Response to Amendments / Arguments
Regarding the rejection(s) of claims under 35 USC 1101
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
The Examiner acknowledges the telephonic interview, in which the Examiner indicated the proposed amendments appeared to overcome the § 101 rejection. As the interview summary notes, no formal agreement was reached. Upon further analysis of the claims as filed, the Examiner's position has changed for the reasons below.
Step 2A, Prong One. The limitations "evaluate each respective event in the event stream against a set of one or more constraints" and "based on the evaluation, determine that a given event in the event stream is governed by a given constraint" recite evaluation and judgment practically performable in the human mind. The specification confirms these steps are elementary, stating the comparison "may be achieved through one or more simple Boolean comparisons" using "an existing operator or function for string comparison (e.g., the '==' operator in the Python programming language or in JavaScript)." ([0089]).
Step 2A, Prong Two. Applicant argues the specification describes an improvement and the claims reflect it. The specification defines the improvement as two cooperating features: a placeholder that holds the constrained event's position, and metadata within the placeholder identifying where the event is stored and who may access it, so authorized consumers can retrieve it. [0002], [0065], [0079], [0095]. The specification's statement of advantages requires both, consumers "(i) know that the constrained events occurred and (ii) have sufficient information to request the constrained events and thereby facilitate downstream processes that could not otherwise be completed without data found in the constrained events." [0083]. The amended claims recite only that the placeholder omits data and replaces the given event in the sequence. No location identifier, uniform resource indicator, access role, or retrieval pathway is recited. The second half of the disclosed improvement is absent from the claims.
The claims also omit the mechanism the specification identifies as maintaining continuity: the placeholder's metadata matches the constrained event's metadata, including the globally unique identifier, source, type, and occurrence and publishing timestamps. [0095]. Because an event stream is a sequence ordered by time, [0047]–[0048], retention of these identifiers and timestamps is what preserves sequence position. The claims recite the phrase "maintain continuity of the sequence of events" but recite no identifier, timestamp, offset, position, or schema requirement by which continuity is achieved. Reciting the result of an improvement without the components that produce it does not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application.
The remaining additional elements, the producer computing system, network interface and data network, processor, non-transitory computer-readable medium, event repository, and consumer computing systems, are recited at a high level of generality and used as tools to implement the abstract idea. The “after generating…” limitation recites delivery of data over generic components and specifies nothing about how delivery preserves downstream consumer operation. L
Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1–20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 is maintained.
Regarding the rejection(s) of claims under 35 USC 103:
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/24/2026, in view of the amended claims, have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that "the cited Shoemaker and Li references, at minimum, do not disclose or suggest either a placeholder event or functionality for generation and delivery of placeholder events as recited by the amended independent claims." This argument is not persuasive. The claims require only that the placeholder event (i) omit at least a portion of data included within the given event and (ii) replace the given event within the sequence of events. Shoemaker discloses replacing identified information with placeholder information or a reference tag and transmitting the resulting content "void of the sensitive information" to a downstream system (col. 4, lines 35-65; FIGS. 3A, 3B, 4). Li likewise discloses that "the compressor 225 can replace the files of a matched process with a special event corresponding to the matched CFAT 224" within the received event stream ([0043]; [0086]-[0087], "merge the dependent feature identifiers of a matching set into a special event corresponding to a matched CFAT to produce compressed data"). Applicant has not proffered any definition of "placeholder event" that would exclude these teachings.
Secondly, Applicant argues that "Shoemaker admittedly does not 'teach that the received event is from a stream produced by at least one event producer'… Shoemaker, thus, also fails to disclose or suggest functionality for replacement of 'the given event within the event stream' with 'a placeholder event' that is 'generate[d] based on the given event.'" One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where, as here, the rejection is based on a combination of references. The Office Action expressly relied upon Li, not Shoemaker, for the event stream produced by at least one event producer. The "within the event stream" and "sequence of events" recitations are accordingly met by the combination.
With respect to the amendments, Li discloses receiving events in a sequence of events over a period of time, as the logs are "continually growing" and the event stream "can be received, e.g., either at a set time, or in a continuous stream" ([0025]-[0026], [0066]-[0067]). Li further discloses delivery of the substituted stream to downstream consumer systems subscribed to the event stream, in that "[u]pon being processed by the big data processing middleware 600, the event stream may be received by the analysis system 700" ([0027], [0068]). Continuity of the sequence is maintained in Li because the special event is associated with the corresponding independent event and passed on for indexing, storage, and subsequent analysis ([0034], [0087]).
