DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant's communication filed on 06/10/2026, wherein:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 11, and 17 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to pending claims have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khalidi ("Microsoft Innovation in RAN Analytics and Control", Dec 2022, provided by Applicant on 04/04/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Khalidi discloses a computing system comprising: a memory storing computer-executable instructions for operating a virtual network function of a wireless communication network; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions for operating the virtual network function, wherein the one or more processors (Khalidi discloses dynamic service model comprising codelets for dynamically being loaded service models to both the RAN software stack and cloud/edge platforms hosting the RAN, which indicates the system comprising common computing components such as memory and processor for performing network function and analytic function) are configured to:
provide a dynamic service model (Page 2 section "The Microsoft RAN analytics and control framework" - first paragraph - "The Microsoft RAN analytics and control framework extends the current RIC service models in O-RAN architecture to be both flexible and dynamic. In the process, the framework allows RAN solution providers and operators to define their own service models for dynamic RAN monitoring and control") that defines one or more hook points within the instructions for operating the virtual network function and one or more parameters of the virtual network function that can be accessed by a codelet at the hook point (Page 2 section "The Microsoft RAN analytics and control framework" - second paragraph - "This system enables operators and trusted third-party developers to write their own telemetry, control, and inference pieces of code (called “codelets”) that can be deployed at runtime at various points in the RAN software stack, without disrupting the RAN operations. The codelets are executed inline in the live RAN system and on its critical paths, allowing them to get direct access to all important internal raw RAN data structures, to collect statistics, and to make real-time inference and control decisions");
dynamically receive a codelet from an analysis node via an automated interface between the computing system and the analysis node (Figure on page 2, lower-left corner, along with related description "The following image illustrates the overall framework and the dynamic service model denoted by the star circle with the letter D" above said figure);
verify that the codelet complies with the dynamic service model (Page 2 section "The Microsoft RAN analytics and control framework" - third paragraph “To ensure security and safety, the codelets checked with static verified with verification tools before they can be loaded”); and
execute the codelet at one of the hook points during execution of the computer executable instructions for operating the network function (Page 2 section "The Microsoft RAN analytics and control framework" - second paragraph – “This system enables operators and trusted third-party developers to write their own telemetry, control, and inference pieces of code (called “codelets”) that can be deployed at runtime at various points in the RAN software stack, without disrupting the RAN operations. The codelets are executed inline in the live RAN system and on its critical paths, allowing them to get direct access to all important internal raw RAN data structures, to collect statistics, and to make real-time inference and control decisions”).
Regarding claim 3, Khalidi discloses the computing system of claim 1, wherein the analysis node is an edge data processor local to the computing system (Figure on page 2 discloses data collection is local to computing platform of real-time or near-RT RIC).
Regarding claim 11, the scope and content of the claim recite a method performed by the computer system of claim 1, therefore, being addressed as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Khalidi discloses a communications network comprising: an analysis node configured to execute an analysis application based on information from a virtual network function of a wireless communication network (Page 1 discloses O-RAN which is a communication network; Figure on page 2 disclose analysis node for data collection); and the virtual network function configured to:
provide a dynamic service model (Page 2 section "The Microsoft RAN analytics and control framework" - first paragraph - "The Microsoft RAN analytics and control framework extends the current RIC service models in O-RAN architecture to be both flexible and dynamic. In the process, the framework allows RAN solution providers and operators to define their own service models for dynamic RAN monitoring and control") that defines one or more hook points within computer-executable instructions for operating the virtual network function and one or more parameters of the virtual network function that can be accessed by a codelet at the hook point (Page 2 section "The Microsoft RAN analytics and control framework" - second paragraph - "This system enables operators and trusted third-party developers to write their own telemetry, control, and inference pieces of code (called “codelets”) that can be deployed at runtime at various points in the RAN software stack, without disrupting the RAN operations. The codelets are executed inline in the live RAN system and on its critical paths, allowing them to get direct access to all important internal raw RAN data structures, to collect statistics, and to make real-time inference and control decisions");
dynamically receive a codelet from an analysis node via an automated interface between the computing system and the analysis node (Figure on page 2, lower-left corner, along with related description "The following image illustrates the overall framework and the dynamic service model denoted by the star circle with the letter D" above said figure);
verify that the codelet complies with the dynamic service model (Page 2 section "The Microsoft RAN analytics and control framework" - third paragraph “To ensure security and safety, the codelets checked with static verified with verification tools before they can be loaded”); and
execute the codelet at one of the hook points during execution of the computer executable instructions for operating the network function (Page 2 section "The Microsoft RAN analytics and control framework" - second paragraph – “This system enables operators and trusted third-party developers to write their own telemetry, control, and inference pieces of code (called “codelets”) that can be deployed at runtime at various points in the RAN software stack, without disrupting the RAN operations. The codelets are executed inline in the live RAN system and on its critical paths, allowing them to get direct access to all important internal raw RAN data structures, to collect statistics, and to make real-time inference and control decisions”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khalidi ("Microsoft Innovation in RAN Analytics and Control", Dec 2022, provided by Applicant on 04/04/2025) in view of Foukas et al. (“Taking 5G RAN Analytics and Control to a New Level”, Published 07/10/2023).
