DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brown (US3989994) in view of Landis (US6967462).
RE 1, 14, Brown discloses a method and an apparatus, comprising a first control system (64, Fig 3) configured to output a first energy transmission signal (48, Fig 4); a first energy transmission system (50 with 56/60) coupled to the first control system and configured to: receive the first energy transmission signal (34); obtain, based on the first energy transmission signal, a second energy transmission signal; and output the second energy transmission signal (32); and a second energy transmission system (52) coupled to the first energy transmission system and configured to receive the second energy transmission signal (full disclosure describing the cascaded microwave-energy transmission structure).
Brown fails to disclose wherein the first energy transmission system and the second energy transmission system are configured to transmit the first energy transmission signal and the second energy transmission signal to a target device.
However, Landis teaches wireless transmission of microwave energy to an electronic target device (102/230) for charging power from microwave array emitters (106a-c/204) (Fig 1a, 2a, full disclosure).
Given the teachings of Landis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus of Brown with employing the cascaded microwave energy transmission systems for transmitting microwave energy towards target device as charging power.
Doing so would provide wireless operating or charging power using known phased microwave energy from the cascaded systems to the target device for conversion into useful electrical power for the target device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13, 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the cited prior art disclose, teach, suggest at least the first power divider divides the first energy transmission signal into the second energy transmission signal and a third energy transmission signal, wherein the third energy transmission signal supplies power to the target device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Christle I Marshall/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876