Finally, Applicant argues that "to the extent that Li describes 'data sanitization,' that functionality as described in Li does not disclose or suggest the claimed functionality. See e.g., Li at [0031]-[0033]." This argument is not persuasive. The data sanitization module 210 of paragraphs 31-33 concerns FIFO removal of stale data from memory and was not cited as teaching the claimed replacement functionality. The rejection relies instead upon Li's event stream architecture ([0025]-[0027], [0066]-[0068]; FIGS. 1, 2) and, upon the special event substitution performed by compressor 225 ([0043], [0086]-[0087]).
Therefore, the identified claim language is considered to be taught by the combination, and the rejection is maintained. Further, since Applicant has not argued the dependent claims, their rejections are likewise maintained.
DETAILED ACTION
This is a reply to the arguments filed on 07/24/2026, in which, claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed
to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The following limitations are directed to an abstract idea because they recite an abstract idea:
receive an event stream, wherein receiving the event stream comprises receiving events in a sequence of events over a period of time (mental process; a human can mentally receive or observe a series of occurrences reported to them one after another over time, such as a coordinator receiving bookings as they are submitted over the course of a day)
evaluate each respective event in the event stream against a set of one or more constraints (mental process; a human can mentally evaluate each event (an incident report) against a set of rules or policies, such as a manager checking each report against company policies.)
based on the evaluation, determine that a given event in the event stream is governed by a given constraint in the set of one or more constraints (mental process; a human can mentally determine that a particular event is subject to a particular rule)
after determining that the given event is governed by the given constraint: (mental process; a human iteratively performing the following steps after making the determination.)
generate, based on the given event, a corresponding placeholder event to replace the given event within the event stream and maintain continuity of the sequence of events, wherein the placeholder event (i) omits at least a portion of data included within the given event and (ii) replaces the given event within the sequence of events (mental process; a human can mentally, or with pen and paper, prepare a redacted entry that omits sensitive information and enter it in the position of the original entry)
cause the event to be replaced by a corresponding placeholder event, wherein the placeholder omits at least a portion of data included within the given event (mental process; a human can mentally (or with pen and paper) replace a detailed record with a redacted summary that omits sensitive information)
cause the given event to be stored in a repository that complies with the given constraint (mental process; a human can mentally (or with pen and paper) file the original detailed record in a separate secure location that complies with the applicable rule)
after generating the placeholder event, cause the placeholder event to be delivered, in place of the given event, within the event stream (mental process; a human can, with pen and paper, provide the redacted entry in place of the original entry to recipients who regularly receive the record, such as a coordinator posting or handing over a schedule containing the redacted entry to standing recipients)
Additional elements include: a computing system comprising a network interface for communicating over at least one data network, at least one processor, at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium, and program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor; an event stream; an event producer; an event repository.
These additional elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because no improvement to a computer or technology is achieved. The claimed invention ends with storing the given event in an event repository. Further, these additional elements recite at a high level of generality (i.e. computing system, network interface, processor, non-transitory computer-readable medium, program instructions, event stream, event producer, event repository) using computers as a tool to implement the abstract idea. Further, these additional elements are insignificant pre-solution activity.
The additional elements alone, and in combination with the abstract idea, fail to arrive at significantly more than the abstract idea itself. As noted previously, no improvement to a computer or technology is achieved. The claimed invention ends with storing the given event in an event repository. Further, these additional elements recite at a high level of generality (i.e. computing system, network interface, processor, non-transitory computer-readable medium, program instructions, event stream, event producer, event repository) using computers as a tool to implement the abstract idea. Further, these additional elements are insignificant pre-solution activity.
Independent claims 8 and 15 are rejected under similar rationale.
Dependent claims do not cure the deficiency of the independent claims and are therefore rejected based on the aforementioned rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoemaker et al. (US 9177174 B1, referred to as Shoemaker), in view of Li et al. (US 20180336218 A1, referred to as Li).
