DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 1/5/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a Text Processing and Segmentation Module configured to receive and segment textual content” in claim 1, “a GPT Integration Module configured to process the segmented textual content” in claim 1, “a Visual Generator Module configured to create visualizations” in claim 1, “a Narration Generation Module configured to generate narration for the processed content” in claim 1, “an Animation Module configured to animate the generated visualizations; a Video Editing Software Module configured to integrate the generated narration, animations, visualizations, and/or other user-uploaded content” in claim 1, “a Management Module configured to manage performance of one or more asynchronous tasks” in claim 2, “a Feedback and Iteration Module configured to allow users to provide feedback and revise the generated video” in claim 3, and “a Content Validation Module configured to verify a legal right to usage of the uploaded textual content” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 1029a)(2) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0309936).
Consider claim 1. Jang et al. discloses a video generation system for converting textual content into educational videos, the system comprising: a User Interface module (para. 0033 describes a video education I/O device), comprising one or more predefined templates and/or customization settings (paras. 0094-0096 describe a video education content providing apparatus automatically changing and displaying a participant's face or body with a different type of character in real time according to an age group of the participant, a keyword of the dialogue, etc.); a Text Processing and Segmentation Module configured to receive and segment textual content into distinct sections, to identify one or more key educational components and to generate narrative elements based on analysis of the key educational components to enhance viewer engagement (para. 0036 describes dividing dialogue chapter text to provide the generated video education content to the video education I/O device); a GPT Integration Module configured to process the segmented textual content, wherein the processing comprises determining whether to summarize, modify, and/or retain verbatim the segmented textual content (para. 0039 describes summarizing by the video education content providing apparatus by applying the artificial intelligence natural language processing function); a Visual Generator Module configured to create visualizations based on the processed textual content (para. 0037 describes generating virtual avatar characters); a Narration Generation Module configured to generate narration for the processed content 9para. 0037 describes generating virtual avatar characters using the divided dialogue chapter with voice speech); an Animation Module configured to animate the generated visualizations (para. 0037 describes generating virtual avatar characters); a Video Editing Software Module configured to integrate the generated narration, animations, visualizations, and/or other user-uploaded content, into a video (paras. 0032-0038 describes integrating the voice speech, text, avatars, and/or other user-uploaded content into a video); and an Export and Integration Module configured to enable publication of the integrated video (para. 0034 describes video education I/O device is formed as a personal device of a participant such as a PC or a smartphone).
Consider claim 2. Jang et al. discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a Management Module configured to manage performance of one or more asynchronous tasks constrained by one or more allocated resources and performance of one or more synchronous tasks in real-time (paras. 0061-0063 describe changing the character in real time by reflecting the facial expression or the body motion of the participant to the selected character).
Consider claim 4. Jang et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the Text Processing and Segmentation Module is configured to accept digital documents, wherein the digital documents comprise one or more of Portable Document Format files (PDFs), text documents, image files, video clips, audio files, and/or any other digital file types (para. 0048 describes inputting one-way lectures, books, and news into the deo education content providing apparatus).
Consider claim 5. Jang et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the GPT Integration Module employs algorithms to retain the essence of the original textual content in the summarized version, and a user- selectable option to indicate whether to perform summarization of the input textual content, the summarization based on the Al model's linguistic comprehension abilities (para. 0039 describes summarizing by the video education content providing apparatus by applying the artificial intelligence
natural language processing function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0309936) in view of Official Notice.
Consider claim 8. Jang et al. discloses all claimed limitations as stated above except a Content Validation Module configured to verify a legal right to usage of the uploaded textual content, based on one or more pre-defined legal parameters and user adherence to terms and conditions.
However, the examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art to verify a legal right to usage of content based on pre-defined legal parameters and user adherence to terms and conditions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, to provide a Content Validation Module configured to verify a legal right to usage of the uploaded textual content, based on one or more pre-defined legal parameters and user adherence to terms and conditions, in order to verify a legal right to usage of the provided content.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MISHAWN N. HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484