DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 02/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Willeke et al. (hereinafter “Willeke”) (CN111801503 (A), English translation appended) in view of Burgdorf et al. (hereinafter “Burgdorf”) (Patent No.: US 5895207 A).
Regarding claim 1, Willeke discloses an apparatus (an electro-hydraulic unit 1, as stated in Abstract & Paragraph [0010]) for coupling electrical signals between a valve section (between at least one hydraulic valve (3,4) and PCB 8, as discussed in Paragraphs [0011]-[0012]) and a motherboard (PCB 8) located in a pump section (as best seen in annotated Figure 3, the control logic or motherboard or PCB 8 is surely located in the section of fluid displacement with hydraulic pump 31 and motor 6 or pump section, as discussed in Paragraph [0038]) of an integrated valve and fluid pump device (see annotated Figures 1 and 3), the apparatus comprising:
a lead-frame (defined by the crimping element 11 in combination with a punched grid 14 or lead-frame, which can be guided through the common housing of the volumetric flow source and at least one hydraulic valve 3,4, as noted in Paragraph [0012]) located in the valve section (the lead frame, which is designated by the crimping element 11 in combination with the first punched grid 14, is undoubtedly arranged in the valve section VS3/4, as depicted in annotated Figures 1& 4)..
Particularly, Willeke demonstrates the electro-hydraulic unit 1, wherein, as stated in Paragraph [0038], The PCB 8 of the control unit 7 is connected to the motor 6 on one hand, and is electrically connected to the hydraulic valve 3 (solenoid valve) with the first electric drive 29 and the second hydraulic valve 4 (solenoid valve) with the second electric drive 30 via the crimping element 11 on the other hand. The electro-hydraulic unit 1 may also have more than two hydraulic valves 3 and 4. The crimping connections between PCB8 and motor 6, and between PCB8 and hydraulic valves 3 and 4, are sealed with seals 18 to prevent dirt or working medium from seeping into housing 9 and reaching PCB8. The electric motor 6 drives the pump 31 of the volumetric flow source 5. Pump 31 of volumetric flow source 5 supplies flow to hydraulic circuit 32, which also functions through hydraulic valves 3 and 4. The first follower 33 and the second follower 34 are connected to the hydraulic line 32 as hydraulically operated components. The electro-hydraulic unit 1 may also have more than two driven elements 33 and 34. Driven elements 33 and 34 may, for example, be driven cylinders for operating a clutch or a hydraulic gear actuator, wherein the latter is used to engage, disengage, or operate transmission components or to operate a parking lock. PCB 8 has a first plug 28, which allows PCB 8 to be connected via a first control line 19 (not shown here), for example in the form of a cable bundle, to a higher-level controller or control unit of the motor vehicle and/or energy supply system (also not shown here). The motor 6 and hydraulic valves 3 and 4 of the volumetric flow source 5 can be controlled by the control unit 7.
Essentially, as best seen in annotated Figures 1& 3& 4, Willeke’s apparatus is designed such that electro-hydraulic unit 1 for coupling electrical signals between a valve section VS and a motherboard or PSB 8 being located in a pump section PS of an integrated valve and fluid pump device and/or: a lead-frame, which is defined by the crimping element 11 in combination with the punched grid 14, being located in the valve section VS3/4 having a plurality of lead-frame electrical conductors connected to at least one electrical component located in the valve section VS3/4.
