DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) were/was submitted on 02/24/2026. The information disclosure statement(s) have/has been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an applications filed in Republic of China on 06/30/2021, and 11/23/2021.
Status of Application
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, 14-18, and 21-26, are pending.
Claims 1, 8, 14, and 17, are amended.
No claims are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 6-7, 10, 13, and 19-20, are cancelled.
Claim 26 is added.
Claims 1, 8, and 14, are independent claims.
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, 14-18, and 21-26, will be examined.
This Final Office action is in response to “Applicant Arguments/Remarks” and “Amended Claims” dated 02/24/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks/Arguments and amended claims, filed 02/24/2026, with respect to claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, 14-18, and 21-26, have been fully considered and Applicant' s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Regarding Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, and the remarks, “combination of Harmel and Xu fails to render obvious claims 1-5, 14-18, and 21-24, and Harmel autonomous vehicle itself, not a vehicle control apparatus that is external to the autonomous vehicle, detects the junction,” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, 14-18, and 21-26 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of previously disclosed prior art reference(s) ZHU et al., US 20200103913. Zhu discloses “receiving (information), from a vehicle control apparatus that is external to the target vehicle,” (¶¶ [0032], [0035]). Therefore, combining Harmel and Zhu prior art anticipates or renders obvious this amended claim subject matter.
Regarding Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, and the remarks, “The combination of Harmel and Xu fails to render obvious claims 8-9, 11-12, and 25 because the combination of Harmel and Xu fails to disclose determining a passing sequence position of the target vehicle at the road junction based on a capacity of the road junction or the target road,” the Office respectfully disagrees. The prior art Harmel discloses/teaches determining a passing sequence position of the target vehicle at the road junction (¶¶ [0019-0024], [0033-0040] determining a queue of vehicle(s) at the junction, see also FIG. 1 and FIGS.3A and 3B). Furthermore, the prior art Xu discloses/teaches “a capacity of the road junction or the target road, (¶¶ [0024-0025], [0028-0029], [0033-0034], [0043-0046], [0049], [0056-0057], [0061-0063], 0070-0081], 0085-0088], [0093-0094], [0098-0101], [0105-0108], [0115-0116], claims, 1-12).” Therefore, combining Harmel and Xu prior art anticipates or renders obvious this amended claim subject matter.
It remains the Offices stance that the cited prior art anticipates or renders obvious this claimed subject matter.
Applicant further argues that the other independent claims which recite similar features are allowable and the dependent claims are also allowable since they depend on allowable subject and the Office respectfully disagrees. It is the Office's stance that all of the claimed subject matter has been properly rejected; therefore the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant' s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, 14-18, 21, 23, and 26, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARMEL et al., US 20200394911, herein further known as Harmel, in view of ZHU et al., US 20200103913, herein further known as Zhu, further in view of XU et al., US 20220165150, herein further known as Xu.
Regarding claim 1, Harmel discloses a target vehicle (abstract, a particular vehicle ¶ [0008], a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle), ¶¶ [0010-0012], [0014-0017], the autonomous vehicle, ¶ [0020], vehicle 106, see also FIG. 1, ¶ [0033], vehicle 304, see also FIGS. 3A, and 3B, ¶¶ [0050-0051], vehicle 402, see also FIG. 4 ) receiving first indication information when the target vehicle is located on an upstream road of a road junction (¶ [0011], the autonomous vehicle may be used to detect a junction (i.e. receiving first indication information) that the autonomous vehicle is approaching (i.e. target vehicle on an upstream road) in the environment, ¶ [0020], vehicle 106 is approaching a junction… sensing data, ¶¶ [0033-0037], see also FIG. 1 and FIGS.3A and 3B), wherein the road junction (¶ [0009]) and the upstream road have a topological relationship (¶ [0049], navigate within the environment, topologies (such as intersections)), wherein the first indication information indicates a passing sequence position of the target vehicle at the road junction Harmel discloses further the passing sequence position, wherein the passing sequence position is associated with attribute information (¶ [0009], laws, standards, and behavior of other vehicles when approaching and traversing a junction) of a target road of the target vehicle (¶¶ [0019-0024], [0033-0040] determining a queue of vehicle(s) at the junction, see also FIG. 1 and FIGS.3A and 3B) or a task priority of the target vehicle, and wherein the target road is from at least one downstream road that is indicated by the topological relationship and that is associated with the road junction (¶ [0036], traverse the junction by changing its position from behind the stop line 312(D) to over the stop line 312(D) and into the junction… proceed through the junction (i.e. to downstream road), see also FIGS. 1, 3A, and 3B).
However Harmel does not explicitly state receiving, from a vehicle control apparatus that is external to the target vehicle, the attribute information comprises a first capacity of the target road.
