FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2020/0053599A1 to Damnjanovic et al. (“Damnjanovic”) in view of U.S. Pa. PGPUB 2007/0268812A1 to Yoon et al. (“Yoon”) and WIPO PCT Publication WO2017/044420A1 to Sahin et al. (“Sahin”).
As to claim 1, Damnjanovic discloses:
A method, comprising:
generating, by a first communication apparatus, an uplink signal, wherein a frame structure of the uplink signal comprises […] a synchronization sequence is located in a first duration of the […]frame, a data frame is located in a second duration of the […]frame, the first duration is before the second duration,
Damnjanovic discloses a method for communicating in a network comprising generating by a communication apparatus (“first apparatus”) and receiving by another apparatus (“second apparatus”) an uplink signal. Damnjanovic at ¶¶39 and 43. The frame for the signal comprises a synchronization sequence in a first duration of the frame and a data section in a second subsequent duration. Id. at FIG 4 and at ¶¶108-110.
the synchronization sequence successively comprises a first sequence repeated N1 times and a second sequence repeated N2 times, the second sequence is obtained by multiplying the first sequence by -1, a part of consecutive sequences of the synchronization sequence provides a first synchronization reference sequence, the first synchronization reference sequence is obtained based on the second sequence repeated N2 times and one or more first sequences that are sorted from back to front in the first sequence repeated N1 times, N, N1, and N2 are all positive integers, N is greater than 2, and N2 is greater than 1;
Damnjanovic discloses the synchronization sequence comprises a first sequence repeated N1 times, N1 being a positive integer, and a second sequence repeated N2 times, N2 being a positive integer greater than 1, the second sequence being obtained by multiplying the first by -1. Damnjanovic at FIG 7 and at ¶¶119-121 (“In one example, coexistence preamble 705 may include first sequence S1 repeated two or more times in a row. In some cases, synchronization field 710 may include a phase-shifted version of S1 (e.g., −S1). As shown, synchronization field 710 may include a single instance of sequence −S1. Alternatively, synchronization field 710 may include two or more instances of a sequence such as −S1.”). Thus Damnjanovic discloses a sequence 710 which may comprise two -S1 elements, preceded by a sequence 705 made up of a number of S1 elements. Id.
and sending, by the first communication apparatus, the uplink signal to a network device […]
Damnjanovic discloses sending the uplink signal to the network device. Damnjanovic at ¶¶39 and 43.
Damnjanovic discloses the creation and sending of a frame, but not a superframe or control information as to subcarrier spacing. Damnjanovic does not disclose a reference sequence.
Yoon discloses an analogous invention, namely a frame layout in a wireless communication system, wherein a number of PHY frames may be aggregated into a single unit (“superframe”) with a single PHY header. Yoon at FIG 2 and at ¶¶19 and 60. Yoon specifies that a superframe preamble may comprise control information indicating a subcarrier spacing for further communications. Id. and at ¶¶61-62 and TABLES 18-20 etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Damnjanovic to include multiple frames in a superframe. Yoon shows that frame aggregation was known in the art at the time, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood it to allow a better use of bandwidth for a user device. Further, one of ordinary skill would have understood such a modification to merely be an example of applying a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way, yielding predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. C., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As to a reference sequence, Sahin discloses an analogous art, namely a wireless network wherein frames for transmission include a synchronization portion comprising a first set of Golay sequences followed by an alternate set of sequences. Sahin at FIG 10 and ¶¶131-134, noting a short training field (STF) followed by a channel estimation field (CEF). Specifically, Sahin discloses provisioning a special sequence (reads “reference”) made up of the second sequence and the last one or more elements of the first sequence. Id., noting “the vector suv may correspond to the first sequence including the last part of the STF and the CEFs”.
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify Damnjanovic to include the reference sequence of Sahin. First, the claim does not recite any use for the reference sequence at all; thus the determination that some portion of the synchronization field be called a “reference sequence” is arbitrary. Second, Sahin shows the use of such a feature in a system like that of Damnjanovic, and thus one of ordinary skill would have understood such a modification to merely be an example of applying a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way, yielding predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. C., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 7:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first sequence and the second sequence each are an M-sequence whose length is 15, and a sum of Ni and N2 is 20.
