DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is an initial office action in response to communication(s) filed on December 29, 2023.
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 29, 2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0137380 A1, hereinafter as “Kelly”), and further in view of Doken (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0214371 A1, hereinafter as “Doken”).
With regard to claim 1, the claim is drawn to a device management service system (see Kelly, i.e. in fig. 1.1, para. 20-21 and etc., disclose the system 101) that manages a network device installed in a real world, and cooperates with a providing system that provides a virtual office corresponding to a service that makes use of a function of the network device by an operation performed by an avatar in the virtual office (see Kelly, i.e. in para. 20 and etc., discloses that “the system (101) includes a front-end environment (100), a network (120), one or more management environments (60), and a virtual desktop management placement service (50). The system (101) may include additional, fewer, and/or different components without departing from scope of the invention. Each component may be operably connected to any of the other component via any combination of wired and/or wireless connections. Each component illustrated in FIG. 1.1 is discussed below…”), the device management service system comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions (see Kelly, i.e. in para. 20-21 and etc., discloses that “…By doing so, the users may utilize different computing devices (e.g., 500, FIG. 5) that have different quantities of computing resources (e.g., processing cycles, memory, storage, etc.) while still being afforded a consistent end-user experience. For example, by performing computations remotely, the system (101) may maintain the user experience provided by the different computing devices even when the different computing devices possess different quantities of computing resources.”), and
one or more processors capable of executing the instructions causing the device management service system (see Kelly, i.e. in fig. 1.1, fig. 5, [processor(s) 502], in para. 20-21 and etc., discloses that “…By doing so, the users may utilize different computing devices (e.g., 500, FIG. 5) that have different quantities of computing resources (e.g., processing cycles, memory, storage, etc.) while still being afforded a consistent end-user experience. For example, by performing computations remotely, the system (101) may maintain the user experience provided by the different computing devices even when the different computing devices possess different quantities of computing resources.”) to:
based on occurrence of a notification event in the network device, notify a content of the notification event to an administrator of the network device via a device management avatar in the virtual office (see Kelly, i.e. in fig. 2.1, in para. 94, disclose that “[0084] In step 212, after the management environment is selected, a deployment of the virtual desktop service manager is initiated. In one or more embodiments of the invention, the deployment is initiated by notifying the administrator of the front-end environment of the selection and r35equesting approval of the selection. If the administrator provides approval, the virtual desktop service manager is installed in the selected management environment. In such embodiments in which the administrator does not approve of the selection, the administrator may specify a second selection (e.g., of a subset of management environments that provide the security preferences discussed above), and deployment may be initiated on the second selection…”; also see fig. 2.2, step 220-222 and etc.,); and
receive, via the device management avatar in the virtual office, an instruction for the notification event from the administrator (see Kelly, i.e. in fig. 2.2, step 224, in para. 90 and etc., disclose that “[0090] In step 224, responses associated with the EUE form are obtained. In one or more embodiments of the invention, the responses provide the EUE requirements for the VDI environment as specified by the administrator…”).
The teaching of Kelly do not explicitly disclose the aspect relating to “an avatar” in the virtual office”.
However, Doken discloses an analogous invention relates to digital platforms, including virtual computer-generated environments, that users navigate using avatars and, more particularly, to indicating that a user of an avatar is authenticated as being affiliated with an entity (see Doken, i.e. para. 1 and etc.). More specifically, in Doken, i.e. in para. 68 and etc., disclose that “[0068] A user connecting via the user device 340 to the digital platform 300 may create an avatar on the digital platform 300, import an avatar to the digital platform 300, or may select from a menu of avatars available on the digital platform 300. Through an avatar, the user is represented on the digital platform 300. The digital platform may be a virtual world, such as Second Life™ or Meta™, or may be a virtual world that is oriented for a specific task or a type of activity, such as a virtual world used primarily for professional or commercial purposes, such as online virtual offices. The virtual world may include various types of scenes, virtual rooms or other spaces that an avatar can enter, and various types of virtual objects, virtual tools, and avatars of other users or of system administrators, and the like, with which an avatar can interact. The digital platform 300 may be a virtual convention or professional association meeting, a virtual office or other workplace, or a business meeting or the like, in which representatives or attendees are displayed as avatars. According to an aspect of the disclosure, the digital platform 300 may be an online social media network, in which members or participants are displayed as avatars. According to an embodiment, digital platform 300 may be an augmented reality platform or a virtual reality platform in which multiple users participate and in which real world objects and people, with life-like appearances or with computer-enhanced appearances, are intermixed with avatars and virtual objects.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Doken, with respect to the aspect(s) relating to avatar(s) in the virtual office, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to virtual reality arts . Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly by the teachings of Doken, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Doken, as “ [0004] Avatars allow people to represent themselves online in whatever way they want. Avatars may be considered alter-egos, since users may have the ability to customize characters that are completely different than their actual personality and appearance. Avatars are commonly used in multiplayer gaming, multiparty online communities, and web forums. Online multiplayer role-playing games (MMOGs) such as World of Warcraft and Fortnite allow users to create custom characters. These characters serve as the players' avatars. Online discussion boards typically require users to register and provide information about themselves. Many give users the option to select an image file that represents the user's persona. Avatars are also commonly used for virtual meeting applications that are using virtual spaces in a 2D world (meaning on a web browser or separate phone/PC based platform). Avatars on a video conferencing platform (like Zoom) may be mostly for fun or may include serious avatars that represent the user and the group to which it belongs…” (see Doken, i.e. in para. 4-5 and etc.).