Zhu teaches receiving, from a vehicle control apparatus that is external to the target vehicle (¶¶ [0032], [0035]).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Harmel receiving, from a vehicle control apparatus that is external to the target vehicle as taught by Zhu.
One would be motivated to modify Harmel in view of Zhu for the reasons stated in Zhu paragraph [0001], more robust methods and systems to make decisions while traversing an environment to ensure safety for passengers and surrounding persons and objects. Furthermore, the more robust methods and systems reduce the challenges for controlling an autonomous vehicle while determining how to proceed at junctions in the environment.
Furthermore, Xu teaches the attribute information comprises a first capacity of the target road (¶¶ [0056-0057], dynamic road capacity data, routing data (i.e. target road), [0063], traffic conditions of a route for an end user (i.e. target road), dynamic road capacity data, [0073-0074], alignment is the route of the road (i.e. target road), road capacity data, direct routings (i.e. target road), [0078], dynamic road capacity data, identify the best route (i.e. target road)).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Harmel the attribute information comprises a first capacity of the target road as taught by Xu.
One would be motivated to modify Harmel in view of Xu for the reasons stated in Xu paragraph [0045], more robust method and system wherein available up-to-date road capacity data for the region may be pushed as an update to the vehicle or user equipment, and paragraph [0077], the vehicle can change its maneuver, based on the dynamic road capacity data to drive safely and thereby creating a safer city.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Harmel, Zhu, and Xu disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Harmel discloses further receiving the first indication information when the target vehicle is scheduled (¶¶ [0019-0024], example environment 104 at a time ti [0033-0040] determining a queue of vehicle(s) at the junction based upon timing (e.g. t1, t2, t3, t4), see also FIG. 1, and FIGS.3A and 3B) to pass through the road junction within a preset time (¶ [0014], timeout, vehicle exceeds an amount of time (i.e. preset time)… vehicle to proceed through the junction, ¶ [0016], time of flight data to generate and update a queue of vehicles at a junction, ¶ [0023], queue may also be updated based on a timeout… a threshold amount of time, ¶ [0080], vehicle may proceed through the junction if the additional vehicle has been stationary for a threshold amount of time, ¶ [0082], vehicle may yield to the additional vehicle for a time until a minimum amount of time (i.e. preset time) has passed).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Harmel Zhu, and Xu disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Harmel discloses further the passing sequence position is based on the target vehicle and at least one additional vehicle (¶ [0019], determining a queue of vehicles (plural), see also FIG. 1, ¶ [0020], vehicle 106 may detect other vehicles arriving at the junction, see also FIG. 1, ¶ [0021], vehicle 106 generates a queue based on the order of the vehicles (plural)… ¶¶ [0033-0037], environment 302 depicts four vehicles approaching a junction…).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Harmel, Zhu, and Xu disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Harmel discloses further receiving second indication information, indicating a temporary parking space for the target vehicle (¶ [0010], sensor data… parked car, which is an indication of a parking space) and target vehicle before the target vehicle is scheduled to pass through the road junction; and traveling, before traveling through the road junction (¶¶ [0033-0037], see also FIG. 1 and FIGS.3A and 3B)
However, Harmel does not explicitly state before traveling through the road junction, to the temporary parking space based on the second indication information.
Zhu teaches before traveling through the road junction, to the temporary parking space based on the second indication information (¶¶ [0037-0039], achieve a certain control purpose (e.g., parking before an intersection))
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Harmel before traveling through the road junction, to the temporary parking space based on the second indication information as taught by Zhu.
One would be motivated to modify Harmel in view of Zhu for the reasons stated in Zhu paragraph [0001], more robust methods and systems to make decisions while traversing an environment to ensure safety for passengers and surrounding persons and objects. Furthermore, the more robust methods and systems reduce the challenges for controlling an autonomous vehicle while determining how to proceed at junctions in the environment.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Harmel, Zhu, and Xu disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Harmel discloses further reporting status information, comprising a location, a speed, or a heading angle (¶ [0027], position (i.e. location) of a vehicle, ¶ [0031], target speed of a vehicle to proceed through the junction, ¶ [0047], position and/or orientation (i.e. heading angle) of the vehicle 402, ¶ [0067], locations of vehicles at a junction (e.g., relative to a stopping position)).
Regarding claim 8, all limitations have been examined with respect to the methods in claim 1. The apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 8 can clearly perform the methods of claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Furthermore, Harmel discloses further instruct, based on the passing sequence position, passing of the target vehicle at the road junction (¶ [0008]).
However, Harmel does not explicitly state topological relationship indicates at least one downstream road associated with the road junction; determine a target road for a target vehicle from the at least one downstream road, and second attribute information of the target road, the topological relationship, and a capacity of the road junction or the target road.
