DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 02/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that a serious burden is not imposed. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are distinct from one another and require different search strategies and queries.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/27/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/01/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1), which requires the following: (1) a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office; (2) U.S. patents and U.S. patent application publications listed in a section separately from citations of other documents; (3) the application number of the application in which the information disclosure statement is being submitted on each page of the list; (4) a column that provides a blank space next to each document to be considered, for the examiner’s initials; and (5) a heading that clearly indicates that the list is an information disclosure statement. The information disclosure statement has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. An NPL was submitted that was not listed on the IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (USPG Pub No. 2021/0223504), hereinafter “Hsu”.
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses an optical member driving mechanism (3-1000) (see Fig. 21), comprising: a movable portion (3-M1) (see Fig. 21, Paragraph 279, Line 3), configured to connect an optical member (3-1) (see Fig. 21, Paragraph 276, Line 1); a fixed portion (3-I), wherein the movable portion (3-M1) is movable relative to the fixed portion (3-I) (see Fig. 21, Paragraph 279, Line 3); and a driving assembly (3-D1), configured to drive the movable portion to move relative to the fixed portion (see Fig. 21, Paragraph 279, Line 5).
Regarding claim 2, Hsu discloses wherein the movable portion (3-M1) comprises a holder (3-70) and a frame (3-80) (see Fig. 21, Paragraph 280, Line 3), and the driving assembly comprises: a first circuit component (3-20) (see Fig. 21); a second circuit component (3-30), disposed on the frame (3-80) and connected to the first circuit component (see Fig. 21); a control member (3-140, 3-150), disposed on the second circuit component (3-30) (see Fig. 21); an inner elastic member (3-E), connected to the holder (3-70) and the frame (3-80) (see Fig. 21, Paragraph 326); an outer elastic member (3-E), connected to the frame (3-80) (see Fig. 21, Paragraph 326 – each elastic member contains inner and outer regions); a supporting member (3-H), connected to the outer elastic member (3-E) and the fixed portion (3-10 ) (see Fig. 21, Paragraphs 280, 286); a first electromagnetic element (3-110), disposed on the holder (3-70) and electrically connected to the control member (3-140, 3-150) through the inner elastic member (3-E), the first circuit component (3-20) and the second circuit component (3-30) (see Fig. 21, Paragraphs 294, 295); and a circuit assembly (3-C1, 3-C2), embedded in the fixed portion (3-I) and electrically connected to the control member (3-140, 3-150) through the supporting member (3-H), the outer elastic member (3-E), the first circuit component (3-20), and the second circuit component (3-30) (see Figs. 21, 24, Paragraphs 286, 294, 295).
Regarding claim 3, Hsu discloses wherein the inner elastic member (3-E, 3-60, 3-90) and the outer elastic member (3-E, 3-60, 3-90) are separated from each other (see Fig. 21, Paragraph 325).
Regarding claim 5, Hsu discloses wherein the frame (3-80) has a first lower surface, a first connecting surface, and a second connecting surface (see Figs. 28, 31, 37), the inner elastic member (3-E) is connected to the first connecting surface, and the outer elastic member (3-E) is connected to the second connecting surface, wherein a distance between the lower surface and the first connecting surface is different from a distance between the lower surface and the second connecting surface (see Figs. 21, 28, Paragraph 326).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu discloses wherein the frame (3-80) has protruding portion, and the outer elastic member (3-E) has a hole, wherein the protruding portion is accommodated in the hole, and dimensions of the hole are greater than dimensions of the protruding portion (see annotated Fig. 31 below, Fig. 37, Paragraph 326).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu discloses wherein an outline of at least a portion of the hole corresponds to an appearance of the protruding portion (see Figs. 31, 37).
Regarding claim 9, Hsu discloses wherein the outer elastic member (3-E) comprises a fixed section and a free section (see Fig. 37), the fixed section is affixed to the frame, and the free section is connected to the fixed section and protrudes from a lateral surface of the frame (see Fig. 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (USPG Pub No. 2021/0223504) in view of Chen et al. (USPG Pub No. 2021/0033818), hereinafter “Chen”.
Regarding claim 4, Hsu discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein a thickness of the inner elastic member along an optical axis of the optical member is different from a thickness of the outer elastic member along the optical axis of the optical member. In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses wherein a thickness of the inner elastic member (2-260) along an optical axis of the optical member is different from a thickness of the outer elastic member (2-250) along the optical axis of the optical member (see Fig. 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide driving mechanism of Hsu with wherein a thickness of the inner elastic member along an optical axis of the optical member is different from a thickness of the outer elastic member along the optical axis of the optical member of Chen for the purpose of providing a more compact driving mechanism (Paragraph 4).
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (USPG Pub No. 2021/0223504) in view of Park et al. (USPG Pub No. 2020/0050014), hereinafter “Park”.
Regarding claim 6, Hsu discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein a top surface of the inner elastic member is coplanar with a top surface of the outer elastic member. In the same field of endeavor, Park discloses wherein a top surface of the inner elastic member(1150-1) is coplanar with a top surface of the outer elastic member (1150-4) (see Fig. 27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide driving mechanism of Hsu with wherein a top surface of the inner elastic member is coplanar with a top surface of the outer elastic member of Park for the purpose of providing a miniature low-power module (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the supporting member is connected to the free section. In the same field of endeavor, Park discloses wherein the supporting member (1220) is connected to the free section (see Fig. 27, Paragraph 501). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide driving mechanism of Hsu with wherein the supporting member is connected to the free section of Park for the purpose of providing a miniature low-power module (Paragraph 3).
Prior Art Citations
Wu et al. (USPG Pub No. 2019/0391361) is being cited herein to show an optical member driving mechanism relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 3/21/2026