Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2023/0134920, in view of NPL Document “Oura Troubleshooting Connection Issues”, hereafter “Oura”, dated 12/5/2022 (retrieved via web.archive.org via web address: https://support.ouraring.com/hc/en-us/articles/360025592013-Troubleshooting-Connection-Issues), in further view of Carrigan et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2024/0078079.
Per Claim 1, Su discloses a method for performing control actions at one or more devices, comprising:
detecting, using one or more processors (Paragraph 76; processing device 120) of a wearable device (smart ring 102), a charging device, or both,
that the wearable device is coupled with a charging device (Paragraph 80; Internal sensor 118 of the smart ring 102 can detect if the smart ring 102 is on the post 104 of charging case 100.);
acquiring motion data using one or more motion sensors of the wearable device (Paragraph 73, “accelerometer”; Paragraph 76, Internal sensors 118 can include motion sensors such as an accelerometer or gyroscope; Paragraph 77, User input from the one or more internal sensors can be decoded and interpreted as a command. In this way the user may purposefully move the smart ring 102 or provide a force to the wearable device un such a manner (e.g., using a sequence or pattern of motions, forces, taps, etc.) that the processing device can decipher this user input as a request to perform control actions on the smart ring 102 or other external devices such as the charging case 100; Paragraph 79, detect motion using motion using accelerometers or gyroscopic devices), the charging device, or both,
identifying, using the one or more processors and based at least in part on the motion data, a series of movements associated with the wearable device; comparing the series of movements to a predefined reference pattern; and performing, using the one or more processors, one or more control actions associated with the wearable device, the charging device, an additional device, or any combination thereof, based at least in part on the series of movements matching the predefined reference pattern (Paragraphs 77, 87, and 88 disclose motion data being used to trigger control actions with respect to smart ring 102.).
Su teaches that motion data can be collected in a non-charging environment (Paragraph 88 discusses accelerometers being used to measure motions of the smart ring 102, i.e. circular patterns or single or multiple directions. Paragraphs 97-100, Fig. 20 discuss movement patterns performed while the ring is on a user’s finger.). Su does not specifically teach using the motion sensors to detect the movement patterns, and identifying a series of movements, (as discussed in paragraph 88) while the ring is docked to the charging device.
However, Oura, similarly discloses a smart ring connectable to a charging device, and further teaches performing a “ring reset” procedure by connecting the ring with the charging device and firmly tapping the ring/charger combination “a few times on a table, keeping the ring in place with the help of your finger” (Page 2, section titled “Ring Reset”; also provided below).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combined ring/charger motion detection and action trigger technique of Oura within the smart ring gesture detection system of Su because it provides an extra security measure (user must have access to the charging case) in order to perform a reset function, while still benefiting from the elimination of externally accessible buttons, keys, or switches from the charging case and without requiring the extra step of connecting a 3rd party application or smartphone to the smart ring to perform the function.
Su does not specifically teach the control actions being a factory reset command. Oura simply states that the command represents a “Ring Reset” command, but doesn’t specify it being a “factory reset”. Also, Su teaches the use of speakers 128 of the smart ring 102 to indicate actions such as a BT pairing, but does not use a signal such as an audio signal for the purpose of indicating a result of a factory reset.
However, Carrigan similarly teaches a wearable device (Paragraph 37; headphones/earbuds) that can be connected to a charging device (Paragraphs 162 and 163, Fig. 3D/3E; accessory charging case 342). Carrigan further teaches detecting a user input to the charging case when the earbuds are docked within it, the user input representing a factory reset command, and outputting an audio feedback signal 5032 via speakers 345 indicating to the user that a factory reset of the charging case and optionally the wearable audio output devices inserted within the case has been initiated and/or completed (Paragraphs 237 and 335; Figure 5AI).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Carrigan’s factory reset and audio feedback teaching within the smart ring gesture detection system of Su and ring reset command teaching of Oura because wearable computing devices are often either sold by or passed on by the original owner and a factory reset command returns the device to its original condition, which is desirable by owners taking control of it. Further, an audible output confirmation of a successful reset command ensures the user that the initiated reset command has been performed.
Per Claim 2, Su discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating one or more signals configured to cause the wearable device, the charging device, or both, to provide feedback to a user based at least in part on comparing a first movement of the series of movements to a first reference movement of the predefined reference pattern (Paragraph 78; Vibration device 26 can provide haptic or tactile feedback to the user in response to receiving user input or for acknowledging the reception of a command or request.).
