Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,4,8,9,13,15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al (PG Pub 2023/0146645 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a pixel unit, comprising: a base substrate (110 and IS1, figs. 4 and 5); a first deep trench isolation structure (312, paragraph [0085]) located in the base substrate and extending in a first direction; a second deep trench isolation structure (311) located in the base substrate, electrically insulated (with insulating element 230, paragraph [0025]) via an insulation member (230 (paragraph [0075]) from the first deep trench isolation structure and extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction, wherein the second deep trench isolation structure includes a first conductive layer (211, paragraph [0089]), a second conductive layer (212, paragraph [0089]) and a dielectric layer (221, paragraph [0089]) between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer, and a stacking direction of the first conductive layer, the dielectric layer and the second conductive layer is parallel (fig. 5) to a surface of the base substrate and perpendicular to the second direction; and a photosensitive element (120, paragraph [0075]) located in a portion of the base substrate surrounded by the first deep trench isolation structure and the second deep trench isolation structure and connected in series (120 physically connected in series with structure 200/201/202, fig. 5) with the first deep trench isolation structure, wherein the first deep trench isolation structure includes a third conductive layer (211 in 311) and is structurally different (considering layers 211,221,212 in 312 versus only layer 311 in 311, they are structurally different) from the second deep trench isolation structure.
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches the pixel unit according to claim 1, further comprising: the insulation member (230, paragraph [0075], figs. 4-6) is located in a portion of the base substrate at an intersection position between the first deep trench isolation structure and the second deep trench isolation structure.
Regarding claim 4, Choi teaches the pixel unit according to claim 1, wherein: the first deep trench isolation structure further includes a linear layer (201) located between the third conductive layer and the base substrate; and the second deep trench isolation structure further includes a linear layer (201) located between the first conductive layer and the base substrate and between the second conductive layer and the base substrate, respectively.
Regarding claim 8, Choi teaches the pixel unit according to claim 1, wherein: the first deep trench isolation structure and the second deep trench isolation structure protrude into the base substrate by a partial thickness of the base substrate (through 110 but not through IS1, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Choi teaches the pixel unit according to claim 1, further comprising: an interconnection structure (interconnecting wiring that connects to PD, C1, and C2, in fig. 3, which are respectively photo conversion element 120, capacitors 311, and 312, respectively, in figs. 4-5, paragraph [0095]) electrically connected to the photosensitive element, the first deep trench isolation structure, the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer, respectively.
Regarding claim 13, Choi teaches (see claim 1) a photodetector, comprising: a pixel unit, including: a base substrate; a first deep trench isolation structure located in the base substrate and extending in a first direction; a second deep trench isolation structure located in the base substrate, electrically insulated from the first deep trench isolation structure and extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction, wherein the second deep trench isolation structure includes a first conductive layer, a second conductive layer and a dielectric layer between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer, and a stacking direction of the first conductive layer, the dielectric layer and the second conductive layer is parallel to a surface of the base substrate and perpendicular to the second direction; and a photosensitive element located in a portion of the base substrate surrounded by the first deep trench isolation structure and the second deep trench isolation structure and connected in series with the first deep trench isolation structure, wherein the first deep trench isolation structure includes a third conductive layer (211 in 311) and is structurally different (considering layers 211,221,212 in 312 versus only layer 311 in 311, they are structurally different) from the second deep trench isolation structure.
Regarding claim 15, Choi (see claim 1) teaches a method for forming a photodetector, comprising: forming a base substrate; forming a first deep trench isolation structure and a second deep trench isolation structure in the base substrate, wherein the first deep trench isolation structure is electrically insulated from the second deep trench isolation structure, the first deep trench isolation structure extends in a first direction, the second deep trench isolation structure extends in a second direction, the first direction intersects the second direction, the second deep trench isolation structure includes a first conductive layer, a second conductive layer and a dielectric layer located between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer, a stacking direction of the first conductive layer, the dielectric layer and the second conductive layer is parallel to a surface of the base substrate and perpendicular to the second direction; and forming a photosensitive element in a portion of the base substrate surrounded by the first deep trench isolation structure and the second deep trench isolation structure, wherein the first deep trench isolation structure includes a third conductive layer (211 in 311) and is structurally different (considering layers 211,221,212 in 312 versus only layer 311 in 311, they are structurally different) from the second deep trench isolation structure.
Regarding claim 16, Choi teaches the method according to claim 15, further comprising: forming an insulation element (230, figs. 4 and 5, paragraph [0075]) in the base substrate at an intersection position between the first deep trench isolation structure and the second deep trench isolation structure.
