DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 12/29/2023.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. Prior to the examination of this application, no information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed or submitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-4, 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. US 20210168648 hereafter Lee.
As to Claim 1. Lee discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) [i.e. First Wireless Device/Tx UE], comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors [Processors-102], coupled to the one or more memories [Memories-104], configured to cause the first UE to [Fig. 14, Sections 0016, 0168: A first user equipment (UE) configured to receive a feedback signal from a second UE include a processor. The first wireless device include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104]:
communicate with a second UE [i.e. UE2, RX UE, second device] using a sidelink and a retransmission feedback [i.e. HARQ NACK] process [Sections 0053, 0083: In the disclosure, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) method is used upon receiving the NACK signal, the transmitter (i.e. TX device) retransmit the data. UE1 performs D2D/V2X communication with UE 2 and transmit data over a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)], the first UE being a transmitting UE [i.e. TX] in the retransmission feedback process [Figs. 5, 10, 12, Sections 0111, 0127, 0128: The UE use methods such as determination of retransmission. It is assumed the reception (Rx) UE receive a coded packet of a specific message from a specific transmitter (Tx UE) and transmit information (e.g. ACK/NACK) to the transmit (Tx) UE. In HARQ feedback, whether the transmission (Tx) terminal retransmits a message (to the Rx UE) may be determined according to a NACK];
derive that a sidelink [i.e. communication between first UE and second UE] congestion metric satisfies a saturation threshold [Sections 0008, 0009, 0107: The RSRP threshold determined based on channel congestion between the first UE and the second UE. The channel congestion may be a congestion level (i.e. saturation) or a channel busy ratio-CBR (i.e. saturation). The RSRP threshold determined in proportion to the channel congestion. A sidelink radio communication become congested and various methods for example, distributed congestion control may be applied];
and modify [i.e. Adjust/Adaptive] the retransmission feedback process [i.e. HARQ NACK] based at least in part on the sidelink congestion metric satisfying the saturation threshold [Sections 0138, 0141, 0152: The RSRP threshold is determined in consideration of the channel congestion and the NACK is adjusted according to the channel congestion level in proportion to the degree of channel congestion. Tx parameters can be easily adjusted in a retransmission process; the Tx UE measure the RSRP for each feedback and determine whether to perform retransmission based on the measured RSRP. Method for adjusting the RSRP threshold applied to a method for determining the NACK detection threshold for each RSRP measurement/threshold, it can be assumed that the RSRP value is measured based on a PSCCH (physical sidelink channel)].
As to Claim 2. Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause [Fig. 14, Section 0168] the first UE to modify [i.e. Adjust/Adaptive] the retransmission feedback process [i.e. HARQ NACK], are configured to cause [Sections 0138, 0141: The RSRP threshold is determined in consideration of the channel congestion and the NACK is adjusted according to the channel congestion level. Tx parameters can be easily adjusted in a retransmission process]
the first UE to: update a feedback distance; and transmit an indication of the updated feedback distance to the second UE [Sections 0141, 0143: Method of UEs having a certain approximate distance has generated the NACK as compared to HARQ feedback, such that Tx parameters can be easily adjusted (i.e. updated) in a retransmission process. When the Rx UE located outside a distance transmits a feedback signal and retransmission execution of the Tx UE can provide an adaptive system capable of adjusting based on the degree of channel congestion].
As to Claim 3. Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors, to cause [Fig. 14, Section 0168] the first UE to update the feedback [NACK] distance, are configured to cause the first UE to: update the feedback distance based at least in part on a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) used to communicate with the second UE [Sections 0085-0086, 0111, 0141: Control information transmitted by a UE to another UE over a PSCCH may be referred to as SCI. SCI format include a modulation and coding scheme (MCS). Besides, the UE use methods such as determination of retransmission of a MCS adjustment. Method of UEs having a certain approximate distance has generated the NACK as compared to HARQ feedback, such that Tx parameters can be easily adjusted (i.e. updated) in a retransmission process].