Xu teaches topological relationship indicates at least one downstream road associated with the road junction (¶¶ [0008], [0015], [0085], [0108], outgoing lane capacity data); determine a target road for a target vehicle (¶¶ [0056-0057], dynamic road capacity data, routing data (i.e. target road), [0063], traffic conditions of a route for an end user (i.e. target road), dynamic road capacity data, [0073-0074], alignment is the route of the road (i.e. target road), road capacity data, direct routings (i.e. target road), [0078], dynamic road capacity data, identify the best route (i.e. target road)) from the at least one downstream road ¶¶ [0008], [0015], [0085], [0108], outgoing lane capacity data), and second attribute information of the target road ¶¶ [0008], [0015], [0085], [0108], incoming lane capacity data of lanes 1, or 2, or 3, and second outgoing lane capacity data of lanes 7 or 8, or 9, see also FIG. 6), and a capacity of the road junction or the target road (¶¶ [0024-0025], [0028-0029], [0033-0034], [0043-0046], [0049], [0056-0057], [0061-0063], 0070-0081], 0085-0088], [0093-0094], [0098-0101], [0105-0108], [0115-0116], claims, 1-12).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Harmel the topological relationship indicates at least one downstream road associated with the road junction; determine a target road for a target vehicle from the at least one downstream road, and second attribute information of the target road, and a capacity of the road junction or the target road as taught by Xu.
One would be motivated to modify Harmel in view of Xu for the reasons stated in Xu paragraph [0045], more robust method and system wherein available up-to-date road capacity data for the region may be pushed as an update to the vehicle or user equipment, and paragraph [0077], the vehicle can change its maneuver, based on the dynamic road capacity data to drive safely and thereby creating a safer city.
Regarding claim 9, all limitations have been examined with respect to the methods in claim 3. The apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 9 can clearly perform the methods of claim 3. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 11, all limitations have been examined with respect to the methods in claim 1. The apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 11 can clearly perform the methods of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, all limitations have been examined with respect to the methods in claim 4. The apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 12 can clearly perform the methods of claim 4. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Harmel and Xu disclose all elements of claim 8 above.
However, Harmel does not explicitly state the first attribute information comprises a capacity of the road junction.
Xu teaches the first attribute information comprises a capacity of the road junction ¶¶ [0008], [0015], [0085], [0108], incoming lane capacity data of lanes 1, or 2, or 3, and second outgoing lane capacity data of lanes 7 or 8, or 9, wherein the road junction includes the rectangular road segment with lanes 4 to 6, see also FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Harmel the first attribute information comprises a capacity of the road junction as taught by Xu.
One would be motivated to modify Harmel in view of Xu for the reasons stated in Xu paragraph [0045], more robust method and system wherein available up-to-date road capacity data for the region may be pushed as an update to the vehicle or user equipment, and paragraph [0077], the vehicle can change its maneuver, based on the dynamic road capacity data to drive safely and thereby creating a safer city.
Regarding claim 14, all limitations have been examined with respect to the methods in claim 1. The apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 14 can clearly perform the methods of claim 1. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, all limitations have been examined with respect to the methods in claim 2. The apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 15 can clearly perform the methods of claim 2. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 16, all limitations have been examined with respect to the methods in claim 3. The apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 16 can clearly perform the methods of claim 3. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 17, all limitations have been examined with respect to the methods in claim 4. The apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 17 can clearly perform the methods of claim 4. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 18, all limitations have been examined with respect to the methods in claim 5. The apparatus taught/disclosed in claim 18 can clearly perform the methods of claim 5. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Harmel and Xu disclose all elements of claim 14 above.
However, Harmel does not explicitly state attribute information further comprises a second capacity of the road junction.
Xu teaches attribute information further comprises a second capacity of the road junction ¶¶ [0008], [0015], [0085], [0108], incoming lane capacity data of lanes 1, or 2, or 3, and second outgoing lane capacity data of lanes 7 or 8, or 9, wherein the second capacity of the road junction includes the rectangular road segment with lanes 4 or 5 or 6, see also FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Harmel the attribute information further comprises a second capacity of the road junction as taught by Xu.
One would be motivated to modify Harmel in view of Xu for the reasons stated in Xu paragraph [0045], more robust method and system wherein available up-to-date road capacity data for the region may be pushed as an update to the vehicle or user equipment, and paragraph [0077], the vehicle can change its maneuver, based on the dynamic road capacity data to drive safely and thereby creating a safer city.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Harmel, Zhu, and Xu, disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
Harmel discloses further the passing sequence position (¶¶ [0019-0024], [0033-0040] determining a queue of vehicle(s) at the junction, see also FIG. 1 and FIGS.3A and 3B).