With regard to claim 2, the claim is drawn to the device management service system according to claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the device management service system to cause, so as to notify the content of the notification event, the device management avatar to approach in the virtual office an administrator avatar of the administrator logged in the virtual office (see Kelly, i.e. in para. 84, 94 and etc., disclose that “[0094] In step 232, a deployment of a virtual desktop service manager to a selected management environment is initiated. Similar to step 212 of FIG. 2.1, the deployment may be initiated by notifying the administrator of the front-end environment of the selection and requesting approval of the selection. If the administrator provides approval, the virtual desktop service manager is installed in the selected management environment. In such embodiments in which the administrator does not approve of the selection, the administrator may specify a second selection (e.g., of a subset of management environments that provide the EUE requirements discussed above), and deployment may be initiated on the second selection…”; also, in Doken, i.e para. 68, disclose that “[0068] A user connecting via the user device 340 to the digital platform 300 may create an avatar on the digital platform 300, import an avatar to the digital platform 300, or may select from a menu of avatars available on the digital platform 300. Through an avatar, the user is represented on the digital platform 300. The digital platform may be a virtual world, such as Second Life™ or Meta™, or may be a virtual world that is oriented for a specific task or a type of activity, such as a virtual world used primarily for professional or commercial purposes, such as online virtual offices. The virtual world may include various types of scenes, virtual rooms or other spaces that an avatar can enter, and various types of virtual objects, virtual tools, and avatars of other users or of system administrators, and the like, with which an avatar can interact. The digital platform 300 may be a virtual convention or professional association meeting, a virtual office or other workplace, or a business meeting or the like, in which representatives or attendees are displayed as avatars. According to an aspect of the disclosure, the digital platform 300 may be an online social media network, in which members or participants are displayed as avatars. According to an embodiment, digital platform 300 may be an augmented reality platform or a virtual reality platform in which multiple users participate and in which real world objects and people, with life-like appearances or with computer-enhanced appearances, are intermixed with avatars and virtual objects…”).
With regard to claim 3, the claim is drawn to the device management service system according to claim 2, wherein the instructions further cause the device management service system to perform a conversation between the device management avatar and the administrator avatar in the virtual office as notifying the content of the notification event (see Doken, i.e. in para. 202, discloses that “[0202] In some embodiments, a portion of the digital platform 300 to which access is controlled may feature privileged communications, or may provide interactions with a group of avatars that have access to confidential communication rights, such as access to group chats on the digital platform 300”; also see, i.e. para. 58 and etc.).
With regard to claim 4, the claim is drawn to the device management service system according to claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the device management service system to identify the administrator of the network device for which the notification event has occurred (see Doken, i.e. in para. 12 and etc., disclose that “[0012] If desired, the authenticating of the affiliation for the avatar may be performed based on an identifier indicated in the response received from the authenticating server and saved at the authenticating server. For example, a unique (alpha)numerical ID may be created or retrieved by the authenticating server to associate the user with the logo and, according to an embodiment, additionally with the avatar, such that the identifier uniquely correlates the user and the logo with the avatar. For example, the ID “AFF28429” may uniquely correlate (i) a unique ID tied to a user or avatar (e.g., “UID2393”) and (ii) a unique ID tied to an entity, such as a school (e.g., “EID0934”).”).