As to Claim 4. Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors, to cause [Fig. 14, Section 0168] the first UE to update the feedback distance, are configured to cause the first UE to: update the feedback distance using a feedback distance scale that increases and decreases with the MCS [Sections 0111, 0141: The UE use methods for control of the size of a transmission/retransmission of MCS adjustment. Method of UEs having a certain approximate distance has generated the NACK as compared to HARQ feedback, such that Tx parameters can be easily adjusted (i.e. updated) in a retransmission process and TX parameters e.g. MCS can be easily adjusted in a retransmission process].
As to Claim 6. Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to [Fig. 14, Section 0168]: receive a negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback transmission that is associated with a communication [Sections 0127: The reception (Rx) UEs receive a coded packet of a specific message from a specific transmitter (Tx UE) and transmit information NACK to the transmit (Tx) UE];
calculate a signal strength metric of the NACK feedback transmission; and retransmit, to the second UE, the communication selectively and based at least in part on the signal strength metric [Fig. 12, Sections 0011, 0128, 0133: The RSRP (i.e. signal strength) threshold may be determined depending on the first user equipment (UE) received a negative acknowledgment (NACK) message. The transmission (Tx) terminal retransmits a message to the Rx UE according to the presence of a NACK UE. The Tx UE having transmitted detects/measures an average reception (Rx) power (i.e. signal strength) of the feedback signal transferred from the Rx UEs; if the measured average Rx power is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold, the Tx UE determine the NACK and can perform retransmission].
As to Claim 7. Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause [Fig. 14, Section 0168] the first UE to: receive a configuration update for the retransmission feedback process; and reconfigure the retransmission feedback process based at least in part on the configuration update [Sections 0111, 0135, 0141, 0164: The UE use methods such as determination of retransmission. The Tx UE determine HARQ feedback through physical layer signaling or higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). Transmission (Tx) can be easily adjusted (updated) in a retransmission process. The BS transmit for sidelink communication configuration information configuring processes (i.e. retransmission) performed in the present disclosure].
As to Claim 8. Lee discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a second user equipment (UE) [i.e. Second Wireless Device-200,RX UE], comprising: one or more memories [Memory-204]; and one or more processors [Processor-202], coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the second UE to [Fig. 14, Sections 0169: The second wireless device include one or more processors and one or more memories 204 and transmit and/or receive wireless signals through the one or more antennas]:
communicate with a first UE using a sidelink and a retransmission feedback [i.e. HARQ NACK] process [Sections 0053, 0083, 0127: In the disclosure, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) method is used upon receiving the NACK signal, the transmitter (i.e. TX device) retransmit the data. UE1 performs D2D/V2X communication with UE 2 and transmit data over a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). It is assumed the reception (Rx) UE receive a coded packet of a specific message from a specific transmitter (Tx UE) and transmit information (e.g. ACK/NACK) to the transmit (Tx) UE],
the second UE being a receiving UE [i.e. RX UE] in the retransmission feedback [i.e. HARQ NACK] process [Sections 0017, 0127, 0128: Reception (Rx) UEs transmit a feedback signal. The reception (Rx) UE receive a coded packet of a specific message from a specific transmitter (Tx UE) and transmit information (e.g. ACK/NACK) to the transmit (Tx) UE. The transmission (Tx) terminal retransmits a message (to the Rx UE) may be determined either according to the presence or absence of a NACK]
derive that a sidelink [i.e. communication between first UE and second UE] congestion metric satisfies a saturation threshold [Sections 0008, 0009, 0107: The RSRP threshold determined based on channel congestion between the first UE and the second UE. The channel congestion may be a congestion level (i.e. saturation) or a channel busy ratio-CBR (i.e. saturation). The RSRP threshold determined in proportion to the channel congestion. A sidelink radio communication become congested and various methods for example, distributed congestion control may be applied];
and modify [i.e. Adjust/Adaptive] the retransmission feedback process [i.e. HARQ NACK] based at least in part on the sidelink congestion metric satisfying the saturation threshold [Sections 0138, 0141, 0152: The RSRP threshold is determined in consideration of the channel congestion and the NACK is adjusted according to the channel congestion level in proportion to the degree of channel congestion. Tx parameters can be easily adjusted in a retransmission process; the Tx UE measure the RSRP for each feedback and determine whether to perform retransmission based on the measured RSRP. Method for adjusting the RSRP threshold applied to a method for determining the NACK detection threshold for each RSRP measurement/threshold, it can be assumed that the RSRP value is measured based on a PSCCH (physical sidelink channel)].
