DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on 08/11/2026 regarding claims 1-20 is fully considered. Of the above claims, claims 1, 10 and 18 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horiuchi (US 2018/0120728 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Horiuchi teaches an image-forming apparatus (image forming apparatus 100; Figs 1A-1B), comprising:
a photosensitive member (photosensitive drum 102; Figs 1A-1B);
a scanning unit, configured to perform laser scanning on the photosensitive member at a non-constant linear speed along a main scanning direction to form an electrostatic latent image (rotary polygon mirror 204; FIG. 1B; depending on accuracy of the fq lens, the speed at which the photosensitive member is scanned with the laser light in the main scanning direction varies slightly for a scanning position; [0003]; expressions 1 to 4; [0021]-[0023]; FIG. 5A); and
a controller, configured to make a first scanning period corresponding to a first pixel at a central region of the photosensitive member to be not equal to a second scanning period corresponding to a second pixel at a non-central region of the photosensitive member (central portion has number of bit data being 32 while the end portions have number of bit data being 24 for one pixel; FIG. 3B; [0041]; for example, when continuous pixels have the pixel sizes of 32, 24, and 24, and the gradation data of 10, 1 and 5, the conversion is as follows; Figs 4A-4B; [0046]-[0047]), wherein:
the first pixel and the second pixel are each configured with a light-emitting time period and a non-light-emitting time period (in the above-mentioned circuit configuration, when the VDO signal is at a “high” level, the transistor 1304 is turned on, with the result that a current I and a current containing the bias current Ibias flow through the LD 1301; FIG. 2; [0033]-[0034]; in Table 1a and Table 1b, “1” is bit data for generating the VDO signal at the high level and the /VDO signal at the low level; [0043]; Figs 4A-4B); the light-emitting time period satisfies that a light-emitting time length of the light-emitting time period of the first pixel is same as a light-emitting time length of the light-emitting time period of the second pixel (three 1’s for gradation level of 1 in Table 1a and three 1’s for gradation level of “1” in Table 1b; [0042]); and for printing a fixed page, a light-emitting power of the light-emitting time period of the first pixel is same as a light-emitting power of the light-emitting time period of the second pixel (when the VDO signal is at a “high” level, same current of I and current of Ibias flow through the LD 1301; FIG. 2; same current bias results in same power emitting from the LD 1301).
Regarding claim 2, Horiuchi teaches wherein: the controller is configured to make the first scanning period to be greater than the second scanning period or the first scanning period to be less than the second scanning period (central portion has number of bit data being 32 while the end portions have number of bit data being 24 for one pixel; FIG. 3B; [0041]).
Regarding claim 3, Horiuchi teaches wherein: the light-emitting time period is configured continuously or discontinuously in a scanning period of the first scanning period or the second scanning period (1’s are continuously located within one pixel; FIG. 4B; Tables 1a and 1b).
Regarding claim 4, Horiuchi teaches wherein: the light-emitting time period is at a middle section of a scanning period of the first scanning period or the second scanning period; and the non-light-emitting time period is at a first section and a last section of the scanning period of the first scanning period or the second scanning period (1’s are in the middle section while the 0’s are in the beginning section and the ending section; FIG. 4B).
Regarding claim 5, Horiuchi teaches wherein: a quantity of the light-emitting time period is at least 1; and/or a quantity of the non-light-emitting time period is at least 1 (at least one 1 and at least one 0; FIG. 4B).
Regarding claim 6, Horiuchi teaches wherein: the controller is configured to control the scanning unit to emit light or not to emit light through a video signal (VDO signal; FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Horiuchi teaches wherein: a proportion of the light-emitting time period to a total time of the scanning period of the first scanning period or the second scanning period is not higher than 3/4 (second pixel; FIG. 4B).
Regarding claim 8, Horiuchi teaches wherein: the non-central region further includes an end region and at least one transition region, wherein a scanning period of a pixel in the end region is shorter than a scanning period of a pixel in the transition region (last bit of second pixel being the end region and the 0 bits before the last bit being the at least one transition region; FIG. 4B).
