objection to Claims 24, 29, 34, and 39 is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to said claims.
The outstanding rejection of Claims 24, 29, 34, and 39 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to said claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 July 2026 regarding the rejection of Claims 21, 26, 31 and 36 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states the following (refer to page 13 of Applicant’s response):
“In the RRC signaling of the rejected claims, each of the at least one forwarding resource set configuration includes at least one forwarding resource configuration, and each of the at least one forwarding resource configuration includes a beam index indicating a beam for an access link. In other words, a beam index corresponds to a forwarding resource in the forwarding resource configuration.
In contrast, it is respectfully noted that Kurita teaches a configuration in which time resources for a specific beam are explicitly indicated via SCI, as well as a configuration in which the beam indication and the corresponding time resources are indicated through separate signaling, as seen in at least paragraphs [0054] and [0081] in Kurita, either alone or as combined.”
The Office respectfully disagrees. The Office notes that the claim language is silent as to any format or structure of the RRC signaling or forwarding resource set configuration that would necessitate a narrow reading of the claimed “resource set configuration,” the manner by which the “beam for an access link” is indicated, or how the configuration and beam index would be combined as part of the forwarding resource set configuration. Further, the claim language provides that the “forwarding resource set configuration” includes “at least one forwarding resource configuration”, which in turn includes “a beam index indicating a beam for an access link.” Absent further detail (i.e., other information that would be included in the “forwarding resource configuration”), the claim language can then be interpreted such that the “forwarding resource set configuration” solely comprises “a beam index indicating a beam for an access link”. Turning to the outstanding rejection, Kurita explicitly discloses that the SCI “may be indicated by…radio resource control (RRC)” in paragraph 0049. Further, Kurita explicitly discloses that each of the at least one forwarding resource set configuration includes at least one forwarding resource configuration (paragraph 0049 – the SCI includes information for controlling the NCR-Fwd) and a beam index indicating a beam for an access link (paragraphs 0080-0081 – time domain resources that can be used by the NCR in the access link are indicated in the SCI (which is provided in RRC signaling, as cited above in paragraph 0049). As such, Kurita reads on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, as currently drafted. The rejection of Claims 21, 26, 31 and 36 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 33, 35, 36, 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita et al (WIPO Publication 2024/069899), hereinafter Kurita, in view of Intel (Discussions on L1/L2 signaling for side control information: R1-2206598) (of record as provided with the IDS filed 20 June 2024). Note: An English translation of Kurita (European Patent Application Publication EP 4598192) is utilized herein for citation purposes.
Regarding Claim 31, Kurita discloses a network-controlled repeater (NCR) including an NCR mobile termination (NCR-MT) and an NCR forwarding (NCR-Fwd) (Figure 4 – NCR 300 comprises an NCR-MT and NCR-Fwd) comprising:
a transceiver (Figure 24 and paragraph 0287 – NCR comprises communication apparatus 100 (transmitting/receiving device));
a processor coupled with the transceiver (Figure 24 and paragraph 0280 – NCR comprises processor 1001 coupled to the communication apparatus) and configured to:
receive, by the NCR-MT on a control link via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, at least one forwarding resource set configuration for the NCR-Fwd (Figure 4 – NCR 300 is connected to base station 100 via control link (C-link); paragraphs 0046, 0049, 0051 – the NCR exchanges side control information (SCI) via control link, where the SCI includes information for controlling the NCR-Fwd and is indicated by at least one of RRC and MAC CE), wherein:
each of the at least one forwarding resource set configuration includes at least one forwarding resource configuration (paragraphs 0046, 0049, 0051 – the SCI includes information for controlling the NCR-Fwd; paragraphs 0053-0054 – time domain resources for access link beams explicitly indicated); and
each of the at least one forwarding resource configuration includes a beam index indicating a beam for an access link (paragraphs 0080-0081 – time domain resources that can be used by the NCR in the access link are indicated in the SCI, including DL/UL beam indications for the access link);
receive a media access control-control element (MAC-CE) to activate a forwarding resource set configuration among the at least one forwarding resource set configuration (paragraphs 0056, 0081, 0133 – ON-OFF control information for controlling behavior of NCR-Fwd included in SCI (sent via MAC CE)); and
perform, by the NCR-Fwd on the access link, communication using at least one forwarding resource corresponding to at least one forwarding resource configuration in the activated forwarding resource set configuration, wherein a beam indicated by a beam index in a forwarding resource configuration in the activated forwarding resource set configuration is used for communication on a forwarding resource corresponding to the forwarding resource configuration (paragraphs 0080-0081, the NCR-Fwd communicates on the access link in an applicable time domain resource (ATDR) utilizing the beam indication and ON-OFF indication).