Damnjanovic states that the first and second sequences may be repeated two more times, which includes a sum of 20. Damnjanovic states the sequence may be similar to a Golay sequence, which includes an M-sequence. Damnjanovic at ¶38. As such the Examiner considers a length of 15 to be implicit disclosure in Damnjanovic and Sahin. “[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 2144.01.
Further as to claim 13:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the uplink signal is transmitted based on a single carrier.
Damnjanovic discloses the signal may be based on a single carrier. Damnjanovic at ¶115, 184.
As to claim 19, Damnjanovic discloses:
A communication apparatus, comprising one or more processors, wherein one or more processors is configured to execute instructions that cause the communication apparatus to:
Damnjanovic discloses an apparatus comprising a processor running software. Damnjanovic at ¶189.
generate an uplink signal, wherein a frame structure of the uplink signal comprises […] a synchronization sequence is located in a first duration of the […]frame, a data frame is located in a second duration of the […]frame, the first duration is before the second duration,
Damnjanovic discloses generating by the communication apparatus (“first apparatus”) an uplink signal. Damnjanovic at ¶¶39 and 43. The frame for the signal comprises a synchronization sequence in a first duration of the frame and a data section in a second subsequent duration. Id. at FIG 4 and at ¶¶108-110.
the synchronization sequence successively comprises a first sequence repeated N1 times and a second sequence repeated N2 times, the second sequence is obtained by multiplying the first sequence by -1, a part of consecutive sequences of the synchronization sequence provides a first synchronization reference sequence, the first synchronization reference sequence is obtained based on the second sequence repeated N2 times and one or more first sequences that are sorted from back to front in the first sequence repeated N1 times, N, N1, and N2 are all positive integers, N is greater than 2, and N2 is greater than 1;
Damnjanovic discloses the synchronization sequence comprises a first sequence repeated N1 times, N1 being a positive integer, and a second sequence repeated N2 times, N2 being a positive integer greater than 1, the second sequence being obtained by multiplying the first by -1. Damnjanovic at FIG 7 and at ¶¶119-121 (“In one example, coexistence preamble 705 may include first sequence S1 repeated two or more times in a row. In some cases, synchronization field 710 may include a phase-shifted version of S1 (e.g., −S1). As shown, synchronization field 710 may include a single instance of sequence −S1. Alternatively, synchronization field 710 may include two or more instances of a sequence such as −S1.”). Thus Damnjanovic discloses a sequence 710 which may comprise two -S1 elements, preceded by a sequence 705 made up of a number of S1 elements. Id.
and send the uplink signal to a network device [...]
Damnjanovic discloses sending the uplink signal to the network device. Damnjanovic at ¶¶39 and 43.
Damnjanovic discloses the creation and sending of a frame, but not a superframe or control information as to subcarrier spacing. Damnjanovic does not disclose a reference sequence.
Yoon discloses an analogous invention, namely a frame layout in a wireless communication system, wherein a number of PHY frames may be aggregated into a single unit (“superframe”) with a single PHY header. Yoon at FIG 2 and at ¶¶19 and 60. Yoon specifies that a superframe preamble may comprise control information indicating a subcarrier spacing for further communications. Id. and at ¶¶61-62 and TABLES 18-20 etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Damnjanovic to include multiple frames in a superframe. Yoon shows that frame aggregation was known in the art at the time, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood it to allow a better use of bandwidth for a user device. Further, one of ordinary skill would have understood such a modification to merely be an example of applying a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way, yielding predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. C., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As to a reference sequence, Sahin discloses an analogous art, namely a wireless network wherein frames for transmission include a synchronization portion comprising a first set of Golay sequences followed by an alternate set of sequences. Sahin at FIG 10 and ¶¶131-134, noting a short training field (STF) followed by a channel estimation field (CEF). Specifically, Sahin discloses provisioning a special sequence (reads “reference”) made up of the second sequence and the last one or more elements of the first sequence. Id., noting “the vector suv may correspond to the first sequence including the last part of the STF and the CEFs”.
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify Damnjanovic to include the reference sequence of Sahin. First, the claim does not recite any use for the reference sequence at all; thus the determination that some portion of the synchronization field be called a “reference sequence” is arbitrary. Second, Sahin shows the use of such a feature in a system like that of Damnjanovic, and thus one of ordinary skill would have understood such a modification to merely be an example of applying a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way, yielding predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. C., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 20:
The communication apparatus according to claim 19, further comprising a non- transitory memory, wherein the non-transitory memory stores the instructions run by the one or more processors.
