Detailed Action
Notice to Applicant
The following is a Final Office action to Application Serial Number 18/400,703, filed on December 29, 2023. In response to Examiner’s Office Action of April 1, 2026, Applicant, on June 15, 2026, amended claims 1, 4-6, 9, 12-14, 17, and 20; cancelled 3, 11 and 19; and added claims 21-23. Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-18, and 20-23 are pending in this application and have been rejected below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments are acknowledged.
Regarding the 35. U.S.C. § 101 rejection, Applicant’s arguments have been
considered but are insufficient to overcome the rejection. Please refer to the 35 U.S.C.§ 101 rejection for further explanation and rationale.
The 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections are hereby amended pursuant to applicants’ amendments. Updated 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections have been applied to amended claims. Please refer to the § 103 rejection for further explanation and rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or are moot in view of the revised rejections. Applicant’s arguments will be addressed herein below in the order in which they appear in the response filed June 15, 2026.
On Pgs. 10-12 of the Remarks, regarding 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections , Applicant states the claims are not directed to a mental process. The claims require processing three distinct types of historical alarm and consumption data to derive an actual battery capacity through a capacity calculation formula, computing a real-time state of charge during an active power outage using that derived capacity together with actual power consumption and outage duration measurements, and transmitting energy saving level commands that cause the station to execute a power saving policy. These are not steps that a human mind could practically perform - they require interfacing with alarm systems, real-time power monitoring equipment, and communication infrastructure during an active power outage event. Applicant further states, the claims recite a specific technical solution to a specific technical problem. In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims primarily recite the additional element of using computer components to perform each step. The “control device”, “communication interface”; “memory”, “processor”, and “system “is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Examiner finds the present claims do not demonstrate any functional advancement to any technology or technological field, in order for the claim elements to be considered significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Applicant has not identified anything in the claimed invention that shows or even submits the technology is being improved or there was a problem in the technology that the claimed invention solves. Utilizing computer structure and technology to evaluate historical alarm information and battery capacity data are all, both individually and in combination, computer functions such as receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); electronic recordkeeping, Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (updating an activity log) and storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93 (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
On Pg.12-15 of the Remarks, regarding 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections, Applicant states prior art does not disclose calculating a battery capacity by determining a maximum power supply duration from historical power outage alarm information and historical station outage alarm information, and then calculating the battery capacity according to a capacity calculation formula based on that maximum power supply duration. In response, new ground(s) of rejection is made necessitated by amendment see MPEP 706.07a where Yuan is now applied for Claims 1, 9 and 17. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims has been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-18, and 20-23 are directed to battery capacity analysis.
Claim 1 recites a method for battery capacity analysis, Claim 9 recites an apparatus for battery capacity analysis and Claim 20 recites a system for battery capacity analysis, which include calculating a battery capacity of a battery based on historical power outage alarm information, historical power consumption information of a station in which the battery is located, and historical station outage alarm information of the station, comprising: determining, based on the historical power outage alarm information and the historical station outage alarm information, a maximum power supply duration in which the battery supplies power to the station; and calculating the battery capacity according to a capacity calculation formula based on the maximum power supply duration in which the battery supplies power to the station; when a power outage occurs in the station, calculating a state of charge of the battery based on actual power consumption, a power outage duration of the station, and the battery capacity; and sending a current target energy saving level of the battery to the station when it is determined, based on the state of charge, that an energy saving level of the battery changes, wherein the station uses a power saving policy corresponding to the target energy saving level, to reduce power consumption of the station.