In reference to claim 1, A computing system comprising: a network interface for communicating over at least one data network; at least one processor; least one non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor (Shoemaker: Col. 11 Line 19 - Col. 12 Line 10 and Fig 10. Provides for the exact structural correspondence.)
receive an event stream produced by at least one event producer computing system (Shoemaker: Col. 2, lines 48-55; Col. 5, lines 1-4; Col. 6, lines 42-47 and Fig. 5 Provides for receiving/identifying of digital communications (emails, documents, messages) from a user/producer.)
wherein receiving the event stream comprises receiving events in a sequence of events over a period of time (Shoemaker: Col. 8, lines 43-52 and FIG. 5. Provides for receiving successive communications at the receiving system over time, including an original communication and subsequent reply, forward, and share communications in an ongoing exchange.)
evaluate each respective event in the event stream against a set of one or more constraints (Shoemaker: Col. 3, lines 14-50; Col. 3, lines 30-42 and FIG. 1 Provides for evaluating communication content against constraints (detection rules for sensitive information types like credit cards, passwords) that determine whether data should be protected.)
based on the evaluation, determine that a given event in the event stream is governed by a given constraint in the set of one or more constraints (Shoemaker: Col. 3, lines 14-50; and Col. 2, lines 60-65 Provides for determining that specific identified information (e.g., validated credit card number) is governed by a protection constraint (sensitivity rules).)
after determining that the given event is governed by the given constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 4, lines 1-10; Col. 3, lines 48-55 and FIG. 1 Provides for conditional processing (replacement and storage) that occurs after determining information is governed by protection constraints.)
generate, based on the given event, a corresponding placeholder event to replace the given event within the event stream and maintain continuity of the sequence of events, wherein the placeholder event (i) omits at least a portion of data included within the given event and (ii) replaces the given event within the sequence of events (Shoemaker: Col. 4, lines 29-60; Col. 5, lines 60-65 and (FIGS. 3A, 3B, 4) Provides for replacing sensitive information with placeholder information in the communication stream that omits the actual sensitive data. The placeholder is generated based on the given event in that the transmitted content retains the remainder of the original content with only the identified information substituted, such that the communication remains well-formed and processable by the downstream system, thereby maintaining continuity of the sequence.)
cause the given event to be stored in an event repository that complies with the given constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 4, lines 1-12; Col. 8, lines 60-67; Col. 9, lines 1-7 and (FIG. 1 and FIG. 7) Provides for storing sensitive information in a secure vault repository that enforces constraints (access controls, time limits, authorization rules).)
after generating the placeholder event, cause the placeholder event to be delivered, in place of the given event, within the event stream to one or more downstream event consumer computing systems subscribed to the event stream (Shoemaker: Col. 4, lines 61-65; Col. 6, lines 42-47; Col. 7, lines 26-34 and FIGS. 1, 4. Provides for transmitting the content void of the sensitive information, along with the reference tag, to one or more downstream receiving systems 130, where the set of recipients is defined by the communication's "From," "To," "CC," and "BCC" lines or by the users with whom a document is shared.)
Shoemaker doesn't explicitly teach that the received event is from a stream produced by at least on event producer. However, Li teaches:
Wherein the received event stream is produced by at least one event producer (Li: [0025]-[0031], [0066] and (Fig 1, 2) Provides for receiving event streams from event producers (computers 100, point of sale devices 500). The system explicitly receives continuous streams of logged events from multiple sources over a network.)
Wherein receiving the event stream comprises receiving events in a sequence of events over a period of time (Li: [0025]-[0026], [0066]-[0067]. Provides that "a log of the events is continually growing" for each producer, and that the event stream "can be received, e.g., either at a set time, or in a continuous stream," occurring "either concurrently with the recording of the event log, or in a delayed fashion.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shoemaker, which provides a computing system for evaluating digital communications against constraints, replacing sensitive information with placeholders, and storing protected data in secure repositories, with the teachings of Li, which introduces receiving continuous event streams from multiple event producers over a network. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Li's stream-based architecture into Shoemaker's constraint evaluation and data protection system to enable real-time processing of continuous event flows. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to perform the substitution on data of the stream while the stream is still being received.
