Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of a third species of Figs. 1 – 2 comprising claims 1-3, 6-15, 18-31, 38 in the reply filed on 06/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4 – 5, 16 – 17, 32 – 37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/18/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As to Claim 8, the instant claim recites the phrase “an circuit” in line 10. Examiner suggests to change “an circuit” to “a circuit”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11 – 13, 25, 29, 31 and 38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1, the instant claim recites the limitation “a coaxial cable connector” in line 14. It is vague/unclear if “a coaxial cable connector” (line 14) is different or additional coaxial cable connector than “a coaxial cable connector” of lines 2 – 3 of the instant claim. For examining purposes, examiner has interpreted the aforementioned limitation to be the same as “a coaxial cable connector” of lines 2 – 3 of the instant claim.
As to Claim 1, the instant claim recites “an outer conductor of the coaxial cable connector” (lines 15 – 16) (emphasis added). Is applicant’s intent to indicate an outer conductor of the coaxial cable itself OR of “the coaxial cable connector” (emphasis added)? Examiner notes that the instant claim then recites “a center conductor of the coaxial cable” (line 17) which leads the examiner to speculate that the claimed “an outer conductor and “a center conductor” to be of the “coaxial cable” and not the coaxial cable connector. Thus, resulting in unclear scope of the claim. For examining purposes, examiner has interpreted the aforementioned limitation to be “an outer conductor of the coaxial cable”.
As to Claim 11, the instant claim recites the limitation “a coaxial cable connector” in line 2. It is vague/unclear if “a coaxial cable connector” (line 2) is different or additional coaxial cable connector than “a coaxial cable connector” of line 3 of claim 8 from which the instant claim depends. For examining purposes, examiner has interpreted the aforementioned limitation to be the same as “a coaxial cable connector” of line 3 of claim 8.
As to Claim 12, the instant claim recites the limitation "the connection portion" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation resulting in unclear scope of the claim. Examiner notes that “connection portion” is recited in claim 11 however instant claim 12 depends on independent claim 8 and does not depend on claim 11.
As to Claim 13, the instant claim recites the limitation “an inner conductor” in line 3. It is vague/unclear as to what portion or structure “an inner conductor” is referring to. Does it refer to “an inner conductor portion” of line 4 of claim 8? Or does it refer to an inner conductor of a coaxial cable? Or of a coaxial cable connector? Therefore, resulting in unclear scope of the claim.
As to Claim 25, the instant claim recites the limitation "the connection portion" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation resulting in unclear scope of the claim. Examiner notes that “connection portion” is recited in claim 24 however instant claim 25 depends on independent claim 19 and does not depend on claim 24.
As to Claim 29, the instant claim recites the limitation "the cable cavity portion" in lines 2 – 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation resulting in unclear scope of the claim.
As to Claim 31, the instant claim recites the limitation "the moisture engagement portion” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation resulting in unclear scope of the claim. Examiner notes that “moisture engagement portion” is recited in claim 30 however, instant claim 31 depends on independent claim 19 and does not depend on claim 30.
As to Claim 38, the instant claim recites the limitation "the cable cavity portion" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation resulting in unclear scope of the claim.
Due to claim dependency, all dependent claims are also rejected (claims 2-3, 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6 – 15, 18 – 31, 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2001006822A to Matsuda Nobuyoshi et al. (hereinafter “Matsuda”).
Note: machine translated document of Matsuda is attached to this office action for easier reference.