As to Claim 9. Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the second UE to [Fig. 14, Section 0168]: receive a feedback distance that is based at least in part on the sidelink congestion metric satisfying the saturation threshold [Sections 0141, 0143: Method of UEs having a certain approximate distance has generated the NACK as compared to HARQ feedback, such that Tx parameters can be easily adjusted (i.e. updated) in a retransmission process. When the Rx UE located outside a distance transmits a feedback signal and retransmission execution of the Tx UE can provide an adaptive system capable of adjusting based on the degree of channel congestion],
wherein the one or more processors [Fig. 14, Section 0168], to cause the second UE to modify the retransmission feedback process, are configured to cause the second UE to: update the retransmission feedback process with the feedback distance [Sections 0138, 0141, 0143: Rx UEs (second UEs) scheduled to transmit the NACK is adjusted (i.e. modify). UEs (i.e. all UEs first or second) can transmit HARQ NACK corresponding to RSRP and a certain distance; such that transmission parameters can be adjusted in a retransmission process. When the Rx UE located outside a distance transmits a feedback signal and retransmission execution of the Tx UE can provide an adaptive system capable of adjusting based on the degree of channel congestion].
As to Claim 10. Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the second UE to [Fig. 14, Section 0168] request, from the first UE, a retransmission of a communication from the first UE selectively and based at least in part on the feedback distance [Sections 0141, 0143: Method of UEs having a certain approximate distance has generated the NACK as compared to HARQ feedback. Alternatively, the Rx UE located outside a minimum communication request distance associated with a packet transmits a feedback signal, and provide an adaptive system capable of adjusting the RSRP threshold according to degree of channel congestion].
As to Claim 11. Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the feedback distance is based at least in part on at least one of: a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a feedback distance scale that increases and decreases with the MCS, a constant bit rate, or a priority [Sections 0111, 0141, 0147: The UE use methods for control of the size of a transmission/retransmission of MCS adjustment. Method of UEs having a certain approximate distance has generated the NACK as compared to HARQ feedback, such that Tx parameters can be easily adjusted (i.e. updated) in a retransmission process and TX parameters e.g. MCS can be easily adjusted in a retransmission process. For example, HARQ feedback may be established according to packet priority].
As to Claim 12. Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the second UE [Fig. 14, Section 0168] to modify the retransmission feedback process, are configured to cause the second UE to: modify a total number of requested retransmissions based at least in part on at least one of: a congestion level that is indicated by the sidelink congestion metric, or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) decoding condition [Section 0141, 0143, 0149: UEs (i.e. all UEs first or second) can transmit HARQ NACK corresponding to RSRP and a certain distance; such that transmission parameters can be adjusted (modify) in a retransmission process. Alternatively, the Rx UE located outside a minimum communication request distance associated with a packet transmits a feedback signal, and provide an adaptive system capable of adjusting the RSRP threshold according to degree of channel congestion. Congestion level or Channel Busy Ratio (CBR) measurement affect the number of NACK in the case of HARQ feedback].
As to Claim 13. Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the second UE to [Fig. 14, Section 0168] receive a communication from the first UE; calculate a signal strength metric of the communication; and request, from the first UE, a retransmission of the communication selectively and based at least in part on the signal strength metric [Fig. 12, Sections 0011, 0128, 0133: The RSRP (i.e. signal strength) threshold may be determined depending on the first user equipment (UE) received a negative acknowledgment (NACK) message. The transmission (Tx) terminal retransmits a message to the Rx UE according to the presence of a NACK UE. The Tx UE having transmitted detects/measures an average reception (Rx) power (i.e. signal strength) of the feedback signal transferred from the Rx UEs; if the measured average Rx power is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold, the Tx UE determine the NACK and can perform retransmission].
