DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Specification
3. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0250245 A1 to Li et al. (hereinafter “Li”) in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0259868 A1 to Agrawal et al. (“Agrawal”).
Regarding Claim 1, Li discloses a process for detecting capacity breaches in an area of interest (AOI) of access network (Li: [0003], [0015] – corresponds to predicting/forecasting an out of capacity time for one or more access points in a cellular communication network.), the process comprising:
collecting performance data from a cell site of the RAN in the AOI, the cell site comprising sectors and the sectors comprising cells (Li: [0016] – “Particular embodiments of the system may use the data (e.g., application names, application types, time duration, quality of experience, network speed, latency, network coverage, network traffic volume, number of samples, etc.) collected at the application level to generate models for identifying the cells that have network capacity issues or are predicted to have network capacity issue in a future time. The system may collect data samples associated with a cell of interest and aggregate the collected data samples into a series of data points.” See also [0064] – “In particular embodiments, the system may identify one or more areas of interest covering one or more access points for predicting the amount of time until these access points are out of capacity. As an example, the system may identify an area covering one or more cells with network congestion as a geographic area of interest.” Li suggests the inclusion of sectors, as well as cells, when they are required for network enhancement.);
determining busy-hour indicators based on the performance data from the cell site (Li: [0003]- “Particular embodiments described here relate to a method of predicting the amount of time until an access point of a communication network is out of capacity based on network performance data collected at the application level. The system may first collect network performance data at the application level over a period of time (e.g., W weeks) and aggregate the collected data samples into a series of data points. Each data point may be aggregated based on data samples of the same hour of one week (e.g., each data point having a network traffic value of one hour aggregated over one week).” See [0021], [0032-0033].), wherein the busy-hour indicators are determined by applying a percentile method to outliers in the performance data (Li: [0051-0052] – corresponds to determining minimum, maximum, and/or outlier values for ascertaining a predicted percentage value for one or more metrics to determine an out of capacity at an access point.);
forecasting a subscriber growth model in the AOI for a forecast period (Li: [0016-0017], [0018] – via social network systems and application use data from a plurality of users (number of samples that includes numerous metrics corresponding to user), the system is operable to predict a time when the area of interest will reach a capacity threshold. These metrics are utilized to draft one or more models for identifying cells of interest that have or will network capacity.);
extrapolating the busy-hour indicators using the subscriber growth model to generate forecast indicators for the forecast period (Li: [0022] – an extraction module in the system is utilized to extract one or more metrics, including time of day to the number of samples, in order to predict when the access point will reach capacity.);
applying a gain function to the forecast indicators to generate revised forecast indicators (Li: [0056-0057], [0071-0075] – interpreted to correspond to applying a prediction gain for optimization of the network, thus allowing for a dynamic (revised) number of performance metrics. “In particular embodiments, the system may generate network optimization plans for long-term optimization (e.g., cell densification, upgrading network to 4G/5G, adding fibers, strengthening fiber backhaul) or short-term optimization planning (e.g., tune tower antenna angles, balancing demands and capacity) based on the predicted network enhancement gain. In particular embodiments, the optimization recommendation may be generated using a machine-learning (ML) model which is trained based on historical data.”); and
detecting a capacity breach at a cell or a sector of the cell site in the AOI in response to an indicator from the revised forecast indicators exceeding a capacity threshold (Li: [0048-0049] – “The system may incrementally update the aggregated data points based on the sliding time window and the calculated trend function periodically (e.g., daily, weekly, monthly). The incrementally updated data points and trends may provide more accurate prediction for future time by factoring in the recently collected and aggregated data points.” See also [0056-0059], [0071-0075] – the sliding scale and aggregated number of samples collected (updated) over a course of a time period thus revises the time when the access point will reach a maximum capacity.).
Although Li discloses determining a forecasted capacity breaches in a cellular communication network comprising at least mobile network operators (MNO; see [0016], [0024], which suggests wireless communications), Li does not expressly disclose forecasting a network capacity in an open radio access network (O-RAN).