However, Harmel does not explicitly state based on whether the first capacity permits the target vehicle to enter the target road.
Xu teaches based on whether the first capacity permits the target vehicle to enter the target road (¶ [0044], road capacity of a road… avoid or minimize congestion areas and traffic jams by rerouting vehicles) .
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Harmel based on whether the first capacity permits the target vehicle to enter the target road as taught by Xu.
One would be motivated to modify Harmel in view of Xu for the reasons stated in Xu paragraph [0045], more robust method and system wherein available up-to-date road capacity data for the region may be pushed as an update to the vehicle or user equipment, and paragraph [0077], the vehicle can change its maneuver, based on the dynamic road capacity data to drive safely and thereby creating a safer city.
Claim(s) 22, and 24-25, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Harmel, Zhu, and Xu, in view of HEMPEL et al., US 20230382429, herein further known as Hempel.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Harmel, Zhu, and Xu, disclose all elements of claim 14 above.
However, Harmel does not explicitly state attribute information further comprises a first right of way of the upstream road or a second right of way of a downstream road.
Hempel teaches a first right of way, or a second right of way (¶ [0026]).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Harmel the first right of way, or a second right of way as taught by Hempel.
One would be motivated to modify Harmel in view of Hempel for the reasons stated in Hempel paragraph [0004], more robust methods and systems to increase the convenience and/or safety of a driving function, in particular a driving function for automated longitudinal guidance at a junction.
Furthermore, Xu teaches upstream road or a downstream road ¶¶ [0008], [0015], [0085], [0108], incoming lane (i.e. upstream road) capacity data of lanes 1, or 2, or 3, and outgoing lane (i.e. downstream road) capacity data of lanes 7 or 8, or 9, see also FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Harmel the first attribute information comprises a capacity of the road junction as taught by Xu.
One would be motivated to modify Harmel in view of Xu for the reasons stated in Xu paragraph [0045], more robust method and system wherein available up-to-date road capacity data for the region may be pushed as an update to the vehicle or user equipment, and paragraph [0077], the vehicle can change its maneuver, based on the dynamic road capacity data to drive safely and thereby creating a safer city.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Harmel, Zhu, and Xu, disclose all elements of claim 1 above.
However, Harmel does not explicitly state attribute information further comprises a first right of way of the upstream road or a second right of way of a downstream road.
Hempel teaches a first right of way, or a second right of way (¶ [0026]).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Harmel the first right of way, or a second right of way as taught by Hempel.
One would be motivated to modify Harmel in view of Hempel for the reasons stated in Hempel paragraph [0004], more robust methods and systems to increase the convenience and/or safety of a driving function, in particular a driving function for automated longitudinal guidance at a junction.
Furthermore, Xu teaches upstream road or a downstream road ¶¶ [0008], [0015], [0085], [0108], incoming lane (i.e. upstream road) capacity data of lanes 1, or 2, or 3, and outgoing lane (i.e. downstream road) capacity data of lanes 7 or 8, or 9, see also FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Harmel the first attribute information comprises a capacity of the road junction as taught by Xu.
One would be motivated to modify Harmel in view of Xu for the reasons stated in Xu paragraph [0045], more robust method and system wherein available up-to-date road capacity data for the region may be pushed as an update to the vehicle or user equipment, and paragraph [0077], the vehicle can change its maneuver, based on the dynamic road capacity data to drive safely and thereby creating a safer city.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Harmel, Zhu, and Xu, disclose all elements of claim 8 above.
However, Harmel does not explicitly state attribute information further comprises a first right of way of the upstream road or a second right of way of a downstream road.
Hempel teaches a first right of way, or a second right of way (¶ [0026]).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Harmel the first right of way, or a second right of way as taught by Hempel.
One would be motivated to modify Harmel in view of Hempel for the reasons stated in Hempel paragraph [0004], more robust methods and systems to increase the convenience and/or safety of a driving function, in particular a driving function for automated longitudinal guidance at a junction.
Furthermore, Xu teaches upstream road or a downstream road ¶¶ [0008], [0015], [0085], [0108], incoming lane (i.e. upstream road) capacity data of lanes 1, or 2, or 3, and outgoing lane (i.e. downstream road) capacity data of lanes 7 or 8, or 9, see also FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to incorporate in to Harmel the first attribute information comprises a capacity of the road junction as taught by Xu.
One would be motivated to modify Harmel in view of Xu for the reasons stated in Xu paragraph [0045], more robust method and system wherein available up-to-date road capacity data for the region may be pushed as an update to the vehicle or user equipment, and paragraph [0077], the vehicle can change its maneuver, based on the dynamic road capacity data to drive safely and thereby creating a safer city.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERRY C BUSE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666