DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to the amendments filed 03/12/2026. Amendments received on 03/12/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 10, 15, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Pub 2016/0323781) in view of Hatton et al. (US 11, 539,595).
As of claims 1, 10 and 19, Yang discloses a network management system comprising:
one or more processors: a memory comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors (inherent in the controller cluster to perform the disclosed features), cause the one or more processors to:
obtain network data indicative of communication relationships between the plurality of Aps (see paragraphs [0024], [0037], “each AP in the network reports its RF-neighborhood information to the controller cluster”);
generate, based on the network data, a network graph (see paragraph [0038] “Based on the RF-neighborhood information, the lead cluster manager can construct an adjacency graph of APs and/or radios);
group, based on the network graph, the plurality of APs into a plurality of clusters of APs; and uniquely assign, to each of the plurality of clusters, an identifier of a plurality of identifiers that is indicative of a deployed location of a cluster of the plurality of clusters with respect to the site (see paragraph [0038], “Based on the RF-neighborhood information, the lead cluster manager can construct an adjacency graph of APs and/or radios, and perform an algorithm to assign adjacent APs in the RF neighborhood to different controllers in the controller cluster. In the system of Yang assigning of the plurality of access points to a controller is interpreted as grouping the access points to a cluster. Each cluster of access points are assigned to a controller (C1, C2, C3), which is interpreted as uniquely assigning, to each of the cluster of access points (AP1, AP5, AP7, for example) an identifier (controller name C1) of a plurality of identifiers (C1, C2, C3, for example) that is indicative of deployed location of a cluster (location of the AP1, AP5, AP7); see paragraphs [0049]-[0051]).
Base on the explanation given above it is the Examiner’s position that Yang discloses the invention as claimed, however in order to further support the Examiner’s assertion, Hatton discloses that it is well known in the art of a network systems, to perform the function of grouping plurality of nodes into a plurality of clusters and assigning unique cluster ID to each of the cluster (see fig. 1; also see abstract).
As of claims 6 and 15, Yang discloses to generate the network graph indicative of neighbor relationships between the plurality of APs based on received signal strength indicator (RSSI) values of wireless signals transmitted between the plurality of Aps ( Based on the RF-neighborhood information (signal strength), the lead cluster manager can construct an adjacency graph of APs and/or radios, and perform an algorithm to assign adjacent APs in the RF neighborhood to different controllers in the controller cluster (see paragraphs [0037]-[0038]).
As of claims 7 and 16, Yang discloses that the identifier of the plurality of identifiers comprises one or more of: a number representing a particular floor of a multi-floor structure of the site; a color representing a particular floor of a multi-floor structure of the site; a label representing a particular floor of a multi-floor structure of the site; a number representing a particular building of a multi-building site; a color representing a particular building of a multi-building site; or a label representing a particular building of a multi-building site (via assigning Building number and floor number; see fig. 2; also see paragraphs [0025]-[0026], [0036]-[0037]).
Claims 2-5, 11-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Pub 2016/0323781) in view of Hatton et al. (US 11, 539,595) and further in view of Mahimkar et al. (US Pub 2018/0167277).
As of claims 2-5, 11-14 and 20, combination of Yang and Hatton discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 1 above, however Yang does not explicitly disclose the use of Laplacian matrix to group the access points.
Mahimkar discloses the steps of generating a Laplacian matrix based on the network graph, wherein the Laplacian matrix is generated based on a difference between a degree matrix including information of a degree of each node in the network graph and an adjacency matrix including information of an adjacency of nodes in the network graph; and group, based on applying a k-means clustering algorithm to the Laplacian matrix, the plurality of APs into k clusters based on the neighbor relationships between the plurality of Aps (see paragraphs [0087]-[0088]).
From the teaching of Mahimkar it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Yang to use Laplacian matrix as taught by Mahimkar in order to find groups of tightly connected access points.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kachemir (US Pub 2020/0382981) discloses systems and/or methods of grouping access points into a group/cluster and assigning group/cluster identifier (see paragraph [0138]).
Haeupler (US Pub 2016/0105323) discloses a network system wherein a plurality of nodes are grouped into a cluster and the cluster is assigned a unique identifier (see paragraph [0004]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NABIL H SYED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686