DETAILED ACTION
6.36 Drawings Do Not Show Claimed Subject Matter
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the Substrate layers as disclosed in Claim-10 & Claim-11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 8, 14, 15 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen [US20180177056] in view of Kariya et.al., US 20070134910
Regrading Claim-1 & Claim-2: Chen discloses - A printed circuit board (Fig. 3) , having a core board and a substrate (Fig. 3, 101), wherein the core board covers (Fig. 3, 103, 104, 1021) and is disposed on one of two opposing outer surfaces of the substrate (Fig. 3); and the core board having a first conductive layer (Fig. 3, 104), located on a side that is of the core board and that is away from the substrate; a second conductive layer, located on a side that is of the core board and that is close to the substrate (Fig. 3, 1021); and a first dielectric layer (Fig. 3, 103), located between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer (Fig. 3). Chen does not disclose having a flexible dielectric layer, wherein a Young's modulus of the flexible dielectric layer is less than or equal to a preset Young's modulus, wherein the preset Young's modulus is less than or equal to 15 GPa. Kariya et. al. discloses having a flexible dielectric layer, wherein a Young's modulus of the flexible dielectric layer is less than or equal to a preset Young's modulus, wherein the preset Young's modulus is less than or equal to 15 GPa (Paragraph 30). Would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention having a flexible dielectric layer, wherein a Young's modulus of the flexible dielectric layer is less than or equal to a preset Young's modulus, wherein the preset Young's modulus is less than or equal to 15 GPa as shown Kariya et. al. -with the circuit board of Chen, since this is commonly done so as to provide certain flexibility to the circuit board to help prevent damage from bending.
Regarding Claim-3, Chen discloses wherein the core board also covers and is disposed on the other outer surface of the two opposing outer surfaces of the substrate (Fig. 3, 103, 104, 1021) shows those layers at the both sides of the substrate.
Regarding Claim-8, Chen discloses the surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer (Fig., 103) [this dielectric layer has some degree of flexibility thus flexible] - and that is close to the first conductive layer is closely attached to the first conductive layer (Fig. 3, 104), and the surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the second conductive layer is closely attached to the second conductive layer (Fig. 3, 1021).
Regarding Claim-14, Chen discloses that the flexible dielectric layer is made of a polyimide material (Paragraph- 0005),
Regarding Claim-15, Chen discloses that the power device is electrically connected to the printed circuit board (Fig. 1, 1 shows a schematic view of a known electronic product with an LCD) is connected with an electric device
Claim(s) 4 – is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen [US20180177056] in view of Kariya et.al., US 20070134910 as detailed in Claim rejection one above and further in view of KIM [US 20220110212]
Regarding Claim-4, modified Chen does not disclose the first dielectric layer further comprises a prepreg, and the first dielectric layer is formed through hybrid lamination on the flexible dielectric layer and the prepreg. However KIM discloses the first dielectric layer further comprises a prepreg (Fig. 7, 50), and the first dielectric layer (Fig. 7, 13).
>>
Further claim language “is formed through hybrid lamination on the flexible dielectric layer and the prepreg”- is not given patentable weight since this a method of making the device which is not germane to the patentability of a device itself. Would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention having the first dielectric layer further comprises a prepreg as shown KIM with the circuit board of Chen, since this is commonly done- to provide the required support to the flexible circuit board.
Regarding Claim-5, modified Chen does not disclose wherein the prepreg partially or completely covers a surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the second conductive layer, a surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the first conductive layer is closely attached to the first conductive layer, and the prepreg is closely attached to both the flexible dielectric layer and the second conductive layer. However KIM discloses - wherein the prepreg (Fig. 7, 50) partially or completely covers a surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer (Fig. 7, 13) and that is close to the second conductive layer, a surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the first conductive layer is closely attached to the first conductive layer, and the prepreg is closely attached to both the flexible dielectric layer and the second conductive layer (Fig.7, 60). Would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention- the prepreg partially or completely covers a surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the second conductive layer, a surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the first conductive layer is closely attached to the first conductive layer, and the prepreg is closely attached to both the flexible dielectric layer and the second conductive layer as shown by KIM with the circuit board of Chen, since this is commonly done to provide the required support to the flexible circuit board.
Regarding Claim-6, modified Chen does not disclose - The printed circuit board according to claim 4, wherein both the surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the first conductive layer and the surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the second conductive layer partially or completely cover the prepreg, and the flexible dielectric layer is closely connected to both the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer by using the prepreg. However, KIM discloses – The printed circuit board according to claim 4, wherein both the surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the first conductive layer and the surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the second conductive layer partially or completely cover the prepreg, and the flexible dielectric layer is closely connected to both the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer by using the prepreg. The printed circuit board according to claim 4, wherein both the surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the first conductive layer and the surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the second conductive layer partially or completely cover the prepreg, and the flexible dielectric layer is closely connected to both the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer by using the prepreg. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention- The printed circuit board according to claim 4, wherein both the surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the first conductive layer and the surface that is of the flexible dielectric layer and that is close to the second conductive layer partially or completely cover the prepreg, and the flexible dielectric layer is closely connected to both the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer by using the prepreg. As shown by KIM with the circuit board of Chen, since this is commonly done to provide the required stability to the flexible circuit board.
