DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment and request for continued examination filed 11/17/2025. Claims 1, 4-14, and 16-23 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-14, and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borras (U.S. 11,401,033 B2) in view of Gager et al. (U.S. 2019/0075513 A1).
Claim 1, Borras teaches:
A telemetry system (Borras, Fig. 1), including:
an array of sensor stations arranged in a spaced apart arrangement (Borras, Fig. 1: 108, 114, Col. 6, Lines 26-29, The plurality of remote sensors are located in a variety of terrain, i.e. are spaced apart. For example, sensors 108 and 114 of Fig. 1 represent at least two sensors of the remote sensor system 100.);
wherein a respective sensor station of the array of sensor stations (Borras, Fig. 1: 108, 114, Fig. 4 represents each of the remote sensors of Fig. 1 (see Borras, Col. 8, Lines 39-45).) comprises:
a respective sensor (Borras, Fig. 4: 410-414) to generate respective sensor data regarding an object of interest (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52, The sensors 108 and 114 include at least one sensing transducer, which is a respective sensor of a sensor station. The remote sensors are used to monitor various locations and/or wildlife, i.e. objects of interest (see Borras, Col. 1, Lines 22-29). The sensing data from sensor transducers are converted from physical measurements into electrical signals (see Borras, Col. 8, Lines 64-67 through Col. 9, Lines 1-8).);
a respective sensor station memory (Borras, Fig. 4: 416) to store the respective sensor data (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52, The data from the sensors 108 and 114, both current/present data and older records are stored in the sensors 108 and 114. The sensor data is stored as data records 418 and 420 in memory 416 (see Borras, Col. 8, Lines 64-67 through Col. 9, Lines 1-21).);
a respective sensor station antenna (Borras, Fig. 4: 422, WLAN transceiver 422 of remote sensor 400 includes an antenna (as shown in Fig. 4).);
a respective sensor station wireless transmitter (Borras, Fig. 4: 422, Col. 9, Lines 26-44, The WLAN transceiver 422 functions as a wireless transmitter.);
a respective sensor station processor (Borras, Fig. 4: 402) to:
periodically activate the respective sensor station wireless transmitter to transmit the respective sensor data via the respective sensor station antenna (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52, To conserve power the transceivers may be selectively activated, e.g. on a schedule. The WLAN transceiver 422 is selectively powered up under control of the processor 402 (see Borras, Col. 9, Lines 36-37).);
an aerial data collection system (Borras, Fig. 1: 104 and Fig. 5) including:
an aerial data collection system antenna (Borras, Fig. 5: 516, The WLAN transceiver 516 includes an antenna.); and
an aerial data collection system receiver (Borras, Fig. 5: 516) to receive the respective sensor data transmitted by the respective sensor station antenna (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 26-33, The drone communicates with the remote sensor via WLAN transceiver 516 (see Borras, Col. 10, Lines 49-52).).
Borras does not specifically teach:
A Bluetooth low energy (BLE) transmitter;
encode the respective sensor data in a payload section of respective BLE advertising packets;
periodically activate the respective sensor station BLE transmitter to transmit the BLE advertising packets including the encoded respective sensor data via the respective sensor station antenna; and
a BLE receiver to receive the BLE advertising packets including the encoded respective sensor data
Gager teaches:
A drone having a transceiver for communicating via BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy) (Gager, Paragraph [0065]) wherein BLE advertisement messages are communicated and have a payload (Gager, Paragraphs [0109-0112], Converting messages into a BLE advertisement message is functionally equivalent to encoding, and the data in each message is functionally equivalent a payload section, e.g. SSID 48, 50 of Fig. 2 (see Gager, Paragraphs [0095-0096]).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Borras by integrating the teaching of BLE, as taught by Gager.
The motivation would be to utilize a known wireless protocol for limiting energy consumption (see Gager, Paragraph [0009]).
