3Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Amendment / Status of Claims
This action is in response to amendment filed May 28, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. The amendment to the specification has overcome the prior objection to the specification. The amendments to the claims have overcome the prior 112(b) rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stark (US 2007/0063403).
Stark Figure 1
Stark Figure 2
Stark Figure 3, annotated
Stark Figure 5, Annotated Referred to Herein as Figure 5
Regarding Claim 11, Stark teaches: A tooling fixture release system (Fig 1) comprising: a tooling base (1) configurable between a clamped state (See Figure 2) and an unclamped state (See Figure 3), wherein the tooling base (1) includes registration holes (4) configured to receive alignment studs (2) attached to a tooling fixture (19), an internal clamp (See Annotated Figure 5) contained within the tooling base (1), wherein the internal clamp (See Annotated Figure 5) is configured to engage the alignment studs (2) within the registration holes (4) in the clamped state (See Figure 2) and disengage the alignment studs (2) in the unclamped state (See Figure 3), and an ejector component (28) residing within an ejector hole (the hole in which element 103 engages) located in a precision zone (See Annotated Figure 5) on a surface (6) of the tooling base (1), the ejector component (28) being selectively movable between a withdrawn state (see Figure 3) and a raised state (See Figure 5) via actuation of an actuator (See Annotated Figure 5), wherein at least a portion of the ejector component (28) is configured to extend out from the ejector hole (the hole in which element 103 engages) in the raised state (see Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 12, Stark teaches: the ejector component comprises a port hole (See Annotated Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 13, Stark teaches: the substance is compressed air (para 30, ln 2-3).
Regarding Claim 14, Stark teaches: the compressed air is configured to be provided to the tooling base (1) (para 30, ln 2-3) via computer-actuated valves substantially immediately prior to removal of the tooling fixture from the tooling base (para 29-30 {“It is particularly important… actuation of the dual-action cylinder takes place through the machine control unit itself”}).
Regarding Claim 15, Stark teaches: the ejector component is connected to the actuator via a spring (10).
Regarding Claim 16, Stark teaches: the actuator (See Annotated Figure 5) comprises a piston(31) positioned within the tooling base (1), the piston (31) being in contact with a cam (5) that engages with the internal clamp (See Annotated Figure 5, clamping system) to release the tooling fixture (19) from the tooling base (1) during the unclamped state (See Figure 3).
Stark Figure 5, Annotated Referred to Herein as Figure 5.2
Regarding Claim 17, Stark teaches: An ejector component of a tooling base (See Annotated Figure 5.2) comprising: a body (See Annotated Figure 5.2) having a first end (See Annotated Figure 5.2) and a second end (See Annotated Figure 5.2), the first end (See Annotated Figure 5.2) configured for insertion into an ejector hole (See Annotated Figure 5.2) of the tooling base (1), a first port hole (See Annotated Figure 5.2) formed proximate to the second end (See Annotated Figure 5.2) of the body (See Annotated Figure 5.2), a second port hole (See Annotated Figure 5.2) formed proximate to the first end (See Annotated Figure 5.2), a spring (10) coupled to the first end (See Annotated Figure 5.2) of the body (See Annotated Figure 5.2) to an actuator (See Annotated Figure 5) housed within the tooling base (1), wherein the ejector component (See Annotated Figure 5.2) is selectively movable between a withdrawn state (See Figure 3) and a raised state (See Figure 5), with respect to a surface (6) of the tooling base (1) via manipulation of the actuator (See Annotated Figure 5), wherein the second end (See Annotated Figure 5.2) of the body (See Annotated Figure 5.2) in the raised state extends out from an ejector hole (the hole in which element 103 resides) and above the surface of the tooling base (See Annotated Figure 5.2).
Regarding Claim 18, Stark teaches: the ejector further comprising an internal shaft (27) that extends along an internal length of the body (See Annotated Figure 5.2).