Regarding claim 10, Horiuchi teaches a controller, applied to an image-forming apparatus, wherein an image-forming lens of the image-forming apparatus is not capable of correcting a laser along a main scanning direction to be linear (controller or CPU 303 is capable of being applied to an image forming apparatus; Figs 1A-1B), wherein:
the controller is configured to make a first scanning period corresponding to a first pixel at a central region of a photosensitive member to be not equal to a second scanning period corresponding to a second pixel at a non-central region of the photosensitive member (central portion has number of bit data being 32 while the end portions have number of bit data being 24 for one pixel; FIG. 3B; [0041]; for example, when continuous pixels have the pixel sizes of 32, 24, and 24, and the gradation data of 10, 1 and 5, the conversion is as follows; Figs 4A-4B; [0046]-[0047]), wherein the first pixel and the second pixel are each configured with a light-emitting time period and a non-light-emitting time period (in the above-mentioned circuit configuration, when the VDO signal is at a “high” level, the transistor 1304 is turned on, with the result that a current I and a current containing the bias current Ibias flow through the LD 1301; FIG. 2; [0033]-[0034]; in Table 1a and Table 1b, “1” is bit data for generating the VDO signal at the high level and the /VDO signal at the low level; [0043]; Figs 4A-4B); the light-emitting time period satisfies that a light-emitting time length of the light-emitting time period of the first pixel is same as a light-emitting time length of the light-emitting time period of the second pixel (three 1’s for gradation level of 1 in Table 1a and three 1’s for gradation level of “1” in Table 1b; [0042]); and for printing a fixed page, a light-emitting power of the light-emitting time period of the first pixel is same as a light-emitting power of the light-emitting time period of the second pixel (when the VDO signal is at a “high” level, same current of I and current of Ibias flow through the LD 1301; FIG. 2; same current bias results in same power emitting from the LD 1301).
Regarding claim 11, Horiuchi teaches wherein: the controller is configured to make the first scanning period to be greater than the second scanning period or the first scanning period to be less than the second scanning period (central portion has number of bit data being 32 while the end portions have number of bit data being 24 for one pixel; FIG. 3B; [0041]).
Regarding claim 12, Horiuchi teaches wherein: the light-emitting time period is configured continuously or discontinuously in a scanning period of the first scanning period or the second scanning period (1’s are continuously located within one pixel; FIG. 4B; Tables 1a and 1b).
Regarding claim 13, Horiuchi teaches wherein: the light-emitting time period is at a middle section of a scanning period of the first scanning period or the second scanning period; and the non-light-emitting time period is at a first section and a last section of the scanning period of the first scanning period or the second scanning period (1’s are in the middle section while the 0’s are in the beginning section and the ending section; FIG. 4B).
Regarding claim 14, Horiuchi teaches wherein: a quantity of the light-emitting time period is at least 1; and/or a quantity of the non-light-emitting time period is at least 1 (at least one 1 bit and at least one 0 bit; FIG. 4B).
Regarding claim 15, Horiuchi teaches wherein: the controller is configured to control the scanning unit to emit light or not to emit light through a video signal (VDO signal; FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Horiuchi teaches wherein: a proportion of the light-emitting time period to a total time of the scanning period of the first scanning period or the second scanning period is not higher than 3/4 (second pixel; FIG. 4B).
Regarding claim 17, Horiuchi teaches wherein: the non-central region further includes an end region and at least one transition region, wherein a scanning period of a pixel in the end region is shorter than a scanning period of a pixel in the transition region (last bit of second pixel being the end region and the 0 bits before the last bit being the at least one transition region; FIG. 4B).