As per the limitation of encode the respective sensor data in a payload section of respective BLE advertising packets, the combination of Borras in view of Gager discloses the step of transmitting sensor data (see Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52) via BLE advertisement messages (see Gager, Paragraphs [0109-0112]).
Claim 5, Borras in view of Gager further teaches:
The telemetry system of Claim 1, wherein the aerial data collection system includes:
an aerial data collection system memory (Borras, Fig. 5: 504); and
an aerial data collection system processor (Borras, Fig. 5: 502) to store, in the aerial data collection system memory, the respective sensor data received by the aerial data collection system receiver (Borras, Col. 10, Lines 11-18, The processor 502 performs instruction code designed to operate the drone in the various tasks it has to perform. The tasks include communicating with the remote sensor (see Borras, Col. 10, Lines 49-52).).
Claim 6, Borras in view of Gager further teaches:
The telemetry system of Claim 1, wherein the aerial data collection system is carriable by a drone (Borras, Fig. 5).
Claim 7, Borras in view of Gager further teaches:
The telemetry system of Claim 1, wherein respective ones of the array of sensor stations comprise:
a respective sensor station photodetector to detect visible radiation (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 50-54); and
logic instructions executable by the respective sensor station processor (Borras, Col. 8, Lines 53-58, The memory includes the storage of instruction code that is to be performed by the processor.) to periodically activate the respective sensor station BLE transmitter in response to the radiation detected by the respective sensor station photodetector (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 59-52, When the presence of the drone is detected, the processor 402 powers up the WLAN transceiver 422 to commence communicating with the drone. In the combination of Borras in view of Gager, BLE protocol is used (see Gager, Paragraph [0065]).).
Claim 8, Borras in view of Gager further teaches:
The telemetry system of Claim 1, wherein:
for respective ones of the array of sensor stations:
the respective sensor station memory stores a respective sensor station identifier associated with the respective sensor station (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 59-62, The sensing data records include the sensor identifier for the sensor that produced the data.);
the respective sensor station BLE transmitter to transmit the respective sensor station identifier with the respective data via the respective sensor station antenna (Borras, Col. 7, 26-33, The sensor transmits the sensing data record to the drone once a connection is made between the sensor and the drone. The sensing data record includes the sensor identifier (see Borras, Col. 7, Lines 59-62).); and
the aerial data collection system receiver to receive the respective sensor data and associated respective sensor station identifier transmitted by respective ones of the array of sensor stations (Borras, Col. 7, 26-33).
Claim 9, Borras in view of Gager further teaches:
The telemetry system of Claim 1, wherein the array of sensor stations are arranged at ground level (Borras, Col. 1, Lines 22-28, The remote sensing may occur in canals, lakes, rivers, for example, and can therefore be located at ground level.).
Claim 10, Borras in view of Gager further teaches:
The telemetry system of Claim 1, wherein the respective sensor station includes:
logic instructions executable by the respective sensor station processor to selectively switch the respective sensor station between multiple sensor station operational states (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 32-34, The processor 402 can act as an application processor for carrying out operations of the WLAN transceiver 422.) including:
a sleep state in which the respective sensor station BLE transmitter is deactivated (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 34-37); and
a periodic wireless communication state in which the respective sensor station BLE transmitter is activated to transmit the respective sensor data, encoded in BLE advertising packets (Gager, Paragraphs [0109-0112]), via the respective sensor station antenna (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 34-44, The WLAN transceiver 422 may be periodically powered up to sense the presence of the drone and/or to communicate with the drone. In the combination of Borras in view of Gager, BLE protocol is used (see Gager, Paragraph [0065]).).
