General Acknowledgments
The present application does not have an accepted Power of Attorney filed.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 26, “downtown” is used in the place of the proper “downtime.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and its dependents and Claim 5 and its dependent recite the limitation "the base" in lines 12 and 15 of Claim 1 and line 2 of Claim 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination “the base” was assumed to be “the tooling base” as recited in line 1 of Claim 1.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second device" line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination “the second device” was assumed to be “the first device” as recited in Claim 1 line 6.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "an internal clamp" in line 3. It is not clear if this is the same or different internal clamp as claimed in Claim 11, as Claim 11 previously recited a limitation of “an internal clamp.” For the purpose of examination, “an internal clamp” in Claim 16 was assumed to be “the internal clamp” as recited in Claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stark (US 2007/0063403).
Stark Figure 1
Stark Figure 2
Stark Figure 3, annotated
Stark Figure 5, Annotated Referred to Herein as Figure 5.1
Regarding Claim 1, Stark teaches: A tooling base (1) for removably aligning and attaching a tooling fixture to a work surface of a machine (Abstract) comprising: a base housing (11) having an interior (See Annotated Figure 3) and registration holes (4), the registration holes (4) being configured to receive alignment studs (2) (para 7) attached to the tooling fixture (19), a clamping system (See Annotated Figure 5.1) fit into the interior (40) of the base housing (11), wherein the clamping system (See Annotated Figure 5.1) comprises a first device (5) configured to secure, when adjusted to a first position (See Figure 2), the tooling fixture (19) to the tooling base (1) via interaction with an indentation (100) on each of the alignment studs (2) the first device (5) further configured to release, when adjusted to a second position (See Figure 3), a hold on the indentation on each of the alignment studs (2) (para 64-65 {“in the interior of rapid-action coupling cylinder 1 is a locking means… moveable into its release position and… into its locking position”}), enabling removal of the tooling fixture (19) from the tooling base (1), and one or more ejector components (28) positioned in the tooling base (1), whereby movement of an actuator (See Annotated Figure 5.1) causes one or more ejector components (28) to move upwards such that a portion of the one or more ejector components (28) extends out from a top surface of the tooling base (See Figure 5.1).
Regarding Claim 2, Stark teaches: the actuator (See Annotated Figure 5.1) is a pneumatic actuator (para 30, ln 2-3). Regarding Claim 3, Stark teaches: the pneumatic actuator (See Annotated Figure 5.1) comprises a piston (31).
Regarding Claim 4, Stark teaches: each of the one or more ejector components (28) comprises at least one upper port hole (See Annotated Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Stark teaches: the movement of the actuator (See Annotated Figure 5.1) is resultant from an application of compressed air (para 30, ln 2-3) to the tooling base (1) wherein the application of the compressed air causes a portion of the compressed air to enter a lower air port (See Annotated Figure 3) and exit via the at least one upper port hole (See Annotated Figure 3) (para 82-83 {“ As soon as the lifting piston 31 is moved into its position according to FIG. 5 above the top surface of the cover… air also moves via the previously mentioned ascending channel 27 into the intermediate space between the pull-in nipple 32 and the associated surface on the wear insert 28”}).
Regarding Claim 6, Stark teaches: the at least one upper port hole (See Annotated Figure 3) is oriented toward a precision zone (See Annotated Figure 5.1) surrounding the registration holes (4) wherein the portion of the compressed air exits the at least one upper port hole toward the precision zone (para 83 “air also moves via the previously mentioned ascending channel 27 into the intermediate space between the pull-in nipple 32 and the associated surface on the wear insert 28”}).
Regarding Claim 7, Stark teaches: each of the one or more ejector components (28) is operably coupled to the actuator (See Annotated Figure 5.1).
Regarding Claim 8, Stark teaches: the actuator (See Annotated Figure 5.1) corresponds to a plurality of actuators (para 26-28 {“a row of rapid action coupling cylinders… the individual lifting pistons… linked to each other synchronously” “proposed that each lifting piston is connected… so that when a single drive cylinder is actuated, all toggle joints are actuated accordingly”}) wherein each of the one or more ejector components (28) is operably coupled to one of the plurality of actuators (See Annotated Figure 5.1).
Regarding Claim 9, Stark teaches: the first device (5) is configured to secure the tooling fixture to the tooling base (1) via one of: spring actuation, pneumatic actuation, or hydraulic actuation (para 64-65 {“in the interior of rapid-action coupling cylinder 1 is a locking means… which is hydraulically movable into is release position and by the spring force of the springs 10 into its locking position”}).
