DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
“after being fired” (claim 1, line 3 and line 3) is vague and indefinite because it is unclear as to these cited structures being fired or not. If they are, are they being fired together (in one firing process) or separate (in different firing process). Note that the claim invention is a method, it is suggested to amend the claim to clearly claim the necessary method steps for manufacturing a coil component.
“forming a gap portion between the coil wiring and magnetic layer by melting a metal contained in the metal-containing layer” (claim 1, last two lines) is vague and indefinite because it is uncertain how the coil wiring remain floating/suspending over the magnetic layer when the metal-containing layer which supports the coil wiring been melted away. Please clarify. It appears that claim 1 lacks an essential step of forming an essential structure (i.e., another magnetic layer) on top of the coil conductive paste layer (i.e., a coil wiring) before melting the metal-containing layer.
“land-like shape and a band-like shape” (claim 4, last line) is vague and indefinite because it is unclear as to the exact configuration of land and band or their alike.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 8,587,400 to Nakajima et al.
Regarding claim 1, Nakajima et al disclose a method for manufacturing a coil component, comprising: forming a metal-containing layer (4) on a magnetic sheet (3, see Col. 6, lines 49-50) that becomes a magnetic layer after being fired; forming, on the metal-containing layer, a coil conductive paste layer (2, see Col. 6, lines 57-60) that becomes a coil wiring after being fired; and providing a region containing a metal oxide (TiO2) on a surface of the coil wiring while forming a gap portion between the coil wiring (see Fig. 3) and the magnetic layer by melting a metal contained in the metal-containing layer by firing (see Col. 7, lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 2, Nakajima et al disclose a melting point of a metal contained in the metal oxide is 850°C or less (see Col. 7, lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 3, Nakajima et al disclose the metal oxide comprises at least one of Cu oxide, Zn oxide, Bi oxide, and Sn oxide (see Col. 7, lines 57-62).
Regarding claims 4-6, Nakajima et al disclose a shape of the region containing the metal oxide comprises at least one of a land-like shape and a band-like shape and
has an equivalent circle diameter of 0. µm or more, and a proportion of the region containing the metal oxide with respect to a surface area of the coil wiring is from 10% to 80% (inherent, because Nakajima et al disclose the methods step and material as claimed therefore the result should be the same or alike to the claimed limitations).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cited prior art references for their general teachings of forming a coil component.
/DN/ /DONGHAI D NGUYEN/September 28, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729