2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Claim Interpretation (“If” statements)
5. Claims … contain “If” statements. It is not clear whether the functional language recited afterwards is optional step or required functionality. Examiner read the functional language recited afterwards (after “IF”) is optional step. The “If statement” will never occur; according to the broadest reasonable interpretation by the examiner since it is optional. Therefore, limitations after “if” are not given any patentable weight. For the purpose of expediting the processing of the application, Claims have been rejected in view of the prior art (see below) based on a broader interpretation that meets the claimed subject matter as interpreted by the Examiner.
CLAIM OBJECTION
6. Claim 23 is objected because of improper dependent form. Claim 3 is depend on a cancelled claim (Claim 21). Further correction is required. For the purpose of examination, examiner assume that claim 23 depends on claim 1.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-10, 17, 23, 71 & 91-95 are rejected under 35 USC 102 as being clearly anticipated by Saily et al (Pub No. US 2022/0299589).
Regarding claim 1, Saily et al discloses a user equipment for transmitting and receiving data in a wireless communication system (Fig. 3-4), wherein, at a point-in-time, the user equipment is in one of a plurality of radio resource control (RRC) states (Para. 23-24 & 28: UE position estimate for RRC active & inactive state at a time) & (Fig. 3-4), wherein for each radio resource control state of at least a first radio resource control state and a second radio resource control state of the plurality of radio resource control states (Para. 23-24 & 28 & Fig. 3-4: first radio resource control state[Wingdings font/0xE0]RRC connected and a second radio resource control state[Wingdings font/0xE0]RRC Inactive), when the user equipment is in said radio resource control state, the user equipment is configured to transmit and/or to receive a reference signal for positioning depending on configuration information received from a network entity of the wireless communication system (Fig. 3-5: PRS configured and transmit & Para. 51: UE transmit and/or to receive a reference signal for positioning & Para. 35 & 77: PRS).
Regarding claim 92, Claim 92 corresponds to claim 1 and is analyzed accordingly.
Regarding claim 71, Saily et al discloses a network entity of a wireless communication system, wherein the network entity is configured to transmit first configuration information to a user equipment of the wireless communication system (Fig. 3-4) , wherein the first configuration information is suitable for configuring the user equipment to transmit and/or to receive a reference signal for positioning during a first radio resource control state and during a second radio resource control state of the user equipment (Fig. 3-5: resource control state[Wingdings font/0xE0]RRC connected or inactive. PRS configured and transmit & Para. 51: UE transmit and/or to receive a reference signal for positioning), or to transmit the first configuration information and second configuration information to the user equipment of the wireless communication system, wherein the first configuration information is suitable for configuring the user equipment to transmit and/or to receive the reference signal for positioning during the first radio resource control state of the user equipment (Fig. 3-5: resource control state[Wingdings font/0xE0]RRC connected or inactive. PRS configured and transmit & Para. 51: UE transmit and/or to receive a reference signal for positioning), and wherein the second configuration information is suitable for configuring the user equipment to transmit and/or receive the reference signal for positioning during the second radio resource control state of the user equipment, and wherein the network entity is configured to transmit the reference signal for positioning to the user equipment, or the network entity is to receive the reference signal for positioning from the user equipment (Fig. 3-5: PRS configured and transmit & Para. 51: UE transmit and/or to receive a reference signal for positioning & Para. 35-41 & 77: PRS).
Regarding claim 93, Claim 93 corresponds to claim 71 and is analyzed accordingly.
Regarding claim 2, Saily et al discloses the user equipment is configured to begin to transmit or to stop to transmit the reference signal for positioning depending on whether or not an event is triggered (Fig 3-4: Trigger transmit operation-423).
Regarding claim 3, Saily et al discloses the user equipment is configured to stop to transmit the reference signal for positioning if it is triggered as the event that a timing advance cannot be validated (Para. 23 & 43).
Regarding claim 4, Saily et al discloses the user equipment is configured to stop to transmit the reference signal for positioning depending a Reference Signal Received Power for a downlink reference signal (Para. 23 & 43).