With regard to claim 5, the claim is drawn to the device management service system according to claim 1, wherein the function of the network device is an image processing function including at least one of printing and scanning, and wherein the notification event is a notification event related to an abnormality on the image processing function (see Kelly, i.e. in para. 108, disclose that “[0108] In one embodiment of the invention, the computing device (500) may include one or more output devices (508), such as a screen (e.g., a liquid crystal display (LCD), a plasma display, touchscreen, cathode ray tube (CRT) monitor, projector, or other display device), a printer, external storage, or any other output device. One or more of the output devices may be the same or different from the input device(s). The input and output device(s) may be locally or remotely connected to the computer processor(s) (502), non-persistent storage (504), and persistent storage (506). Many different types of computing devices exist, and the aforementioned input and output device(s) may take other forms.”; further in para. 49, disclose that “[0049] In one or more embodiments of the invention, the remote display protocol may control the multimedia capabilities (e.g., display, audio, video, etc.) of front-end devices via a multimedia engine (not shown). For example, the multimedia engine may control a display of a front-end device such that a status of an application running on the VD (142, 144) may be displayed in real-time to a user of the front-end device. The status may be displayed in any visual format that would allow the user to easily comprehend (e.g., read and parse) the listed information.”).
With regard to claim 8, the claim is drawn to the device management service system according to claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the device management service system to execute, in a case where the received instruction is a handling request to a maintenance service of the network device, a process for connecting the maintenance service (see Doken, i.e. in para. 70-71, disclose that “[0070] The digital platform 300 may maintain accounts for users. The accounts may include relevant data relating to users, such as usernames and logon credentials, avatars, authentication information for authenticated users; data for one or more logos or other visual affiliation information; and other personal information. Each user account maintained by the digital platform 300 may be associated with one or more avatars, which the user may select for appearing in a virtual world or in other applications. [0071] The authenticating server 320 may maintain account...”).
With regard to claim 9, the claim is drawn to the device management service system according to claim 1, further comprising an inviting unit configured to invite, in a case where the received instruction is a handling request to a maintenance service of the network device, an avatar of a serviceman corresponding to the maintenance service to the virtual office (see Doken, i.e. in para. 261 and etc., disclose that “[0261] At 1718, it is determined whether the authentication of the affiliation is due to expire at a certain time and, if so, whether the authentication of affiliation has expired for the user of the avatar. According to an aspect of the disclosure, upon authentication, the graphical indication of affiliation of the avatar's user is displayed only for a specified time period. For example, an avatar's user may be invited to an event on the digital platform by an entity. The authentication may thus expire based on the ticket for the event. Accordingly, the graphical indication of affiliation of the avatar's user may be displayed starting at a specified time before the event and expire at a specified time after the event. Or, the avatar's user may be hired for a specified project of an entity and thus the authentication of affiliation may expire after the completion of the project or at a specified date/time thereafter. In such a scenario, the graphical indication of affiliation of the avatar's user may disappear after the completion of the project or at the specified date/time. The authenticating server 320 may keep track of such time restrictions for user affiliation and may communicate the time restrictions to the digital platform 300 at the time of authentication. Digital platform 300 may then keep track of the time restriction and automatically cut off display of the graphical indication of affiliation at the expiration of the time specified by the time restriction. In the alternative, in addition, authenticating server 320 may keep track of the time restriction and at the specified time transmit to digital platform 300 an indication that the user of the avatar is no longer authenticated for affiliation with the entity…”).
With regard to claim 10, the claim is drawn to the device management service system according to claim 1, wherein the virtual office is provided in a metaverse (see Kelly, i.e. in para. 68 and etc, discloses that “[0068] A user connecting via the user device 340 to the digital platform 300 may create an avatar on the digital platform 300, import an avatar to the digital platform 300, or may select from a menu of avatars available on the digital platform 300. Through an avatar, the user is represented on the digital platform 300. The digital platform may be a virtual world, such as Second Life™ or Meta™, or may be a virtual world that is oriented for a specific task or a type of activity, such as a virtual world used primarily for professional or commercial purposes, such as online virtual offices. The virtual world may include various types of scenes, virtual rooms or other spaces that an avatar can enter, and various types of virtual objects, virtual tools, and avatars of other users or of system administrators, and the like, with which an avatar can interact. The digital platform 300 may be a virtual convention or professional association meeting, a virtual office or other workplace, or a business meeting or the like, in which representatives or attendees are displayed as avatars. According to an aspect of the disclosure, the digital platform 300 may be an online social media network, in which members or participants are displayed as avatars. According to an embodiment, digital platform 300 may be an augmented reality platform or a virtual reality platform in which multiple users participate and in which real world objects and people, with life-like appearances or with computer-enhanced appearances, are intermixed with avatars and virtual objects.”).