Regarding Claim 1, Matsuda teaches a cable moisture detector configured to detect moisture in a coaxial cable (see abstract, see paragraphs [0013] – [0014] describing detecting water invading a connector arranged at an end portion of a cable, see also paragraphs [0022] – [0025], Figs. 1 - 3), comprising:
a housing portion (see for instance housing at the second connection tube or the cylindrical body 3, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0004] – [0006], [0021] – [0024]) configured to mechanically couple with a coaxial cable connector (see first connection tube 2 connected to the cylindrical body 3, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0004] – [0006]) that terminates a coaxial cable (see arrangement at Fig. 1, illustrating the coaxial cable 100 connected to the respective sections);
an inner conductor portion (see contact 7, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0007], [0018]) disposed in at least a portion of a housing cavity portion (see cavity portion illustrated at Fig. 1 which is inside the cylindrical body 3) of the housing portion (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating contact 7 within the cavity 3) and structurally configured to pass a signal through the housing portion (see paragraph [0022] which states “The water detecting section 50 is disposed on the inner surface of the cylindrical body 3 of the connector 110, and the electric state of the water detecting section 50 changes depending on the water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7. The electrical state of the water detector 50 is monitored by a monitoring circuit (not shown) connected via the lead wires 50a and 50b. Based on the electrical state of the water detector 50 monitored by the monitoring circuit, it can be determined whether or not water is present between the tubular body 3 and the contact 7”, see also paragraph [0024] and Figs. 1 – 3, hence reading on the invention as claimed) to a moisture alert device (see alert portion at the monitoring circuit 60, Fig. 2 which is electrically connected to the water detecting section 50, see paragraphs [0031] – [0034]) that is configured to provide a moisture presence alert when moisture is detected in the housing cavity portion (see paragraphs [0024] – [0026] describing the water detection section 50 having an electrode 54 electrically connected to the monitoring circuit 60 in order to indicate intrusion of water, see also paragraphs [0031] – [0033] describing the monitoring circuit 60 comprising a warning signal generating circuit 66 which generates a warning signal S which is used to trigger a signal for turning on an alarm or turning on a warning light when presence of water is detected, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
a moisture detection circuit (see water detection section 50 comprising an electrode 54 formed on an insulating layer 52 and electrically connected to a monitoring circuit 60 through lead wirings 50a, 50b, see paragraph [0024] and Figs. 1 - 3, hence reading on the invention as claimed) disposed in at least a portion of the housing cavity portion (see arrangement at Fig. 1);
wherein the housing portion (3) comprises an outer conductor portion (see paragraph [0008] describing the components other than the insulating member of the connector are made of a conductive metal, hence including an outer conductor portion of the housing portion as claimed) that is configured to at least partially surround the inner conductor portion (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating the housing portion 3 (i.e., being made of a conductive material) surrounding the inner conductor portion 7, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
wherein the housing portion (3) includes a connection portion that is configured to at least partially receive a coaxial cable connector (see coaxial cable connector at the first connection tube 2 and connected to the cylindrical body or the claimed housing portion 3 at the split clamp region 4, see paragraphs [0003] – [0007]) that terminates the coaxial cable (100, see arrangement at Fig. 1);
wherein the connection portion (2, 4) is configured to electrically couple an outer conductor of the coaxial cable connector (see outer conductor 101 of the coaxial cable 100, see paragraph [0004]) with the outer conductor portion (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating the connection of 101 with the first connection tube 2, which is also considered as the outer conductor portion since all components of the connector are made of conductive metal as described above and in paragraph [0008]) and to electrically couple a center conductor of the coaxial cable (see inner conductor 102 of the coaxial cable 100, see paragraph [0004] and Fig. 1) with the inner conductor portion (see paragraph [0006] which states “The inner conductor 102 of the coaxial cable 100 is electrically connected to the contact 7 in the second connecting tube 3”, hence reading on the invention as claimed); and
wherein the moisture detection circuit (50) comprises a circuit (see water detection section 50 comprising an electrode 54 formed on an insulating layer 52 and electrically connected to a monitoring circuit 60 through lead wirings 50a, 50b, see paragraphs [0022] - [0024], hence reading on the invention as claimed) that is configured to change a signal value when moisture is present in the housing cavity portion (see paragraphs [0014], [0022] describing the electric state of the water detection section 50 changes depending on the water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7, note that the contact 7 is connected to the inner conductor of the cable as described at paragraphs [0006] – [0007] and [0018]) and relay an electronic signal to the moisture alert device so as to provide the moisture presence alert that moisture is present in the coaxial cable when moisture is detected in the housing cavity portion (see paragraphs [0022] – [0026], [0031] – [0034] describing the monitoring circuit 60 which has a resistance measuring circuit 62, a comparing circuit 64 and a warning signal generating circuit 66 and further states “When the warning signal generation circuit 66 receives a signal indicating that the measured resistance value is smaller than the standard resistance value from the comparison circuit 64, the warning signal generation circuit 66 generates the warning signal S and outputs it from the terminal 60c. The warning signal S is used as a trigger signal for turning on an alarm or turning on a warning light”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Insofar as Matsuda may be construed as not explicitly stating the moisture alert device generating the cable moisture alert that “moisture is present in the coaxial cable” (emphasis added), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize Matsuda’s detected moisture between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7 (as described at paragraph [0022], which is inside the connector) as described above is also indicative of a moisture in the coaxial cable, since the inner conductor 102 of the coaxial cable 100 is electrically connected to the contact 7 as described at paragraph [0006], hence reading on the invention as claimed.
