DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/ Argument
The amendment filed June 5th 2026 - has been entered in this application.
Modifications to the drawings are received & Objection to the drawings were removed in this office action.
Additional Claims 16-20 were received, and carefully examined by using a new art of reference, examination details for Claim 16-20 are provided below.
Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action. However, new Claim 16-20 were examined with a new prior art of reference.
Claims 1-15 are Allowable after careful consideration of the amendment filed by the applicant on June 5th 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 through 20 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen [US20180177056] in view of Kariya et.al., [US 20070134910], and further in view of Dutta [US 7975378 B1, Patent No- 7975378 B1]:
Regrading Claim-16, Chen discloses that a printed circuit board (in Fig.-3), comprising: a core board and a substrate (Fig. 3, Item- 101) - wherein the core board covers (Fig. 3, Item- 103, 104, 1021) and is disposed on one of two opposing outer surfaces of the substrate (Fig. 3, Item-101); and the core board comprises: a first conductive layer, located on a side that is of the core board and that is away from the substrate (Fig. 3, Item-104); a second conductive layer (Fig. 3, Item- 1021), located on a side that is of the core board and that is close to the substrate; and a first dielectric layer, located between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer and comprising a flexible dielectric layer (Fig. 3, Item- 103).
Chen does not disclose that the first dielectric layer that further comprises prepreg layers that cover and are disposed on an upper surface and a lower surface of the flexible dielectric layer, and the first dielectric layer is formed through hybrid lamination on the flexible dielectric layer and the prepreg layers,
However, Dutta – discloses that the first dielectric layer that further comprises prepreg layers that cover and are disposed on an upper surface and a lower surface of the flexible dielectric layer (Fig.1, Item- 105 and 125), and the first dielectric layer is formed through hybrid lamination on the flexible dielectric layer and the prepreg layers, wherein the prepeg layers include a prepeg (Fig.1, Item-130) that partially or completely covers the upper surface of the flexible dielectric layer and the prepeg (Fig.1, Item-130) layers include a prepeg that partially or completely covers the lower surface of the flexible dielectric layer, and the flexible dielectric layer is closely connected to both the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer by using the prepreg layers (Fig.1, Item-130). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention using a prepreg between layers on both sides of a dielectric layer for better support and insulating properties..
Chen- does not disclose having a flexible dielectric layer, wherein a Young's modulus of the flexible dielectric layer is less than or equal to a preset Young's modulus, wherein the preset Young's modulus is less than or equal to 15 GPa. However, Kariya et. al. discloses having a flexible dielectric layer, wherein a Young's modulus of the flexible dielectric layer is less than or equal to a preset Young's modulus, wherein the preset Young's modulus is less than or equal to 15 GPa (Kariya, Paragraph 30). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention having a flexible dielectric layer, wherein a Young's modulus of the flexible dielectric layer is less than or equal to a preset Young's modulus, wherein the preset Young's modulus is less than or equal to 15 GPa as shown Kariya et. al. -with the circuit board of Chen, since this is commonly done so as to provide certain flexibility to the circuit board to help prevent damage from bending. Note the limitation ” the first dielectric layer is formed through hybrid lamination on the flexible dielectric layer “ is not given patentable weight since the method of making the device is not germane to the patentability of the device its self.
Regarding Claim-18, Chen- does not disclose that the core board also covers and is disposed on the other outer surface of the two opposing outer surfaces of the substrate. However, Dutta- discloses that the core board also covers and is disposed on the other outer surface of the two opposing outer surfaces of the substrate (Fig. 1, Item- 140 & Item-100).
Regarding Claim-19, Chen- does not disclose that the prepreg of the prepreg layers is an FR4 prepreg. However, Dutta- discloses that the prepreg of the prepreg layers is an FR4 prepreg [Fig. 6(B) and Fig.7(B)]. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to use the prepreg layers is an FR4 prepreg as shown by Dutta since this material is commonly used for its durability.
Claim-20 – is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen [US20180177056] in view of Kariya et.al., US 20070134910 as detailed in Claim-1 rejection in the previous office action (NFR), and further in view of YANG [US 12041717 B2].
Regarding Claim-20, modified Chen- does not disclose that- wherein a pad is disposed at the first conductive layer, and the flexible dielectric layer is disposed at a position that corresponds to the pad and is at the first dielectric layer. However, Yang- discloses that wherein a pad is disposed at the first conductive layer, and the flexible dielectric layer is disposed at a position that corresponds to the pad and is at the first dielectric layer [Fig. 2B, 230]. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to use a pad that is disposed at the first conductive layer, and the flexible dielectric layer is disposed at a position that corresponds to the pad and is at the first dielectric layer as shown by Yang, with the circuit board of modified Chen. This is commonly done to allow the flexible circuit board to be electrically attached to an external component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OBAIDUL GANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847