Willeke, in Paragraph [0018], then goes on to describe how: The PCB may have a second electrical contact for the second control line, and at least one conductor circuit may be designed on the PCB between the first electrical contact for at least one hydraulic valve and the second electrical contact for the second control line. It is preferable to design multiple conductor circuits between the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact on the PCB. In PCB layout, at least one conductor circuit can be set as a "line" between the first electrical contact and the second electrical contact.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0039], Willeke also details: the housing 9 and the PCB 8 on which the motor 6 is fixed can also be seen. The electro-hydraulic unit 1 has a first cover 25, which includes a hydraulic line 32 (not shown here) or a section for rectification, and a pump interface. In addition, hydraulic valves 3 and 4 are also connected to PCB8 via crimping element 11. For this purpose, the crimping element 11 has a first punched grid 14, which is electrically connected to the PCB 8 within the contact area 23 of the PCB 8 by means of a first electrical contact 10 directly designed on the PCB 8. The first electrical contact 10 of PCB 8 has a plurality of first contact portions 24, which are designed as through holes in PCB 8. The first electrical contact 10 has a first crimp configuration in the form of a first hole pattern. In addition, PCB 8 also has a second electrical contact 20 for the first plug 28 that is directly designed on PCB 8. The second electrical contact 20 of PCB 8 has multiple second contact portions 37, which are designed as through holes in PCB 8. The second electrical contact 20 has a second crimp configuration in the form of a second hole diagram. At least one conductor circuit 22 is designed between the first electrical contact 10 and the second electrical contact 20 on PCB 8. In particular, at least one conductor circuit 22 is configured as a “line” between the first electrical contact 10 and the second electrical contact 20 in the layout of the PCB 8.
In fact, the lead-frame or crimping element 11 in combination with the punched grid 14 is surely having a plurality of lead-frame electrical conductors connected to at least one electrical component located in the valve section, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
However, although Willeke discloses most of the limitations of the claim, he is still silent as to the specifics regarding a bridge frame.
Burgdorf in the same field of endeavor teaches another electric motor-pump assembly, wherein, as stated in Abstract, the motor being arranged in a motor housing and the pump in a pump housing. Both housings can be coupled to each other. The motor housing is provided with a second main bearing. The pump housing is equipped with a pump bearing. During normal operation, the forces acting on the pump eccentric are essentially supported by the main bearing and the pump bearing. The bearing forces are introduced into the pump housing. If the motor housing is not fastened to the pump housing, the rotor shaft is supported by the main bearing and, if necessary, an accessory bearing. Thus the motor can be tested without being connected to the pump housing.
Burgdorf, in column 8 lines 1-20, successfully teaches as how: Pump housing 2 accommodates a double-suction radial piston pump 63 and electro-hydraulic valves 93 for the operation of a slip-controlled brake system. Between pump housing 2 and stator 1 shaped as a housing bowl, there is a carrier plate 54 accommodating the brushes 8 and the electric connection component 90. The connection component, illustrated as loom of cables, is guided in a sealed manner inside the through-bore 92 in the pump housing 2 and connected, by means of a plug-in connection, to a control electronics unit which accommodates as well the coils of the electrohydraulic valves 94. The electrical connection between the electric motor and the control electronics unit 95 is thus realized within the whole assembly.
With reference to annotated Figure 10, Burgdorf performs as how: the electric connection component 90 is extruded with the material of the carrier plate 54 in such a way that a projection 98 of the carrier plate 54 projects over the through-bore 92. The projection 98 is in contact with the plug 99 of a control electronics unit 95 attached to the electrohydraulic valves 94. In the example, the electric connection component 90 is configured as contact lug which is connected with the control system 95 by means of contact springs 100. In this case, the projection 98 builds a tight and snap-in assembly with the plug 99 (see column 8 lines 32-50).
Moreover, with references to annotated Figures 9&10, Burgdorf, in column 8 lines 55-67 &column 9 lines 1-5, specifies that: the electric connection component 90 builds an integral assembly of the whole assembly which does not have to be sealed peripherally and fastened any more, that a possibly direct and thus short wiring of the electric motor with the power supply (control electronics unit 95) is ensured, that the prerequisite for a soldering or welding of the electric connection component 90 in conformity with the demands of automation is given among other things by the fastening of the brushes, the side of the electric connection component 90 close to the power supply being provided with a simple plug system. The electric connection component 90 can thus be realized by means of a wire spray-coated with the carrier material or a spray-coated punched grid which guarantees an operational connection between the electric motor and the power supply by means of the desired stability, tightness and electric insulation.
Most importantly, however, is the specific arrangement of the electric connection component 90 that is clearly connected to the motor brush 8 on a first terminal end as well as being capable of being connected to the PSB and to the lead-frame electrical conductors 99 &100 on a second terminal end while having a plurality of bridge frame electrical conductors.
