DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’312 (US 2021/0369312).
With respect to claim 1, US’312 discloses a fastening member comprising a male thread and a female thread (Figs. 1-8), wherein:
a hard layer made of a metal nitride is formed on a surface of a threaded portion of the male thread or a surface of a threaded portion of the female thread [0032], [0040]; the metal nitride is made of a Ti-based nitride or a Cr-based nitride [0040]. See especially Figs. 1-8, pars. [0031-0041], and the claims.
However, US’312 fails to explicitly teach “an oxidation rate on a surface of the hard layer is 1 x 10-6 mm/h or less” as claimed.
The oxidation rate is merely a property that is inherent to the material of the article. Therefore, it would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to provide for a material with the oxidation rate within a range as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 3, US’312 fails to explicitly teach “wherein the fastening member is used at a temperature of 500°C or more” as claimed. However, it would be considered an obvious expedient to use the fastening member at such high temperatures because of the properties of the materials that withstand such high heats.
With respect to claim 4, US’312 teaches wherein the fastening member is made of ferritic heat-resistant steel, Ni-based superalloy, or austenitic heat-resistant steel [0033-0038].
With respect to claim 5, US’312 teaches wherein a surface hardness of the hard layer is 1500 HV or more [0033-0038].
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’181 (US 2022/0348181).
With respect to claim 1, US’181 discloses a fastening member comprising a male thread 12a, 22a and a female thread 12b, 22b, wherein:
a hard layer made of a metal nitride is formed on a surface of a threaded portion of the male thread or a surface of a threaded portion of the female thread [0046]; the metal nitride is made of a Ti-based nitride or a Cr-based nitride [0046-0047]. See especially Figs. 2-9, pars. [0033-0053], and the claims.
However, US’181 fails to explicitly teach “an oxidation rate on a surface of the hard layer is 1 x 10-6 mm/h or less” as claimed.
The oxidation rate is merely a property that is inherent to the material of the article. Therefore, it would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to provide for a material with the oxidation rate within a range as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 3, US’181 fails to explicitly teach “wherein the fastening member is used at a temperature of 500°C or more” as claimed. However, it would be considered an obvious expedient to use the fastening member at such high temperatures because of the properties of the materials that withstand such high heats.
With respect to claim 7, US’181 fails to explicitly teach “wherein a dynamic friction coefficient of the hard layer, which is obtained by a non- lubricated ball-on-disc test at room temperature, is 0.3 or less” as claimed. The dynamic friction coefficient is merely a property that is inherent to the material of the article. Therefore, it would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to provide for a material with the dynamic friction coefficient within a range as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZAKIYA W BATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 10/22/2026