Regarding Claim 19, Stark teaches: the transition of the ejector component (See Annotated Figure 5.2) between the withdrawn state (See Figure 3) and the raised state (See Figure 5) causes a substance to enter the second port hole (See Annotated Figure 5.2), traverse the internal shaft (27), and be expelled from the first port hole (See Annotated Figure 5.2) (para 82-83 {“ As soon as the lifting piston 31 is moved into its position according to FIG. 5 above the top surface of the cover… air also moves via the previously mentioned ascending channel 27 into the intermediate space between the pull-in nipple 32 and the associated surface on the wear insert 28”}).
Stark Figure 9
Regarding Claim 20, Stark teaches: the ejector component (21) further comprising a groove (106) formed in the body (See Annotated Figure 5.2) wherein the groove (106) is configured to house a pin (58) that orients the ejector component (See Annotated Figure 5.2) toward a predetermined direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stark (US 2007/0063403) in view of Hauser (US 4927304 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Stark teaches: A tooling base (1) for removably aligning and attaching a tooling fixture to a work surface of a machine (Abstract) comprising: a base housing (11) having an interior (See Annotated Figure 3) and registration holes (4), the registration holes (4) being configured to receive alignment studs (2) (para 7) attached to the tooling fixture (19), a clamping system (See Annotated Figure 5) fit into the interior (40) of the base housing (11), wherein the clamping system (See Annotated Figure 5) comprises a first device (5) configured to secure, when adjusted to a first position (See Figure 2), the tooling fixture (19) to the tooling base (1) via interaction with an indentation (100) on each of the alignment studs (2) the first device (5) further configured to release, when adjusted to a second position (See Figure 3), a hold on the indentation on each of the alignment studs (2) (para 64-65 {“in the interior of rapid-action coupling cylinder 1 is a locking means… moveable into its release position and… into its locking position”}), enabling removal of the tooling fixture (19) from the tooling base (1), and one or more ejector components (28) positioned in the tooling base (1), whereby movement of an actuator (See Annotated Figure 5) causes one or more ejector components (28) to move upwards such that a portion of the one or more ejector components (28) extends out from a top surface of the tooling base (See Figure 5).
Stark does not teach the one or more ejector components able to move upward such that a portion of the ejectors extend out from an ejector hole different from the registration hole.
Hauser Figure 2
However, in a related device, Hauser teaches a tooling base (2) with one or more ejector components (22), positioned in the tooling base (2) whereby movement of an actuator (23) causes one or more ejector components (22) to move upwards such that a portion of the one or more ejector components (22) extends extend out from one or more corresponding ejector holes (24), different than the registration hole (20), and above a top surface (14) of the tooling base (2). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to move the ejector components of Stark to the positions used by Hauser. The ejector components of Hauser differed from the ejector components of Stark in their positioning outside the registration holes. Both components were known in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to filing date of instant application, would have been able to substitute the location of the ejectors of Hauser for the location of the ejectors in Stark (i.e. move the ejectors of stark to the locations taught by Hauser) and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Stark and Hauser teaches: the actuator (See Annotated Figure 5 of Stark) is a pneumatic actuator (para 30, ln 2-3 of Stark). Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Stark and Hauser teaches: the pneumatic actuator (See Annotated Figure 5 of Stark) comprises a piston (31 of Stark).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Stark and Hauser teaches: each of the one or more ejector components (28 of Stark) comprises at least one upper port hole (See Annotated Figure 3 of Stark).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Stark and Hauser teaches: the movement of the actuator (See Annotated Figure 5 of Stark) is resultant from an application of compressed air (para 30, ln 2-3 of Stark) to the tooling base (1 of Stark) wherein the application of the compressed air causes a portion of the compressed air to enter a lower air port (See Annotated Figure 3 of Stark) and exit via the at least one upper port hole (See Annotated Figure 3 of Stark) (para 82-83 {“ As soon as the lifting piston 31 is moved into its position according to FIG. 5 above the top surface of the cover… air also moves via the previously mentioned ascending channel 27 into the intermediate space between the pull-in nipple 32 and the associated surface on the wear insert 28”} of Stark).