Borras in view of Gager does not explicitly teach:
A sleep state in which the respective sensor is deactivated; and
a periodic sensing state in which (a) the respective sensor is activated to generate the respective sensor data, wherein the respective sensor data is stored in the respective sensor station memory, and (b) the respective sensor station wireless transmitter is deactivated.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the system in Borras in view of Gager to be capable of performing the sleep state and the period sensing state. As per the sleep state, the data captured by the remote sensor includes, for example, images captured at specific times (see Borras, Col. 7, Lines 29-33). Thus, it is within the scope of the teachings of Borras for the sensor, e.g. a camera, to be temporarily deactivated, i.e. not capturing an image, while the transceiver is also in its sleep mode (see Borras, Col. 9, Lines 34-37). As per a periodic sensing state, similar to the sleep state, it is within the scope of the teachings of Borras for the sensor to collect sensor data, e.g. images captured by the camera, while the transceiver is also in the sleep mode. For example, when a drone is not present, the remote sensor would not activate its WLAN transceiver to transmit data, and therefore the remote sensor would maintain the sleep state of the WLAN transceiver. Such conditions would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.
Claim 11, Borras in view of Gager further teaches:
The telemetry system of Claim 1, wherein:
the array of sensor stations includes:
a first sensor station (Borras, Fig. 1: 108) including a first sensor (Borras, Fig. 4: 410) to generate first sensor data regarding a first object of interest (Borras, Col. 1, Lines 22-29 and Col. 8, Lines 25-29, The remote sensors may be mounted on objects and configured to monitor other objects, e.g. wildlife.); and
a second sensor station (Borras, Fig. 1: 114) including a second sensor (Borras, Fig. 4: 412) to generate second sensor data regarding the first object of interest (Borras, Col. 1, Lines 22-29 and Col. 8, Lines 25-29, The remote sensors may be mounted on objects and configured to monitor other objects, e.g. wildlife.); and
the aerial data collection system receiver to receive (a) the first sensor data from the first sensor station and (b) the second sensor data from the second sensor station (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 26-62).
Borras in view of Gager does not explicitly each:
A first and second object of interest.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the remote sensors to monitor the same or different objects of interest. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would thus yield predictable results.
Claim 12, Borras teaches:
A sensor station (Borras, Fig. 1: 108, 114, Fig. 4), including:
a sensor (Borras, Fig. 4: 410-414) to generate first sensor data regarding a first object of interest (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52, The sensors 108 and 114 include at least one sensing transducer, which is a respective sensor of a sensor station. The remote sensors are used to monitor various locations and/or wildlife, i.e. objects of interest (see Borras, Col. 1, Lines 22-29). The sensing data from sensor transducers are converted from physical measurements into electrical signals (see Borras, Col. 8, Lines 64-67 through Col. 9, Lines 1-8).);
a memory (Borras, Fig. 4: 416) to store the first sensor data (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52, The data from the sensors 108 and 114, both current/present data and older records are stored in the sensors 108 and 114. The sensor data is stored as data records 418 and 420 in memory 416 (see Borras, Col. 8, Lines 64-67 through Col. 9, Lines 1-21).);
an antenna (Borras, Fig. 4: 422, WLAN transceiver 422 of remote sensor 400 includes an antenna (as shown in Fig. 4).);
a wireless transmitter (Borras, Fig. 4: 422, Col. 9, Lines 26-44, The WLAN transceiver 422 functions as a wireless transmitter.);
a processor (Borras, Fig. 4: 402) to periodically activate the wireless transmitter to transmit the sensor data via the antenna (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52, To conserve power the transceivers may be selectively activated, e.g. on a schedule. The WLAN transceiver 422 is selectively powered up under control of the processor 402 (see Borras, Col. 9, Lines 36-37).); and
logic instructions executable by the processor (Borras, Col. 8, Lines 53-58, The memory includes the storage of instruction code that is to be performed by the processor.) to:
selectively switch the sensor station between multiple sensor station operational states (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 32-34, The processor 402 can act as an application processor for carrying out operations of the WLAN transceiver 422.) including:
a sleep state in which the wireless transmitter is deactivated (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 34-37); and
a periodic wireless communication state in which the wireless transmitter is activated to access and transmit the sensor data stored in the memory via the antenna (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 34-44, The WLAN transceiver 422 may be periodically powered up to sense the presence of the drone and/or to communicate with the drone.); and
selectively switch the sensor station to the periodic wireless communication state in response to detecting a presence of a drone-based aerial data collection system (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 34-44).