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Agrawal. Agrawal discloses art of similar endeavor, particular to forecasting capacity breaches in a network (Agrawal: [0001]). Agrawal discloses applying a forecasting model that predicts a network out-of-capacity of open radio access network (O-RAN), among other types of wireless networks (Agrawal: Figure 1 with [0028-0032], [0035-0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the communication network of Li in view of the communication network and forecasting model of Agrawal to forecast network capacity of an open radio access network for the reasons of reducing coverage issues between user and base station (Agrawal: [0002]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Li and Agrawal discloses the process of claim 1, Li further discloses [further comprising] recommending a capacity expansion in response to detecting the capacity breach (Li: [0003] – “The system may generate prioritized recommendations for MNOs (mobile network operators) to optimize access points of the communication network based on the respective predicted time amounts for these access points to become out of capacity.” [0017] – “For example, the system may provide network optimization recommendations on whether to optimize the network in particular cells, which aspects to optimize for (e.g., network upgrading, network expansion, adding more cells, cell densification), where and when to implement the optimization (e.g., where and when to add cells for cell densification), etc.”).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Li and Agrawal discloses the process of claim 1, wherein Li further discloses forecasting the subscriber growth model in the AOI for the forecast period further comprises comparing a starting subscriber number at a beginning of the forecast period to an ending subscriber number at an end of the forecast period (Li: [0030] – corresponds to determining the number of devices connected over a sampling period.).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Li and Agrawal discloses the process of claim 1, wherein Agrawal further discloses [further comprising] rendering the cell site of the capacity breach on a map of the AOI (Agrawal: [0102] – corresponds to displaying not only elements of forecast capacity breaches, but also actions to take per the forecast model. See also Figure 3 with [0041-0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the communication network of Li in view of the communication network and forecasting model of Agrawal to forecast network capacity of an open radio access network for the reasons of reducing coverage issues between user and base station (Agrawal: [0002]).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Li and Agrawal discloses the process of claim 4, wherein Agrawal further discloses the map of the AOI comprises cell sites located in the AOI (Agrawal: Figure 3 – area of interest corresponds to one or more cells and neighboring cells.), the cell sites located in the AOI including visual indicators of on-air sectors (Agrawal: Figure 3 with [0041-0042] – newly on air sites), sector breaks (Agrawal: Figure 3 with [0041-0042] – distance between cells), and planned sites (Agrawal: Figure 3 with [0041-0042] – planned sites).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the communication network of Li in view of the communication network and forecasting model of Agrawal to forecast network capacity of an open radio access network for the reasons of reducing coverage issues between user and base station (Agrawal: [0002]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Li and Agrawal discloses the process of claim 1, wherein Li further discloses applying the gain function to the forecast indicators simulates efficiencies gained by features of the RAN (Li: [0056-0057] – corresponds to applying a predicted gain to determine a level of efficiency (reduced load/congestion) when an access point is upgraded from the congested state.).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Li and Agrawal discloses the process of claim 1, wherein Li further suggests determining the busy-hour indicators further comprises:
identifying a busiest hour for the sector of the cell site…during a sampling period (Li: [0076-0079] – a one hour per week of a plurality of network samples is collected over a period of time to determine if a threshold (capacity) is met.); and
averaging performance data for the sector during the busiest hour for the sector…to generate a busy-hour indicator for the sector (Li: [0076-0079] – an average is calculated of the number of values collected of the amount of time that meets the network-capacity metric.).
Although Li does not explicitly detail a calculation of a busiest hour during a three day period, Li does disclose that any number of days may be used for calculating a threshold hour of network capacity (Li: [0021] – “Then, the collected data may be preprocessed and aggregated by the data aggregation module 204 into a series of data points (e.g., aggregated per hour per week or per hour per any number of days). The aggregated data may be stored in the database 206 and fed to the network out of capacity prediction module 210. In particular embodiments, the data may be aggregated at cell level for a cellular communication network. The aggregated data may be associated with corresponding cells as identified by the cell identifiers. The system may the data associated with a cell to predict when that cell will be out of capacity. For example, the network out of capacity prediction module 210 may access data associated with the cells of a communication network from the database 206 and predict the time when these cells will be out of capacity.” See also [0030-0032].). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the communication network of Li to include any measurement over any period of time as a matter of design choice. The busiest hour, busiest day, or busiest week (detailed by Li as an increase in one or more measured metrics over a determined amount of time) may be determined by the forecast model of Li simply by means of computer programming, such substitution has been judicially determined to have been obvious where the claimed differences involved to the substitution of interchangeable or replaceable equivalents (over one day, over three days, or over a week) and the reason for the selection of one equivalent for another was not to solve an existent problem. In re Ruff, 118, USPQ, 343 (CCPA 1958). This supporting is based on a recognition that the claimed difference exists not as a result of an attempt by applicant to solve a problem but merely amounts to selection of expedients known to the artisan of ordinary skill as design choices.
Claims 8-14, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claims 1-7, recite similar features as claims 1-7, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 1-7. Please see above rejections of claims 1-7. Li further discloses the apparatus as a computer-based system comprising a processor in communication with a non-transitory memory in at least Figure 9 with [0096-0105].
Claims 15-20, directed to an article of manufacturing embodiment of claims 1-6, recite similar features as claims 1-6, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 1-6. Please see above rejections of claims 1-6. Li further discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium in at least [0105].
Conclusion
9. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
10. The prior art made of record (please see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The listing includes references that generally pertain to network optimization for cellular communications.
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 January 17, 2026