Regarding claim 2, Khalidi discloses the computing system of claim 1, however, silent on further details of claim 2.
Foukas discloses wherein to execute the codelet at one of the hook points, the one or more processors are configured to: export the one or more parameters to the analysis node via a telemetry protobuf; and receive control information for the network function from the analysis node (Section 3.1 – “The (patched) codelets are JIT compiled and pushed to Janus devices over the network, along with metadata files required for enabling the flexible output of data and input of control commands using protobuf schemas”, Section 3.2 on page 6 – “Flexible schemas: Janus codelets can send arbitrary telemetry data to the data collector using flexible output schemas through a special type of ringbuffer map (lines 8-14). This map is linked to a codelet-specific protobuf schema defined by the codelet developer (see Section 5.2). This example uses a custom protobuf schema called output_msg (line 21), with a single counter field (line 34). The data is exported to the data collector through a helper function (line 35)”, which indicated the use of telemetry protobuf for exporting data and receiving control information – i.e. codelets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Khalidi to incorporate telemetry protobuf for exporting parameter from Foukas because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize known protocol for exchanging information.
Claim 5, 7, 14, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khalidi ("Microsoft Innovation in RAN Analytics and Control", Dec 2022, provided by Applicant on 04/04/2025) in view of Garcia et al. (WO-2023138799-A1).
Regarding claim 5, Khalidi discloses the computing system of claim 3 and further discloses the V-RAN is connected to near-RT RIC (Figure on page 2), however, the reference is silent on details of claim 5.
Garcia discloses wherein the edge data processor is configured to communicate with a near-real-time radio intelligent controller (RIC) via an E2 interface (claim 8 disclose E2 interafce between V-RAN and near-RT RIC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Khalidi to incorporate communication between VRAN and near-RT RIC from Garcia because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize known interface for communication.
Regarding claim 7, Khalidi discloses the computing system of claim 1 and further discloses the V-RAN is connected to near-RT RIC (Figure on page 2), however, the reference is silent on details of claim 7 regarding wherein the one or more processors are configured to communicate with a near-real-time RIC via an E2 interface to receive the dynamic service model.
Garcia discloses wherein the edge data processor is configured to communicate with a near-real-time radio intelligent controller (RIC) via an E2 interface (claim 8 disclose E2 interafce between V-RAN and near-RT RIC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Khalidi to incorporate communication between VRAN and near-RT RIC from Garcia because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize known interface for communication.
Regarding claim 14, the scope and content of the claim recite a method performed by the computer system of claim 7, therefore, being addressed as in claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, Khalidi discloses the communications network of claim 17 and further discloses the V-RAN is connected to near-RT RIC (Figure on page 2). However, the reference is silent on further details of claim 18 about wherein the analysis node is an edge data processor local to a computing system hosting the virtual network function and configured to communicate with a near-real-time radio intelligent controller (RIC) via an E2 interface.
Garcia discloses wherein the edge data processor is configured to communicate with a near-real-time radio intelligent controller (RIC) via an E2 interface (claim 8 disclose E2 interface between V-RAN and near-RT RIC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Khalidi to incorporate communication between VRAN and near-RT RIC from Garcia because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to utilize known interface for communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4, 6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-16, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/DUNG HONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643