Regarding claim 18, Horiuchi teaches an image-forming apparatus (image forming apparatus 100; Figs 1A-1B), comprising:
a photosensitive member (photosensitive drum 102; Figs 1A-1B); and
a controller, configured to make a first scanning period corresponding to a first pixel at a central region of the photosensitive member and to make a second scanning period corresponding to a second pixel at a non-central region of the photosensitive member (central portion has number of bit data being 32 while the end portions have number of bit data being 24 for one pixel; FIG. 3B; [0041]; for example, when continuous pixels have the pixel sizes of 32, 24, and 24, and the gradation data of 10, 1 and 5, the conversion is as follows; Figs 4A-4B; [0046]-[0047]),
wherein:
the first pixel period includes a first light-emitting time period and a first non-light-emitting time period, and the second scanning period includes a second light emitting time period and a second non-light-emitting time period (in the above-mentioned circuit configuration, when the VDO signal is at a “high” level, the transistor 1304 is turned on, with the result that a current I and a current containing the bias current Ibias flow through the LD 1301; FIG. 2; [0033]-[0034]; in Table 1a and Table 1b, “1” is bit data for generating the VDO signal at the high level and the /VDO signal at the low level; [0043]; Figs 4A-4B);
a time length of the first light-emitting time period is same as a time length of the second light-emitting time period (three 1’s for gradation level of 1 in Table 1a and three 1’s for gradation level of “1” in Table 1b; [0042]);
a time length of the first non-light-emitting time period is different from a time length of the second non-light-emitting time period (twenty-nine 0’s for gradation level of 1 in Table 1a and twenty-one 0’s for gradation level of “1” in Table 1b; [0042]); and
for printing a fixed page, a light-emitting power of the light-emitting time period of the first pixel is same as a light-emitting power of the light-emitting time period of the second pixel (when the VDO signal is at a “high” level, same current of I and current of Ibias flow through the LD 1301; FIG. 2; same current bias results in same power emitting from the LD 1301).
Regarding claim 19, Horiuchi teaches wherein the first non-light-emitting time period is a first section non-light-emitting time period, the first scanning period further includes a last section non-light-emitting time period, such that the first pixel is not subject to light exposure in the first section non-light-emitting time period, is thereafter subject to light exposure in the light-emitting time period, and thereafter again not subject to light exposure in the last section non-light-emitting time period, along a timeline (1’s are in the middle section while the 0’s are in the beginning section and the ending section; FIG. 4B; the beginning section is not subject to light exposure, the middle section is subject to light exposure, the ending section is not subject to light exposure).
Regarding claim 20, Horiuchi teaches wherein the second non-light-emitting time period is a first section non-light-emitting time period, the second scanning period further includes a last section non-light-emitting time period, such that the second pixel is not subject to light exposure in the first section non-light-emitting time period, is thereafter subject to light exposure in the light-emitting time period, and thereafter again not subject to light exposure in the last section non-light-emitting time period, along a timeline (1’s are in the middle section while the 0’s are in the beginning section and the ending section; FIG. 4B; the beginning section is not subject to light exposure, the middle section is subject to light exposure, the ending section is not subject to light exposure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi (US 2018/0120728 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Horiuchi teaches wherein: the scanning unit includes a rotating polygon mirror capable of reflecting a laser (rotary polygon mirror 204; FIG. 1B).
Further regarding claim 9, the embodiment of Figs 1A and 1B of Horiuchi does not teach the laser reflected by the rotating polygon mirror is applied to the photosensitive member through an image-forming lens, and the image-forming lens is not capable of correcting the laser along the main scanning direction to be linear.
Further regarding claim 9, another embodiment of Horiuchi teaches the laser reflected by the rotating polygon mirror is applied to the photosensitive member through an image-forming lens, and the image-forming lens is not capable of correcting the laser along the main scanning direction to be linear (in an image forming apparatus using an fq lens, magnification correction on the order of less than 1% is required for a variation in scanning speed caused by an error in the fq lens; [0024]) for the purpose of reducing magnification errors in scanning.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Horiuchi to incorporate the laser reflected by the rotating polygon mirror is applied to the photosensitive member through an image-forming lens, and the image-forming lens is not capable of correcting the laser along the main scanning direction to be linear for the purpose of reducing magnification errors in scanning.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
17 September 2026
/KENDRICK X LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853