As drafted, this is, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, within the Abstract idea grouping of “Mental Processes” – evaluation. The recitation of “control device”, “communication interface”; “memory”, “processor”, and “system”, provide nothing in the claim elements to preclude the step from being “Mental Processes”- evaluation. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims primarily recite the additional element of using computer components to perform each step. The “control device”, “communication interface”; “memory”, “processor”, and “system “is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims also fail to recite any improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, use of a particular machine, effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, and/or an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. See 84 Fed. Reg. 55. In particular, there is a lack of improvement to a computer or technical field in battery analysis.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “control device”, “communication interface”; “memory”, “processor”, and “system” is insufficient to amount to significantly more. (See MPEP 2106.05(f) – Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception – “Thus, for example, claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible.” Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 235). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
The claim fails to recite any improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, use of a particular machine, effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, adding unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application, and/or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular environment. See 84 Fed. Reg. 55. Viewed individually or as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. With regards to receiving data and step 2B, it is M2106.05(d)- Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information) and Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Examiner concludes that the additional elements in combination fail to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea based on findings that each element merely performs the same function(s) in combination as each element performs separately. The claim is not patent eligible. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
Dependent Claims 2, 4-8, 10, 12-16, 18, and 20-23 recite wherein sending the current target energy saving level of the battery to the station when it is determined, based on the state of charge, that the energy saving level of the battery changes comprises: calculating, based on the state of charge and a current power consumption of the station, a remaining backup power supply duration in which the battery is capable of supplying power to the station; and sending the current target energy saving level of the battery to the station when it is determined, based on the remaining backup power supply duration, that the energy saving level of the battery changes; determining, based on the historical power outage alarm information and the historical station outage alarm information, a maximum power supply duration in which the battery supplies power to the station; and calculating the battery capacity according to a capacity calculation formula, wherein in the capacity calculation formula: the battery capacity is positively correlated with the maximum power supply duration, and is positively correlated with power consumption corresponding to the maximum power supply duration; or the battery capacity is positively correlated with the maximum power supply duration; determining, based on the historical power outage alarm information, a maximum power supply duration in which the battery supplies power to the station; and calculating the battery capacity according to a capacity calculation formula, wherein in the capacity calculation formula: the battery capacity is positively correlated with the maximum power supply duration, and is positively correlated with power consumption corresponding to the maximum power supply duration; or the battery capacity is positively correlated with the maximum power supply duration; calculating the battery capacity of the battery based on the historical power outage alarm information, the historical power consumption information, and an aging coefficient; wherein the battery comprises: a lead-acid battery or a lithium battery; wherein the station is at least one of the following: a communication base station, a server, or an equipment room; wherein calculating the state of charge of the battery comprises: determining a power outage duration based on a difference between a current time and a power outage start time of the station; determining energy consumed by the station as a product of the power outage duration and a real-time power consumption of the station; and calculating the state of charge based on a ratio of the energy consumed by the station to the battery capacity; wherein the energy saving level of the battery comprises a plurality of energy saving levels, each energy saving level corresponding to a respective range of the state of charge, and each energy saving level corresponding to a respective power saving policy, wherein: a lower state of charge corresponds to an energy saving level associated with a power saving policy that achieves a greater reduction in power consumption of the station; and when the state of charge decreases from the respective range of a first energy saving level to the respective range of a second energy saving level, the control device sends the second energy saving level as the current target energy saving level to the station; wherein the power saving policy corresponding to at least one of the plurality of energy saving levels comprises at least one of: transmit power reduction, symbol power saving, or carrier shutdown; and further narrowing the abstract idea. These recited limitations in the dependent claims do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exceptions in Claims 1, 9 and 17. Regarding Claims,10 and 18, and the additional elements of “communication interface” it is M2106.05(d)- Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al, CN108983101A, [hereinafter Yuan] in further view of Eleftheriadis et al., US Publication No. 20210296926A1, [hereinafter Eleftheriadis], in view of JP6585454B2, [hereinafter Hitachi].
Regarding Claim 1,
Yuan teaches
A method, applied to a control device, the method comprising: calculating a battery capacity of a battery based on historical power outage alarm information, historical power consumption information of a station in which the battery is located, and historical station outage alarm information of the station, comprising: determining, based on the historical power outage alarm information and the historical station outage alarm information, a maximum power supply duration in which the battery supplies power to the station (Yuan Pg. 2- In some embodiments of the first aspect, before obtaining the capacity change trend of the storage battery that supplies power to the alarm network element according to the generation time of the power supply alarm event and the generation time of the communication interruption alarm event, it further includes: excluding the generation time and the end time The power supply alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold, and the target communication interruption alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold; and/or, exclude the fourth interval duration between the generation time and the reporting time greater than Report a power supply alarm event with a duration threshold, and a target communication interruption alarm event with a fourth interval longer than the reported duration threshold; and/or, exclude the fifth interval between the current generation time and the last generation time that is less than the standard charging duration The power supply alarm event, and the target communication interruption alarm event whose fifth interval is shorter than the standard charging time.; In a second aspect, an embodiment of the present invention provides a storage battery capacity analysis device, including: a first event acquisition module configured to acquire power supply alarm events from historical alarm events, and acquire the alarm network element that generated the power supply alarm event; ”) ;
and calculating the battery capacity according to a capacity calculation formula based on the maximum power supply duration in which the battery supplies power to the station (Yuan Pg. 2- 3The power supply alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold, and the target communication interruption alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold; and/or, exclude the fourth interval duration between the generation time and the reporting time greater than Report a power supply alarm event with a duration threshold, and a target communication interruption alarm event with a fourth interval longer than the reported duration threshold; The end duration threshold can be determined according to experience and specific work scenarios, and is not limited here. For example, the end duration threshold is set to ten minutes. By excluding the power supply alarm event and the target communication interruption alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold, the impact of the flash alarm on the capacity analysis of the storage battery can be eliminated. ”) ;
Yuan teaches battery capacity analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Eleftheriadis:
when a power outage occurs in the station, calculating a state of charge of the battery based on actual power consumption, a power outage duration of the station, and the battery capacity (Eleftheriadis Par. 50-51- FIG. 4 uses three related graphs similar to the ones in FIG. 1 to illustrate backup power control according to an embodiment. The top graph is the same as the one in FIG. 1, showing the power supplied by the two batteries to the network device during four outage periods: T1-T4 (with T1, T2 and T3 lasting less than two hours each and T4 lasting more than four hours). The middle graph illustrates discharging and charging of the first battery, and the bottom graph illustrates discharging and charging of the second battery. In this case, the first battery is partially used during all four outage periods, for example, until its energy storage capacity decreases below a predetermined threshold (e.g., a predefined percentage of its energy storage capacity). The first battery is thus used plural times without being charged. During the fourth power outage, T4, the second battery is used as a backup source for the last portion of the fourth outage. Unlike the conventional approach, the first battery is here recharged only one time, and it is not recharged using the second battery's power.”) ;
Yuan and Eleftheriadis teach battery analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Yuan, as taught by Eleftheriadis, by utilizing additional analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Yuan with the motivation of improving backup power management (Eleftheriadis Par. 11).
Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis teach battery capacity analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Hitachi:
and sending a current target energy saving level of the battery to the station when it is determined, based on the state of charge, that an energy saving level of the battery changes, wherein the station uses a power saving policy corresponding to the target energy saving level, to reduce power consumption of the station. (Hitachi Pg. 3-4-“The power demand management apparatus 1 includes, for example, an information acquisition unit F10, a traffic characteristic setting unit F11, a discharge target base station detection unit F12, a discharge amount calculation unit F13, a discharge instruction unit F14, a charge target base station detection unit F15, and a charge amount calculation. Functions such as a unit F16, a charging instruction unit F17, and an energy saving instruction unit F18 are provided.; The charging target base station detection unit F15 has a function of detecting the base station 4 having the storage battery 43 to be charged. The charge amount calculation unit F16 has a function of calculating the amount of power to be charged in the storage battery 43 to be charged. The charging instruction unit F17 has a function of instructing the storage battery 43 to be charged by notifying the storage battery 43 to be charged of a predetermined charging instruction including a charge amount.; Pg.6 - The base station 4 provides a communication service using a plurality of bands having different frequencies. When radio waves are stopped for some of the usable bands, the power consumption of the base station 4 decreases. Alternatively, the base station 4 can also stop using some of the multiple sectors of the antenna used in each band. For example, when an antenna used in a certain band has six sectors separated by 60 degrees, the base station 4 uses only three of these six sectors, for example, to reduce power consumption. Can be reduced. Alternatively, the base station 4 can reduce power consumption by reducing the number of frequencies used in carry aggregation in which communication is performed using a plurality of frequencies. Alternatively, the base station 4 can reduce power consumption by reducing the number of time slots used for one communication. Furthermore, when considering the base station as a whole, a plurality of base stations arranged in a certain area are thinned and operated based on a certain rule, thereby reducing the power consumption of the entire base station group in that area.)
Yuan, Eleftheriadis and Hitachi are directed to battery analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis, as taught by Hitachi, by utilizing additional alerts and notification with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis with the motivation of fully utilizing battery life (Hitachi Pg. 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 10 and Claim 18, Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis in further view of Hitachi teach The method according to claim 1, wherein sending the current target energy saving level of the battery to the station when it is determined, based on the state of charge, that the energy saving level of the battery changes comprises: …, The control device according to claim 9, wherein the instructions include instructions to:…, and The backup power supply system according to claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to…,
Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis teach battery capacity analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Hitachi:
calculating, based on the state of charge and a current power consumption of the station, a remaining backup power supply duration in which the battery is capable of supplying power to the station; and sending the current target energy saving level of the battery to the station when it is determined, based on the remaining backup power supply duration, that the energy saving level of the battery changes (Hitachi Pg. 7- FIG. 6 shows an example of the selection criterion management table T13. The selection criterion is a criterion for selecting a storage battery 43 to be discharged from each storage battery 43. The charge / discharge control unit P13 of the power demand management apparatus 1 selects the charge / discharge storage battery 43 using at least one selection criterion from among the selection criteria registered in the management table T13. Hereinafter, examples of selection criteria will be described. The first selection criterion is to select the storage battery 43 to be discharged based on the traffic. Since the virtual battery reserve capacity increases as the traffic decreases, it can be considered that the remaining capacity for discharging is large. The storage battery reserve capacity is the amount of electric power that can be discharged from the current charged amount (SOC) to the charged amount necessary for realizing the BCP. In a base station with little traffic, the reserve capacity of the storage battery is large and the remaining capacity for discharging is large. Therefore, the storage battery 43 does not need to maintain a specified amount of stored electricity. This is because the prescribed charged amount (first charged amount Q1) is set for the purpose of realizing BCP in a state where there is a lot of traffic. If the actual traffic is small, the BCP can be realized at the time of a power outage if the storage battery 43 maintains only a storage amount (second storage amount Q2) smaller than a specified value. The first selection criterion may be paraphrased as “select a storage battery of a base station with less traffic when realizing BCP at the time of a power failure”.)