Regarding claim 9, Saily et al discloses the user equipment is configured to conduct the measurement of the downlink reference signal by conducting a timing measurement, for example, a ToA, or a RSTD, or a ToF, or by conducting a power measurement, for example, a RSRP, or a RSSI (Para. 46: reference signal received power).
Regarding claim 10, Saily et al discloses the user equipment is configured to receive and use an uplink reference signal resource configuration for transmitting the reference signal for positioning, wherein, when the user equipment is in the second radio resource control state, the user equipment is configured to measure one or more downlink positioning reference signal resources from a base station, wherein the uplink reference signal resource configuration is associated with the one or more downlink positioning reference signal resources (Fig. 3-5 & Para. 28 & 30-32).
Regarding claim 17, Saily et al discloses the user equipment is in the first radio resource control state, the user equipment is configured with network controlled mobility, and wherein, when the user equipment is in the second radio resource control state, the user equipment is configured with user equipment mobility which depends on a network configuration (Para. 23-24 & 28 & Fig. 3-4: first radio resource control state[Wingdings font/0xE0]RRC connected and a second radio resource control state[Wingdings font/0xE0]RRC Inactive)
Regarding claim 23, Saily et al discloses the first configuration information comprises a first resource (ID) identifier identifying a reference signal (RS) resource (Para. 113-114: Network identifier & CSI-RS).
Regarding claim 94, Saily et al discloses the method is implemented by a computer or signal processor (Para. 2-3).
Regarding claim 95, Saily et al discloses the method is implemented by a computer or signal processor (Para. 2-3).
Regarding claim 91, Saily et al discloses : a user equipment for transmitting and receiving data in a wireless communication system, wherein, at a point-in-time, the user equipment is in one of a plurality of radio resource control (RRC) states, wherein for each radio resource control state of at least a first radio resource control state and a second radio resource control state of the plurality of radio resource control states (Para. 23-24 & 28 & Fig. 3-4: first radio resource control state[Wingdings font/0xE0]RRC connected and a second radio resource control state[Wingdings font/0xE0]RRC Inactive), when the user equipment is in said radio resource control state, the user equipment is configured to transmit and/or to receive a reference signal for positioning depending on configuration information received from a network entity of the wireless communication system (Fig. 4-5), and a network entity according toa network entity according to wherein the network entity is configured to transmit configuration information to the user equipment, wherein the configuration information is suitable to configure the user equipment for transmitting and/or for receiving a reference signal for positioning during the second radio resource control state of the user equipment (Abstract & Para. 35-37), and wherein the user equipment is configured to transmit and/or to receive the reference signal for positioning depending on the configuration information during the second radio resource control state of the user equipment (Fig. 3-5: PRS configured and transmit & Para. 51: UE transmit and/or to receive a reference signal for positioning & Para. 35-41 & 77: PRS). (Also see the rejection of claim 1 & 71).
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saily et al (Pub No. US 2022/0299589) and further in view of Khirallah et al (Pub No. 2024/0206002. Foreign priority GB 2105402.8).
Regarding claim 5, Saily et al does not explicitly disclose the user equipment according to wherein the user equipment is configured to measure a downlink reference signal, wherein the user equipment is configured to transmit the reference signal for positioning depending on the measuring of the downlink reference signal.
In a similar field of endeavor, Khirallah et al discloses the user equipment according to wherein the user equipment is configured to measure a downlink reference signal, wherein the user equipment is configured to transmit the reference signal for positioning depending on the measuring of the downlink reference signal (Para. 128-135: measure a downlink reference signal & transmit the reference signal for positioning).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use DL positioning signal to determine the position of the device at a radio network.
Regarding claim 7, Saily et al does not explicitly disclose the user equipment is configured to measure a downlink reference signal, wherein the user equipment is configured to transmit an uplink reference signal depending on the measuring of the downlink reference signal.
In a similar field of endeavor, Khirallah et al discloses the user equipment is configured to measure a downlink reference signal, wherein the user equipment is configured to transmit an uplink reference signal depending on the measuring of the downlink reference signal (Para. 128-135: measure a downlink reference signal & transmit the reference signal for positioning).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use DL positioning signal to determine the position of the device at a radio network.