With regard to claim 11, the claim is drawn to a method of controlling a device management service system that manages a network device installed in a real world, and cooperates with a providing system that provides a virtual office corresponding to a service for using a function of the network device by an operation from an avatar in the virtual office (see Kelly, i.e. in para. 10, 20 and etc., discloses “a method”, and “the system (101) includes a front-end environment (100), a network (120), one or more management environments (60), and a virtual desktop management placement service (50). The system (101) may include additional, fewer, and/or different components without departing from scope of the invention. Each component may be operably connected to any of the other component via any combination of wired and/or wireless connections. Each component illustrated in FIG. 1.1 is discussed below…”), the method comprising:
notifying, based on occurrence of a notification event in the network device, a content of the notification event to an administrator of the network device via a device management avatar in the virtual office (see Kelly, i.e. in fig. 2.1, in para. 94, disclose that “[0084] In step 212, after the management environment is selected, a deployment of the virtual desktop service manager is initiated. In one or more embodiments of the invention, the deployment is initiated by notifying the administrator of the front-end environment of the selection and r35equesting approval of the selection. If the administrator provides approval, the virtual desktop service manager is installed in the selected management environment. In such embodiments in which the administrator does not approve of the selection, the administrator may specify a second selection (e.g., of a subset of management environments that provide the security preferences discussed above), and deployment may be initiated on the second selection…”; also see fig. 2.2, step 220-222 and etc.,); and
receiving, via the device management avatar in the virtual office, an instruction for the notification event from the administrator The teaching of Kelly do not explicitly disclose the aspect relating to “an avatar” in the virtual office”.
However, Doken discloses an analogous invention relates to digital platforms, including virtual computer-generated environments, that users navigate using avatars and, more particularly, to indicating that a user of an avatar is authenticated as being affiliated with an entity (see Doken, i.e. para. 1 and etc.). More specifically, in Doken, i.e. in para. 68 and etc., disclose that “[0068] A user connecting via the user device 340 to the digital platform 300 may create an avatar on the digital platform 300, import an avatar to the digital platform 300, or may select from a menu of avatars available on the digital platform 300. Through an avatar, the user is represented on the digital platform 300. The digital platform may be a virtual world, such as Second Life™ or Meta™, or may be a virtual world that is oriented for a specific task or a type of activity, such as a virtual world used primarily for professional or commercial purposes, such as online virtual offices. The virtual world may include various types of scenes, virtual rooms or other spaces that an avatar can enter, and various types of virtual objects, virtual tools, and avatars of other users or of system administrators, and the like, with which an avatar can interact. The digital platform 300 may be a virtual convention or professional association meeting, a virtual office or other workplace, or a business meeting or the like, in which representatives or attendees are displayed as avatars. According to an aspect of the disclosure, the digital platform 300 may be an online social media network, in which members or participants are displayed as avatars. According to an embodiment, digital platform 300 may be an augmented reality platform or a virtual reality platform in which multiple users participate and in which real world objects and people, with life-like appearances or with computer-enhanced appearances, are intermixed with avatars and virtual objects.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Doken, with respect to the aspect(s) relating to avatar(s) in the virtual office, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to virtual reality arts . Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly by the teachings of Doken, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Doken, as “ [0004] Avatars allow people to represent themselves online in whatever way they want. Avatars may be considered alter-egos, since users may have the ability to customize characters that are completely different than their actual personality and appearance. Avatars are commonly used in multiplayer gaming, multiparty online communities, and web forums. Online multiplayer role-playing games (MMOGs) such as World of Warcraft and Fortnite allow users to create custom characters. These characters serve as the players' avatars. Online discussion boards typically require users to register and provide information about themselves. Many give users the option to select an image file that represents the user's persona. Avatars are also commonly used for virtual meeting applications that are using virtual spaces in a 2D world (meaning on a web browser or separate phone/PC based platform). Avatars on a video conferencing platform (like Zoom) may be mostly for fun or may include serious avatars that represent the user and the group to which it belongs…” (see Doken, i.e. in para. 4-5 and etc.).