Yuan, Eleftheriadis and Hitachi are directed to battery analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis, as taught by Hitachi, by utilizing additional alerts and notification with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis with the motivation of fully utilizing battery life (Hitachi Pg. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 11 and Claim 19- Cancelled
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 12 and Claim 20, Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis in further view of Hitachi teach The method according to claim 1, …, The control device according to claim 9, …, and The backup power supply system according to claim 17, …,
wherein in the capacity calculation formula: the battery capacity is positively correlated with the maximum power supply duration, and is positively correlated with power consumption corresponding to the maximum power supply duration; (Yuan Pg1-2- In an example, according to the power supply duration, the time period and the fitting expression, the value of the unknown constant parameter in the fitting expression can be calculated through a fitting algorithm. Thus, a fitting expression with known constant parameters that can represent the capacity variation trend of the storage battery is obtained. For example, FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of a corresponding relationship between power supply duration and time in another embodiment of the present invention. As shown in Figure 4, the power supply duration of each month from January to December can be obtained, and the time period is 1 month. Wherein, the solid line curve is the actual recorded monthly power supply duration curve, and the dotted line curve is the fitted monthly power supply duration curve. The expression corresponding to the dotted curve is a fitting expression that can express the capacity change trend of the battery. The actual monthly power supply hours can also be counted in the form of a table, and the data recorded in the table can be used to obtain a fitting expression that can express the capacity change trend of the storage battery. For example, Table 1 is a table of power supply hours for several months in 2015.”)
Regarding Claim 5, and Claim 13, Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis in view of Hitachi teach The method according to claim 1, …, and The control device according to claim 9, …,
the battery capacity is positively correlated with the maximum power supply duration.; (Yuan Pg. 1-2- According to the power supply time from February to April in Table 1, the fitting expression of the capacity change trend of the storage battery can be set as Y=a+bX+c/X, Y is the power supply time, and X is time (in this example, month), a, b, and c are all constant parameters. When setting the fit expression, the three constant parameters a, b, and c are unknown. The monthly average power supply duration in February, the monthly average power supply duration in March and the monthly average power supply duration in April can be substituted into the fitting expression to obtain the values of the three constant parameters a, b and c. After calculation, a=1270, b=-68, c=-300 can be obtained. That is to say, the fitting expression capable of expressing the capacity change trend of the storage battery is Y=1270-68X-300/X.; Table 1”).
Regarding Claim 6, and Claim 14, Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis in view of Hitachi teach The method according to claim 1, wherein calculating the battery capacity of the battery based on the historical power outage alarm information and the historical power consumption information of the station in which the battery is located, and the historical station outage alarm information of the station comprises: …, and The control device according to claim 9, wherein the processor includes instructions to:…,
calculating the battery capacity of the battery based on the historical power outage alarm information, the historical power consumption information, the historical station outage alarm information, and an aging coefficient.; (Yuan In step 1042, a time period for recording power supply duration is determined. Wherein, the same time period may be determined, or different time periods may be determined. The specific setting of the time period can be determined according to the requirements or experience of the communication network, and is not limited here. For example, set the time period to 1 month, and record the power supply time every month in 2017. For another example, to record the power supply duration from January to April 2017, the time periods are determined to be 1 month, 2 months, and 1 month respectively. That is to say, the duration of power supply is recorded once in January 2017, the duration of power supply is recorded once from February to March 2017, and the duration of power supply is recorded once in April 2017. In order to obtain more accurate data on the capacity change trend of the storage battery through subsequent fitting calculations, within a time period, the obtained average value of multiple power supply durations can be placed in the power supply duration corresponding to the time period.; Table 1”).
Regarding Claim 7, and Claim 15, Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis in view of Hitachi teach The method according to claim 1, …, and The control device according to claim 9,…,
Yuan teaches battery capacity analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Eleftheriadis:
wherein the battery comprises: a lead-acid battery or a lithium battery. (Eleftheriadis Par. 46- Returning now to FIG. 2, method 200 further includes generating a backup-power operation plan prescribing usage of backup power sources including two different batteries connected and configured to supply power to the network device during the predicted power outages at S220. By “different” batteries here it should be understood different type of technologies such as a lead-acid battery and a lithium-ion battery.”).
Yuan and Eleftheriadis teach battery analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Yuan, as taught by Eleftheriadis, by utilizing additional analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Yuan with the motivation of improving backup power management (Eleftheriadis Par. 11).
Regarding Claim 8, and Claim 16, Eleftheriadis in view of Hitachi teach The method according to claim 1, …, and The control device according to claim 9,…,
Yuan teaches battery capacity analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Eleftheriadis:
wherein the station is at least one of the following: a communication base station, a server, or an equipment room. (Eleftheriadis Par.2- A network device (e.g., a radio base station, RBS, or all the hardware at one site) in a radio communication network is typically powered by the electric power grid and may have two or more different backup sources to be used if the grid becomes unavailable (i.e., power-grid outages are called simply “outages” hereinafter). The term “network device” encompasses all hardware that provides a core network's functionality and services.”).
