Detailed Action
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 11-16 are withdrawn. Claims 1-10 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 12/29/2023 was considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 4/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On p. 11, line 10, the specification refers to “the depressive symptoms”. Examiner recommends changing this to “the stroke systems” to be consistent with the claims and the correct application.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2: Replace “Assessing” with “assessing”;
Line 3: Replace “Administering” with “administering”;
Line 4: Replace “Evaluating” with “evaluating”;
Line 5: Replace “Readministering” with “readministering”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1: Replace “Administering” with “administering”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1: Replace “Assessing” with “assessing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2: Replace “Administering” with “administering”;
Line 3: Replace “Free” with “free”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2: Replace “Administering” with “administering”;
Line 3: Replace “Free” with “free”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2: Replace “Administering” with “administering”;
Line 3: Replace “Free” with “free”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1: Replace “Readministering” with “readministering”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 1 and 2: Replace “Readministering” with “readministering”;
Lines 1 and 2 repeat the same words in duplicate: “wherein the Readministering free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid”; one should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1: Replace “Readministering” with “readministering”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites four different steps, not requiring any particular order. Only one of the four steps (evaluating the stroke symptoms of a subject in need) refer to whom the method applies to. The other three steps (assessing, administering and readministering) do not require any particular subject for which to apply the method and it is unclear if said three steps apply to the same “subject in need” as referred to above. To overcome this deficiency, Examiner recommends clarifying the recipient of each step.
Claim 3 recites: “assessing spinal ischemia symptoms” but does not indicate to which subject. It is unclear if said step applies to the same “subject in need” as referred to above within claim 1. To overcome this deficiency, Examiner recommends clarifying the recipient of claim 3.
The term “substantially” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Consequently, the metes and bounds of the term following substantially, “mitigated” cannot fully be ascertained.
Claims 2, 4-7 and 9-10 are additionally rejected for ultimately depending from claim 1 and failing to remedy its deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cahill (Annu. Rev. Nutr. 2006, 26: 1-22- disclosed on 12/29/2023 IDS), in view of Veech et al. (US20060280721), and further in view of Yang et al. (frontiers in Neurology, 2019, 10: 585, 1-11).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Cahill teaches the following: “Due to its use by brain, D-B-hydroxybutyric acid not only has permitted man to survive prolonged starvation, but also may have therapeutic potential owing to its greater efficiency in providing cellular energy in ischemic states such as stroke….” (see p. 1, abstract). Cahill fails to teach specifically assessing ketone levels, assessing/evaluating stroke systems, nor the administration of a therapeutic amount between 5 and 30 grams of free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid.
Veech discloses nutritional supplements and therapeutic compositions comprising (R )-3-hydroxybutyrate (ketone body that differs from the instant D-betahydroxybutyric acid by one proton and alternates forms in acidic environments) derivatives (see title). Additionally, Veech discloses successful therapeutic effects of administration of sodium-3-hydroxybutyrate by Van Hove et al. (see para. [0090]). “The therapeutic blood ketone body concentrations observed by Van Hove et al., can be produced in a 70 kilogram man using from about 5 to about 70 grams per day of (R )-3-hydroxybutyrate equivalents” (see para. [0091]). Veech additionally discloses that diseases, such as ischemia and spinal cord trauma, caused by damage due to excessive free radical production, can be treated using the (R )-3-hydroxybutyrate derivates disclosed (see para. [0084]).
Yang discloses: “There is growing evidence that ketone bodies, which are derived from fatty acid oxidation and usually produced in fasting state or on high-fat diets have broad neuroprotective effects” (see p. 1, abstract). Yang additionally teaches: “In a study with ischemic stroke model, ketone treatment after transient middle cerebral artery (MCA) occlusion enhanced the mitochondrial function, and reduced the oxidative stress, thus reducing the infarct volume, and improving neurological function after ischemic stroke” (see p. 3, bottom left column).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
There is not a single embodiment in the art of the instantly claimed administration of a therapeutic amount (5 g to 30 g) of free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid. Additional limitations will be addressed below.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
D-betahydroxybutyric acid, structure shown here:
, is part of the metabolism pathway of a family known as ketone bodies. Regarding instant claim 1, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to administer the instantly claimed therapeutic amount (and readminister any amount) of free D-betahydroxybutyric acid, particularly to a stroke victim, with a reasonable expectation of success in treatment efficacy and symptom management, as it has been previously demonstrated to be used by the brain and provide cellular energy during a stroke. Additionally, without a finding of unexpected results, free D-betahydroxybutyric acid would be expected to have predictable results to the salt of its conjugate base (3-hydroxybutyrate), where a PHOSITA would reasonably expect a proton to exchange between the two forms in various biochemical environments. Also, the prior art range overlaps with that of the instant therapeutic amount. “In the case where the claimed ranges ’overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding the limitation of “[a]ssessing ketone levels and stroke symptoms” and “[e]valuating the stroke symptoms of a subject in need” of instant claim 1, both would have been obvious to a skilled artisan because ketone bodies were neuroprotective after a stroke and prior to administration; it would be valuable to know the ketone level in the subject in need to determine an appropriate therapeutic amount. Stroke symptoms would be valuable to assess and evaluate because treatment would also be dependent on such states. Consequently, claims 1-2 would have been obvious to a skilled artisan.
Regarding instant claim 3, both the “ischemia” and “spinal cord trauma” of the prior art embrace spinal ischemia. A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in assessing spinal ischemia symptoms and also administering a therapeutic amount of free D-betahydroxybutyric acid as ketone bodies were previously demonstrated to successfully treat spinal disorders.
Claim(s) 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cahill (Annu. Rev. Nutr. 2006, 26: 1-22- disclosed on 12/29/2023 IDS), in view of Veech et al. (US20060280721) and Yang et al. (frontiers in Neurology, 2019, 10: 585, 1-11), as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Lees et al. (Stroke, 47, 2016, 2373-2379).
**The 103 rejection of claims 1-3 over Cahill, in view of Veech and Yang, is incorporated herein by reference.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Cahill, Veech and Yang fail to disclose a therapeutic amount of stroke related therapeutic substances as a co-adjuvant simultaneously delivered with the free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid.
Lees teaches the following: “Treatment with intravenous alteplase initiated within 4.5 hours of stroke onset increases the chance of achieving an improved level of function for all patients across the age spectrum….” (see “Conclusions” p. 2373).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
There is not a single embodiment in the prior art of administering both free D-BetaHydroxyButyric acid with alteplase (stroke related therapeutic substance).
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Regarding instant claims 4-6 and 9, it would have been obvious to administer both alteplase (a stroke related therapeutic substance) with free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid either simultaneously or at different time intervals as a result of routine experimentation, as both were known to aid stroke victims. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072. See MPEP 2144.06(I). A skilled artisan would have been motivated to enhance stroke treatment with the combination of the two treatments. Specifically, regarding the limitation “dosing a therapeutic amount” of instant claims 4-6 and “physiologically therapeutic amount” of instant claim 9, the instant claims are not drawn to any specific amount so any amount of alteplase would be sufficient. Regarding instant claims 7, 8, and 10, a PHOSITA would have been motivated to continue treatment and readministering free D-BetaHydroxyButyric Acid to improve treatment outcome with a reasonable expectation of success in stroke symptom management.
Conclusion
/MEGHAN C HEASLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/MATTHEW P COUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626