DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 6/5/2026. Claims 3, 7, 11 and 15 have been canceled and claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, 16 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a2] as being anticipated by Hakola [US 2024/0380543].
As claims 1, 5, 9 and 13, Hakola [US 2024/0380543] discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining a band having a bandwidth of a frequency band operated by the base station is narrower than 5 MHz and a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15 kHz [Par. 0102-0104 discloses identifying band with less 5 Mhz and SCS 15 Khz]; generating a synchronization signal block(SSB) based on the SCS, the SSB3 including a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) [Fig 2 discloses SSB includes PSS, SSS and PBCH]; and transmitting the SSB by puncturing a first resource of the SSB and a second resource of the SSB [Par. 0150, 0165, discloses symmetric punctured on SSB], wherein the first resource corresponds to subcarriers 0 to 47 of the SSB and the second resource corresponds to subcarriers 192 to 239 of the SSB [Fig 2 discloses left side 1-48 or 0-47 and right side 193-248 or 192-239].
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[a2] as being anticipated by Tiirola [US 2023/0007626].
As claims 1, 5, 9 and 13, Tiirola [US 2023/0007626] discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining a band having a bandwidth of a frequency band operated by the base station is narrower than 5 MHz and a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15 kHz [Par. 0026-0027 discloses identifying band with less 5 Mhz and SCS 15 Khz]; generating a synchronization signal block(SSB) based on the SCS, the SSB3 including a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) [Fig 5 discloses SSB includes PSS, SSS and PBCH]; and transmitting the SSB by puncturing a first resource of the SSB and a second resource of the SSB [Fig 5, discloses punctured on SSB], wherein the first resource corresponds to subcarriers 0 to 47 of the SSB and the second resource corresponds to subcarriers 192 to 239 of the SSB [Fig 5 discloses 0-47 and 192-239 are symmetric punctured, Par. 0036 discloses symmetric].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola [US 2024/0380543]/Tiirola [US 2023/0007626] in view of Liu [US 2022/0240249].
As claims 2, 6, 10 and 14, Hakola/Tiiorla fails to fully disclose what Liu [US 2022/0240249] discloses in case that 24 resource blocks are used for a control resource set (CORESET) 0 of the band, some resources of the CORESET 0 are punctured [Fig 5, 9 and 11 discloses CORESET get punctured on both edges].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for punctured both sides of the CORESET 0 as disclosed by Liu [US 2022/0240249] into the teaching of Hakola [US 2024/0380543]/Tiirola [US 2023/0007626]. The motivation would have been to allow the narrowband device to receive system information.
Claim(s) 4, 8, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola/Tiirola and Liu as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Tiirola [US 2025/0142578].
As claims 4, 8, 12 and 16, Hakola/Tiirola and Liu fail to fully disclose what Tiirola [US 2025/0142578] discloses resources for the CORESET 0 are determined based on a CORESET configuration table for the band [Par. 0052, 0066 discloses Coreset 0 mapped to band less than 5 Mhz].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising resources for the CORESET 0 are determined based on a CORESET configuration table for the band as disclosed by Liu [US 2022/0240249] into the teaching of Hakola [US 2024/0380543]/Tiirola [US 2023/0007626]. The motivation would have been to allow the narrowband device to receive system information.
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu [US 2022/0240249] in view of Hakola [US 2024/0380543]/Tiirola [US 2023/0007626].
As claims 1, 5, 9 and 13, Liu [US 2024/0240249] discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining a band having a bandwidth of a frequency band operated by the base station is narrower than 5 MHz and a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15 kHz [Par. 0045-0048 discloses identifying band with less 5 Mhz and SCS 15 Khz]; generating a synchronization signal block(SSB) based on the SCS, the SSB3 including a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) [Fig 9, 11 discloses SSB includes PSS, SSS and PBCH, Par. 0155]; and transmitting the SSB by puncturing a first resource of the SSB and a second resource of the SSB [Fig 9, 11 discloses punctured on SSB]. However, Liu [US 2022/0240249] fails to discloses what Hakola [US 2024/0380543]/Tiirola [US 2023/0007626] discloses the first resource corresponds to subcarriers 0 to 47 of the SSB and the second resource corresponds to subcarriers 192 to 239 of the SSB [Tiirola discloses Fig 2 closes left side 1-48 or 0-47 and right side 193-248 or 192-239, Hakola discloses Fig 5 discloses 0-47 and 192-239 are symmetric punctured, Par. 0036 discloses symmetric].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the first resource corresponds to subcarriers 0 to 47 of the SSB and the second resource corresponds to subcarriers 192 to 239 of the SSB as disclosed by Liu [US 2022/0240249] into the teaching of Hakola [US 2024/0380543]/Tiirola [US 2023/0007626]. The motivation would have been to allow the narrowband device to receive system information.
As claims 2, 6, 10 and 14, Liu [US 2022/0240249] discloses in case that 24 resource blocks are used for a control resource set (CORESET) 0 of the band, some resources of the CORESET 0 are punctured [Fig 5, 9 and 11 discloses CORESET get punctured on both edges].
Claim(s) 4, 8, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola/Tiirola and Liu as applied to claims 2, 6, 10 and 14 above, and further in view of Tiirola [US 2025/0142578].
As claims 4, 8, 12 and 16, Hakola/Tiirola and Liu fails to fully disclose what Tiirola [US 2025/0142578] discloses resources for the CORESET 0 are determined based on a CORESET configuration table for the band [Par. 0052, 0066 discloses Coreset 0 mapped to band less than 5 Mhz].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising resources for the CORESET 0 are determined based on a CORESET configuration table for the band as disclosed by Tiirola [US 2025/0142578] into the teaching of Hakola [US 2024/0380543]/Tiirola [US 2023/0007626] and Liu. The motivation would have been to allow the narrowband device to receive system information.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414