DETAILED ACTION
Continuation Data
2. This application claims priority to PCT/JP2022/024258, filed June 17, 2022.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The Information Disclosure Statement filed on December 29, 2023 has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 2, 5, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onishi et al (2009/0174264), hereinafter Onishi.
With respect to claim 1, Onishi teaches an electronic apparatus comprising (paragraphs 0023-0024: an electronic instrument including the power transmission device and paragraphs 0148-0150: a charger 500 including power transmitting device 10); a power transmission unit configured to wirelessly transmit power to a power reception apparatus (paragraph 0022: non-contact power transmission between power transmitting device and power receiving device, paragraph 0151: primary coil and secondary coil form a power transmission transformer for non-contact power transmission, paragraph 0160: power transmitting section supplies AC voltage to the primary coil); and a control unit configured to perform control to display information indicating that the power reception apparatus is being charged in a case where the power transmission unit is transmitting power (paragraph 0148: the charger includes a display section (LED) 16 that is turned ON during normal power transmission of the charger, paragraph 0165: the display section 16 displays the state of the non-contact power transmission system); and to stop displaying the information indicating that the power reception apparatus is being charged in a case where the power transmission unit has stopped power transmission (paragraphs 0089-0091: stop normal power transmission after full-charge notification and perform intermittent power transmission, paragraph 0165: display indicates power transmission state); wherein the power transmission unit transitions from a normal mode to a power-saving mode based on information about the power reception apparatus (paragraph 0089: stop normal power transmission after full charge; when a full-charge notification transmitted from the power receiving device has been detected, paragraph 0090: intermittent transmission is performed after full charge to automatically manage recharge while reducing unnecessary operation, paragraphs 0097-0099, longer intermittent cycles reduce unnecessary power consumption, paragraphs 0126-0127: receiver transmits a full-charge notification and transmitter changes operating mode based on that notification); the power-saving mode having a period of time from when the power transmission unit stops the power transmission to when the power transmission unit starts power transmission for detecting an object longer than the period of time of the normal mode (paragraphs 0094-0096: defines first and second intermittent cycles after full charge, paragraph 0097: first cycle is longer than the intermittent temporary transmission cycle, paragraph 0098: initial temporary transmission cycle is short, while removal detection uses a longer interval, paragraph 0099: recharge determination uses an even longer interval to minimize power consumption).
With respect to claim 2, Onishi teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the information about the power reception apparatus is a remaining battery level of the power reception apparatus, and wherein the electronic apparatus further comprises a reception unit configured to receive the remaining battery level of the power reception apparatus from the power reception apparatus (paragraph 0126: a full-charge notification is transmitted, paragraph 0127: the full-charge notification transmitted from the power receiving device; full-charge is considered to read on the remaining battery level).
With respect to claim 5, Onishi discloses the electronic apparatus, wherein an interval between power transmissions by the power transmission unit in the power-saving mode is longer than an interval between power transmissions by the power transmission unit in the normal mode (paragraph 0089: normal power transmission stops after a full-charge notification is received, paragraph 0090: intermittent power transmission is performed after full charge for removal detections and recharge management, paragraph 0097: the first intermittent transmission cycle is longer than the intermittent temporary transmission cycle, paragraph 0098: initial temporary transmission cycle is short, while removal detection uses a longer interval, paragraph 0099: recharge determination uses an even longer interval to minimize power consumption).
With respect to claim 18, Onishi teaches a method for an electronic apparatus, the control method comprising: wirelessly transmitting power to a power reception apparatus (paragraph 0022: non-contact power transmission between the transmitting and receiving devices, paragraphs 0023-0024: electronic instrument including the power transmitting device, paragraph 0151: primary and secondary coils form a non-contact power transmission transformer); performing control to display information indicating that the power reception apparatus is being charged in a case where the power is being transmitted (paragraph 0148: LED turned ON during normal power transmission, paragraph 0165: display indicates the operating state (e.g., power transmission), paragraph 0167: control circuit controls the power transmitting device); and to stop displaying the information indicating that the power reception apparatus is being charged in a case where power transmission is stopped (paragraphs 0089-0091: stopping normal power transmission after receiving a full-charge notification; paragraph 0148: LED is ON during normal power transmission, paragraph 0165: display indicates the power transmission state); and transitioning from a normal mode to a power-saving mode based on information about the power reception apparatus (paragraph 0089: transition occurs after receipt of the full-charge notification, paragraph 0090: intermittent operation after full charge, paragraph 0126-0127: receiver transmits the full-charge notification to the transmitter); the power-saving mode having a period of time from when the power transmission is stopped to when power transmission for detecting an object is started longer than the period of time of the normal mode (paragraph 0094-0096: intermittent transmission cycles after full charge, paragraph 0097: first intermittent cycle is longer than the temporary transmission cycle, paragraph 0098: initial temporary transmission cycle is short, while removal detection uses a longer interval, paragraph 0099: recharge determination uses an even longer interval to minimize power consumption).