In reference to claim 2, The computing system of claim 1, further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing system is configured to: after causing the placeholder event to be delivered to the one or more downstream event consumer computing systems subscribed to the even stream, receive, from a given event consumer computing system subscribed to the event stream, a request for the given event (Shoemaker: Col. 6 Line 55 - Col. 7 Line 15 Provides for receiving a request from a consumer (Bob/receiving system 130) who has subscribed to the communication stream (is an authorized recipient of the email) to access the event (view the email).)
validate that the given event consumer computing system is authorized to access the given event (Shoemaker: Col. 7, lines 25-50; Col. 8, lines 10-25 and (FIG. 5; FIG. 7) Provides for validating consumer authorization through ACL checking before granting access to sensitive information.)
retrieve the given event from the event repository (Shoemaker: Col. 7, lines 10-16; and Col. 7, lines 60-65 Provides for retrieving the original event data (sensitive information) from the vault repository using identifiers.)
transmit the given event to the given event consumer computing system in response to the request (Shoemaker: Col. 7, lines 14-16; Col. 7, lines 60-67; and Col. 8, lines 1-8 Provides for transmitting/rendering the complete event (email with sensitive information restored from vault) to the authorized consumer in response to their access request.)
In reference to claim 3, The computing system of claim 2, wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing system is configured to validate that the given event consumer computing system is authorized to access the given event comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing system is configured to: identify a location where the given event consumer computing system is located (Shoemaker: Col. 5 Line 30 - Col. 6 Line 25 Provides for access limitation based on "access location" as an explicit constraint type.)
compare the location to a triggering condition included in the given constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 5 Line 30 - Col. 6 Line 25 Provides for comparing access conditions (time, location, device) against triggering conditions in constraints and verifying compliance during access attempts.)
based on the comparison, determine that transmitting the given event to the given event consumer computing system would not violate the constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 7 Line 49 - Col. 8 Line 35 Provides for determining whether transmitting would violate constraints based on verification checks (time limits, ACL authorization).)
In reference to claim 4, The computing system of claim 2, program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing system is configured to validate that the given event consumer computing system is authorized to access the given event comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing system is configured to: identify an information technology (IT) protocol that is enforced upon the given event consumer computing system (Shoemaker: Col. 3 Line 49 - Col. 4 line 40 Provides for identifying whether the consumer's system enforces specific IT protocols/capabilities (sensitive information protection features), including querying system/software identifiers to determine protocol compliance.)
compare the IT protocol to a triggering condition included in the given constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 3 Line 49 - Col. 4 line 40 Provides for comparing the receiving system's protocol capabilities against the constraint requirement (support for sensitive information protection) and making conditional processing decisions based on this comparison.)
based on the comparison, determine that transmitting the given event to the given event consumer computing system would not violate the constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 3 Line 49 - Col. 4 line 40 and Col. 7 Lines 40-55 Provides for determining that transmission would not violate constraints based on protocol compliance verification.)
In reference to claim 5, The computing system of claim 1, wherein the placeholder event: omits at least a portion of an event payload included in the given event (Shoemaker: Col. 4 Provides for placeholder information that explicitly omits the actual sensitive data payload (the real credit card number) while maintaining the structure of the communication.)
includes data that identifies that the given event is stored in the data repository (Shoemaker: Col. 4 Provides for reference tags/identifiers that are transmitted with the communication and explicitly identify that the sensitive information is stored in the vault repository, enabling retrieval.)
In reference to claim 7, The computing system of claim 1, wherein the at least one event producer comprises a point-of-sale system that produced the given event in response to a purchase made via the point-of-sale system (Li: [0025]-[0031], [0066] and (Fig 1, 2) Provides for receiving event streams from event producers (computers 100, point of sale devices 500). The system explicitly receives continuous streams of logged events from multiple sources over a network.)
In reference to claim 8, A non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable medium is provisioned with program instructions (Shoemaker: Col. 11 Line 19 - Col. 12 Line 10 and Fig 10. Provides for the exact structural correspondence.)
receive an event stream produced by at least one event producer (Shoemaker: Col. 2, lines 48-55; Col. 5, lines 1-4; Col. 6, lines 42-47 and Fig. 5 Provides for receiving/identifying of digital communications (emails, documents, messages) from a user/producer.)
evaluate each respective event in the event stream against a set of one or more constraints (Shoemaker: Col. 3, lines 14-50; Col. 3, lines 30-42 and FIG. 1 Provides for evaluating communication content against constraints (detection rules for sensitive information types like credit cards, passwords) that determine whether data should be protected.)
based on the evaluation, determine that a given event in the event stream is governed by a given constraint in the set of one or more constraints (Shoemaker: Col. 3, lines 14-50; and Col. 2, lines 60-65 Provides for determining that specific identified information (e.g., validated credit card number) is governed by a protection constraint (sensitivity rules).)
after determining that the given event is governed by the given constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 4, lines 1-10; Col. 3, lines 48-55 and FIG. 1 Provides for conditional processing (replacement and storage) that occurs after determining information is governed by protection constraints.)