Even though Matsuda teaches the inner conductor portion passing a signal through the housing portion and the moisture detection circuit comprising a circuit configured to change a signal value as described above, Matsuda does not explicitly teach the signal being an RF signal and the circuit being an RF circuit. However, Matsuda teaches use of AC voltage signal in a desired configuration, thus resulting in certain frequency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use RF signal and consequently an RF circuit, since it is known in the art of moisture detectors that variety of signals can be used including that of an RF signal based on user’s desire and design choice. The modification of using RF signal in moisture detection systems allows for a broad material compatibility, cost-effective and simple design as RF based moisture sensors work well with a wide range of materials since they support broad frequency range to suit the different materials.
Regarding Claim 8, Matsuda teaches a cable moisture detector configured to detect moisture in a coaxial cable (see abstract, see paragraphs [0013] – [0014] describing detecting water invading a connector arranged at an end portion of a cable, see also paragraphs [0022] – [0025], Figs. 1 - 3), comprising:
a housing portion (see for instance housing at the second connection tube or the cylindrical body 3, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0004] – [0006], [0021] – [0024]) having a housing cavity portion (see cavity portion illustrated at Fig. 1 which is inside the cylindrical body 3) and configured to couple with a coaxial cable connector (see first connection tube 2 connected to the cylindrical body 3, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0004] – [0006]) that is configured to terminate a coaxial cable (see arrangement at Fig. 1, illustrating the coaxial cable 100 connected to the respective sections);
an inner conductor portion (see contact 7, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0007], [0018]) disposed in at least a portion of the housing cavity portion (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating contact 7 within the cavity 3) and configured to pass a moisture detection signal through the housing portion (see paragraph [0022] which states “The water detecting section 50 is disposed on the inner surface of the cylindrical body 3 of the connector 110, and the electric state of the water detecting section 50 changes depending on the water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7. The electrical state of the water detector 50 is monitored by a monitoring circuit (not shown) connected via the lead wires 50a and 50b. Based on the electrical state of the water detector 50 monitored by the monitoring circuit, it can be determined whether or not water is present between the tubular body 3 and the contact 7”, see also paragraph [0024] and Figs. 1 – 3, hence reading on the invention as claimed) to a moisture presence alert portion (see alert portion at the monitoring circuit 60, Fig. 2 which is electrically connected to the water detecting section 50, see paragraphs [0031] – [0034]) that is configured to generate a moisture presence alert (see paragraphs [0024] – [0026] describing the water detection section 50 having an electrode 54 electrically connected to the monitoring circuit 60 in order to indicate intrusion of water, see also paragraphs [0031] – [0033] describing the monitoring circuit 60 comprising a warning signal generating circuit 66 which generates a warning signal S which is used to trigger a signal for turning on an alarm or turning on a warning light when presence of water is detected, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
a moisture detection portion (see water detecting section 50, Figs. 1 – 3, see paragraphs [0021] – [0025]) configured to be disposed in at least a portion of the housing cavity portion (see arrangement at Fig. 1); and
wherein the moisture detection portion (50) comprises an circuit (see water detection section 50 comprising an electrode 54 formed on an insulating layer 52 and electrically connected to a monitoring circuit 60 through lead wirings 50a, 50b, see paragraphs [0022] -[0024], hence reading on the invention as claimed) configured to change a signal value when moisture is present in the housing cavity portion so as to generate a moisture detected signal (see paragraphs [0014], [0022] describing the electric state of the water detection section 50 changes depending on the water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7, note that the contact 7 is connected to the inner conductor of the cable as described at paragraphs [0006] – [0007] and [0018]) and cause the moisture alert portion (see monitoring circuit 60, Fig. 2) to generate a moisture present alert that moisture is present in the coaxial cable when moisture is detected in the housing cavity portion (see paragraphs [0022] – [0026], [0031] – [0034] describing the monitoring circuit 60 which has a resistance measuring circuit 62, a comparing circuit 64 and a warning signal generating circuit 66 and further states “When the warning signal generation circuit 66 receives a signal indicating that the measured resistance value is smaller than the standard resistance value from the comparison circuit 64, the warning signal generation circuit 66 generates the warning signal S and outputs it from the terminal 60c. The warning signal S is used as a trigger signal for turning on an alarm or turning on a warning light”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Insofar as Matsuda may be