Claim(s) 7 – is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen [US20180177056] in view of Kariya et.al., US 20070134910 and KIM [US 20220110212] as detailed in Claim rejection four above and further in view of Bagung [US 8624130 B2, Fig. 4, 102, Column-3, Lines 59-66].
Regarding Claim-7, modified Chen does not disclose that - the prepreg is an FR4 prepreg. However, Bagung does disclose that - the prepreg is an FR4 prepreg [Fig. 4, 102, Column-3, Lines 59-66]. Would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention that the prepreg is an FR4 prepreg as shown by Bagung. With the circuit board of Chen, since it is common to use FR4 prepreg for its durability.
Claim(s) 9 – is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen [US20180177056] in view of Kariya et.al., US 20070134910 ss detailed in Claim rejection one above and further in view of YANG [US 12041717 B2].
Regarding Claim-9, modified Chen does not disclose that- wherein a pad is disposed at the first conductive layer, and the flexible dielectric layer is disposed at a position that corresponds to the pad and is at the first dielectric layer. However, Yang discloses that wherein a pad is disposed at the first conductive layer, and the flexible dielectric layer is disposed at a position that corresponds to the pad and is at the first dielectric layer [Fig. 2B, 230]. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to use a pad that is disposed at the first conductive layer, and the flexible dielectric layer is disposed at a position that corresponds to the pad and is at the first dielectric layer as shown by Yang, with the circuit board of modified Chen. This is commonly done to allow the flexible circuit board to be electrically attached to an external component.
Claim(s) 1 – is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen [US20180177056] in view of Kariya et.al., US 20070134910 detailed in Claim rejection one above and further in view of MIN; Tae-Hong [20160192488]
Regarding Claim-11, modified Chen doe not discloses - N third conductive layers and M second dielectric layers, the third conductive layers and the second dielectric layers are alternately stacked, M = N + 1, and both N and M are natural numbers; and a part of the M second dielectric layers comprises the flexible dielectric layer; or each of the M second dielectric layers comprises the flexible dielectric layer. However, MIN et al.- discloses- N third conductive layers and M second dielectric layers, the third conductive layers and the second dielectric layers are alternately stacked, M = N + 1, and both N and M are natural numbers; and a part of the M second dielectric layers comprises the flexible dielectric layer; or each of the M second dielectric layers comprises the flexible dielectric layer [Fig. 2, 111 (insulating), 112 (metal), 113 (metal), 114 (insulating, covers the both the top and bottom of the substrate)] additionally MIN -discloses the substrate has improved Heat dissipating capability [Paragraph 11]. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to use - N third conductive layers and M second dielectric layers, the third conductive layers and the second dielectric layers are alternately stacked, M = N + 1, and both N and M are natural numbers; and a part of the M second dielectric layers comprises the flexible dielectric layer; or each of the M second dielectric layers comprises the flexible dielectric layer as shown by NIM, with the circuit board of Chen, since this is commonly done for improved heat dissipating capability.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 – are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen [US20180177056] in view of Kariya et.al., US 20070134910 detailed in Claim rejection one above and further in view of Anderson et al., [US 5527998 A, Claim#37].
Regarding Claim-12 and 13, modified Chen does not disclose that- wherein a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the flexible dielectric layer in an X-axis direction and a Y-axis direction is less than or equal to a preset threshold, whereas preset threshold is less than or equal to 30. However, Anderson et al., discloses- a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the flexible dielectric layer in an X-axis direction and a Y-axis direction is less than or equal to a preset threshold, whereas preset threshold is less than or equal to 30- Anderson et al., [US 5527998 A, Claim#37] Anderson discloses coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) at all of the metal traces & insulating layers needs to be roughly the same, since we know that modifies Chen uses Cupper metal traces, and we know the CTE for Cu- is 16.5. Thus, we want to select insulating layer’s CTE is 16.5, which is less than 30. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention that - a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the flexible dielectric layer in an X-axis direction and a Y-axis direction is less than or equal to a preset threshold, whereas preset threshold is less than or equal to 30, since this is commonly done for improved heat expansion capability in a flexible printed circuit board (the engineering toolbox, www.engineeringtoolbox.com states that Cu- has a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of 16.5. um\[mk] .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
OBAIDUL GANI
Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847