generate, based on the given event, a corresponding placeholder event to replace the given event within the event stream and maintain continuity of the sequence of events, wherein the placeholder event (i) omits at least a portion of data included within the given event and (ii) replaces the given event within the sequence of events (Shoemaker: Col. 4, lines 29-60; Col. 5, lines 60-65 and (FIGS. 3A, 3B, 4) Provides for replacing sensitive information with placeholder information in the communication stream that omits the actual sensitive data. The placeholder is generated based on the given event in that the transmitted content retains the remainder of the original content with only the identified information substituted, such that the communication remains well-formed and processable by the downstream system, thereby maintaining continuity of the sequence.)
cause the given event to be stored in an event repository that complies with the given constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 4, lines 1-12; Col. 8, lines 60-67; Col. 9, lines 1-7 and (FIG. 1 and FIG. 7) Provides for storing sensitive information in a secure vault repository that enforces constraints (access controls, time limits, authorization rules).)
after generating the placeholder event, cause the placeholder event to be delivered, in place of the given event, within the event stream to one or more downstream event consumer computing systems subscribed to the event stream (Shoemaker: Col. 4, lines 61-65; Col. 6, lines 42-47; Col. 7, lines 26-34 and FIGS. 1, 4. Provides for transmitting the content void of the sensitive information, along with the reference tag, to one or more downstream receiving systems 130, where the set of recipients is defined by the communication's "From," "To," "CC," and "BCC" lines or by the users with whom a document is shared.)
Shoemaker doesn't explicitly teach that the received event is from a stream produced by at least on event producer. However, Li teaches:
Wherein the received event stream is produced by at least one event producer (Li: [0025]-[0031], [0066] and (Fig 1, 2) Provides for receiving event streams from event producers (computers 100, point of sale devices 500). The system explicitly receives continuous streams of logged events from multiple sources over a network.)
Wherein receiving the event stream comprises receiving events in a sequence of events over a period of time (Li: [0025]-[0026], [0066]-[0067]. Provides that "a log of the events is continually growing" for each producer, and that the event stream "can be received, e.g., either at a set time, or in a continuous stream," occurring "either concurrently with the recording of the event log, or in a delayed fashion.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shoemaker, which provides a computing system for evaluating digital communications against constraints, replacing sensitive information with placeholders, and storing protected data in secure repositories, with the teachings of Li, which introduces receiving continuous event streams from multiple event producers over a network. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Li's stream-based architecture into Shoemaker's constraint evaluation and data protection system to enable real-time processing of continuous event flows. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to perform the substitution on data of the stream while the stream is still being received.
In reference to claim 9, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, further provisioned with program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing system to: receive, from a consumer that has subscribed to the event stream, a request for the given event (Shoemaker: Col. 6 Line 55 - Col. 7 Line 15 Provides for receiving a request from a consumer (Bob/receiving system 130) who has subscribed to the communication stream (is an authorized recipient of the email) to access the event (view the email).)
validate that the consumer is authorized to access the given event (Shoemaker: Col. 7, lines 25-50; Col. 8, lines 10-25 and (FIG. 5; FIG. 7) Provides for validating consumer authorization through ACL checking before granting access to sensitive information.)
retrieve the given event from the data repository (Shoemaker: Col. 7, lines 10-16; and Col. 7, lines 60-65 Provides for retrieving the original event data (sensitive information) from the vault repository using identifiers.)
transmit the given event to the consumer in response to the request (Shoemaker: Col. 7, lines 14-16; Col. 7, lines 60-67; and Col. 8, lines 1-8 Provides for transmitting/rendering the complete event (email with sensitive information restored from vault) to the authorized consumer in response to their access request.)