With regard to claim 12, the claim is drawn to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that stores instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, configures the processor to perform a control method (see Kelly, i.e. in para. 10, 20 and etc., discloses “a non-transitory computer-readable medium”, and “the system (101) includes a front-end environment (100), a network (120), one or more management environments (60), and a virtual desktop management placement service (50). The system (101) may include additional, fewer, and/or different components without departing from scope of the invention. Each component may be operably connected to any of the other component via any combination of wired and/or wireless connections. Each component illustrated in FIG. 1.1 is discussed below…”), the control method comprising:
notifying, based on occurrence of a notification event in the network device, a content of the notification event to an administrator of the network device via a device management avatar in the virtual office (see Kelly, i.e. in fig. 2.1, in para. 94, disclose that “[0084] In step 212, after the management environment is selected, a deployment of the virtual desktop service manager is initiated. In one or more embodiments of the invention, the deployment is initiated by notifying the administrator of the front-end environment of the selection and r35equesting approval of the selection. If the administrator provides approval, the virtual desktop service manager is installed in the selected management environment. In such embodiments in which the administrator does not approve of the selection, the administrator may specify a second selection (e.g., of a subset of management environments that provide the security preferences discussed above), and deployment may be initiated on the second selection…”; also see fig. 2.2, step 220-222 and etc.,); and
receiving, via the device management avatar in the virtual office, an instruction for the notification event from the administrator (see Kelly, i.e. in fig. 2.2, step 224, in para. 90 and etc., disclose that “[0090] In step 224, responses associated with the EUE form are obtained. In one or more embodiments of the invention, the responses provide the EUE requirements for the VDI environment as specified by the administrator…”).
The teaching of Kelly do not explicitly disclose the aspect relating to “an avatar” in the virtual office”.
However, Doken discloses an analogous invention relates to digital platforms, including virtual computer-generated environments, that users navigate using avatars and, more particularly, to indicating that a user of an avatar is authenticated as being affiliated with an entity (see Doken, i.e. para. 1 and etc.). More specifically, in Doken, i.e. in para. 68 and etc., disclose that “[0068] A user connecting via the user device 340 to the digital platform 300 may create an avatar on the digital platform 300, import an avatar to the digital platform 300, or may select from a menu of avatars available on the digital platform 300. Through an avatar, the user is represented on the digital platform 300. The digital platform may be a virtual world, such as Second Life™ or Meta™, or may be a virtual world that is oriented for a specific task or a type of activity, such as a virtual world used primarily for professional or commercial purposes, such as online virtual offices. The virtual world may include various types of scenes, virtual rooms or other spaces that an avatar can enter, and various types of virtual objects, virtual tools, and avatars of other users or of system administrators, and the like, with which an avatar can interact. The digital platform 300 may be a virtual convention or professional association meeting, a virtual office or other workplace, or a business meeting or the like, in which representatives or attendees are displayed as avatars. According to an aspect of the disclosure, the digital platform 300 may be an online social media network, in which members or participants are displayed as avatars. According to an embodiment, digital platform 300 may be an augmented reality platform or a virtual reality platform in which multiple users participate and in which real world objects and people, with life-like appearances or with computer-enhanced appearances, are intermixed with avatars and virtual objects.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Doken, with respect to the aspect(s) relating to avatar(s) in the virtual office, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to virtual reality arts . Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kelly by the teachings of Doken, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Doken, as “ [0004] Avatars allow people to represent themselves online in whatever way they want. Avatars may be considered alter-egos, since users may have the ability to customize characters that are completely different than their actual personality and appearance. Avatars are commonly used in multiplayer gaming, multiparty online communities, and web forums. Online multiplayer role-playing games (MMOGs) such as World of Warcraft and Fortnite allow users to create custom characters. These characters serve as the players' avatars. Online discussion boards typically require users to register and provide information about themselves. Many give users the option to select an image file that represents the user's persona. Avatars are also commonly used for virtual meeting applications that are using virtual spaces in a 2D world (meaning on a web browser or separate phone/PC based platform). Avatars on a video conferencing platform (like Zoom) may be mostly for fun or may include serious avatars that represent the user and the group to which it belongs…” (see Doken, i.e. in para. 4-5 and etc.).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly and Doken, and further in view of Lasater et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0383399 A1, hereinafter as “Lasater”).