construed as not explicitly stating the moisture alert portion generating the cable moisture alert that “moisture is present in the coaxial cable” (emphasis added), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize Matsuda’s detected moisture between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7 (as described at paragraph [0022], which is inside the connector) as described above is also indicative of a moisture in the coaxial cable, since the inner conductor 102 of the coaxial cable 100 is electrically connected to the contact 7 as described at paragraph [0006], hence reading on the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 19, Matsuda teaches a cable moisture detector configured to detect moisture in a coaxial cable (see abstract, see paragraphs [0013] – [0014] describing detecting water invading a connector arranged at an end portion of a cable, see also paragraphs [0022] – [0025], Figs. 1 - 3), comprising:
a moisture detection portion (see water detecting section 50, Figs. 1 – 3, see paragraphs [0021] – [0025]) disposed in at least a portion of a cavity portion (see cylindrical body 3, forming the claimed cavity portion as illustrated at Fig. 1, see paragraph [0022]) and configured to engage a cable moisture alert portion (see water detecting section 50 which includes an electrode 54 electrically connected to a monitoring circuit 60 by the lead wires 50a, 50b as described at paragraph [0024] and illustrated at Figs. 1 – 3) that is configured to generate a cable moisture alert when moisture is present in the cavity portion (see paragraphs [0024] – [0026] describing the water detection section 50 having an electrode 54 electrically connected to the monitoring circuit 60 in order to indicate intrusion of water, see also paragraphs [0031] – [0033] describing the monitoring circuit 60 comprising a warning signal generating circuit 66 which generates a warning signal S which is used to trigger a signal for turning on an alarm or turning on a warning light when presence of water is detected, hence reading on the invention as claimed); and
wherein the moisture detection portion (50) is configured to generate a moisture detected signal when moisture is present in the cavity portion (see paragraphs [0014], [0022] describing the electric state of the water detection section 50 changes depending on the water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7, note that the contact 7 is connected to the inner conductor of the cable as described at paragraphs [0006] – [0007] and [0018]) and cause the cable moisture alert portion (see monitoring circuit 60, Fig. 2) to generate the cable moisture alert that moisture is present in the coaxial cable when moisture is present in the cavity portion (see paragraphs [0022] – [0026], [0031] – [0034] describing the monitoring circuit 60 which has a resistance measuring circuit 62, a comparing circuit 64 and a warning signal generating circuit 66 and further states “When the warning signal generation circuit 66 receives a signal indicating that the measured resistance value is smaller than the standard resistance value from the comparison circuit 64, the warning signal generation circuit 66 generates the warning signal S and outputs it from the terminal 60c. The warning signal S is used as a trigger signal for turning on an alarm or turning on a warning light”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Insofar as Matsuda may be construed as not explicitly stating the moisture alert portion generating the cable moisture alert that “moisture is present in the coaxial cable” (emphasis added), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize Matsuda’s detected moisture between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7 (as described at paragraph [0022], which is inside the connector) as described above is also indicative of a moisture in the coaxial cable, since the inner conductor 102 of the coaxial cable 100 is electrically connected to the contact 7 as described at paragraph [0006], hence reading on the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 2, Matsuda teaches wherein the RF circuit configured to be connected to the inner conductor portion (see modification of claim RF circuit in claim 1 above, note that the moisture detector is electrically connected to the inner conductor portion 7 since the resistance is being measured between the body 3 and the contact 7, hence reading on the invention as claimed) and to generate the RF signal value (see paragraph [0022] which states “The water detecting section 50 is disposed on the inner surface of the cylindrical body 3 of the connector 110, and the electric state of the water detecting section 50 changes depending on the water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7. The electrical state of the water detector 50 is monitored by a monitoring circuit (not shown) connected via the lead wires 50a and 50b. Based on the electrical state of the water detector 50 monitored by the monitoring circuit, it can be determined whether or not water is present between the tubular body 3 and the contact 7”, see also paragraph [0024] and Figs. 1 – 3, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Even though Matsuda teaches the RF circuit as described above, Matsuda is silent regarding the RF circuit including an inductor and a capacitor. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a moisture detector circuit comprising components including inductor and capacitor, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification allows for a highly sensitive detection of moisture.