As to Claim 14. Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the second UE to [Fig. 14, Section 0168] receive a configuration update for the retransmission feedback process; and reconfigure the retransmission feedback process based at least in part on the configuration update [Sections 0111, 0135, 0141, 0164: The UE use methods such as determination of retransmission. The Tx UE determine HARQ feedback through physical layer signaling or higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). Transmission (Tx) can be easily adjusted (updated) in a retransmission process. The BS transmit for sidelink communication configuration information configuring processes (i.e. retransmission) performed in the present disclosure].
As to Claim 15. Lee discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), comprising [Fig. 14, Sections 0001, 0016: The present disclosure relates to a wireless communication system for receiving a feedback signal in a wireless communication system. A first user equipment (UE) configured to receive a feedback signal from a second UE]:
communicating with a second UE [i.e. UE2, RX UE, second device] using a sidelink [Section 0083: UE1 performs D2D/V2X communication with UE 2 and transmit data over a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)] and a retransmission feedback [i.e. HARQ NACK] process [Figs. 5, 10, 12, Sections 0053, 0111, 0127-0128: In the disclosure, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) method is used upon receiving the NACK signal, the transmitter (i.e. TX device) retransmit the data. The UE use methods such as determination of retransmission. It is assumed the reception (Rx) UE receive a coded packet of a specific message from a specific transmitter (Tx UE) and transmit information (e.g. ACK/NACK) to the transmit (Tx) UE. In HARQ feedback, whether the transmission (Tx) terminal retransmits a message (to the Rx UE) may be determined according to a NACK];
deriving, based at least in part on the communicating, that a sidelink congestion metric satisfies a saturation threshold [Sections 0008, 0009, 0107: The RSRP threshold determined based on channel congestion between the first UE and the second UE. The channel congestion may be a congestion level (i.e. saturation) or a channel busy ratio-CBR (i.e. saturation). The RSRP threshold determined in proportion to the channel congestion. A sidelink radio communication become congested and various methods for example, distributed congestion control may be applied];
and modifying [i.e. Adjust/Adaptive] the retransmission feedback process [i.e. HARQ NACK] based at least in part on the sidelink congestion metric satisfying the saturation threshold [Sections 0138, 0141, 0152: The RSRP threshold is determined in consideration of the channel congestion and the NACK is adjusted according to the channel congestion level in proportion to the degree of channel congestion. Tx parameters can be easily adjusted in a retransmission process; the Tx UE measure the RSRP for each feedback and determine whether to perform retransmission based on the measured RSRP. Method for adjusting the RSRP threshold applied to a method for determining the NACK detection threshold for each RSRP measurement/threshold, it can be assumed that the RSRP value is measured based on a PSCCH (physical sidelink channel)].
As to Claim 16. The method of claim 15, wherein modifying the retransmission feedback process comprises: updating a feedback distance; and transmitting an indication of the updated feedback distance to the second UE [See Claim 2 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 17. The method of claim 16, wherein updating the feedback distance comprises: updating the feedback distance based at least in part on a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) used for the communicating with the second UE [See Claim 3 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 18. The method of claim 15, further comprising: receiving a negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback transmission that is associated with a communication; calculating a signal strength metric of the NACK feedback transmission; and retransmitting, to the second UE, the communication selectively and based at least in part on the signal strength metric [See Claim 6 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 19. Lee discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising: selecting a power threshold based at least in part on a power threshold table that maps at least one of: a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a constant bit rate, or a priority, to a respective potential power threshold; and comparing the signal strength metric to the power threshold [Sections 0007, 0109, 0150, 0183: Whether the feedback signal is transmitted is determined based on a result of comparison between a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement and an RSRP threshold. Specifically, each UE may measure a channel busy ratio (CBR) occupied by each traffic priority based on CBR measurement values and a predetermined table. Metric data capable of measuring RSSI, SNR, the HARQ feedback Tx power for each RSRP measurement/threshold. Whether to transmit the feedback signal may be determined based on the result of comparison between the RSRP (reference signal received power) measurement and the RSRP threshold]
wherein retransmitting the communication selectively comprises: retransmitting the communication selectively based at least in part on the comparing [Sections 0111, 0141, 0183: The UE methods and determination of retransmission or MCS adjustment. A method of a plurality of HARQ NACKs according to the RSRP threshold and Tx UE measure the RSRP for each feedback resource, and determine whether to perform retransmission based on the measured RSRP. Whether to transmit the feedback signal may be determined based on the result of comparison between the RSRP (reference signal received power) measurement and the RSRP threshold].