Borras does not specifically teach:
A Bluetooth low energy (BLE) transmitter;
a sleep state in which the first sensor is deactivated; and
a periodic sensing state in which (a) the sensor is activated to generate the sensor data, wherein the generated sensor data is stored in the memory, and (b) the wireless transmitter is deactivated;
a periodic wireless communication state in which the BLE transmitter is activated to access and transmit BLE advertising packets, having respective payload sections including the sensor data encoded therein.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the system in Borras to be capable of performing the sleep state and the period sensing state. As per the sleep state, the data captured by the remote sensor includes, for example, images captured at specific times (see Borras, Col. 7, Lines 29-33). Thus, it is within the scope of the teachings of Borras for the sensor, e.g. a camera, to be temporarily deactivated, i.e. not capturing an image, while the transceiver is also in its sleep mode (see Borras, Col. 9, Lines 34-37). As per a periodic sensing state, similar to the sleep state, it is within the scope of the teachings of Borras for the sensor to collect sensor data, e.g. images captured by the camera, while the transceiver is also in the sleep mode. For example, when a drone is not present, the remote sensor would not activate its WLAN transceiver to transmit data, and therefore the remote sensor would maintain the sleep state of the WLAN transceiver. Such conditions would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.
Gager teaches:
A drone having a transceiver for communicating via BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy) (Gager, Paragraph [0065]) wherein BLE advertisement messages are communicated and have a payload (Gager, Paragraphs [0109-0112], Converting messages into a BLE advertisement message is functionally equivalent to encoding, and the data in each message is functionally equivalent a payload section, e.g. SSID 48, 50 of Fig. 2 (see Gager, Paragraphs [0095-0096]).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Borras by integrating the teaching of BLE, as taught by Gager.
The motivation would be to utilize a known wireless protocol for limiting energy consumption (see Gager, Paragraph [0009]).
As per the limitation of having respective payload sections including the sensor data encoded therein, the combination of Borras in view of Gager discloses the step of transmitting sensor data (see Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52) via BLE advertisement messages (see Gager, Paragraphs [0109-0112]).
Claim 13, Borras in view of Gager further teaches:
The sensor station of Claim 12, including:
a BLE transceiver including the BLE transmitter (Borras, Fig. 4: 422);
logic instructions executable by the processor to detect the presence of the drone-based aerial data collection system based on signals received at the BLE transceiver from the drone-based aerial data collection system (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 34-44, One method of detecting the drone is based on WLAN transmissions, e.g. beacon signals from the drone. In the combination of Borras in view of Gager, BLE protocol is used (see Gager, Paragraph [0065]).).
Claim 14, Borras further teaches:
The sensor station of Claim 12, including:
a photodetector to detect radiation (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 50-54); and
logic instructions executable by the processor (Borras, Col. 8, Lines 53-58, The memory includes the storage of instruction code that is to be performed by the processor.) to periodically activate the BLE transmitter in response to the radiation detected by the photodetector (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 59-52, When the presence of the drone is detected, the processor 402 powers up the WLAN transceiver 422 to commence communicating with the drone. In the combination of Borras in view of Gager, BLE protocol is used (see Gager, Paragraph [0065]).).
Claim 16, Borras further teaches:
The sensor station of Claim 12, including:
a BLE receiver to receive and identify a communication from an aerial data collection system (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 34-44, The WLAN transceiver 422 further operates as a receiver. In the combination of Borras in view of Gager, BLE protocol is used (see Gager, Paragraph [0065]).); and
logic instructions executable by the processor to activate the BLE transmitter in response to an identification of the communication from the aerial data collection system (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 34-44, One method of detecting the drone is based on WLAN transmissions, e.g. beacon signals from the drone.).
