DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/07/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Oslac et al, US Patent 5390257.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oslac et al, US Patent 5390257.
Re Claim 1, Oslac et al discloses a vibrator (abstract: loudspeaker where a loudspeaker is a type of vibrator) comprising: a case having a space inside (figs. 1-4; abstract: housing/case of a loudspeaker that vibrates and generates sound waves along with at least two magnets, permanent magnet and bucking magnet; col. 3, line 57 through col. 4, line 26); and magnets supported in the space and configured to vibrate (figs. 1-4; col. 3, line 57 through col. 4, line 26: housing/case of a hearing device transducer that vibrates and generates sound waves along with at least two magnets, permanent magnet and bucking magnet; wherein the bucking magnet is smaller in volume than the volume of the permanent magnet), wherein the magnets include a first magnet and a second magnet disposed in such that respective magnetic poles identical to each other face, and a volume of the first magnet is smaller than a volume of the second magnet (figs. 1-4; col. 3, line 57 through col. 4, line 26: housing/case of a hearing device transducer that vibrates and generates sound waves along with at least two magnets, permanent magnet and bucking magnet; wherein the bucking magnet is smaller in volume than the volume of the permanent magnet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oslac et al, US Patent 5390257.
Re Claim 2, Oslac et al discloses the vibrator according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a volume ratio of the second magnet to the first magnet is greater than 1 and equal to or smaller than 121. Since Oslac et al discloses that the volume of the bucking magnet is smaller than the volume of the permanent magnet (Oslac et al, figs. 1-4; col. 3, line 57 through col. 4, line 26: housing/case of a hearing device transducer that vibrates and generates sound waves along with at least two magnets, permanent magnet and bucking magnet; wherein the bucking magnet is smaller in volume than the volume of the permanent magnet), it would have been obvious to maximize the volume of the permanent magnet of Oslac et al to be at least greater than 1 and equal to or smaller than 121 compared to the bucking magnet for the purpose of reduction of distortion and improvement of sensitivity.
Re Claim 3, Oslac et al discloses the vibrator according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a surface magnetic flux ratio of the second magnet to the first magnet is greater than 1 and equal to or smaller than 3. However, Official Notice is taken that both the concepts and advantages of using magnets where one magnet has a greater magnetic flux than the other at a ratio greater than 1 or smaller than 3 is well known in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the magnets of Oslac et al such that the magnetic flux of its magnets has a ratio greater than 1 or less than 3 for the purpose of creating better system efficiency with better heat control.
Re Claim 4, Oslac et al discloses the vibrator according to claim 1, wherein the first magnet is fastened to an upper surface of a top plate and the second magnet is fastened to a lower surface of the top plate (Oslac et al, fig. 3: bucking magnet is illustrated to be on the top side and permanent magnet is illustrated to be at the lower side of the bucking magnet, that is the lower surface of the top surface); but fail to explicitly disclose the top plate composed of a ferromagnet. However, Official Notice is taken that both the concepts and advantages of utilizing a ferromagnet magnet are well known. It would have been obvious to modify the Oslac et al device such that its magnets are made of ferromagnetic materials since most magnets comprise ferromagnetic materials such as iron, nickel, and cobalt.
Re Claim 8, Oslac et al discloses the vibrator according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein an outer diameter of the first magnet is smaller than an outer diameter of the second magnet. Since the volume of the bucking magnet is smaller than the volume of the permanent magnet (Oslac et al, figs. 1-4; col. 3, line 57 through col. 4, line 26: housing/case of a hearing device transducer that vibrates and generates sound waves along with at least two magnets, permanent magnet and bucking magnet; wherein the bucking magnet is smaller in volume than the volume of the permanent magnet), it would have been obvious to make the outer diameter, height and other dimensions of the bucking magnet smaller than the outer diameter, height and other dimensions of the permanent magnet for the purpose of making sure the bucking magnet has a smaller volume than the permanent magnet.
Claim 9 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 8.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oslac et al, US Patent 5390257 as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Hug et al, US Patent Pub. 20140153755 A1.
Re Claim 7, Oslac et al discloses a hearing device comprising the vibrator according to claim 1, but fails to disclose as a cartilage conduction vibrator for transmitting a sound signal to an ear cartilage. However, Hug et al discloses a hearing device for a user’s ear cartilage where its mounted loudspeaker includes at least two magnets (Hug et al, fig. 1; para 0068: housing/case of a hearing device transducer that vibrates and generates sound waves for a user’s ear along with at least two magnets 6 and 6’). It would have been obvious to modify the loudspeaker of Oslac et al such that it is utilized within a hearing device for ear cartilage mounting of Hug et al for the purpose of utilizing said loudspeaker within a hearing device for the user’s ear.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claims 5-6: The prior art does not teach or moderately suggest the following limitations:
Further comprising: a yoke being open at an upper end of the yoke and having a bottom surface portion and a circumferential wall portion; a coil bobbin at least partly disposed inside the yoke; a coil wound around the coil bobbin; a damper supporting the yoke; and a frame fastening the damper to the yoke, wherein at least a part of the magnet is disposed inside the coil bobbin, the case houses an assembly on which the yoke, the coil bobbin, the coil, the magnet, the damper, and the frame are mounted, and the assembly vibrates in the space integrally together with the magnet.
Limitations such as these may be useful in combination with other limitations of claim 1.
Contact
/GEORGE C MONIKANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692 1/30/2026