Claims 6 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saily et al (Pub No. US 2022/0299589) and further in view of Khirallah et al (Pub No. 2024/0206002. Foreign priority GB 2105402.8) and further in view of Liu et al (US 2021/01525228).
Regarding claim 6 & 8, Saily et al does not explicitly disclose the user equipment is configured to apply one or more of the following rules: avoid transmitting the reference signal for positioning using a configuration associated with the said downlink reference signal, if the measured value is below a certain threshold value configured by the network; avoid transmitting the reference signal for positioning using the configuration associated with the said downlink reference signal, if the measured value is above a certain threshold value configured by the network; transmit the reference signal for positioning using the configuration associated with the said downlink reference signal, if the measured value is above a certain threshold value configured by the network; transmit the reference signal for positioning using the configuration associated with the said downlink reference signal, if the measured value is below a certain threshold value configured by the network; transmit the reference signal for positioning using the configuration associated with the said downlink reference signal, if the measured value is below a first threshold value configured by the network and above a second threshold value configured by the network.
Liu et al discloses the user equipment is configured to apply one or more of the following rules: avoid transmitting the reference signal for positioning using a configuration associated with the said downlink reference signal, if the measured value is below a certain threshold value configured by the network; avoid transmitting the reference signal for positioning using the configuration associated with the said downlink reference signal, if the measured value is above a certain threshold value configured by the network; transmit the reference signal for positioning using the configuration associated with the said downlink reference signal, if the measured value is above a certain threshold value configured by the network; transmit the reference signal for positioning using the configuration associated with the said downlink reference signal, if the measured value is below a certain threshold value configured by the network; transmit the reference signal for positioning using the configuration associated with the said downlink reference signal, if the measured value is below a first threshold value configured by the network and above a second threshold value configured by the network (Para. 160: When reception quality for the reference signal by the second communication device is above the predetermined threshold μ for the first time, the second communication device may stop receiving the reference signal transmitted by the transmitting beam of the first communication device) & (Para. 7 & 147 & 161 & Fig. 14-15).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use a specific reference signal level for communicating multiple device to achieve better communication system.
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saily et al (Pub No. US 2022/0299589), in view of Khirallah et al (Pub No. 2024/0206002) and further in view of Smith (US 2017/0238136).
Regarding claim 26, Saily et al is silent regarding user equipment according to wherein the configuration information (which, for example, comprising a definition of a sequence) comprises information on a validity information (e.g., a validity condition), wherein the user equipment is configured to determine whether or not the configuration information is currently valid for the user equipment depending on the validity condition.
Smith discloses user equipment according to wherein the configuration information (which, for example, comprising a definition of a sequence) comprises information on a validity information (e.g., a validity condition), wherein the user equipment is configured to determine whether or not the configuration information is currently valid for the user equipment depending on the validity condition (Para. 188 & 164: Validate location information).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use validating device information for robust and secure wireless communication.
Regarding claim 27, Saily et al is silent regarding the validity information comprises information on a validity area, wherein the user equipment is configured to determine or to receive information on whether or not the user equipment is located within the validity area, wherein, if the user equipment is located within the validity area, the user equipment is configured to transmit and/or to receive the reference signal for positioning depending on the configuration information during the second radio resource control state of the user equipment, and wherein, if the user equipment is located outside of the validity area, the user equipment is configured to not transmit and/or to not receive the reference signal for positioning depending on the configuration information during second radio resource control state of the user equipment.
Smith discloses the validity information comprises information on a validity area, wherein the user equipment is configured to determine or to receive information on whether or not the user equipment is located within the validity area, wherein, if the user equipment is located within the validity area, the user equipment is configured to transmit and/or to receive the reference signal for positioning depending on the configuration information during the second radio resource control state of the user equipment, and wherein, if the user equipment is located outside of the validity area, the user equipment is configured to not transmit and/or to not receive the reference signal for positioning depending on the configuration information during second radio resource control state of the user equipment (Para. 188 & 164: Validate location information).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use validating device information for robust and secure wireless communication.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648