Claim 17, Borras teaches:
A sensor station (Borras, Fig. 1: 108, 114, Fig. 4), including:
a sensor (Borras, Fig. 4: 410-414) to generate sensor data regarding a sensed entity (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52);
an antenna (Borras, Fig. 4: 422, WLAN transceiver 422 of remote sensor 400 includes an antenna (as shown in Fig. 4).);
a transmitter (Borras, Fig. 4: 422, Col. 9, Lines 26-44, The WLAN transceiver 422 functions as a wireless transmitter.); and
a processor (Borras, Fig. 4: 402) to:
transmit the sensor data (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52); and
periodically activate the transmitter to transmit the sensor data via the antenna (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52, To conserve power the transceivers may be selectively activated, e.g. on a schedule. The WLAN transceiver 422 is selectively powered up under control of the processor 402 (see Borras, Col. 9, Lines 36-37).).
Borras does not specifically teach:
A Bluetooth low energy (BLE) transmitter; and
the processor to:
encode the sensor data in a payload section of respective BLE advertising packet; and
periodically activate the BLE transmitter to transmit the sensor data via the antenna.
Gager teaches:
A drone having a transceiver for communicating via BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy) (Gager, Paragraph [0065]) wherein BLE advertisement messages are communicated and have a payload (Gager, Paragraphs [0109-0112], Converting messages into a BLE advertisement message is functionally equivalent to encoding, and the data in each message is functionally equivalent a payload section, e.g. SSID 48, 50 of Fig. 2 (see Gager, Paragraphs [0095-0096]).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Borras by integrating the teaching of BLE, as taught by Gager.
The motivation would be to utilize a known wireless protocol for limiting energy consumption (see Gager, Paragraph [0009]).
As per the limitation of encode the sensor data in a payload section of respective BLE advertising packet, the combination of Borras in view of Gager discloses the step of transmitting sensor data (see Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52) via BLE advertisement messages (see Gager, Paragraphs [0109-0112]).
Claim 18, Borras in view of Gager further teaches:
The sensor station of Claim 17, including:
a memory (Borras, Fig. 4: 416) to store the sensor data generated by the sensor (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52, The data from the sensors 108 and 114, both current/present data and older records are stored in the sensors 108 and 114. The sensor data is stored as data records 418 and 420 in memory 416 (see Borras, Col. 8, Lines 64-67 through Col. 9, Lines 1-21).); and
logic instructions executable by the processor (Borras, Col. 8, Lines 53-58, The memory includes the storage of instruction code that is to be performed by the processor.) to selectively switch the sensor station between multiple sensor station operational states (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 32-34, The processor 402 can act as an application processor for carrying out operations of the WLAN transceiver 422.) including:
a sleep state in which the BLE transmitter is deactivated (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 34-37); and
a periodic wireless communication state in which the BLE transmitter is activated to access and transmit the sensor data stored in the memory via the antenna (Borras, Col. 9, Lines 34-44, The WLAN transceiver 422 may be periodically powered up to sense the presence of the drone and/or to communicate with the drone.).
Borras in view of Gager does not explicitly teach:
a sleep state in which the sensor is deactivated;
a periodic sensing state in which (a) the sensor is activated to generate the sensor data, wherein the generated sensor data is stored in the memory, and (b) the BLE transmitter is deactivated;
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the system in Borras to be capable of performing the sleep state and the period sensing state. As per the sleep state, the data captured by the remote sensor includes, for example, images captured at specific times (see Borras, Col. 7, Lines 29-33). Thus, it is within the scope of the teachings of Borras for the sensor, e.g. a camera, to be temporarily deactivated, i.e. not capturing an image, while the transceiver is also in its sleep mode (see Borras, Col. 9, Lines 34-37). As per a periodic sensing state, similar to the sleep state, it is within the scope of the teachings of Borras for the sensor to collect sensor data, e.g. images captured by the camera, while the transceiver is also in the sleep mode. For example, when a drone is not present, the remote sensor would not activate its WLAN transceiver to transmit data, and therefore the remote sensor would maintain the sleep state of the WLAN transceiver. Such conditions would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.