Damnjanovic discloses the instructions are stored on a memory. Damnjanovic at ¶¶190-191.
Claims 2-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Patent PGPUB 2019/0150190A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”).
As to claim 2:
The method according to claim 1, wherein a subcarrier spacing that generates the uplink signal is 60 kHz, a length of the first duration is 40 ms, a length of the second duration is 60 ms, the data frame comprises six radio frames, and a length of each of the six radio frames is 10 ms.
Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin teaches claim 1 above, and Yoon discloses that the number of frames in the superframe is one or more, which includes six. Damnjanovic states that the first and second sequences may be repeated two more more times, which means the durations would include 40 and 60 ms. However, Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin does not specify frame length and subcarrier spacing.
Kim discloses a wireless network including subcarrier spacing of 60KHz and frame length of 10ms. Kim at ¶85.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin to include such details. One of ordinary skill would have understood such a modification to merely be an example of applying a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way, yielding predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. C., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 3:The method according to claim 2, wherein the first sequence and the second sequence each are a Golay sequence whose length is 64, N1 is 32, and N2 is 5.
Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin disclose Golay sequences as noted above as to claim 1. Damnjanovic states that the first and second sequences may be repeated two more more times, which includes lengths of 32 and 5. Lastly, Sahin states Golay elements of 32, 64, 128, 256, or 512 bits. Sahin at claim 36.
Further as to claim 4:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the first sequence and the second sequence each are an M-sequence whose length is 63, and a sum of N1 and N2 is 38.
Damnjanovic states that the first and second sequences may be repeated two more more times, which includes a sum of 38. Damnjanovic states the sequence may be similar to a Golay sequence, which includes an M-sequence. Damnjanovic at ¶38. As such the Examiner considers a length of 63 to be implicit disclosure in Damnjanovic. “[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 2144.01.
As to claim 5:
The method according to claim 1, wherein a subcarrier spacing that generates the uplink signal is 15 kHz, a length of the first duration is 20 ms, a length of the second duration is 80 ms, the data frame comprises two radio frames, and a length of each of the two radio frames is 40 ms.
Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin teaches claim 1 above, and Yoon discloses that the number of frames in the superframe is one or more, which includes two. Damnjanovic states that the first and second sequences may be repeated two more more times, which means the durations would include 20 and 80 ms. However, Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin does not specify frame length and subcarrier spacing.
Kim discloses a wireless network including subcarrier spacing of 15KHz and frame length of 40ms. Kim at ¶85.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin to include such details. One of ordinary skill would have understood such a modification to merely be an example of applying a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way, yielding predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. C., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 6:
The method according to claim 5, wherein:
the first sequence and the second sequence each are a Golay sequence whose length is 16, and a sum of N1 and N2 is 18; or the first sequence is an M-sequence whose length is 15, and a sum of Ni and N2 is 20.
Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin disclose Golay sequences as noted above as to claim 1. Damnjanovic states that the first and second sequences may be repeated two more more times, which includes a sum of lengths of 18. Damnjanovic states the sequence may be similar to a Golay sequence, which includes an M-sequence. Damnjanovic at ¶38. Lastly, Sahin states Golay elements of 32, 64, 128, 256, or 512 bits. Sahin at claim 36. As such the Examiner considers a length of 16 or 15 to be implicit disclosure in Damnjanovic and Sahin. “[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 2144.01.
As to claim 8:
The method according to claim 1, wherein a subcarrier spacing that generates the uplink signal is 30 kHz, a length of the first duration is 40 ms, a length of the second duration is 60 ms, the data frame comprises three radio frames, and a length of each of the three radio frames is 20 ms.
Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin teaches claim 1 above, and Yoon discloses that the number of frames in the superframe is one or more, which includes three. Damnjanovic states that the first and second sequences may be repeated two more more times, which means the durations would include 40 and 60 ms. However, Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin does not specify frame length and subcarrier spacing.
Kim discloses a wireless network including subcarrier spacing of 30KHz and frame length of 200ms. Kim at ¶85.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin to include such details. One of ordinary skill would have understood such a modification to merely be an example of applying a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way, yielding predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. C., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 9:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the first sequence and the second sequence each are a Golay sequence whose length is 32, and a sum of N1 and N2 is 37.
Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin disclose Golay sequences as noted above as to claim 1. Damnjanovic states that the first and second sequences may be repeated two more more times, which includes a sum of 37. Lastly, Sahin states Golay elements of 32, 64, 128, 256, or 512 bits. Sahin at claim 36.
Further as to claim 10:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the first sequence and the second sequence each are an M-sequence whose length is 31, and a sum of Ni and N2 is 38.
Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin disclose Golay sequences as noted above as to claim 1. Damnjanovic states that the first and second sequences may be repeated two more more times, which includes a sum of 38. Damnjanovic states the sequence may be similar to a Golay sequence, which includes an M-sequence. Damnjanovic at ¶38. As such the Examiner considers a length of 31 to be implicit disclosure in Damnjanovic. “[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 2144.01.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Patent 8,687,578 B2 to Choi et al. (“Choi”).
As to claim 11:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the data frame in the superframe of the uplink signal comprises one or more radio frames, a 1st radio frame in the one or more radio frames carries second control information, and the second control information indicates a quantity of times of repeated transmission of the superframe.
While disclosing the invention of claim 1, Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin do not disclose control information as claimed.
Choi discloses a wireless network including sending of superframes which include control information as to a number of times superframes will be repeated. Choi at 8:55-9:63.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin in such a manner, noting that Choi discloses that such avoids inefficiencies in decoding information. Choi at 2:5-13. Likewise, one of ordinary skill would have understood such a modification to merely be an example of applying a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way, yielding predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. C., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Patent 9,763,244B1 to Jorganovic (“Jorganovic”), of record.
As to claim 12:
The method according to claim 1, wherein transmission between a plurality of superframes to implement transmission of the uplink signal is performed with a first frequency hopping mode; or
the synchronization sequence is transmitted in the superframe with a second frequency hopping mode, the data frame comprises one or more radio frames, and the one or more radio frames are transmitted in the superframe with a third frequency hopping mode.
While disclosing claim 1 above, Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin fails to disclose that the transmission is performed in accordance with a frequency hopping mode.
Jorgovanovic discloses an analogous invention, namely a frame layout in a wireless communication system, wherein a number of PHY frames may be aggregated into a single unit ("superframe") with a single PHY header. Jorgovanovic at FIG 2 and at 10:40-59 and 16:15-50. Jorgovanovic discloses that transmission of superframes is in accordance with frequency hopping, which reads a mode. Id. at 4:61-5:8.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Damnjanovic in view of Yoon and Sahin in such a manner, as one of ordinary skill would have understood such a modification to merely be an example of applying a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way, yielding predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. C., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 16-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 14 recites a method comprising: receiving, by a second communication apparatus, an uplink signal, wherein a frame structure of the uplink signal comprises a superframe, a synchronization sequence is located in a first duration of the superframe, a data frame is located in a second duration of the superframe, the first duration of the superframe is before the second duration, the synchronization sequence successively comprises a first sequence repeated Ni times and a second sequence repeated N2 times, the second sequence is obtained by multiplying the first sequence by -1, a part of consecutive sequences of the synchronization sequence provides a first synchronization reference sequence, the first synchronization reference sequence is obtained based on the second sequence repeated N2 times and one or more first sequences that are sorted from back to front in the first sequence repeated Ni times, N, N1, and N2 are all positive integers, N is greater than 2, and N2 is greater than 1; and performing, by the second communication apparatus, uplink synchronization based on a second synchronization reference sequence and the uplink signal, wherein further the second synchronization reference sequence is one of a plurality of second synchronization reference sequences; and the method further comprises: performing, by the second communication apparatus, cross-correlation between the uplink signal and each of the plurality of second synchronization reference sequences, to obtain cross-correlation amplitudes corresponding to the plurality of second synchronization reference sequences, wherein the plurality of second synchronization reference sequences are in a one-to-one correspondence with a plurality of subcarrier spacings; and determining, by the second communication apparatus, a subcarrier spacing corresponding of the plurality of subcarrier spacings to a second synchronization reference sequence of the plurality of second synchronization reference sequences with a largest cross-correlation amplitude as a subcarrier spacing for a terminal device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments as to the rejection of claims 1, 7, 12, 13, 19, and 20 in the previous Office action are moot in view of the new ground of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Charles Craver whose telephone number is (571) 272-7849. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30-5:30 PT Pacific Time. If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Andrew J. Fischer can be reached on 571-272-6779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Signed,
/CHARLES R CRAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992