DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Errico et al. (Pat. No. US 5,669,911).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 9, Errico et al. discloses an apparatus (figure 9), comprising: a screw 120, comprising a shaft 126 and a screw head 122 fixedly attached with the shaft (figure 4), wherein the screw head 122 further comprises a portion of a sphere (figure 4); a movable head 200 comprising a top portion and a bottom portion (figure 6), a concave interior 205 larger than the screw head 122 (figure 9), and being movable with respect to the screw head (figures 8 and 9); a connecting rod 250; a locking element 185, capable of engaging the movable head 200 and creating an axial compression force on the connecting rod (figure 9); and a collet 150 having a central opening with a longitudinal axis (figure 5), a collet interior surface 154 (figure 5), and a collet exterior surface 152, wherein the collet 150 is interposed between the screw head 122 and the concave interior 205 of the movable head (figure 9), wherein the collet interior surface 154 and the screw head 122 are related such that, when the collet 150 is constrained against outward radial deformation, the screw head 122 is prevented from sliding distally relative the collet (figure 9). The collet interior surface 154 is partially spherical and resembles at least a portion of an external surface of the screw head 122 (figure 5 and 9). The collet interior surface 154 and the screw head form a cradle for receiving the connecting rod (figure 9). The collet interior surface 154 has a larger radius of curvature than the portion of the sphere of the screw head (figure 8; col. 9, lines 49-54). The collet 150 further comprises at least one flexible hinge that extends vertically from a top end of the collet towards a bottom end of the collet (col. 7, lines 26-43- due to the slot 166, the opposite portion of the collet 150 forms a hinge that allows for expansion and contraction of the collet). The collet 150 includes one or more open slots 166 extending in a direction between a top end of the collet and a bottom end of the collet (figure 5).
Regarding claims 10-14 and 18, Errico et al. discloses a collet 150 for a polyaxial screw assembly, comprising: a top end 156 configured to receive a connecting rod; a bottom end 160 configured to interface with a screw head (figure 5 and 9); a central opening 162 with a longitudinal axis extending between the top end and the bottom end; and a collet interior surface 154 (figure 5); wherein the collet interior surface 154 and the screw head 122 are related such that, when the collet 150 is constrained against outward radial deformation, the screw head is prevented from sliding distally relative the collet (figure 9). The collet interior surface 154 is partially spherical and resembles at least a portion of an external surface of the screw head 122 (figure 5 and 9). The collet interior surface 154 and the screw head form a cradle for receiving the connecting rod (figure 9). The collet interior surface 154 has a larger radius of curvature than the portion of the sphere of the screw head (figure 8; col. 9, lines 49-54). The collet 150 further comprises at least one flexible hinge that extends vertically from a top end of the collet towards a bottom end of the collet (col. 7, lines 26-43- due to the slot 166, the opposite portion of the collet 150 forms a hinge that allows for expansion and contraction of the collet). The collet 150 includes one or more open slots 166 extending in a direction between a top end of the collet and a bottom end of the collet (figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Errico et al. (Pat. No. US 5669911) in view of Richelsoph et al. (Pat. No. US 6,010,503).
Regarding claims 6, and 15, Errico et al. discloses the claimed invention except wherein the at least one flexible hinge extends from the top end of the collet and for a distance spaced from the bottom end of the collet.
Richelsoph et al. teaches wherein a collet 84” comprises a flexible hinge 102 and tabs 98, wherein the at least one flexible hinge 102 extends from the top end of the collet and for a distance spaced from the bottom end of the collet (due to the presence of the notch which creates tabs 98, figure 9), for the purpose of providing a hinge which allows for hinging or collapsing of the collet about its diameter while also providing alignment means for maintaining the alignment of the collet relative to the movable head 12” (col. 6, lines 38-55; figures 9 and 10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the collet disclosed by Errico et al. such that it extends from the top end of the collet and for a distance spaced from the bottom end of the collet and has notches, as taught by Richelsoph et al., in order to provide a hinge which allows for hinging or collapsing of the collet about its diameter while also providing alignment means for maintaining the alignment of the collet relative to the movable head 12” (col. 6, lines 38-55; figures 9 and 10).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Errico et al. discloses the claimed invention except wherein the at least one flexible hinge further includes a concave interior intersecting the central opening and extending radially outward away from the central opening and the longitudinal axis.
Richelsoph et al. teaches wherein a flexible hinge 102 includes a concave interior intersecting the central opening and extending outward away from the central opening and the longitudinal axis for the purpose of allowing for hinging or collapsing of the insert 84” about its diameter (figure 9; col. 6, lines 43-50).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the hinge of the collet disclosed by Errico et al. such tthat it further includes a concave interior intersecting the central opening and extending radially outward away from the central opening and the longitudinal axis, as taught by Richelsoph, for the purpose of allowing for easier hinging or collapsing of the insert 84” about its diameter (figure 9; col. 6, lines 43-50).
. Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10507043 B1 in view of Errico et al. (Pat. No. US 5669911).
Regarding claims 1-20, the patent claims claim the same invention except wherein the collet interior surface and the screw head are related such that, when the collet is constrained against outward radial deformation, the screw head is prevented from sliding distally relative the collet.
Errico et al. teaches wherein the collet interior surface and the screw head are related such that, when the collet is constrained against outward radial deformation, the screw head is prevented from sliding distally relative the collet (figure 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed for the patent claims to require that the collet interior surface and the screw head are related such that, when the collet is constrained against outward radial deformation, the screw head is prevented from sliding distally relative the collet, as taught by Errico et al., in order to retain the screw head within the movable head.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11890034 B1 in view of Errico et al. (Pat. No. US 5669911).
Regarding claims 1-20, the patent claims claim the same invention except wherein the collet interior surface and the screw head are related such that, when the collet is constrained against outward radial deformation, the screw head is prevented from sliding distally relative the collet.
Errico et al. teaches wherein the collet interior surface and the screw head are related such that, when the collet is constrained against outward radial deformation, the screw head is prevented from sliding distally relative the collet (figure 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed for the patent claims to require that the collet interior surface and the screw head are related such that, when the collet is constrained against outward radial deformation, the screw head is prevented from sliding distally relative the collet, as taught by Errico et al., in order to retain the screw head within the movable head.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO form 892.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Lynnsy Summitt whose telephone number is (571)270-7856. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Thursday from 8am until 5pm.
/LYNNSY M SUMMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773