DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wire are connected in series” and “the spacers are connected to the ground wires” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 1. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
A preliminary examination of this application reveals that it includes terminology which is so different from that which is generally accepted in the art to which this invention pertains that a proper search of the prior art cannot be made. For example: “elastic pieces 24” while it means for electrical contacts.
Applicant is required to provide a clarification of these matters or correlation with art-accepted terminology so that a proper comparison with the prior art can be made. Applicant should be careful not to introduce any new matter into the disclosure (i.e., matter which is not supported by the disclosure as originally filed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3, the limitation “two signal wires” and “two ground wires” is unclear because the wire only has “a signal wire and a ground wire” as claimed in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Fong et al. (US 7,435,132).
Regarding claim 1, Fong et al. disclose a connector for preventing signal interference, comprising:
a connector housing (5);
a plurality of groups of wires (4) arranged in the connector housing, wherein any group of the wires comprise a signal wire (40) and a ground wire (43), and the ground wires in the plurality of groups of the wires are connected in series; and
a metal partition plate (6), wherein
a plurality of spacers (62) are arranged on the metal partition plate, the spacers are positioned on both sides of the wires to separate two adjacent groups of the wires, and the spacers are connected to the ground wires.
Regarding claim 5, Fong et al. disclose an insulating protective sleeve (3), and the insulating protective sleeve covers ends of the wires.
Regarding claim 6, Fong et al. disclose the insulating protective sleeve is provided as a plastic one-piece molded structure.
Regarding claim 7, Fong et al. disclose the metal partition plate is mounted on the insulating protective sleeve, and the insulating protective sleeve is provided with a slot for the spacer to pass through (see Fig. 3).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Chua et al. (US 2023/0127481).
Regarding claim 1, Chua et al. disclose a connector for preventing signal interference, comprising:
a connector housing (30);
a plurality of groups of wires (40) arranged in the connector housing, wherein any group of the wires comprise a signal wire (402) and a ground wire (406), and the ground wires in the plurality of groups of the wires are connected in series; and
a metal partition plate (6, 68), wherein
a plurality of spacers (680) are arranged on the metal partition plate, the spacers are positioned on both sides of the wires to separate two adjacent groups of the wires, and the spacers are connected to the ground wires.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong et al. (US 7,435,132).
Regarding claim 2, Fong et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the material of the metal partition plate is provided as a copper or stainless steel one-piece molded structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a material as copper or stainless steel for minimizing magnetic interference, since it has been held that to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chua et al. (US 2023/0127481).
Regarding claim 3, Chua et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the ground wire includes two ground wires are separated from the signal wire by an insulating medium, and the two signal wires are respectively connected to elastic pieces (66) that are connected to a PCB motherboard (1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the ground wire, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 4, in the modified connector, Chua et al. disclose the wires are arranged in a straight line, and the ground wires in two adjacent groups of the wires are connected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834