Surely, with reference to annotated Figures 9&10 again, Burgdorf, explicitly exhibits as how the bridge-frame couples the electrical signals between the motherboard or motor brushes and the lead-frame and the at least one electrical component, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a bridge-frame, as taught by Burgdorf, with the electro-hydraulic unit of Willeke, in order to further provide operational reliability and desired stability, motivated by Burgdorf in column 9 lines 1-5.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that the apparatus, as taught by Willeke, would be further comprising a bridge-frame having a plurality of bridge-frame electrical conductors and/or the bridge-frame electrical conductors would be further connected to the motherboard on a first terminal end and to the lead-frame electrical conductors on a second terminal end and/or the bridge-frame would be further coupling the electrical signals between the motherboard and the lead- frame and the at least one electrical component, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 6, Willeke and Burgdorf substantially disclose the apparatus, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, as best seen immediately below, Burgdorf evidently illustrates as how the bridge-frame or electric connection component 90 including a body portion BP90 located between the first and second terminal ends.
More specifically, Burgdorf, in column 5 lines 18-23 and column 6 lines 47-55, further notes that: This supporting housing can be configurated as injection-molded plastic part and can replace the previous separate arrangement of the carrier plate 54.
Moreover, in Paragraph [0040], Willeke expressly states that: The crimping element 11 includes a punched grid 14 and a carrier 15, in which the punched grid 14 is partially cast. Carrier 15 is a plastic injection-molded package. Multiple compression ribs 38 are designed on the carrier 15 for positioning or fixing the crimping element 11 to the housing 9.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using injection mold, as taught by Burgdorf, with the electro-hydraulic unit of Willeke, in order to further provide operational reliability and desired stability, motivated by Burgdorf in column 9 lines 1-5.
With specific regard to the limitation “the plurality of bridge-frame electrical conductors include a plurality of first terminals extending from the first terminal end and a plurality of second electrical terminals extending from the second terminal end” that the combination of Willeke and Burgdorf fails to teach, it has been held In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VIB.
As such, according to the combination, one skilled in the art would surely recognize that the bridge-frame includes a body portion located between the first and the second terminal ends and/or the plurality of bridge-frame electrical conductors would be located internal to the body portion BP90 and/or the body portion BP90 and the first and second terminal ends would be further molded as a unitary structure that would be further capable of being attached externally to the integrated valve and fluid pump device, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Willeke and Burgdorf substantially disclose the apparatus, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, as best seen in annotated Figure 5, Willeke evidently illustrates as how the crimping element 11, which is designated as the lead –frame, is clearly being configured as a unitary structure having the plurality the plurality of lead-frame electrical conductors located within the lead-frame, as instantly claimed.
7. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Willeke in view of Burgdorf, and further in view of Schreiber et al. (hereinafter “Schreiber”) (WO 9747502 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Willeke and Burgdorf substantially disclose the apparatus, as claimed and detailed above. However, although the combination of Willeke and Burgdorf discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the fact that the pump section includes a socket arranged to accept the first terminal end within the socket and guide the plurality of first terminals to engage and make an electrical connection to the motherboard.