Regarding Claim 3, Matsuda as modified above teaches further comprising a contact connected to the RF circuit (see modification of RF circuit in claim 1 above, see a contact such as lead wires 50a, 50b connected to the circuit as described at paragraph [0022]), and wherein when the contact is contacted with moisture, the RF circuit value is changed (see paragraphs [0022] – [0028] describing detection of water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7 based on the electrical state of the water detection section 50 monitored by the monitoring circuit, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claims 6, 18 and 38, Matsuda as modified above teaches further comprising a holding portion (see paragraph [0007] and arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating the portion of the cylinder 3 that supports the contact 7, hence reading on the invention as claimed) disposed in at least a portion of the housing cavity portion and configured to hold the inner conductor (7) in at least a portion of the housing cavity portion (see arrangement at Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Matsuda as modified above teaches further comprising a moisture engaging portion (see paragraphs [0022] – [0028] describing the water detecting section 50 comprising an electrode 54 and an insulating layer 52, thus the electrode 54 serving as the moisture engaging portion as claimed) configured to cause the RF circuit to change state when moisture is present in the housing cavity portion so as to cause the RF circuit to change the RF signal value (see paragraphs [0022] – [0028] describing detection of water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7 based on the electrical state of the water detection section 50 monitored by the monitoring circuit, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 9, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the circuit configured to change a signal value when moisture is present in the housing cavity (see water detection section 50 comprising an electrode 54 formed on an insulating layer 52 and electrically connected to a monitoring circuit 60 through lead wirings 50a, 50b, see paragraphs [0022] -[0024], hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Even though Matsuda teaches a detection circuit as described above, Matsuda is silent regarding the circuit comprises an RF circuit. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an RF circuit, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification of using an RF circuit allows the moisture detector to be more cost effective, broad material compatibility and simple design as RF based moisture sensors work well with a wide range of materials since they support broad frequency range to suit the different materials.
Regarding Claims 10 and 23, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the housing portion (3) comprises an outer conductor portion (see paragraph [0008] describing the components other than the insulating member of the connector are made of a conductive metal, hence including an outer conductor portion of the housing portion as claimed) that is structurally configured to coaxially surround the inner conductor portion (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating the housing portion 3 (i.e., being made of a conductive material) surrounding the inner conductor portion 7, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claims 11 and 24, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the housing portion (3) includes a connection portion that is structurally configured to receive a coaxial cable connector (see coaxial cable connector at the first connection tube 2 and connected to the cylindrical body or the claimed housing portion 3 at the split clamp region 4, see paragraphs [0003] – [0007]) that terminates the coaxial cable (100, see arrangement at Fig. 1).
Regarding Claims 12 and 25, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the connection portion (see coaxial cable connector at the first connection tube 2 and connected to the cylindrical body or the claimed housing portion 3 at the split clamp region 4, see paragraphs [0003] – [0007]) is structurally configured to electrically couple an outer conductor of the coaxial cable connector (see outer conductor 101 of the coaxial cable 100, see paragraph [0004]) with the outer conductor portion (see arrangement at Fig. 1 illustrating the connection of 101 with the first connection tube 2, which is also considered as the outer conductor portion since all components of the connector are made of conductive metal as described above and in paragraph [0008]) and to electrically couple a center conductor of the coaxial cable (see inner conductor 102 of the coaxial cable 100, see paragraph [0004] and Fig. 1) with the inner conductor portion (see paragraph [0006] which states “The inner conductor 102 of the coaxial cable 100 is electrically connected to the contact 7 in the second connecting tube 3”, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 13, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the moisture detection portion (50) comprises a circuit (see circuit described at paragraphs [0022] – [0029]) connected to an inner conductor (see arrangement at Figs. 1, 2, illustrating the moisture detection portion connected to an inner conductor of 50 through lead wires 50, hence reading on the invention as claimed) and to generate the moisture detected signal (see paragraph [0022] which states “The water detecting section 50 is disposed on the inner surface of the cylindrical body 3 of the connector 110, and the electric state of the water detecting section 50 changes depending on the water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7. The electrical state of the water detector 50 is monitored by a monitoring circuit (not shown) connected via the lead wires 50a and 50b. Based on the electrical state of the water detector 50 monitored by the monitoring circuit, it can be determined whether or not water is present between the tubular body 3 and the contact 7”, see also paragraph [0024] and Figs. 1 – 3, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Even though Matsuda teaches the moisture detection portion comprising a circuit as described above, Matsuda is silent regarding the circuit including an inductor and a capacitor. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a moisture detector circuit comprising components including inductor and capacitor, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification allows for a highly sensitive detection of moisture.
