Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/29/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of inventio (I) drawn to claims 1-9, and with drawn claims 10-13 drawn to non-elected invention in the reply filed on 03/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/05/2026 regarding inventions I and II have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because the method in invention II can be performed with a different blood pressure device and does not necessarily require all the structural elements in invention I. Please, see detailed reasons in Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed on 01/06/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the two phrases “blood-pressure measurement” in line 12 should be amended –the blood-pressure measurement--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “merely” in line 2 and “may” in line 9 should be cancelled as they have no patentable weight. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “a mobile terminal” in line 5 should be amended to read –the mobile terminal--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “may” in line 4 should be cancelled as it has no patentable weight. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
STEP 1: claim 1 recite an apparatus to measure blood pressure. Thus, the claim is directed to a product. which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
STEP 2A PRONG ONE: The claim(s) recite(s) specific limitations/method steps of: Bluetooth communication module regularly sends dynamic air pressure values currently in the sleeve collected by the pressure sensor to the mobile terminal: and in a second measurement stage, the Bluetooth communication module associates a blood pressure value, calculated by the Bluetooth control module, with a heart rate value to form a Bluetooth data set and sends the Bluetooth data set to the mobile terminal. This limitation recites a mental process, because the claimed limitation describes a concept performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). Thus, the claim is drawn to a Mental Process, which is an Abstract Idea.
STEP 2A PRONG TWO: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim(s) recite the combination of additional elements/method steps of: sphygmomanometer with an integrated air pump, comprising a sphygmomanometer main body and a sleeve, a master controller and a pressure sensor indirectly connected to the sleeve, characterized in that the master controller comprises a Bluetooth chip. Accordingly, this additional element/step does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim limitations fail to recite an additional element or a combination of additional elements to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception.
STEP 2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional structural elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recite additional elements, such as, sphygmomanometer with an integrated air pump, comprising a sphygmomanometer main body and a sleeve, a master controller and a pressure sensor indirectly connected to the sleeve, characterized in that the master controller comprises a Bluetooth chip, but do(es) not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these structural elements are generically claimed to enable the collection of data by performing the basic functions of: (i) receiving, processing, and providing/displaying data, and (ii) automating mental tasks. The courts have recognized these functions to be well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner. Merely adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activities’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (In re TLI Communications LLC). As such, the recitation of these additional limitations in claims 2-9 does not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment and represent insignificant extra-solution activity. Furthermore, it is well established that the mere physical or tangible nature of additional elements such as a sensor and use of a processor does not automatically confer eligibility on a claim directed to an abstract idea (see, e.g., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S.Ct. 2347, 2358-59 (2014)). Thus, the claimed invention does not amount to significantly more than the Abstract Idea.
When viewed alone or in combination, the limitations of claims 1-9 merely instruct the practitioner to implement the concept of collecting data with routine, conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. The inventive concept cannot be furnished by the abstract idea; instead, the application must provide something inventive, beyond mere “well-understood, routine, conventional activity” (Genetic Technologies Limited v. Merial L.L.C.). The additional elements of independent claims when viewed alone or as whole, do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. In other words, this claim merely applies an abstract idea to a computer and does not (i) improve the performance of the computer itself (as in McRO, Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) provide a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Limitations “Bluetooth communication module” and “Bluetooth control module” in claim 1, the claim does not recite enough structure that corresponds to the claimed “module” above to perform the claimed function of sending, executing and data processing. However, the specification discloses a Bluetooth chip as the structure that corresponds to the claimed “Bluetooth communication module” and “Bluetooth control module”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recite “the Bluetooth communication module associates a blood pressure value, calculated by the Bluetooth control module” this limitation is not defined by the claim, which renders the claim indefinite. One with ordinary skill in the art would not be able to know how blood pressure is being calculated by a Bluetooth module. The scope of the claim remains indeterminate because of the claimed “the Bluetooth communication module associates a blood pressure value, calculated by the Bluetooth control module”.
14. Claim 5 recites the limitation "the sequence" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the switch" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the operational units" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the form" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the measurement subject" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the wrist" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the measurement subject" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Karru et al (US 2017/0049343) in view of Marcus et al (US 2020/0360027).