In reference to claim 10, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the computing system to validate that the given event consumer computing system is authorized to access the given event comprise program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing system to: identify a location where the given event consumer computing system is located (Shoemaker: Col. 5 Line 30 - Col. 6 Line 25 Provides for access limitation based on "access location" as an explicit constraint type.)
compare the location to a triggering condition included in the given constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 5 Line 30 - Col. 6 Line 25 Provides for comparing access conditions (time, location, device) against triggering conditions in constraints and verifying compliance during access attempts.)
based on the comparison, determine that transmitting the given event to the given event consumer computing system would not violate the constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 7 Line 49 - Col. 8 Line 35 Provides for determining whether transmitting would violate constraints based on verification checks (time limits, ACL authorization).) In reference to claim 11, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the computing system to validate that the given event consumer computing system is authorized to access the given event comprise program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing system to: identify an information technology (IT) protocol that is enforced upon the given event consumer computing sytem (Shoemaker: Col. 3 Line 49 - Col. 4 line 40 Provides for identifying whether the consumer's system enforces specific IT protocols/capabilities (sensitive information protection features), including querying system/software identifiers to determine protocol compliance.)
compare the IT protocol to a triggering condition included in the given constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 3 Line 49 - Col. 4 line 40 Provides for comparing the receiving system's protocol capabilities against the constraint requirement (support for sensitive information protection) and making conditional processing decisions based on this comparison.)
based on the comparison, determine that transmitting the given event to the given event consumer computing system would not violate the constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 3 Line 49 - Col. 4 line 40 and Col. 7 Lines 40-55 Provides for determining that transmission would not violate constraints based on protocol compliance verification.)
In reference to claim 12, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the placeholder event: omits at least a portion of an event payload included in the given event (Shoemaker: Col. 4 Provides for placeholder information that explicitly omits the actual sensitive data payload (the real credit card number) while maintaining the structure of the communication.)
includes data that identifies that the given event is stored in the event repository (Shoemaker: Col. 4 Provides for reference tags/identifiers that are transmitted with the communication and explicitly identify that the sensitive information is stored in the vault repository, enabling retrieval.)
In reference to claim 14, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the at least one event producer comprises a point-of-sale system that produced the given event in response to a purchase made via the point-of-sale system (Li: [0025]-[0031], [0066] and (Fig 1, 2) Provides for receiving event streams from event producers (computers 100, point of sale devices 500). The system explicitly receives continuous streams of logged events from multiple sources over a network.)
In reference to claim 15, A method carried out by a computing system (Shoemaker: Col. 11 Line 19 - Col. 12 Line 10 and Fig 10. Provides for the exact structural correspondence.)
receiving an event stream produced by at least one event producer (Shoemaker: Col. 2, lines 48-55; Col. 5, lines 1-4; Col. 6, lines 42-47 and Fig. 5 Provides for receiving/identifying of digital communications (emails, documents, messages) from a user/producer.)
evaluate each respective event in the event stream against a set of one or more constraints (Shoemaker: Col. 3, lines 14-50; Col. 3, lines 30-42 and FIG. 1 Provides for evaluating communication content against constraints (detection rules for sensitive information types like credit cards, passwords) that determine whether data should be protected.)
based on the evaluation, determine that a given event in the event stream is governed by a given constraint in the set of one or more constraints (Shoemaker: Col. 3, lines 14-50; and Col. 2, lines 60-65 Provides for determining that specific identified information (e.g., validated credit card number) is governed by a protection constraint (sensitivity rules).)
after determining that the given event is governed by the given constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 4, lines 1-10; Col. 3, lines 48-55 and FIG. 1 Provides for conditional processing (replacement and storage) that occurs after determining information is governed by protection constraints.)
generate, based on the given event, a corresponding placeholder event to replace the given event within the event stream and maintain continuity of the sequence of events, wherein the placeholder event (i) omits at least a portion of data included within the given event and (ii) replaces the given event within the sequence of events (Shoemaker: Col. 4, lines 29-60; Col. 5, lines 60-65 and (FIGS. 3A, 3B, 4) Provides for replacing sensitive information with placeholder information in the communication stream that omits the actual sensitive data. The placeholder is generated based on the given event in that the transmitted content retains the remainder of the original content with only the identified information substituted, such that the communication remains well-formed and processable by the downstream system, thereby maintaining continuity of the sequence.)
cause the given event to be stored in an event repository that complies with the given constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 4, lines 1-12; Col. 8, lines 60-67; Col. 9, lines 1-7 and (FIG. 1 and FIG. 7) Provides for storing sensitive information in a secure vault repository that enforces constraints (access controls, time limits, authorization rules).)
after generating the placeholder event, cause the placeholder event to be delivered, in place of the given event, within the event stream to one or more downstream event consumer computing systems subscribed to the event stream (Shoemaker: Col. 4, lines 61-65; Col. 6, lines 42-47; Col. 7, lines 26-34 and FIGS. 1, 4. Provides for transmitting the content void of the sensitive information, along with the reference tag, to one or more downstream receiving systems 130, where the set of recipients is defined by the communication's "From," "To," "CC," and "BCC" lines or by the users with whom a document is shared.)