Claim 19, Borras teaches:
An aerial data collection system (Borras, Fig. 1: 104, Fig. 5), including:
a navigation system (Borras, Fig. 5: 514) to navigate an aerial device carrying the aerial data collection system along a defined aerial route over an array of sensor stations (Borras, Col. 10, Lines 37-52);
an antenna (Borras, Fig. 5: 516, The WLAN transceiver 516 includes an antenna.);
a receiver to receive transmissions from the array of sensor stations via the antenna (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 26-33, The drone communicates with the remote sensor via WLAN transceiver 516 (see Borras, Col. 10, Lines 49-52).); and
wherein a respective transmission from a respective sensor station in the array of sensor stations includes respective sensor data (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 26-33, The drone communicates with the remote sensor via WLAN transceiver 516 (see Borras, Col. 10, Lines 49-52).).
Borras does not specifically teach:
A Bluetooth low energy (BLE) receiver to receive BLE transmissions, respective sensor data encoded in a payload section of at least one BLE advertising packet.
Gager teaches:
A drone having a transceiver for communicating via BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy) (Gager, Paragraph [0065]) wherein BLE advertisement messages are communicated and have a payload (Gager, Paragraphs [0109-0112], Converting messages into a BLE advertisement message is functionally equivalent to encoding, and the data in each message is functionally equivalent a payload section, e.g. SSID 48, 50 of Fig. 2 (see Gager, Paragraphs [0095-0096]).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Borras by integrating the teaching of BLE, as taught by Gager.
The motivation would be to utilize a known wireless protocol for limiting energy consumption (see Gager, Paragraph [0009]).
As per the limitation of respective sensor data encoded in a payload section of at least one BLE advertising packet, the combination of Borras in view of Gager discloses the step of transmitting sensor data (see Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52) via BLE advertisement messages (see Gager, Paragraphs [0109-0112]).
Claim 20, Borras in view of Gager further teaches:
The aerial data collection system of Claim 19, including:
a memory (Borras, Fig. 5: 504);
a processor (Borras, Fig. 5: 502); and
logic instructions executable by the processor to identify the respective sensor data (Borras, Col. 10, Lines 15-21) encoded in the payload section of respective BLE advertising packets received by the BLE receiver (Gager, Paragraphs [0109-0112]), and to store the identified respective sensor data in the memory (Borras, Col. 11, Lines 22-24).
Claim 21, Borras in view of Gager further teaches:
The aerial data collection system of Claim 19, wherein:
the array of sensor stations includes a first sensor station (Borras, Fig. 1: 108) and a second sensor station (Borras, Fig. 1: 114);
the BLE receiver is configured to receive:
(a) a first BLE transmission from the first sensor station, the first BLE transmission including first sensor data generated by a first sensor (Borras, Fig. 4: 410) of the first sensor station (Borras, Col. 1, Lines 22-29 and Col. 8, Lines 25-29, The remote sensors may be mounted on objects and configured to monitor other objects, e.g. wildlife.) and encoded in a payload section of at least one first BLE advertising packet (Gager, Paragraphs [0095-0096], In the combination of Borras in view of Gager, the sensor data of Borras would be encoded in the BLE advertisements in Gager.); and
(b) a second BLE transmission from the second sensor station, the second BLE transmission including second sensor data generated by a second sensor (Borras, Fig. 4: 412) of the second sensor station (Borras, Col. 1, Lines 22-29 and Col. 8, Lines 25-29, The remote sensors may be mounted on objects and configured to monitor other objects, e.g. wildlife.) and encoded in a payload section of at least one second BLE advertising packet (Gager, Paragraphs [0095-0096], In the combination of Borras in view of Gager, the sensor data of Borras would be encoded in the BLE advertisements in Gager.).