With regard to claim 6, the claim is drawn to the device management service system according to claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the device management service system to execute, in a case where the received instruction is an order request of consumables, a process for ordering the consumables to an external service via a network.
The teachings of Kelly and Doken do not explicitly disclose the teachings relating to “wherein the instructions further cause the device management service system to execute, in a case where the received instruction is an order request of consumables, a process for ordering the consumables to an external service via a network”.
However, Lasater discloses an analogous invention relates to a virtual/augmented reality custom ordering service (see Lasater, i.e. abstract and etc.). More specifically, in Lasater, i.e. in para. 7, 8, 14, 25-29 and etc., disclose that “[0007] In various embodiments, methods and a system for Virtual Reality (VR)/Augmented Reality (AR) custom ordering services are presented. [0008] According to an embodiment, a method for operating a VR/AR custom ordering service is provided. For example, a retailer selected by a customer through an application is identified. The customer logs into an account with the retailer using an Application Programming Interface (API) and based on customer-provided credentials within the application. A profile for the customer is obtained from the retailer using the account and the API. Consumable items and ingredients of the consumable items are obtained from the retailer using the API. A VR/AR setting is rendered within the application depicting objects for the consumable items and ingredients. A VR/AR session is established with the customer utilizing the VR/AR setting. An order is received from the customer during the VR/AR session based on selections of the consumable items and the ingredients and the order is placed with the retailer using the API during the VR/AR session.”; and specifically in para. 25-29 further disclose the teachings that “the avatar” could be used in the virtual retailer store for ordering the consumables by customers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kelly and Doken to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Lasater, the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to device management arts with virtual reality. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kelly and Doken by the teachings of Lasater, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Lasater, thereby customers could place order online more frequently for convenience reasons (see Lasater, i.e. para. 6 and etc.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly and Doken, and further in view of Clements et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0240275 A1, hereinafter as “Clements”).
With regard to claim 7, the claim is drawn to the device management service system according to claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the device management service system to issue, in a case where the received instruction is a reboot request of the network device, a reboot command to the network device via a network.
The teachings of Kelly and Doken do not explicitly disclose the aspect relating to “wherein the instructions further cause the device management service system to issue, in a case where the received instruction is a reboot request of the network device, a reboot command to the network device via a network”.
However, Clements discloses an analogous invention relates to providing virtual reality services to residents of a controlled-environment facility, and more particularly to enforcing restrictions on the virtual reality services provided to residents of a controlled-environment facility (see Clements, i.e. para. 1 and etc.). More specifically, in Clements, i.e. in para. 30 and etc., disclose that “[0030] Each of the virtual reality access points 115a-b are configured to provide inmates with access to virtual environments hosted by virtual reality server 110. In the illustrated embodiments, the provided virtual environments provided by the virtual reality server 110 include training and/or education scenarios 125, recreational activities 128, exercise and self-improvement routines 129 and counseling services 130. In other embodiments, the virtual reality server 110 may provide additional virtual environments. In some embodiments, separate virtual reality servers may be utilized to support each of the supported environments. For instance, a counseling server may be used to support virtual reality counseling environments. The virtual reality server 110 hosts virtual environments and allows authorized inmates to participate in one or more of these hosted virtual environments. The virtual reality server 110 also receives input from the user. These inputs may include, for example, control signals (e.g., restart a scenario) and movement data (e.g., changes in the direction of the user's gaze)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kelly and Doken to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Clements, the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to device management arts with virtual reality. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kelly and Doken by the teachings of Clements, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Clements, as “Virtual reality allows a user to view, and to some extent interact with, a virtual three-dimensional environment generated through the execution of a virtual reality software program and displayed to the user via a specially configured headset. The virtual reality programs may support more than one user participating in virtual reality session, in which case each participant or portion of that participant may be represented within the virtual environment via an avatar. A resident of a controlled-environment facility may be subject to various restrictions with regard to personal behavior and communicating with other residents and visitors. In certain scenarios, it may be necessary to apply such restrictions to a resident's participation in virtual reality sessions.” (see Clements, i.e. para. 4 and etc.).
Conclusion
The Art Unit (or Workgroup) location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2681.
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681