Yuan and Eleftheriadis teach battery analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Yuan, as taught by Eleftheriadis, by utilizing additional analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Yuan with the motivation of improving backup power management (Eleftheriadis Par. 11).
Regarding Claim 9,
Yuan teaches
A control device, comprising: a communication interface; and at least one processor; and a memory storing instructions that are executable by the at least one processor, the instructions including instructions to: calculate a battery capacity of a battery based on historical power outage alarm information, historical power consumption information of a station in which the battery is located, and historical station outage alarm information of the station, comprising: determining, based on the historical power outage alarm information and the historical station outage alarm information, a maximum power supply duration in which the battery supplies power to the station; (Yuan Pg. 2- In some embodiments of the first aspect, before obtaining the capacity change trend of the storage battery that supplies power to the alarm network element according to the generation time of the power supply alarm event and the generation time of the communication interruption alarm event, it further includes: excluding the generation time and the end time The power supply alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold, and the target communication interruption alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold; and/or, exclude the fourth interval duration between the generation time and the reporting time greater than Report a power supply alarm event with a duration threshold, and a target communication interruption alarm event with a fourth interval longer than the reported duration threshold; and/or, exclude the fifth interval between the current generation time and the last generation time that is less than the standard charging duration The power supply alarm event, and the target communication interruption alarm event whose fifth interval is shorter than the standard charging time.; In a second aspect, an embodiment of the present invention provides a storage battery capacity analysis device, including: a first event acquisition module configured to acquire power supply alarm events from historical alarm events, and acquire the alarm network element that generated the power supply alarm event; In a third aspect, an embodiment of the present invention provides a battery capacity analysis device, including a memory, a processor, and a program stored in the memory and operable on the processor; when the processor executes the program, the battery capacity in the above embodiment is realized Analytical method. In a fourth aspect, an embodiment of the present invention provides a computer-readable storage medium on which a program is stored, and when the program is executed by a processor, the storage battery capacity analysis method in the above-mentioned embodiment is implemented.”);
and calculating the battery capacity according to a capacity calculation formula based on the maximum power supply duration in which the battery supplies power to the station (Yuan Pg. 2- 3The power supply alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold, and the target communication interruption alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold; and/or, exclude the fourth interval duration between the generation time and the reporting time greater than Report a power supply alarm event with a duration threshold, and a target communication interruption alarm event with a fourth interval longer than the reported duration threshold; The end duration threshold can be determined according to experience and specific work scenarios, and is not limited here. For example, the end duration threshold is set to ten minutes. By excluding the power supply alarm event and the target communication interruption alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold, the impact of the flash alarm on the capacity analysis of the storage battery can be eliminated. ”) ;
Yuan teaches battery capacity analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Eleftheriadis:
and when a power outage occurs in the station, calculate a state of charge of the battery based on actual power consumption, a power outage duration of the station, and the battery capacity (Eleftheriadis Par. 50-51- FIG. 4 uses three related graphs similar to the ones in FIG. 1 to illustrate backup power control according to an embodiment. The top graph is the same as the one in FIG. 1, showing the power supplied by the two batteries to the network device during four outage periods: T1-T4 (with T1, T2 and T3 lasting less than two hours each and T4 lasting more than four hours). The middle graph illustrates discharging and charging of the first battery, and the bottom graph illustrates discharging and charging of the second battery. In this case, the first battery is partially used during all four outage periods, for example, until its energy storage capacity decreases below a predetermined threshold (e.g., a predefined percentage of its energy storage capacity). The first battery is thus used plural times without being charged. During the fourth power outage, T4, the second battery is used as a backup source for the last portion of the fourth outage. Unlike the conventional approach, the first battery is here recharged only one time, and it is not recharged using the second battery's power.”) ;
Yuan and Eleftheriadis teach battery analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Yuan, as taught by Eleftheriadis, by utilizing additional analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Yuan with the motivation of improving backup power management (Eleftheriadis Par. 11).
Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis teach battery capacity analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Hitachi:
and wherein the communication interface is configured to: send a current target energy saving level of the battery to the station when it is determined, based on the state of charge, that an energy saving level of the battery changes, wherein the station uses a power saving policy corresponding to the target energy saving level, to reduce power consumption of the station.. (Hitachi Fig. 4; Pg. 3-4-“The power demand management apparatus 1 includes, for example, an information acquisition unit F10, a traffic characteristic setting unit F11, a discharge target base station detection unit F12, a discharge amount calculation unit F13, a discharge instruction unit F14, a charge target base station detection unit F15, and a charge amount calculation. Functions such as a unit F16, a charging instruction unit F17, and an energy saving instruction unit F18 are provided.; The charging target base station detection unit F15 has a function of detecting the base station 4 having the storage battery 43 to be charged. The charge amount calculation unit F16 has a function of calculating the amount of power to be charged in the storage battery 43 to be charged. The charging instruction unit F17 has a function of instructing the storage battery 43 to be charged by notifying the storage battery 43 to be charged of a predetermined charging instruction including a charge amount.; Pg.6 - The base station 4 provides a communication service using a plurality of bands having different frequencies. When radio waves are stopped for some of the usable bands, the power consumption of the base station 4 decreases. Alternatively, the base station 4 can also stop using some of the multiple sectors of the antenna used in each band. For example, when an antenna used in a certain band has six sectors separated by 60 degrees, the base station 4 uses only three of these six sectors, for example, to reduce power consumption. Can be reduced. Alternatively, the base station 4 can reduce power consumption by reducing the number of frequencies used in carry aggregation in which communication is performed using a plurality of frequencies. Alternatively, the base station 4 can reduce power consumption by reducing the number of time slots used for one communication. Furthermore, when considering the base station as a whole, a plurality of base stations arranged in a certain area are thinned and operated based on a certain rule, thereby reducing the power consumption of the entire base station group in that area.)
Yuan, Eleftheriadis and Hitachi are directed to battery analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis, as taught by Hitachi, by utilizing additional alerts and notification with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis with the motivation of fully utilizing battery life (Hitachi Pg. 1).
Regarding Claim 17,
Yuan teaches
A backup power supply system, comprising: a station; and a control device; wherein the station comprises a power supply device, and the power supply device comprises a battery; wherein the control device is on the battery, the power supply device, or the station; and wherein the control device comprises a processor and a communication interface, and the processor is configured to: calculate a battery capacity of a battery based on historical power outage alarm information, historical power consumption information of a station in which the battery is located, and historical station outage alarm information of the station, comprising: determining, based on the historical power outage alarm information and the historical station outage alarm information, a maximum power supply duration in which the battery supplies power to the station; (Yuan Pg. 2- In some embodiments of the first aspect, before obtaining the capacity change trend of the storage battery that supplies power to the alarm network element according to the generation time of the power supply alarm event and the generation time of the communication interruption alarm event, it further includes: excluding the generation time and the end time The power supply alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold, and the target communication interruption alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold; and/or, exclude the fourth interval duration between the generation time and the reporting time greater than Report a power supply alarm event with a duration threshold, and a target communication interruption alarm event with a fourth interval longer than the reported duration threshold; and/or, exclude the fifth interval between the current generation time and the last generation time that is less than the standard charging duration The power supply alarm event, and the target communication interruption alarm event whose fifth interval is shorter than the standard charging time.; In a second aspect, an embodiment of the present invention provides a storage battery capacity analysis device, including: a first event acquisition module configured to acquire power supply alarm events from historical alarm events, and acquire the alarm network element that generated the power supply alarm event; In a third aspect, an embodiment of the present invention provides a battery capacity analysis device, including a memory, a processor, and a program stored in the memory and operable on the processor; when the processor executes the program, the battery capacity in the above embodiment is realized Analytical method. In a fourth aspect, an embodiment of the present invention provides a computer-readable storage medium on which a program is stored, and when the program is executed by a processor, the storage battery capacity analysis method in the above-mentioned embodiment is implemented.”);
and calculating the battery capacity according to a capacity calculation formula based on the maximum power supply duration in which the battery supplies power to the station (Yuan Pg. 2- 3The power supply alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold, and the target communication interruption alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold; and/or, exclude the fourth interval duration between the generation time and the reporting time greater than Report a power supply alarm event with a duration threshold, and a target communication interruption alarm event with a fourth interval longer than the reported duration threshold; The end duration threshold can be determined according to experience and specific work scenarios, and is not limited here. For example, the end duration threshold is set to ten minutes. By excluding the power supply alarm event and the target communication interruption alarm event whose third interval duration is less than the end duration threshold, the impact of the flash alarm on the capacity analysis of the storage battery can be eliminated. ”) ;
Yuan teaches battery capacity analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Eleftheriadis:
and when a power outage occurs in the station, calculate a state of charge of the battery based on actual power consumption, a power outage duration of the station, and the battery capacity (Eleftheriadis Par. 50-51- FIG. 4 uses three related graphs similar to the ones in FIG. 1 to illustrate backup power control according to an embodiment. The top graph is the same as the one in FIG. 1, showing the power supplied by the two batteries to the network device during four outage periods: T1-T4 (with T1, T2 and T3 lasting less than two hours each and T4 lasting more than four hours). The middle graph illustrates discharging and charging of the first battery, and the bottom graph illustrates discharging and charging of the second battery. In this case, the first battery is partially used during all four outage periods, for example, until its energy storage capacity decreases below a predetermined threshold (e.g., a predefined percentage of its energy storage capacity). The first battery is thus used plural times without being charged. During the fourth power outage, T4, the second battery is used as a backup source for the last portion of the fourth outage. Unlike the conventional approach, the first battery is here recharged only one time, and it is not recharged using the second battery's power.”) ;
Yuan and Eleftheriadis teach battery analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Yuan, as taught by Eleftheriadis, by utilizing additional analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Yuan with the motivation of improving backup power management (Eleftheriadis Par. 11).
Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis teach battery capacity analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Hitachi:
and wherein the communication interface is configured to: send a current target energy saving level of the battery to the station when it is determined, based on the state of charge, that an energy saving level of the battery changes, wherein the station uses a power saving policy corresponding to the target energy saving level, to reduce power consumption of the station.. (Hitachi Fig. 4; Pg. 3-4-“The power demand management apparatus 1 includes, for example, an information acquisition unit F10, a traffic characteristic setting unit F11, a discharge target base station detection unit F12, a discharge amount calculation unit F13, a discharge instruction unit F14, a charge target base station detection unit F15, and a charge amount calculation. Functions such as a unit F16, a charging instruction unit F17, and an energy saving instruction unit F18 are provided.; The charging target base station detection unit F15 has a function of detecting the base station 4 having the storage battery 43 to be charged. The charge amount calculation unit F16 has a function of calculating the amount of power to be charged in the storage battery 43 to be charged. The charging instruction unit F17 has a function of instructing the storage battery 43 to be charged by notifying the storage battery 43 to be charged of a predetermined charging instruction including a charge amount.; Pg.6 - The base station 4 provides a communication service using a plurality of bands having different frequencies. When radio waves are stopped for some of the usable bands, the power consumption of the base station 4 decreases. Alternatively, the base station 4 can also stop using some of the multiple sectors of the antenna used in each band. For example, when an antenna used in a certain band has six sectors separated by 60 degrees, the base station 4 uses only three of these six sectors, for example, to reduce power consumption. Can be reduced. Alternatively, the base station 4 can reduce power consumption by reducing the number of frequencies used in carry aggregation in which communication is performed using a plurality of frequencies. Alternatively, the base station 4 can reduce power consumption by reducing the number of time slots used for one communication. Furthermore, when considering the base station as a whole, a plurality of base stations arranged in a certain area are thinned and operated based on a certain rule, thereby reducing the power consumption of the entire base station group in that area.)
Yuan, Eleftheriadis and Hitachi are directed to battery analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis, as taught by Hitachi, by utilizing additional alerts and notification with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis with the motivation of fully utilizing battery life (Hitachi Pg. 1).
Regarding Claim 21,
The method according to claim 1, wherein calculating the state of charge of the battery comprises: determining a power outage duration based on a difference between a current time and a power outage start time of the station;(Yuan Wherein, when a power supply alarm event is generated, the storage battery starts to work to supply power for the alarming network element. That is to say, the generation time of the power supply alarm event is the start time of the battery power supply of the alarming network element. When the power of the storage battery is exhausted, the alarm network element fails and cannot communicate with the adjacent network element, and the adjacent network element generates a target communication interruption alarm event. That is to say, the generation time of the target communication interruption alarm event is the end time of the battery power supply of the alarming network element. The end time of the power supply alarm event is the time when the original power supply of the storage battery recovers to supply power to the storage battery. The end time of the target communication interruption alarm event is the time when the alarm network element takes effect (that is, the alarm network element restarts communication with the adjacent network element).”) determining energy consumed by the station as a product of the power outage duration and a real-time power consumption of the station (Eleftheriadis Par. 50-51- FIG. 4 uses three related graphs similar to the ones in FIG. 1 to illustrate backup power control according to an embodiment. The top graph is the same as the one in FIG. 1, showing the power supplied by the two batteries to the network device during four outage periods: T1-T4 (with T1, T2 and T3 lasting less than two hours each and T4 lasting more than four hours). The middle graph illustrates discharging and charging of the first battery, and the bottom graph illustrates discharging and charging of the second battery. In this case, the first battery is partially used during all four outage periods, for example, until its energy storage capacity decreases below a predetermined threshold (e.g., a predefined percentage of its energy storage capacity). The first battery is thus used plural times without being charged. During the fourth power outage, T4, the second battery is used as a backup source for the last portion of the fourth outage. Unlike the conventional approach, the first battery is here recharged only one time, and it is not recharged using the second battery's power.”) ;
Yuan teaches battery capacity analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Eleftheriadis:
and calculating the state of charge based on a ratio of the energy consumed by the station to the battery capacity (Eleftheriadis Par. 50-51- FIG. 4 uses three related graphs similar to the ones in FIG. 1 to illustrate backup power control according to an embodiment. The top graph is the same as the one in FIG. 1, showing the power supplied by the two batteries to the network device during four outage periods: T1-T4 (with T1, T2 and T3 lasting less than two hours each and T4 lasting more than four hours). The middle graph illustrates discharging and charging of the first battery, and the bottom graph illustrates discharging and charging of the second battery. In this case, the first battery is partially used during all four outage periods, for example, until its energy storage capacity decreases below a predetermined threshold (e.g., a predefined percentage of its energy storage capacity). The first battery is thus used plural times without being charged. During the fourth power outage, T4, the second battery is used as a backup source for the last portion of the fourth outage. Unlike the conventional approach, the first battery is here recharged only one time, and it is not recharged using the second battery's power.”) ;
Yuan and Eleftheriadis teach battery analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Yuan, as taught by Eleftheriadis, by utilizing additional analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Yuan with the motivation of improving backup power management (Eleftheriadis Par. 11).