Per Claim 3, Su discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the feedback provided to the user comprises a first set of characteristics if the first movement matches the first reference movement, and a second set of characteristics if the first movement does not match the first reference movement (Paragraph 91; Smart ring 102 comprises supplemental devices 128 such as a speaker or LED’s which can output audio or light sources in particular patterns or colors to indicate the recognition of different user requests.).
Per Claim 4, Su discloses the method of claim 2, wherein generating the one or more signals comprises: communicating the one or more signals from the wearable device to the charging device, wherein the one or more signals are configured to cause one or more light-emitting components of the charging device, a haptic feedback component of the charging device, an audio feedback component of the charging device, or any combination thereof, to provide the feedback to the user (Paragraphs 104, 106, and 109; Light pipe 360 of charging case 100 utilizes an LED to provide indications to a user.).
Per Claim 5, Su discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the one or more signals are communicated from the wearable device to the charging device via light emitted by one or more light-emitting components of the wearable device (Paragraph 91; Smart ring 102 comprises supplemental devices 128 such as LED’s which can light sources in particular patterns or colors to indicate the recognition of different user requests.).
Per Claim 6, Su discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the one or more signals are communicated to the charging device via wireless communication signals (Paragraphs 80-83; wireless communication link 125).
Per Claim 7, Su discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the one or more signals are configured to cause one or more light-emitting components of the wearable device, a haptic feedback component of the wearable device, an audio feedback component of the wearable device, or any combination thereof, to provide the feedback to the user (Paragraph 78, haptic/tactile feedback; Paragraph 91, audio feedback).
Per Claim 8, Su discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: generating one or more additional signals configured to cause the wearable device, the charging device, or both, to provide additional feedback to the user based at least in part on comparing a second movement of the series of movements to a second reference movement of the predefined reference pattern (Paragraphs 99 and 100, Fig. 21; Two different conditions are represented and corresponding feedback provided to the user; “turn on” and “turn off” conditions.).
Per Claim 12, Su discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying, based at least in part on the motion data, a plurality of movements associated with the series of movements based at least in part on each movement of the plurality of movements being preceded by a first static period, followed by a second static period, or both (Paragraphs 88, 89; Accelerometers are used to measure motions to recognize patterns indicative of specific user requests. The patterns can comprise movements in multiple directions, which are either preceded or followed by a static period.).
Per Claim 13, Oura further teaches determining that the wearable device is coupled with the charging device for an entirety of the time interval during which the motion data associated with the series of movements is acquired, wherein comparing the series of movements to the predefined reference pattern, performing the one or more control actions, or both, is based at least in part on the wearable device being coupled with the charging device for the entirety of the time interval during which the motion data associated with the series of movements is acquired (Page 2; The smart ring is docked to the charging device the entire time the motion data is acquired.).
Per Claim 14, Su discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the wearable device comprises an inductive charging component configured to wirelessly couple with an additional inductive charging component of the charging device, wherein detecting that the wearable device is coupled with the charging device comprises: detecting an inductive load between the inductive charging component of the wearable device and the additional inductive charging component of the charging device based at least in part on the wearable device being in the charging position (Paragraphs 3, 5, 55, 74, and 76, ; NFC signal detection devices can detect an inductance and NFC charger 200 charges smart ring 102. “The smart ring 102 can charge via the antenna 10 and NFC when the smart ring 102 is on a post 104 in the charging case 100.”).
Per Claim 15, Su discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: performing a charging procedure with the charging device during the time interval that the motion data is collected, while the one or more control actions are performed, or both (Paragraphs 95 and 96; NFC Charger 200 provides a charge to smart ring 102/50 while it is docked on charging post 104 and rotated according to Fig. 19B.). Additionally, Oura discloses the ring is docked to the charger during the reset process, therefore, the ring will be charging until the command is detected and the reset process is performed.
Per Claim 17, Oura further teaches that the motion data indicates a first series of movements associated with the wearable device and a second series of movements associated with the charging device, wherein the first series of movements corresponds to the second series of movements based at least in part on the wearable device being in the charging position (Page 2; The motion data is collected while the ring is docked to the charging device. Therefore, the movement data collected relative to either the ring or the charger will be the same.).