Nonetheless, Schreiber in the same field of endeavor teaches A first electrical socket 52 for supplying electric power to the pump motor 41 is mounted upon the PCB 25 and is connected to the control circuit components 27 by the electrical traces 26. The motor socket 52 includes a pair of female electrical connectors (not shown) and has a recess 52A, which is shown in phantom in Fig. 2, formed in the bottom surface. The recess 52A has a shape which is complementary to the locator boss 44A formed on the motor housing 42. Each of the female connectors corresponds to one of the male connectors 45 on the pump motor 45. A second electrical socket 53 is mounted upon the PCB 25 and has an end which passes through an opening (not shown) formed in the control module housing 51 to provide an interface with the wheel speed sensors and vehicle power supply. The control module housing 51 includes a first portion 55 which receives the solenoid coils 28 and a second tray-shaped portion 56 which receives the electronic components 27. The second portion 56 of the control module housing 51 has an open-ended box-shaped member 57 which extends in a downward direction in Fig. 2 and is aligned with the motor housing member 44 on the pump motor housing 42 when the control module 50 is attached to the control valve body 11. The member 57 receives and securely holds the pump motor socket 52 when the PCB 25 is mounted within the control module housing 51. The lower end of the motor socket 52 is flush with the open end of the housing member 57. A seal (not shown) is formed between the socket 52 and the housing member 51 to prevent contamination of the interior of the module 50. Alternately, a gasket (not shown) can be disposed between the socket 52 and the housing member 51. When the control module 50 is attached to the valve body 1 1, each of the female connectors in the pump motor socket 51 receives one of the male motor connectors 45, forming an electrical coupling for supplying power from the control module 50 to the pump motor 41. Additionally, the locator boss 44 A is received in the locator recess 52A formed in the motor plug and cooperates therewith to align the control module 50 on the valve body 11 (see page 7, lines 18-28).
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a socket, as taught by Schreiber, with the electro-hydraulic unit of Willeke/ Burgdorf, in order to further provide an improved electrical connection between the motor and the control module, motivated by Schreiber (see page 9, lines 20-25).
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that the pump section PS would be further including a socket arranged to further accept the first terminal end within the socket and to further guide the plurality of first terminals to further engage and make an electrical connection to the motherboard, as instantly claimed.
8. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Willeke in view of Burgdorf, and further in view of Morimoto (Pub. No.: US 2023/0081123 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Willeke and Burgdorf substantially disclose the apparatus, as claimed and detailed above.
However, although the combination of Willeke and Burgdorf discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the fact that the plurality of lead-frame conductors including a plurality of electrical terminals extending from opposing ends of the lead-frame.
Nonetheless, Morimoto in the same field of endeavor teaches as how: the power supply wiring module 90 includes first power supply terminals 93 and second power supply terminals 96 protruding from the first surface 90 a. In the power supply wiring module 90, the resin of a base 97 of the first power supply terminals 93 and the second power supply terminals 96 is thicker than that of the part around the base 97. With this configuration, the first power supply terminals 93 and the second power supply terminals 96 are less likely to tilt with respect to the axial direction (see Paragraph [0172]).
As illustrated in annotated Figure 12, Morimoto explicitly exhibits as how the plurality of lead-frame conductors certainly including a plurality of electrical terminals extending from opposing ends of the lead-frame.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a plurality of lead-frame conductors certainly including a plurality of electrical terminals extending from opposing ends of the lead-frame, as taught by Morimoto, with the electro-hydraulic unit of Willeke/ Burgdorf, in order to further securely transmits control signals, motivated by Morimoto in Paragraph [0014].
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that a selected set of the lead-frame electrical terminals would be electrically connected to the at least one electrical component, as instantly claimed.
8. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Willeke in view of Burgdorf, and further in view of Hinkle et al. (hereinafter “ Hinkle”) (Pub. No.: US 2023/0098634 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Willeke and Burgdorf substantially disclose the apparatus, as claimed and detailed above. However, although the combination of Willeke and Burgdorf discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it does not explicitly disclose specifics regarding a plurality of plated holes located on the lead-frame.
Nevertheless, the use of lead frames comprising plated holes is well-known in the art, as taught by Hinkle. Hinkle in the same field of endeavor teaches another apparatus, which, as stated in Abstract, includes “a connector assembly and a plurality of electronically conductive elements. The connector assembly further includes a first connector for connecting with a first printed circuit board (PCB), a second connector for connecting with a second PCB, and a wire termination connected to a high-speed communication cable. The second connector forms a right angle with the first connector, and the second connector is oriented to connect with the second PCB in an orthogonal orientation to the first PCB. The conductive elements have a first end terminating in the second card edge connector, whereas a first portion of the conductive elements have a second end terminating in the wire termination and a second portion of the conductive elements have a second end terminating in the first connector. Multiple hybrid connectors may be connected to a first printed circuit board”.