With respect to claim 19, Onishi teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method for an electronic apparatus, the control method comprising: wirelessly transmitting power to a power reception apparatus (paragraph 0022: non-contact power transmission between the transmitting and receiving devices, paragraphs 0023-0024: electronic instrument including the power transmitting device, paragraph 0151: primary and secondary coils form a non-contact power transmission transformer); performing control to display information indicating that the power reception apparatus is being charged in a case where the power is being transmitted (paragraph 0148: LED turned ON during normal power transmission, paragraph 0165: display indicates the operating state (e.g., power transmission), paragraph 0167: control circuit controls the power transmitting device); and to stop displaying the information indicating that the power reception apparatus is being charged in a case where power transmission is stopped (paragraphs 0089-0091: stopping normal power transmission after receiving a full-charge notification; paragraph 0148: LED is ON during normal power transmission, paragraph 0165: display indicates the power transmission state); and transitioning from a normal mode to a power-saving mode based on information about the power reception apparatus (paragraph 0089: transition occurs after receipt of the full-charge notification, paragraph 0090: intermittent operation after full charge, paragraph 0126-0127: receiver transmits the full-charge notification to the transmitter); the power-saving mode having a period of time from when the power transmission is stopped to when power transmission for detecting an object is started longer than the period of time of the normal mode (paragraph 0094-0096: intermittent transmission cycles after full charge, paragraph 0097: first intermittent cycle is longer than the temporary transmission cycle, paragraph 0098: initial temporary transmission cycle is short, while removal detection uses a longer interval, paragraph 0099: recharge determination uses an even longer interval to minimize power consumption).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi in view of Jung (2025/0125666).
Onishi’s teachings are discussed above with respect to claim 1. Onishi fails to specifically teach wherein the information about the power reception apparatus is a temperature of the power reception apparatus, and wherein the electronic apparatus further comprises a reception unit configured to receive the temperature of the power reception apparatus from the power reception apparatus and further fails to teach performing various responses depending on the temperature.
With respect to claim 3, Jung teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the information about the power reception apparatus is a temperature of the power reception apparatus, and wherein the electronic apparatus further comprises a reception unit configured to receive the temperature of the power reception apparatus from the power reception apparatus (paragraphs 0082-0085: the PRU dynamic signal transmitted by the wireless power receiver 450 may include at least one of a voltage, a current, a wireless power receiver state and temperature information).
With respect to claim 9, Jung teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the power transmission unit transitions to the power-saving mode in a case where the temperature of the power reception apparatus is higher than a first threshold (paragraph 0158-0160).
With respect to claim 10, Jung teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the power transmission unit transitions to the normal mode in a case where the temperature of the power reception apparatus is lower than a second threshold (paragraph 0160).
With respect to claim 11, Jung teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the second threshold is lower than or equal to the first threshold (see teachings above: first threshold is the temperature at which the system enters the power-saving mode and the second threshold is the temperature at which the system resumes normal operation).
In view of Jung’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless power transmission system of Onishi to receive temperature information from the power reception apparatus as is taught by Jung. One would be motivated to transmit and receive temperature information for the purpose of preventing overheating and thereby enhance the reliability of the wireless power transfer system.
Onishi’s teachings are discussed above with respect to claim 2. Onishi fails to specifically teach the electronic apparatus, wherein the power transmission unit transitions to the power-saving mode in a case where the remaining battery level of the power reception apparatus is higher than a first threshold.
With respect to claim 6, Jung teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the power transmission unit transitions to the power-saving mode in a case where the remaining battery level of the power reception apparatus is higher than a first threshold (paragraph 0060).
With respect to claim 7, Jung teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the power transmission unit transitions to the normal mode in a case where the remaining battery level of the power reception apparatus is lower than a second threshold (paragraph 0160).
With respect to claim 8, Jung teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the second threshold is lower than or equal to the first threshold (see teachings above: first threshold is the temperature at which the system enters the power-saving mode and the second threshold is the temperature at which the system resumes normal operation).
With respect to claim 14, Jung teaches the electronic apparatus, further comprising a transmission unit configured to transmit a request for one of the remaining battery level and a temperature of the power reception apparatus to the power reception apparatus, wherein the reception unit receives one of the remaining battery level and the temperature of the power reception apparatus corresponding to the request from the power reception apparatus (paragraph 0047: the PTU and PRU perform bi-directional communication by transmitting and receiving packets, paragraph 0079: the PTU transmits a PRU response signal to establish communication, paragraph 0081: the PTU transmits a PTU static signal, also see paragraphs 0060 and 0082-0085).