As to Claim 20. Lee discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the communication comprises a groupcast communication to a group of UEs [Section 0127: The present disclosure assumes multicast/broadcast groupcast scenarios in which UE transmits the same packet to the plurality of reception (Rx) UEs],
and wherein retransmitting the communication selectively and based at least in part on the signal strength metric comprises: retransmitting the communication based at least in part on receiving the NACK from at least one UE in the group of UEs [Section 0128, 0133: In multicast/broadcast/groupcast HARQ feedback, ACK or NACK may be changed for each UE according to a channel situation of each UE; transmission (Tx) terminal retransmits a message (to the Rx UE) may be determined either according to the presence or absence of a NACK from among all UEs and the transmission (Tx) UEs having transmitted the packet may measure reception (Rx) power. The Tx UE having transmitted detects/measures an average reception (Rx) power (i.e. signal strength) of the feedback signal transferred from the Rx UEs and determine to perform retransmission].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20210168648 hereafter Lee in view of HWANG et al. US 20220109527 hereafter Hwang.
As to Claim 5. Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors, to cause [Fig. 14, Section 0168] the first UE to update the feedback distance, are configured to cause the first UE to [Sections 0141, 0143: Method of UEs having a certain approximate distance has generated the NACK as compared to HARQ feedback, such that Tx parameters can be easily adjusted (i.e. updated) in a retransmission process. When the Rx UE located outside a distance transmits a feedback signal and retransmission execution of the Tx UE can provide an adaptive system capable of adjusting based on the degree of channel congestion]:
Although Lee discloses a table that includes measurement values relating to channel busy ratio (CBR) and channel occupancy ratio and priority [see 0109]; it doesn’t explicitly teach select the feedback distance based at least in part on a feedback distance table that includes multiple potential feedback distances, the feedback distance table mapping each potential feedback distance of the multiple potential feedback distances to one or more of: an MCS, a constant bit rate, or a priority.
However, Hwang teaches select the feedback distance [Section 0199: Location information about a transmitting UE or distance area information about a target receiving UE requested to transmit an SL HARQ feedback] based at least in part on a feedback distance table that includes multiple potential feedback distances, the feedback distance table mapping each potential feedback distance of the multiple potential feedback distances to one or more of: an MCS, a constant bit rate, or a priority [Sections 0208, 0274, 0276, 0357: Table 5 illustrates priorities of services related to SL (sidelink) transmission. SL HARQ feedback is enabled for groupcast, receiving UE determine whether to transmit an HARQ feedback to the transmitting UE based on a transmission-reception (TX-RX) distance and an RSRP. Locations (i.e. plurality distances) of the receiving UE and the transmitting UE related the communication range. The UE perform SL congestion control by using a scheme such as transmission power adjustment, determination as to whether to retransmit, and MCS adjustment].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Lee relating to table relating to measurement values corresponding to channel busy ratio of sidelink communication, and distance/location information relating to retransmission process with the teaching of Hwang relating to multiple location/distances relating to SL HARQ feedback/retransmission, table including priorities and distance information and determining MCS adjustment. By combining the method/systems, a table or database can include multiple values relating to HARQ or feedback distances/locations and mapping/corresponding to MCS or priority without undue experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: 1. HWANG et al. US 20220103292
2. Blasco et al. US 20240064564
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
February 6, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477