However, Kurita does not disclose receiving, by the NCR-MT on the control link via a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). In an analogous art, Intel discloses this. Specifically, Intel discloses the gNB providing semi-static configurations (e.g., beam information for each time domain resource via MAC CE in a PDSCH (page 3, section 2.1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kurita and Intel. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide interference management and energy efficiency (refer to page 1, section 1 of Intel).
Claim 21 is a method claim comprising the same steps performed by the NCR of Claim 31. Therefore, Claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons as presented above for Claim 31.
Regarding Claim 36, Kurita discloses a base station (BS) (Figure 4, base station 100) comprising:
a transceiver (paragraphs 0262-0264 – the base station receives UL signals and transmits DL signals; therefore, the Office submits the base station inherently comprises a transceiver);
a processor coupled with the transceiver (the Office submits the base station inherently comprises a processor coupled with the transceiver in order to perform the disclosed steps (see paragraph 0294)) and configured to:
transmit, on a control link via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, at least one forwarding resource set configuration for a network controlled repeater forwarding (NCR-Fwd) (Figure 4 – NCR 300 is connected to base station 100 via control link (C-link); paragraphs 0046, 0049, 0051 – the NCR exchanges side control information (SCI) via control link, where the SCI includes information for controlling the NCR-Fwd and is indicated by at least one of RRC and MAC CE), wherein:
each of the at least one forwarding resource set configuration includes at least one forwarding resource configuration (paragraphs 0046, 0049, 0051 – the SCI includes information for controlling the NCR-Fwd; paragraphs 0053-0054 – time domain resources for access link beams explicitly indicated); and
each of the at least one forwarding resource configuration includes a beam index indicating a beam for an access link (paragraphs 0080-0081 – time domain resources that can be used by the NCR in the access link are indicated in the SCI, including DL/UL beam indications for the access link);
transmit a media access control- control element (MAC-CE) to activate a forwarding resource set configuration among the at least one forwarding resource set configuration (paragraphs 0056, 0081, 0133 – ON-OFF control information for controlling behavior of NCR-Fwd included in SCI (sent via MAC CE)); and
wherein communication via the access link on at least one forwarding resource corresponding to at least one forwarding resource configuration is associated with the activated forwarding resource set configuration (paragraphs 0080-0081, the NCR-Fwd communicates on the access link in an applicable time domain resource (ATDR) utilizing the beam indication and ON-OFF indication), and
wherein a beam indicated by a beam index in a forwarding resource configuration in the activated forwarding resource set configuration is associated with communication via the access link on a forwarding resource corresponding to the forwarding resource configuration (paragraphs 0080-0081, the NCR-Fwd communicates on the access link in an applicable time domain resource (ATDR) utilizing the beam indication and ON-OFF indication).
However, Kurita does not disclose transmitting via a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). In an analogous art, Intel discloses this. Specifically, Intel discloses the gNB providing semi-static configurations (e.g., beam information for each time domain resource via MAC CE in a PDSCH (page 3, section 2.1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kurita and Intel. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide interference management and energy efficiency (refer to page 1, section 1 of Intel).
Claim 26 is a method claim comprising the same steps performed by the base station of Claim 36. Therefore, Claim 26 is rejected for the same reasons as presented above for Claim 36.