With respect to claim 15, Jung teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the reception unit receives, from the power reception apparatus, one of the remaining battery level and a temperature of the power reception apparatus being superimposed on the power (paragraph 0062: the power transmission unit and communication unit may be implemented in a one piece of hardware, so the wireless power transmitter can perform communication in an in-band form, also see paragraphs 0060, 0062, and 0085).
With respect to claim 17, Jung teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the reception unit receives one of the remaining battery level and a temperature of the power reception apparatus based on a Bluetooth® Low Energy standard (paragraphs 0078).
In view of Jung’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless power transmission system of Onishi to transition the power transmission unit to a power-saving unit when the remaining battery level of the power reception apparatus exceeds a threshold in view of Jung’s teaching of receiving the remaining battery level. One would be motivated to transition to a power-saving unit in order to reduce unnecessary power consumption and improve efficiency of the wireless power transfer system.
9. Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi in view of Li (2021/0391753).
Onishi’s teachings are discussed above with respect to claim 1. Onishi fails to specifically teach the electronic apparatus, wherein the information about the power reception apparatus is information indicating that the electronic apparatus has started wired power transmission to the power reception apparatus and wherein the power transmission unit transitions to the normal mode in a case where the electronic apparatus has completed the wired power transmission to the power reception apparatus.
With respect to claim 4, Li teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the information about the power reception apparatus is information indicating that the electronic apparatus has started wired power transmission to the power reception apparatus (paragraphs 0030-0036 and figures 2 and 3: when wired power is present, energy for wirelessly charging another terminal comes from the wired port).
With respect to claim 12, Li teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the power transmission unit transitions to the normal mode in a case where the electronic apparatus has completed the wired power transmission to the power reception apparatus (paragraphs 0030-0032: wired input is detected, first signal is sent, transmitting circuit is initiated, however when no energy is input, a second electrical signal is sent, and the wireless charging receiving circuit is initiated; paragraphs 0043-0048: when wired input is no longer present, a second electrical signal is generated and the system transitions to the alternate charging mode).
In view of Li’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless power transmission system of Onishi to incorporate the wired charging state detection taught by Li. One would be motivated to incorporate the wired charging state detection in order to automatically control the operating mode of the wireless power transmission unit based on whether wired charging is active, thereby improving power management and reducing unnecessary wireless power transmission.
10. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi in view of Park et al (2012/0293119), hereinafter Park.
Onishi’s teachings are discussed above with respect to claim 2. Onishi fails to specifically teach the electronic apparatus, wherein the reception unit receives the remaining battery level of the power reception apparatus in a charge status packet of a Wireless Power Consortium (WPC) standard.
With respect to claim 13, Park teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the reception unit receives the remaining battery level of the power reception apparatus in a charge status packet of a Wireless Power Consortium (WPC) standard (paragraph 0041: the controller receives a CS packet that includes battery charge level information, paragraph 0050: the CS packet includes information indicating the battery charge level, paragraph 0058: the CS packet is defined in the WPC 1.1 standard).
In view of Park’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless power transmission system of Onishi to receive the remaining battery level of the power reception apparatus in a charge status packet of the WPC standard, as is taught by Park. One would be motivated to receive the remaining battery level in a WPC packet in order to provide standardized communication of battery charge information thereby improving compatibility among wireless charging devices.
11. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi in combination with Jung and in further view of Ding et al (2022/0278557), hereinafter Ding.
Onishi’s teachings in combination with Jung are discussed above, including . the reception unit receives one of the remaining battery level and the temperature of the power reception apparatus. The combination however fails to specifically teach using one of amplitude-shift keying (ASK) modulation and frequency-shift keying (FSK) modulation.
With respect to claim 16, Ding teaches the reception unit receives data via one of amplitude-shift keying (ASK) modulation and frequency-shift keying (FSK) modulation (paragraph 0076).
In view of Ding’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless power transmission system of Onishi in combination with Jung to utilize the ASK/FSK communication technique taught by Ding. One would be motivated to use the ASK/FSK communication technique in order to implement a communication protocol compatible with known wireless power transfer systems.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: See attached PTO form 892, Refence Cited.
Communications via Internet e-mail regarding this application, other than those under 35 U.S.C. 132 or which otherwise require a signature, may be used by the applicant and should be addressed to [allyson.trail@uspto.gov].
/ALLYSON N TRAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
July 24, 2026