Shoemaker doesn't explicitly teach that the received event is from a stream produced by at least on event producer. However, Li teaches:
Wherein the received event stream is produced by at least one event producer (Li: [0025]-[0031], [0066] and (Fig 1, 2) Provides for receiving event streams from event producers (computers 100, point of sale devices 500). The system explicitly receives continuous streams of logged events from multiple sources over a network.)
Wherein receiving the event stream comprises receiving events in a sequence of events over a period of time (Li: [0025]-[0026], [0066]-[0067]. Provides that "a log of the events is continually growing" for each producer, and that the event stream "can be received, e.g., either at a set time, or in a continuous stream," occurring "either concurrently with the recording of the event log, or in a delayed fashion.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shoemaker, which provides a computing system for evaluating digital communications against constraints, replacing sensitive information with placeholders, and storing protected data in secure repositories, with the teachings of Li, which introduces receiving continuous event streams from multiple event producers over a network. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Li's stream-based architecture into Shoemaker's constraint evaluation and data protection system to enable real-time processing of continuous event flows. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to perform the substitution on data of the stream while the stream is still being received.
In reference to claim 16, The method of claim 15, further comprising: after causing the placeholder event to be delivered to the one or more downstream event consumer computing systems subscribed to the event stream, receiving, from a given event consumer computing system that has subscribed to the event stream, a request for the given event (Shoemaker: Col. 6 Line 55 - Col. 7 Line 15 Provides for receiving a request from a consumer (Bob/receiving system 130) who has subscribed to the communication stream (is an authorized recipient of the email) to access the event (view the email).)
validating that the given event consumer computing system is authorized to access the given event (Shoemaker: Col. 7, lines 25-50; Col. 8, lines 10-25 and (FIG. 5; FIG. 7) Provides for validating consumer authorization through ACL checking before granting access to sensitive information.)
retrieving the given event from the event repository (Shoemaker: Col. 7, lines 10-16; and Col. 7, lines 60-65 Provides for retrieving the original event data (sensitive information) from the vault repository using identifiers.)
transmitting the given event to the given event consumer computing system in response to the request (Shoemaker: Col. 7, lines 14-16; Col. 7, lines 60-67; and Col. 8, lines 1-8 Provides for transmitting/rendering the complete event (email with sensitive information restored from vault) to the authorized consumer in response to their access request.)
In reference to claim 17, The method of claim 16, wherein validating that the given event consumer computing system is authorized to access the given event comprises identifying where the given event consumer computing sytme is located (Shoemaker: Col. 5 Line 30 - Col. 6 Line 25 Provides for access limitation based on "access location" as an explicit constraint type.)
comparing the location to a triggering condition included in the given constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 5 Line 30 - Col. 6 Line 25 Provides for comparing access conditions (time, location, device) against triggering conditions in constraints and verifying compliance during access attempts.)
based on the comparison, determining that transmitting the given event to the given event consumer computing system would not violate the constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 7 Line 49 - Col. 8 Line 35 Provides for determining whether transmitting would violate constraints based on verification checks (time limits, ACL authorization).)
In reference to claim 18, . The method of claim 16, wherein validating that the given event consumer computing system is authorized to access the given event comprises: identifying an information technology (IT) protocol that is enforced upon the given event consumer computing system (Shoemaker: Col. 3 Line 49 - Col. 4 line 40 Provides for identifying whether the consumer's system enforces specific IT protocols/capabilities (sensitive information protection features), including querying system/software identifiers to determine protocol compliance.)
comparing the IT protocol to a triggering condition included in the given constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 3 Line 49 - Col. 4 line 40 Provides for comparing the receiving system's protocol capabilities against the constraint requirement (support for sensitive information protection) and making conditional processing decisions based on this comparison.)
based on the comparison, determining that transmitting the given event to the given event consumer computing system would not violate the constraint (Shoemaker: Col. 3 Line 49 - Col. 4 line 40 and Col. 7 Lines 40-55 Provides for determining that transmission would not violate constraints based on protocol compliance verification.)
In reference to claim 19, The method of claim 15, wherein the placeholder event omits at least a portion of an event payload included in the given event (Shoemaker: Col. 4 Provides for placeholder information that explicitly omits the actual sensitive data payload (the real credit card number) while maintaining the structure of the communication.)
includes data that identifies that the given event is stored in the event repository (Shoemaker: Col. 4 Provides for reference tags/identifiers that are transmitted with the communication and explicitly identify that the sensitive information is stored in the vault repository, enabling retrieval.)
