fThe present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the application filed on 12/29/2025.
Claims 1-22 are pending in this application. This action is made non-final.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been placed in file.
Foreign Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 13-15, 17 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rhyoo et al. (US 2020/0360809; Hereinafter Rhyoo).
Re claims 1 and 21-22, Rhyoo teaches an information processing system for processing information between a user terminal and a server device (fig. 1A, gamer server and terminal), the system comprising:
at least one processor programmed to:
cause a display screen to be displayed that includes a first screen that displays a first character object of a user of the user terminal (fig. 2 and [0046]-[0049], a game character 210 is displayed on the first display of the terminal 120), and a second screen that selectably displays one or more game media that can be attached to the first character object (fig. 6 and [0050]-[0054], rotate the viewpoint or the viewing angle of the game character 510 based on a drag direction on the second display);
receive, from the user terminal, a selection instruction selecting at least one game medium from among the one or more game media (fig. 6 and [0051], rotate the viewpoint or the viewing angle of the game character 510 based on a drag direction on the second display); and
consume a predetermined number of specific game media held by the user based on the received selection instruction (figs. 4-6 and [0046]-[0051], user interacts with a game), and store the selected at least one game medium in association with the user and the first character object ([0081], the controller 1420 may automatically store a state of the game played in the first display 1410).
Re claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Rhyoo teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to
determine whether a held number of the specific game media held by the user is sufficient (figs. 4-6, user interacts with a game), and
store the selected at least one game medium in association with the user and the first character object when the held number is determined to be sufficient ([0081], the controller 1420 may automatically store a state of the game played in the first display 1410).
Re claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Rhyoo teaches wherein the user is a distributing user of a video distributed in a manner viewable by a viewing user of the video, the video including the first and second screens (figs. 4-6 and [0046]-[0500], user selects a game to be displayed on the first and second display).
Re claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Rhyoo teaches wherein the at least one processor determines the one or more game media to be displayed on the second screen according to an attribute of the first character object that is displayed on the first screen (figs. 8-9 and numerals 810-820).
Re claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Rhyoo teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to change the first character object displayed on the first screen to a second character object of the user according to an operation of the user (figs. 8-10 and [0053], when the game user drags to a position 920 in the clockwise direction and stops dragging or when a touch disappears at the position 920, the terminal 120 may replace the equipment 820 with equipment 2 based on setting information 1000 of FIG. 10 that is provided in advance).
Re claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Rhyoo teaches wherein at least one processor is further programmed to receive selection of at least one attribute from among a plurality of attributes provided for the selected at least one game medium (fig. 9 and [0053]-[0055], game user interact with displayed selection).
Re claim 14, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Rhyoo teaches wherein in response to receiving the selection instruction, the at least one processor causes the selected at least one game medium to be displayed as attached to the first character object displayed on the first screen (fig.13 and [0059]-[0064], in response to a user input to the second display while game play is in progress through the first display, the terminal 120 displays a result corresponding to the user input on the first display).
Re claim 15, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Rhyoo teaches wherein in response to the selected at least one game medium including multiple game media, the at least one processor switches display of attachment of the multiple game media according to a movement of the user or an operation of the user (fig.13 and [0059]-[0064], in response to a user input to the second display while game play is in progress through the first display, the terminal 120 displays a result corresponding to the user input on the first display).
Re claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Rhyoo teaches wherein the at least one processor is further programmed to cause to be displayed a still image or a video related to the first character object separately from the first character object displayed on the first screen (figs. 4-8, displaying image and option for game user to perform. Also see fig. 13 and [0059]-[0064], in response to a user input to the second display while game play is in progress through the first display, the terminal 120 displays a result corresponding to the user input on the first display).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhyoo in view of Kamiya (US 2016/0030846).
Re claim 18, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Rhyoo teaches wherein the at least one processor stores the selected at least one game medium in association with the user and the first character object with a restriction ([0013], storage medium may store instructions to cause the processor to perform) but Rhyoo does not explicitly teach based on the selection instruction and a restriction instruction. However, it is taught by Kamiya ([0016], generation of a game screen is based on or restricted to such conditions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching as seen in Kamiya’s content into Rhyoo’s invention because it would provide user an enhanced ability to generate and display the correct environment for a specific game.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-12, 16, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims set forth in this action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111 ( c ) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
/TOAN H VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178