Per Claim 18, Su discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving additional motion data collected via the wearable device, wherein the additional motion data is received during an additional time interval that the wearable device is coupled with the charging device or an additional charging device, the additional time interval prior to the time interval; and generating the predefined reference pattern based at least in part on the additional motion data, wherein comparing the series of movements to the predefined reference pattern is based at least in part on generating the predefined reference pattern, wherein the predefined reference pattern is generated based at least in part on the additional motion data being collected during the additional time interval that the wearable device is coupled with the charging device or an additional charging device (Paragraphs 99 and 100, Fig. 21; Two different conditions are represented and corresponding feedback provided to the user; “turn on” and “turn off” conditions. The time prior to and/or after the detections can be considered the arbitrary “additional time interval”.).
Per Claim 19, Su discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the wearable device comprises a wearable ring device (smart ring 102).
Per Claim 20, Su discloses:
a wearable device (smart ring 102), comprising: a battery (124);
a charging component (charging case 100) communicatively coupled with the battery, the charging component configured to transfer power from a charging device to the battery (Paragraph 74; Smart ring 102 charges via charging case when on post 104.);
one or more motion sensors (Paragraphs 76, 77; internal sensors 118); and one or more processors communicatively coupled with the battery, the charging component, the one or more motion sensors, or any combination thereof (Paragraph 76, Fig. 16; processing device 120),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: detect that the wearable device is coupled with the charging device in a charging position that facilitates charging between the wearable device and the charging device based at least in part on one or more signals received from the charging component (Paragraph 80);
identifying, using the one or more processors and based at least in part on the motion data, a series of movements associated with the wearable device; comparing the series of movements to a predefined reference pattern; and performing, using the one or more processors, one or more control actions associated with the wearable device, the charging device, an additional device, or any combination thereof, based at least in part on the series of movements matching the predefined reference pattern (Paragraphs 77, 87, and 88 disclose motion data being used to trigger control actions with respect to smart ring 102.).
Su teaches that motion data can be collected in a non-charging environment (Paragraph 88 discusses accelerometers being used to measure motions of the smart ring 102, i.e. circular patterns or single or multiple directions. Paragraphs 97-100, Fig. 20 discuss movement patterns performed while the ring is on a user’s finger.);
Su does not specifically teach using the motion sensors to detect the movement patterns, and identifying a series of movements, (as discussed in paragraph 88) while the ring is docked to the charging device.
However, Oura, similarly discloses a smart ring connectable to a charging device, and further teaches performing a “ring reset” procedure by connecting the ring with the charging device and firmly tapping the ring/charger combination “a few times on a table, keeping the ring in place with the help of your finger” (Page 2, section titled “Ring Reset”; also provided below).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combined ring/charger motion detection and action trigger technique of Oura within the smart ring gesture detection system of Su because it provides an extra security measure (user must have access to the charging case) in order to perform a reset function, while still benefiting from the elimination of externally accessible buttons, keys, or switches from the charging case and without requiring the extra step of connecting a 3rd party application or smartphone to the smart ring to perform the function.
Su does not specifically teach the control actions being a factory reset command. Oura simply states that the command represents a “Ring Reset” command, but doesn’t specify it being a “factory reset”. Also, Su teaches the use of speakers 128 of the smart ring 102 to indicate actions such as a BT pairing, but does not use a signal such as an audio signal for the purpose of indicating a result of a factory reset.
However, Carrigan similarly teaches a wearable device (Paragraph 37; headphones/earbuds) that can be connected to a charging device (Paragraphs 162 and 163, Fig. 3D/3E; accessory charging case 342). Carrigan further teaches detecting a user input to the charging case when the earbuds are docked within it, the user input representing a factory reset command, and outputting an audio feedback signal 5032 via speakers 345 indicating to the user that a factory reset of the charging case and optionally the wearable audio output devices inserted within the case has been initiated and/or completed (Paragraphs 237 and 335; Figure 5AI).
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Carrigan’s factory reset and audio feedback teaching within the smart ring gesture detection system of Su and ring reset command teaching of Oura because wearable computing devices are often either sold by or passed on by the original owner and a factory reset command returns the device to its original condition, which is desirable by owners taking control of it. Further, an audible output confirmation of a successful reset command ensures the user that the initiated reset command has been performed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Per Claims 10 and 11, no combination of Su, Oura, Carrigan, and the prior art teaches or makes obvious the teachings of claims 10 and 11 when considered in combination with the limitations of claim 1. Prior art reference von Badinski was previously relied on to teach the limitations of claims 10 and 11, however, it would not have been obvious to combine the teachings of von Badinski with the other prior art in light of the amendments made to independent claim 1.
- Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Conclusion
/Brian T Misiura/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175