Regarding Claim 22,
Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis teach battery capacity analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Hitachi:
, wherein the energy saving level of the battery comprises a plurality of energy saving levels, each energy saving level corresponding to a respective range of the state of charge, and each energy saving level corresponding to a respective power saving policy, wherein: a lower state of charge corresponds to an energy saving level associated with a power saving policy that achieves a greater reduction in power consumption of the station; and when the state of charge decreases from the respective range of a first energy saving level to the respective range of a second energy saving level, the control device sends the second energy saving level as the current target energy saving level to the station. (Hitachi Pg. 3-4 and related text-“ The energy saving instruction unit F18 is a function that instructs the base station 4 to operate in the energy saving mode in a predetermined case. For example, when a power failure occurs at the place where the base station 4 is installed or the amount of power stored in the storage battery 43 falls to a predetermined energy saving reference value, the energy saving instruction unit F18 operates in the energy saving mode. The base station 4 is instructed to do so. In the present embodiment, as will be described later, the storage battery reserve is used for purposes other than the BCP for the base station 4 in which the virtual storage battery reserve becomes large due to low traffic. That is, the virtual storage battery reserve is used for the operation of the base station 4 under a normal situation where it is not necessary to implement the BCP. When a situation in which BCP such as a power failure should be performed occurs while using the battery reserve capacity under normal conditions, the energy saving mode is activated at that time. Thereby, the expected BCP can be realized while consuming the battery reserve capacity under normal conditions. In the present embodiment, the energy saving mode is set so that the power consumption decreases as the traffic decreases in the event of a power failure. As will be described later, when shifting to the BCP due to the occurrence of a power failure, the power consumption of the base station 4 is reduced by increasing the number of bands to stop radio waves as the traffic decreases.)
Yuan, Eleftheriadis and Hitachi are directed to battery analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis, as taught by Hitachi, by utilizing additional alerts and notification with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis with the motivation of fully utilizing battery life (Hitachi Pg. 1).
Regarding Claim 23,
Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis teach battery capacity analysis and the feature is expounded upon by Hitachi:
The method according to claim 22, wherein the power saving policy corresponding to at least one of the plurality of energy saving levels comprises at least one of: transmit power reduction, symbol power saving, or carrier shutdown. (Hitachi Pg. 3-4 and related text-“ Therefore, in this embodiment, the base station 4 that is considered to have a large virtual storage battery reserve capacity due to a small amount of traffic is extracted, and the storage battery reserve capacity stored in the storage battery 43 of the extracted base station 4 is stored in the SOC. It is used in the base station 4 until it decreases to the second power storage amount Q2. As a result, while maintaining a state where BCP is possible when a power failure or disaster occurs, the power stored in the storage battery 43 (storage battery reserve capacity) can be used effectively, and only the amount of use of the storage battery 43 can be used. The amount of power purchased from the power system PL can be reduced. As a result, according to this embodiment, so-called demand response and megawatt transactions can be handled, and the maintenance cost of the base station 4 can be reduced.)
Yuan, Eleftheriadis and Hitachi are directed to battery analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon data analysis of Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis, as taught by Hitachi, by utilizing additional alerts and notification with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Yuan in view of Eleftheriadis with the motivation of fully utilizing battery life (Hitachi Pg. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Publication No. 20050024905A1 to Shiojima- Abstract-“ The device has a control circuit (10) controlling charging of a rechargeable battery (3) based on a charge state of the battery and controlling power supply to electronic equipment (1). The circuit updates and stores status of the battery if fixed time period is not elapsed, and does not newly store the status if the fixed time period is elapsed. A timer (18) stops the supply to the circuit after lapse of the period.”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Chesiree Walton, whose telephone number is (571) 272-5219. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday to Friday between 8 AM and 5 PM. If any attempt to reach the examiner by telephone is unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Patricia Munson, can be reached at (571) 270-5396. The fax telephone numbers for this group are either (571) 273-8300 or (703) 872-9326 (for official communications including After Final communications labeled “Box AF”).
Another resource that is available to applicants is the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR). Information regarding the status of an application can be obtained from the (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, please feel free to contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Applicants are invited to contact the Office to schedule an in-person interview to discuss and resolve the issues set forth in this Office Action. Although an interview is not required, the Office believes that an interview can be of use to resolve any issues related to a patent application in an efficient and prompt manner.
Sincerely,
/CHESIREE A WALTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3624