As to claim 1, Karru teaches an electronic sphygmomanometer (wireless NIBP monitor 2, par.15, fig.1-3) with an integrated air pump (pump 43, par.19, fig.2-3), the electronic sphygmomanometer comprising a sphygmomanometer main body (unit 4, par.15-19, fig.1-3) and a sleeve (scuff 3, par.15-19, fig.1-3) that are detachably coupled to each other (unit 4 and cuff 3 are detachable at least through pump line 42, as best seen in fig.2-3), and comprising the integrated air pump serving to inflate the sleeve for pressurization (blood pressure determination unit 4 has a pump 43 configured to inflate the blood pressure cuff 3. The pump 43 pumps air into the cuff 3 via one or more pump lines 42, par.19), wherein the sphygmomanometer main body is provided with a master controller (processor 41, par.19, fig.2) and a pressure sensor (pressure sensor 28 coupled to main unit 4 and indirectly to cuff 3, par.20, fig.2) indirectly connected to the sleeve,
characterized in that the master controller comprises a Bluetooth chip (Bluetooth chip in wireless transceiver 48 connected to controller 41, par.15 and par.17, fig.2), wherein the Bluetooth chip integrates:
a Bluetooth communication module (Bluetooth module in 48, par.15 and par.17), for having two-way data connection with a remote terminal (monitor 30, par.15, fig.1-3, communication of information between the wireless monitoring devices 2 and 10 goes through the central monitor 30, par.17), and sending instructions that come from the mobile terminal and are related to blood-pressure measurement to a Bluetooth control module (par.17): and
the Bluetooth control module, for executing control tasks and data processing tasks related to blood-pressure measurement in response to the received instructions related to blood-pressure measurement (wireless transceiver 38 of the monitor 30 may communicate with wireless transceivers of the respective monitoring devices 2 and 10 by any wireless means, such as via a network operating on the medical body area network (MBAN), body area network (BAN), wireless medical telemetry service (WMTS) the spectrum or on a Wi-Fi-compliant local area network (WLAN), or by Bluetooth or another wireless communication, par.15 and par.17):
wherein, in a first measurement stage, the Bluetooth communication module regularly sends air pressure values currently in the sleeve collected by the pressure sensor to the mobile terminal (par.20): and
in a second measurement stage, the Bluetooth communication module associates a blood pressure value (processor 41 of the blood pressure determination unit 4 determines and executes the fastest method of obtaining a non-invasive blood pressure measurement from a patient 1 by using the inflation cycle to measure the patient's blood pressure and/or obtain information that can expedite the measurement process on the deflation cycle, par.15, apr.19 and par.23), calculated by the Bluetooth control module, with a heart rate value to form a Bluetooth data set and sends the Bluetooth data set to the mobile terminal (the system correlates the accuracy of measured blood pressure based on measured heart rate, par.30).
Karru teaches the invention substantially as claimed above, but failed to explicitly teach the terminal is a mobile terminal, and in a first measurement stage, the Bluetooth communication module regularly sends dynamic air pressure values currently in the sleeve collected by the pressure sensor to the mobile terminal.
However, Marcus teaches an analogous blood pressure system in the same field of endeavor to occlude blood pressure (abstarct, fig.1-5), wherein the terminal is mobile terminal (50, par.96-103, fig.5), and wherein the Bluetooth communication module regularly sends dynamic air pressure values currently in the sleeve collected by the pressure sensor to the mobile terminal (using phone app 52 to monitor cuff pressure, as best seen in fig.5, the cuff deflates, and Smartphone app 52 records cuff pressures and duration in a user profile, par.107, ser then increases cuff pressure, via the app, to an arterial occluding pressure indicated by the attenuation of the Doppler signal. The controller automatically maintains the arterial occluding cuff pressure measured by the pressure sensor by inflating or deflating the cuff, par.109)(Examiner respectfully notes that monitoring and adjusting cuff pressure through the phone app occurs using Bluetooth connection).
Since dynamic/real time cuff pressure monitoring is well-known in the art, so it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to monitor cuff pressure in real time in Karru’s invention, as taught by Marcus’s invention, in order to continuously maintain the cuff pressure at a predetermined value, to obtain more accurate blood pressure measurement.