Regarding Claims 23 and 33, the combination of Kurita and Intel further discloses receiving, by the NCR-MT via a second PDSCH, a MAC-CE to deactivate the forwarding resource set configuration (Intel at page 4 and Section 2.1 – PDSCH carries side control information; Intel at page 5 and Figure 3 – an on/off pattern with periodicity can be indicated for NCR-Fwd, wherein a case of a time resource with different on/off indications has a dynamic “off” indication); and stopping the communication on the at least one forwarding resource corresponding to the at least one forwarding resource configuration in the deactivated forwarding resource set configuration (Intel at page 4 and Section 2.1 – PDSCH carries side control information; Intel at page 5 and Figure 3 – the NCR-Fwd transitions to an off state in response to receiving on/off indication). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Kurita and Intel. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide interference management and energy efficiency (refer to page 1, section 1 of Intel).
Regarding Claims 28 and 38, the combination of Kurita and Intel further discloses transmitting, via a second PDSCH, a MAC-CE to deactivate the forwarding resource set configuration (Intel at page 4 and Section 2.1 – PDSCH carries side control information; Intel at page 5 and Figure 3 – an on/off pattern with periodicity can be indicated for NCR-Fwd, wherein a case of a time resource with different on/off indications has a dynamic “off” indication). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Kurita and Intel. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide interference management and energy efficiency (refer to page 1, section 1 of Intel).
Regarding Claims 25, 30, 35 and 40, Kurita discloses each of the at least one forwarding resource set configuration includes a reference SCS configuration for at least one corresponding forwarding resource configuration (paragraphs 0102 and 0118 – SCS for the ATRD for the NCR-Fwd is configured in the SCI), and wherein a slot offset for a particular forwarding resource (paragraphs 0112- 0116 – a slot index for the ATDR for the NCR-Fwd is indicated as an offset for the slot that carries the SCI; Figure 19 and paragraph 0226 – the TRDA table for the ATDR for the NCR-Fwd includes slot index), a symbol offset for the particular forwarding resource (Figure 19 and paragraph 0226 – the TRDA table for the ATDR for the NCR-Fwd includes start symbol), and a number of symbols for the particular forwarding resource are configured based on a particular forwarding resource configuration corresponding to the particular forwarding resource among the at least one forwarding resource configuration (Figure 19 and paragraph 0226 – the TRDA table for the ATDR for the NCR-Fwd includes start symbol and number of symbols).
Claims 24, 29, 34 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita in view of Intel, as applied to claims 21, 26, 31 and 36 above, and further in view of Tian et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 2025/0219708), hereinafter Tian. The combination of Kurita and Intel discloses the limitations of Claims 21, 26, 31 and 36, as described above. However, the aforementioned references do not disclose the MAC-CE includes a first field indicating the activated forwarding set configuration and a second field, wherein a value of the second field is 1: the MAC-CE includes a beam index #j where j=0, 1, ..., J-1 and J is a number of the at least one forwarding resource; wherein the beam index #j indicates an updated beam index for a j+1th forwarding resource among the at least one forwarding resource, and wherein an updated beam indicated by the beam index #j is used for communication on the j+1th forwarding resource. In an analogous art, Tian discloses this. Specifically, at paragraphs 0136-0143 and Figure 6, Tian discloses a MAC-CE indicating activated or deactivated states of beam indexes, wherein, if a certain domain in the MAC CE is set to be 1, then the beam is activated. The domain in the MAC CE can activate beams according to a correspondence as described in paragraphs 0140-0142 and shown in Figure 6. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kurita / Intel and Tian. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance coverage and reduce interference to other surrounding devices (paragraph 0009 of Tian).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22, 27, 32 and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fang et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 20240057084) discloses the NCR-Fwd may be configured with different elements of a table to correspondingly apply one beam ID and one transmission power for forwarding the signal(s) to the UE or to the BS (paragraph 0034).
You et al (United States Pre-Grant Publication 20250253928) discloses providing a list of forwarding resources that each include a beam index and time resource (refer to Figure 15).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW W CHRISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472