Hinkle, in Paragraph [0017], expressly states that: the first card edge connector may include a direct lead frame attached to the first printed circuit board. For example, the lead frame may include compliant pins for connecting to plated through-holes in the first printed circuit board or may include surface mount leads for soldering to the pads on the first printed circuit boards. In some embodiments, the connector assembly may include a paddle card and the first card edge connector may include card edge fingers that are pluggable into a vertical card edge socket mounted on the first printed circuit board.
Clearly, Hinkle successfully discloses as how the lead frame defines a plurality of holes, wherein an inner surface of each hole is disposed with a plating layer.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a lead frame with plated holes, as taught by Hinkle, with the electro-hydraulic unit of Willeke/ Burgdorf, in order to further provide a high-performance device with improved signal integrity, as motivated by Hinkle in Paragraph [0034].
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that the lead-frame would be further including a plurality of plated holes being located on the lead-frame and/or each plated hole would be further connected to a respective one of the plurality of lead-frame electrical conductors, as instantly claimed.
10. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Willeke in view of Burgdorf, and further in view of Hinkle, and further in view of Schreiber.
Regarding claim 10, Willeke, Burgdorf and Hinkle substantially disclose the apparatus, as claimed and detailed above.
However, although the combination of Willeke/Burgdorf/ Hinkle discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the fact that the valve section includes a socket arranged to accept the second terminal end of the bridge-frame within the socket.
Nonetheless, Schreiber in the same field of endeavor teaches that: A first electrical socket 52 for supplying electric power to the pump motor 41 is mounted upon the PCB 25 and is connected to the control circuit components 27 by the electrical traces 26. The motor socket 52 includes a pair of female electrical connectors (not shown) and has a recess 52A, which is shown in phantom in Fig. 2, formed in the bottom surface. The recess 52A has a shape which is complementary to the locator boss 44A formed on the motor housing 42. Each of the female connectors corresponds to one of the male connectors 45 on the pump motor 45. A second electrical socket 53 is mounted upon the PCB 25 and has an end which passes through an opening (not shown) formed in the control module housing 51 to provide an interface with the wheel speed sensors and vehicle power supply. The control module housing 51 includes a first portion 55 which receives the solenoid coils 28 and a second tray-shaped portion 56 which receives the electronic components 27. The second portion 56 of the control module housing 51 has an open-ended box-shaped member 57 which extends in a downward direction in Fig. 2 and is aligned with the motor housing member 44 on the pump motor housing 42 when the control module 50 is attached to the control valve body 11. The member 57 receives and securely holds the pump motor socket 52 when the PCB 25 is mounted within the control module housing 51. The lower end of the motor socket 52 is flush with the open end of the housing member 57. A seal (not shown) is formed between the socket 52 and the housing member 51 to prevent contamination of the interior of the module 50. Alternately, a gasket (not shown) can be disposed between the socket 52 and the housing member 51. When the control module 50 is attached to the valve body 1 1, each of the female connectors in the pump motor socket 51 receives one of the male motor connectors 45, forming an electrical coupling for supplying power from the control module 50 to the pump motor 41. Additionally, the locator boss 44A is received in the locator recess 52A formed in the motor plug and cooperates therewith to align the control module 50 on the valve body 11 (see page 7, lines 18-28).
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a socket, as taught by Schreiber, with the valve of the electro-hydraulic unit of Willeke/ Burgdorf/ Hinkle, in order to further provide an improved electrical connection between the motor and the control module, motivated by Schreiber (see page 9, lines 20-25).
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised to further provide the valve section VS3/4, as disclosed by Willeke, with a socket arranged to further accept the second terminal end of the bridge-frame within the socket and/or to further guide the plurality of second terminals from the bridge-frame to engage and make an electrical connection to the plurality of plated holes, as instantly claimed.
Prior Art
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and consists of three patents.
US 2013/0065456 A1, US 2022/0052496 A1 and US 20130029542 A1 are cited to show different lead-frames having a plurality of connections for electrical conductors.
Conclusion
/L.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746