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Stark and Hauser teaches: the at least one upper port hole (See Annotated Figure 3 of Stark) is oriented toward a precision zone (See Annotated Figure 5 of Stark) surrounding the registration holes (4 of Stark) wherein the portion of the compressed air exits the at least one upper port hole toward the precision zone (para 83 “air also moves via the previously mentioned ascending channel 27 into the intermediate space between the pull-in nipple 32 and the associated surface on the wear insert 28”} of Stark).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Stark and Hauser teaches: each of the one or more ejector components (28 of Stark) is operably coupled to the actuator (See Annotated Figure 5 of Stark).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Stark and Hauser teaches: the actuator (See Annotated Figure 5 of Stark) corresponds to a plurality of actuators (para 26-28 {“a row of rapid action coupling cylinders… the individual lifting pistons… linked to each other synchronously” “proposed that each lifting piston is connected… so that when a single drive cylinder is actuated, all toggle joints are actuated accordingly”} of Stark) wherein each of the one or more ejector components (28 of Stark) is operably coupled to one of the plurality of actuators (See Annotated Figure 5 of Stark).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Stark and Hauser teaches: the movement of the actuator (See Annotated Figure 5) is resultant from one of: spring actuation, pneumatic actuation, or hydraulic actuation (para 30, ln 1-5 of Stark).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stark (US 2007/0063403) in view of Hauser (US 4927304 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor et al. (US 20200346311 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Stark and Hauser teaches the limitations of claim 1 as claimed.
The combination of Stark and Hauser does not teach a tapered region of the first device configured to interact with the indentation.
Taylor Figure 11
However, in a related device, Taylor teaches a tooling base (901) where a tapered region (1106) of a first device (1102) is configured to interact with an indentation (206) to secure a tooling fixture (106) to the tooling base (901). Taylor further teaches that this device advantageously reduces part count and eases manufacturing (para 5, ln 10-12). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to filing date of instant application, to combine first device of Taylor with the tooling base and ejectors of the combination of Stark and Hauser to advantageously reduce the total part count and ease manufacture (para 5, ln 10-12). Furthermore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions such that the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 28, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that in regard to previously presented claim 1 Stark fails to teach one or more ejector components as Stark discloses lifting pistons for guiding in pull-in nipples and are used for receiving “rather than to engage and push a tooling fixture away from a surface of the tooling base.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees as Stark teaches the lifting pistons (21) ejecting compressed air (para 16, ln 1-2). As such, the lifting pistons (21) are considered ejector components.
Applicant further argues that in regard to previously presented claims 10-20 Stark does not teach an “ejector hole” as element 103 is a “locking screw.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees that Stark does not teach an “ejector hole” because as provided above Stark teaches an ejector hole (the hole in which element 103 engages). Examiner does not assert element 103 to be the “ejector hole,” but rather the hole in which it engages.
Applicant further argues that in regard to claim previously presented 17, Stark does not teach “[the] first port hole formed proximate to the second end of the body.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees as Stark teaches two port holes (as labeled in annotated figure 5.2) wherein the second port hole (see annotated figure 5.2) is proximate the first end (see annotated figure 5.2) of the ejector component (see annotated figure 5.2) and in relation to the second port hole (see annotated figure 5.2) the first port hole (see annotated figure 5.2) is proximate to the second end (see annotated figure 5.2) of the ejector component (see annotated figure 5.2). Furthermore, the first port hole (see annotated figure 5.2) is the port hole immediately following the second end (see annotated figure 5.2) meaning proximate.
Applicants further argues that in regard to amended claim 1, Stark does not teach ejector components in separate ejector holes. The argument in regard to amended claim 1 is moot due to new grounds for rejection, as provided above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.D.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723