Regarding claim 17, Choi teaches the method according to claim 15, wherein forming the first deep trench isolation structure and the second deep trench isolation structure in the base substrate comprises: forming a trench network (fig. 4) including a first trench (210t) extending in the first direction and a second trench (210t) extending in the second direction in the base substrate; forming an insulation element (230) at an intersection position of the first trench and the second trench to block the first trench and the second trench; forming a third conductive layer (211, figs. 4 and 5) in the first trench and a first conductive layer (211) and a second conductive layer (212, paragraph [0089]) respectively on opposite sidewalls of the second trench; and forming a dielectric layer (221, paragraph [0089]) between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer.
Regarding claim 18, Choi teaches the method according to claim 17, wherein: the first trench (210t, fig. 4) includes a functional area (312) and an isolation area (230, paragraph [0075]), and in the first direction, the isolation area is located at both ends of the functional area; the second trench (210t) includes a functional area (311) and an isolation area (230), and in the second direction, the isolation area is located at both ends of the functional area; and the insulation member is formed in the isolation area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (PG Pub 2023/0146645 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Bui et al (PG Pub 2014/0093994 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Choi remains as applied in claim 4.
Choi does not teach at least one of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer and the third conductive layer is a doped polysilicon layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Bui teaches a conductive layer (115, fig. 1) to be a doped polysilicon layer (paragraph [0047]), for the benefits of providing a layer that is compatible with high temperature processing and can resist corrosion (paragraph [0047]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make at least one of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer and the third conductive layer a doped polysilicon layer, for the benefits of providing a layer that is compatible with high temperature processing and can resist corrosion.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (PG Pub 2023/0146645 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Hu et al (PG Pub 2022/0406885 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Choi remains as applied in claim 4.
Choi does not teach in at least one of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer and the third conductive layer, a doping concentration on one of its sides facing away from the base substrate is greater than a doping concentration on another side facing the base substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu teaches in a conductive layer, a doping concentration on one of its sides facing away (116, fig. 1F) from the base substrate (105) is greater than a doping concentration on another side (114) facing the base substrate, for the benefit of reducing contact resistance (with interconnects 124B, paragraph [0029]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make, in at least one of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer and the third conductive layer, a doping concentration on one of its sides facing away from the base substrate is greater than a doping concentration on another side facing the base substrate, for the benefit of reducing contact resistance (with pads 131_1/131_2, fig. 5).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (PG Pub 2023/0146645 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Takatsuka et al (PG Pub 2023/0094219 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Choi remains as applied in claim 13.
Choi further teaches the photodetector includes multiple pixel units (PX1 to PX4, fig. 4)
Choi does not teach the photodetector includes a silicon photomultiplier tube; and photosensitive elements of the multiple pixel units are connected in parallel.
In the same field of endeavor, Takatsuka teaches a photodetector includes a silicon photomultiplier tube (paragraph [0087]); and photosensitive elements of the multiple pixel units (210) are connected in parallel (paragraph [0215]), for the benefit of providing a detector that is highly sensitive, that can detect one photon (paragraph [0087]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the photodetector to include a silicon photomultiplier tube; and to make photosensitive elements of the multiple pixel units connect in parallel, for the benefit of providing a detector that is highly sensitive, that can detect one photon.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because the previously cited references still teach the amendment. See rejection above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3,10-12,19,20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art does not teach
“in a direction parallel to a surface of the base substrate and perpendicular to the first direction, a size of the insulation member is smaller than a size of the first deep trench isolation structure; and in a direction parallel to the surface of the base substrate and perpendicular to the second direction, a size of the insulation member is smaller than a size of the second deep trench isolation structure” (claim 3);
“a first interconnection layer electrically connected to the first plug, the second plug and the third plug” (claim 10);
“a width of a trench in the isolation area is smaller than a width of a trench in the functional area; forming the insulation member to block the first trench and the second trench includes forming a linear layer covering a bottom and sidewalls of the first trench and a bottom and sidewalls second trench to fill an isolation area of the first trench and an isolation area of the second trench to form the insulation member; and the third conductive layer is formed on portions of the linear layer of the bottom and sidewalls of the first trench, and the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer are respectively formed on the bottom of the second trench and portions of the linear layer on the sidewalls of the second trench” (claim 19);
“forming a conductive material layer to fill the first trench and cover the sidewalls and the bottom of the second trench; removing a portion of the conductive material layer on the bottom of the second trench to expose the bottom of the second trench; and filling the second trench with an exposed bottom with the dielectric layer during forming the dielectric layer between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer” (claim 20).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FEIFEI YEUNG LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899