Regarding Claim 10, Stark teaches: the first device (5) is configured to unsecure the tooling fixture from the tooling base (1) via one of: spring actuation, pneumatic actuation, or hydraulic actuation (para 64-65 {“in the interior of rapid-action coupling cylinder 1 is a locking means… which is hydraulically movable into is release position and by the spring force of the springs 10 into its locking position”}).
Regarding Claim 11, Stark teaches: A tooling fixture release system (Fig 1) comprising: a tooling base (1) configurable between a clamped state (See Figure 2) and an unclamped state (See Figure 3), wherein the tooling base (1) includes registration holes (4) configured to receive alignment studs (2) attached to a tooling fixture (19), an internal clamp (See Annotated Figure 5.1) contained within the tooling base (1), wherein the internal clamp (See Annotated Figure 5.1) is configured to engage the alignment studs (2) within the registration holes (4) in the clamped state (See Figure 2) and disengage the alignment studs (2) in the unclamped state (See Figure 3), and an ejector component (28) residing within an ejector hole (103 {the hole in which it engages}) located in a precision zone (See Annotated Figure 5.1) on a surface (6) of the tooling base (1), the ejector component (28) being selectively movable between a withdrawn state (see Figure 3) and a raised state (See Figure 5.1) via actuation of an actuator (See Annotated Figure 5.1).
Regarding Claim 12, Stark teaches: the ejector component comprises a port hole (See Annotated Figure 5.1).
Regarding Claim 13, Stark teaches: the substance is compressed air (para 30, ln 2-3).
Regarding Claim 14, Stark teaches: the compressed air is configured to be provided to the tooling base (1) (para 30, ln 2-3) via computer-actuated valves substantially immediately prior to removal of the tooling fixture from the tooling base (para 29-30 {“It is particularly important… actuation of the dual-action cylinder takes place through the machine control unit itself”}).
Regarding Claim 15, Stark teaches: the ejector component is connected to the actuator via a spring (10).
Regarding Claim 16, Stark teaches: the actuator (See Annotated Figure 5.1) comprises a piston(31) positioned within the tooling base (1), the piston (31) being in contact with a cam (5) that engages with the internal clamp (See Annotated Figure 5.1, clamping system) to release the tooling fixture (19) from the tooling base (1) during the unclamped state (See Figure 3).
Stark Figure 5, Annotated Referred to Herein as Figure 5.2
Regarding Claim 17, Stark teaches: An ejector component of a tooling base (See Annotated Figure 5.2) comprising: a body (See Annotated Figure 5.2) having a first end (See Annotated Figure 5.2) and a second end (See Annotated Figure 5.2), the first end (See Annotated Figure 5.2) configured for insertion into an ejector hole (See Annotated Figure 5.2) of the tooling base (1), a first port hole (See Annotated Figure 5.2) formed proximate to the second end (See Annotated Figure 5.2) of the body (See Annotated Figure 5.2), a second port hole (See Annotated Figure 5.2) formed proximate to the first end (See Annotated Figure 5.2), a spring (10) coupled to the first end (See Annotated Figure 5.2) of the body (See Annotated Figure 5.2) to an actuator (See Annotated Figure 5.1) housed within the tooling base (1), wherein the ejector component (See Annotated Figure 5.2) is selectively movable between a withdrawn state (See Figure 3) and a raised state (See Figure 5), with respect to a surface (6) of the tooling base (1) via manipulation of the actuator (See Annotated Figure 5.1).
Regarding Claim 18, Stark teaches: the ejector further comprising an internal shaft (27) that extends along an internal length of the body (See Annotated Figure 5.2).
Regarding Claim 19, Stark teaches: the transition of the ejector component (See Annotated Figure 5.2) between the withdrawn state (See Figure 3) and the raised state (See Figure 5) causes a substance to enter the second port hole (See Annotated Figure 5.2), traverse the internal shaft (27), and be expelled from the first port hole (See Annotated Figure 5.2) (para 82-83 {“ As soon as the lifting piston 31 is moved into its position according to FIG. 5 above the top surface of the cover… air also moves via the previously mentioned ascending channel 27 into the intermediate space between the pull-in nipple 32 and the associated surface on the wear insert 28”}).
Stark Figure 9
Regarding Claim 20, Stark teaches: the ejector component (21) further comprising a groove (106) formed in the body (See Annotated Figure 5.2) wherein the groove (106) is configured to house a pin (58) that orients the ejector component (See Annotated Figure 5.2) toward a predetermined direction.
ConclusionAny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GRANT D HAY whose telephone number is 571-272-9510. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 7:30am-3:30pm EST.
/G.D.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723