Claim 22, Borras in view of Gager further teaches:
The aerial data collection system of Claim 21, including:
memory storing first sensor station ID data identifying the first sensor station and second sensor station ID data identifying the second sensor station (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 59-62, The sensing data records include the sensor identifier for the sensor that produced the data.);
logic instructions executable by the processor (Borras, Col. 8, Lines 53-58, The memory includes the storage of instruction code that is to be performed by the processor.) to:
identify the first BLE transmission is received from the first sensor station (Borras, Col. 7, 26-33, The sensor transmits the sensing data record to the drone once a connection is made between the sensor and the drone. The sensing data record includes the sensor identifier (see Borras, Col. 7, Lines 59-62).), and link the first sensor data with the first sensor station ID data in the memory (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52, The data from the sensors 108 and 114, both current/present data and older records are stored in the sensors 108 and 114. The sensor data is stored as data records 418 and 420 in memory 416 (see Borras, Col. 8, Lines 64-67 through Col. 9, Lines 1-21).); and
identify the second BLE transmission is received from the second sensor station (Borras, Col. 7, 26-33, The sensor transmits the sensing data record to the drone once a connection is made between the sensor and the drone. The sensing data record includes the sensor identifier (see Borras, Col. 7, Lines 59-62).), and link the second sensor data with the second sensor station ID data in the memory (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52, The data from the sensors 108 and 114, both current/present data and older records are stored in the sensors 108 and 114. The sensor data is stored as data records 418 and 420 in memory 416 (see Borras, Col. 8, Lines 64-67 through Col. 9, Lines 1-21).).
Claim 23, Borras in view of Gager further teaches:
The aerial data collection system of Claim 19, comprising a BLE transmitter to transmit an advertising beacon via the antenna for receipt by the array of sensor stations, the advertising beacon including aerial device ID data identifying the aerial device (Borras, Col. 7, Lines 26-29, The drone 104 can transmit a digital authorization key to the sensor 108, which is thus functionally equivalent to an aerial device ID identifying the drone 104. In the combination of Borras in view of Gager, the system utilizes BLE advertising messages (see Gager, Paragraphs [0092-0093]).).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borras (U.S. 11,401,033 B2) in view of Gager et al. (U.S. 2019/0075513 A1) in view of Kasasbeh et al. (U.S. 2023/0045154 A1).
Claim 4, Borras in view of Gager teaches:
The telemetry system of Claim 1.
Borras in view of Gager does not specifically teach:
Wherein the first sensor station antenna comprises a directional antenna arranged to transmit vertically.
Kasasbeh teaches:
A directional antenna arranged to transmit vertically (Kasasbeh, Fig. 16.1, Paragraph [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Borras in view of Gager by integrating the teaching of a directional antenna, as taught by Kasasbeh.
The motivation would be to allow for communicating over large distances (see Kasasbeh, Paragraph [0095]) while maintaining a small size and being cheap to operate (see Kasasbeh, Paragraph [0091]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As disclosed in the Final Rejection dated 10/17/2025, the Applicant appears to intend for the step of “encoding sensor data in BLE advertisement packets” to include additional limitations, i.e. functional language, that defines it away from “conventional methods”. As previously stated, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As recited in the rejection above, the Borras reference teaches the step of transmitting sensor data to a drone 104 via a communication between the drone 104 and a sensor 108, for example (see Borras, Col. 7, Lines 28-35 and 42-52). Borras, however, does not teach the use of BLE advertising packets. Gager teaches the use of BLE advertising messages for communicating with a drone (see Gager, Paragraphs [0109-0112]), and therefore, by combining Borras with Gager, the combination teaches the use of BLE advertising message for communicating the sensor data. The Applicant’s claimed invention, as currently amended, to not inherently or explicitly define the step of encoding in BLE advertising packets away from the above interpretation.
Conclusion
/JAMES J YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686