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoemaker et al. (US 9177174 B1, referred to as Shoemaker), in view of Li et al. (US 20180336218 A1, referred to as Li) in further view of Nagpal et al. (US 20120078643 A1, referred to as Nagpal).
In reference to claim 6, The computing system of claim 1, further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing system is configured to, prior to causing the given event to be stored in the event repository: identify a location where the event repository is located (Nagpal: [0056]-[0066] and [0093]-[0094] Provides for identifying storage locations (event repositories) and their geographic positions using a mapping database that associates data storage centers with their physical geographic regions.)
compare the location of the event repository to a triggering condition included in the given constraint (Nagpal: [0074]-[0079] and [0094] Provides for comparing storage location geography against constraint requirements (predefined geographic regions/rules) to determine if a data storage center falls within the permitted geographic regions specified by constraints.)
based on the comparison, determine that storing the given event in the event repository would not violate the given constraint (Nagpal: [0072]-[0080] and [0094] Provides for determining constraint compliance by verifying that selected storage locations satisfy geographic rules/constraints, with error handling when locations would violate constraints.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shoemaker in view of Li, which together provide a computing system for evaluating streaming events against constraints, replacing sensitive data with placeholders, and storing protected information in secure repositories, with the teachings of Nagpal, which introduces identifying repository locations, comparing them against geographic constraint requirements, and verifying compliance before storage. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Nagpal's location-aware constraint validation into the combined event protection system to ensure data sovereignty and regulatory compliance. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to satisfy data residency requirements imposed by regulations.
In reference to claim 13, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, further provisioned with program instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing system to, prior to causing the given event to be stored in the event repository: identify a location where the event repository is located (Nagpal: [0056]-[0066] and [0093]-[0094] Provides for identifying storage locations (event repositories) and their geographic positions using a mapping database that associates data storage centers with their physical geographic regions.)
compare the location of the event repository to a triggering condition included in the given constraint (Nagpal: [0074]-[0079] and [0094] Provides for comparing storage location geography against constraint requirements (predefined geographic regions/rules) to determine if a data storage center falls within the permitted geographic regions specified by constraints.)
based on the comparison, determine that storing the given event in the event repository would not violate the given constraint (Nagpal: [0072]-[0080] and [0094] Provides for determining constraint compliance by verifying that selected storage locations satisfy geographic rules/constraints, with error handling when locations would violate constraints.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shoemaker in view of Li, which together provide a computing system for evaluating streaming events against constraints, replacing sensitive data with placeholders, and storing protected information in secure repositories, with the teachings of Nagpal, which introduces identifying repository locations, comparing them against geographic constraint requirements, and verifying compliance before storage. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Nagpal's location-aware constraint validation into the combined event protection system to ensure data sovereignty and regulatory compliance. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to satisfy data residency requirements imposed by regulations.
In reference to claim 20, The method of claim 15, further comprising, prior to causing the given event to be stored in the event repository: identifying a location where the event repository is located (Nagpal: [0056]-[0066] and [0093]-[0094] Provides for identifying storage locations (event repositories) and their geographic positions using a mapping database that associates data storage centers with their physical geographic regions.)
comparing the location of the event repository to a triggering condition included in the given constraint (Nagpal: [0074]-[0079] and [0094] Provides for comparing storage location geography against constraint requirements (predefined geographic regions/rules) to determine if a data storage center falls within the permitted geographic regions specified by constraints.)
based on the comparison, determining that storing the given event in the event repository would not violate the given constraint (Nagpal: [0072]-[0080] and [0094] Provides for determining constraint compliance by verifying that selected storage locations satisfy geographic rules/constraints, with error handling when locations would violate constraints.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shoemaker in view of Li, which together provide a computing system for evaluating streaming events against constraints, replacing sensitive data with placeholders, and storing protected information in secure repositories, with the teachings of Nagpal, which introduces identifying repository locations, comparing them against geographic constraint requirements, and verifying compliance before storage. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability to incorporate Nagpal's location-aware constraint validation into the combined event protection system to ensure data sovereignty and regulatory compliance. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to satisfy data residency requirements imposed by regulations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2432
/Jeffrey Nickerson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2432