Regarding Claim 14, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the moisture detection portion (50) further comprises a moisture engagement portion (see paragraphs [0022] – [0028] describing the water detecting section 50 comprising an electrode 54 and an insulating layer 52, thus the electrode 54 serving as the moisture engagement portion as claimed) that is configured to engage with the moisture detection portion (see arrangement at Figs. 1, 2, see paragraphs [0022] – [0028]), and wherein the moisture alert portion is configured to generate the moisture detected signal when moisture engages with the moisture engagement portion (see paragraphs [0024] – [0026] describing the water detection section 50 having an electrode 54 electrically connected to the monitoring circuit 60 in order to indicate intrusion of water, see also paragraphs [0031] – [0033] describing the monitoring circuit 60 comprising a warning signal generating circuit 66 which generates a warning signal S which is used to trigger a signal for turning on an alarm or turning on a warning light when presence of water is detected, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 15, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the moisture engagement portion comprises a moisture contact portion (see the circuitry comprising lead wires 50a, 50b, hence reading on the invention as claimed) that is configured to contact the moisture detection portion (50), and wherein the moisture alert portion is configured to generate the moisture detected signal when moisture contacts with the moisture contact portion (see paragraphs [0024] – [0026] describing the water detection section 50 having an electrode 54 electrically connected to the monitoring circuit 60 in order to indicate intrusion of water, see also paragraphs [0031] – [0033] describing the monitoring circuit 60 comprising a warning signal generating circuit 66 which generates a warning signal S which is used to trigger a signal for turning on an alarm or turning on a warning light when presence of water is detected, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 20, Matsuda as modified above teaches further comprising a housing portion (see for instance housing at the second connection tube or the cylindrical body 3, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0004] – [0006], [0021] – [0024]) structurally configured to mechanically couple with a coaxial cable connector (see first connection tube 2 connected to the cylindrical body 3, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0004] – [0006]) that terminates a coaxial cable (see arrangement at Fig. 1, illustrating the coaxial cable 100 connected to the respective sections).
Regarding Claim 21, Matsuda as modified above teaches further comprising an inner conductor portion (see contact 7, Fig. 1, see paragraphs [0007], [0018]) disposed in a cavity of the housing portion (see cavity portion illustrated at Fig. 1 which is inside the cylindrical body 3) and structurally configured to pass a moisture detection signal through the housing portion (see paragraph [0022] which states “The water detecting section 50 is disposed on the inner surface of the cylindrical body 3 of the connector 110, and the electric state of the water detecting section 50 changes depending on the water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7. The electrical state of the water detector 50 is monitored by a monitoring circuit (not shown) connected via the lead wires 50a and 50b. Based on the electrical state of the water detector 50 monitored by the monitoring circuit, it can be determined whether or not water is present between the tubular body 3 and the contact 7”, see also paragraph [0024] and Figs. 1 – 3, hence reading on the invention as claimed) to an electronic component (see alert portion at the monitoring circuit 60, Fig. 2 which is electrically connected to the water detecting section 50, see paragraphs [0031] – [0034]).
Regarding Claim 22, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the moisture detection portion (50) comprises a moisture detection circuit (see water detection section 50 comprising an electrode 54 formed on an insulating layer 52 and electrically connected to a monitoring circuit 60 through lead wirings 50a, 50b, see paragraph [0024], hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 26, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the moisture detection portion (50) comprise a moisture detection circuit (see water detection section 50 comprising an electrode 54 formed on an insulating layer 52 and electrically connected to a monitoring circuit 60 through lead wirings 50a, 50b, see paragraphs [0022] - [0024], hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 27, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the moisture detection circuit (see rejection to claim 26 above). Even though Matsuda teaches a detection circuit as described above, Matsuda is silent regarding the circuit comprises an RF circuit. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an RF circuit, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification of using an RF circuit allows the moisture detector to be more cost effective, broad material compatibility and simple design as RF based moisture sensors work well with a wide range of materials since they support broad frequency range to suit the different materials.