As to claim 2, Karru teaches the electronic sphygmomanometer, further comprising a driving unit (inherently the drive unit in controller 41 that drives and/or operates pump 43, par.19, fig.2), which at least comprises an inflation driver and the integrated air pump (as best seen in fig.2), wherein the inflation driver drives and/or switches and/or stops working modes of the integrated air pump based on a measurement command issued by the Bluetooth control module (par.15 and par.17-19), and the integrated air pump is configured to work alternatively with different working modes based on variation of current polarity of a driving circuit connected thereto (working with different modes, display 49 may also provide a mode indicator 21 which may indicate the mode, or method, used to calculate the patient's blood pressure 15. For example, the mode indicator 21 may indicate whether the blood pressure value for the patient was measured during continuous inflation of the cuff 3, stepwise inflation of the cuff 3, or stepwise deflation of the cuff 3, par.18-19, the device may only try to detect the right target inflation pressure 54 and estimate where to stop pumping, par.30).
As to claim 3, Karru teaches the electronic sphygmomanometer, wherein the integrated air pump has a reversible airflow channel (pump line 42, par.19, fig.3), and the working modes of the integrated air pump include a first working mode in which the sleeve is inflated for pressurization by a motor driven to perform forward rotation (blood pressure determination unit 4 has a pump 43 configured to inflate the blood pressure cuff 3. The pump 43 pumps air into the cuff 3 via one or more pump lines 42. The pump 43 is powered by battery 45, par.19, inherently the motor of the pump) and a second working mode in which the sleeve is deflated for depressurization by the motor driven to perform reverse rotation (delating the cuff after measuring blood pressure, end of par.18, par.23 and par.26-28).
As to claim 6, Karru teaches the electronic sphygmomanometer, further comprising a charging unit (charging unit that charges battery 45, battery 45 may be any battery capable of providing sufficient power, and is preferably a rechargeable battery, par.19), which at least comprises a data interface that is configured to have mechanical and/or signal connection with other health measuring equipment so as to provide enriched health monitoring functions (battery 45 is connected to user interface 49 that can communicate with ECG device 10 and mobile unit 30, par.15-20, fig.1-2).
As to claim 7, Karru teaches the electronic sphygmomanometer, wherein the switch deposited on the surface of the sphygmomanometer main body merely serves to turn on/off the sphygmomanometer and switch between Bluetooth working modes, except for the switch, all the operational units of the sphygmomanometer related to blood-pressure measurement are provided on a mobile terminal that is in wireless communication with the sphygmomanometer, all operational instructions for the sphygmomanometer are given through the mobile terminal bound with the sphygmomanometer through wireless communication, the operational instructions may include a start-to-measure instruction, a stop-measuring instruction, and/or a dynamic-blood-pressure-measurement command (user interface 36. The user interface 36 may provide a means through which a clinician may receive or view information from the patient monitors 2 and 10 and/or to provide input to the patient monitors 2 and 10, par.16, and/or user interface 49 may enable user input, such as to select a mode or to initiate a blood pressure measurement, par.19, fig.1-3).
As to claim 8, Karru teaches the electronic sphygmomanometer, wherein the sleeve wraps an inflatable/deflatable bladder that is in gas connection with the integrated air pump (pump 43 pumps air into the cuff 3 via one or more pump lines 42, par.19, fig.3), the sleeve may be in the form of an arm band or a wrist band (fits around the arm, as best seen in fig.1, par.15-19), the bladder performs pressure control operations related to blood-pressure measurement on the wrist and/or arm of the measurement subject based on movements of the integrated air pump related to gas control (battery 45 is connected to the pump 43 through power gauge and protection module 44, which regulates the power distribution within the blood pressure determination unit 4. For example, the power from the battery 45 may be distributed via the power gauge and protection module 44 to the processor 41, analog to digital convertor 46, wireless transmitter 38, par.19, and pressure measurements sensed by the pressure sensor 28 are transmitted to the analog-to-digital converter (A/D converter) 46, which digitizes the signals and transmits them to the processor 41. The A/D converter 46 may be any device or logic set capable of digitizing analog physiological signals. For example, the A/D converter 46 may be an analog front end (AFE), par.20).
As to claim 9, Karru teaches the electronic sphygmomanometer, wherein the sleeve has a first section that is mechanically coupled to the sphygmomanometer main body (the upper portion of monitor 2 where unit 4 is attached to, par.15, as best seen in fig.1-3) and a second section that is properly elastic to fit the wrist and/or arm of the measurement subject, the second section is formed integratedly with the first section but is mechanically isolated from the sphygmomanometer main body (bottom elastic section that fits around upper arm of the subject, par.15-16, as best seen in fig.1-2, wherein cuff 3 is all one/i=single integrated cuff).
Conclusion
/MAY A ABOUELELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791