Regarding Claim 28, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the moisture detection portion (50) comprises a circuit (see circuit described at paragraphs [0022] – [0029]) connected to an inner cable conductor portion (see arrangement at Figs. 1, 2, illustrating the moisture detection portion connected to an inner conductor of 50 through lead wires 50, hence reading on the invention as claimed) and to generate the moisture detected signal (see paragraph [0022] which states “The water detecting section 50 is disposed on the inner surface of the cylindrical body 3 of the connector 110, and the electric state of the water detecting section 50 changes depending on the water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7. The electrical state of the water detector 50 is monitored by a monitoring circuit (not shown) connected via the lead wires 50a and 50b. Based on the electrical state of the water detector 50 monitored by the monitoring circuit, it can be determined whether or not water is present between the tubular body 3 and the contact 7”, see also paragraph [0024] and Figs. 1 – 3, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Even though Matsuda teaches the moisture detection portion comprising a circuit as described above, Matsuda is silent regarding the circuit including an inductor and a capacitor. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a moisture detector circuit comprising components including inductor and capacitor, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification allows for a highly sensitive detection of moisture.
Regarding Claim 29, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the moisture detection circuit (50) is configured to change a generated circuit value when moisture is present in the cable cavity portion (see paragraphs [0014], [0022] describing the electric state of the water detection section 50 changes depending on the water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7, note that the contact 7 is connected to the inner conductor of the cable as described at paragraphs [0006] – [0007] and [0018]).
Regarding Claim 30, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the moisture detection portion (50) comprises a moisture engagement portion (see paragraphs [0022] – [0028] describing the water detecting section 50 comprising an electrode 54 and an insulating layer 52, thus the electrode 54 serving as the moisture engagement portion as claimed) that is configured to cause the moisture detection signal to be generated when moisture engages the moisture engagement portion (see paragraphs [0022] – [0028] describing detection of water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7 based on the electrical state of the water detection section 50 monitored by the monitoring circuit, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 31, Matsuda as modified above teaches wherein the moisture engagement portion (see paragraphs [0022] – [0028] describing the water detecting section 50 comprising an electrode 54 and an insulating layer 52, thus the electrode 54 serving as the moisture engagement portion as claimed) comprises a moisture contact portion (see the circuitry comprising lead wires 50a, 50b, hence reading on the invention as claimed) that is configured to cause the moisture detection signal to be generated when moisture contacts the moisture contact portion (see paragraph [0022] which states “The water detecting section 50 is disposed on the inner surface of the cylindrical body 3 of the connector 110, and the electric state of the water detecting section 50 changes depending on the water existing between the cylindrical body 3 and the contact 7. The electrical state of the water detector 50 is monitored by a monitoring circuit (not shown) connected via the lead wires 50a and 50b. Based on the electrical state of the water detector 50 monitored by the monitoring circuit, it can be determined whether or not water is present between the tubular body 3 and the contact 7”, see also paragraph [0024] and Figs. 1 – 3, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form accompanying this office action which includes the following relevant prior art:
Bommarito et al. (U.S. 2016/0178553 A1) teaches an electronic moisture sensor comprising an RF circuit with inductor and capacitor connections.
WU (U.S. 2008/0246621 A1) teaches a leak detection system, comprising: a first water container, a water detection probe disposed in close proximity to the first water container, said probe having a sensing circuit for generating an electrical signal when moisture is sensed by the probe, a water input conduit coupled with the first water container for supplying the first water container with water from an external water source, and a water shut-off controller, functionally coupled with said water input conduit and electronically coupled with the detection probe, for regulating the supply of water from the external source to the first water container in response to electrical signals generated by the sensing circuit of the probe.
Hoenk (U.S. 5,739,416) teaches fast, high sensitivity dewpoint hygrometer that uses a surface moisture-sensitive sensor as part of an RF oscillator circuit with feedback control of the sensor temperature to maintain equilibrium at the sensor surface between ambient water vapor and condensed water/ice.
Thomas Symonds Alfred (U.S. 2613249 A) teaches a testing instrument that tests moisture content and utilizes components of inductor and capacitor.
/MARRIT EYASSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855